Ongoing negotiations

Find out about land claims negotiations and other talks with partners to advance reconciliation across Canada.

On this page

Different paths toward reconciliation

The Government of Canada is deeply committed to advancing reconciliation and renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership.

The Government of Canada is developing, in partnership with First Nations Inuit and Métis, a Recognition and Implementation of Rights Framework. As this important work evolves, these webpages will be updated. Learn more about:

The Government of Canada is working in a spirit of collaboration and renewal with Indigenous groups and provincial and territorial partners to advance our shared journey toward reconciliation along many different paths. This ongoing joint work includes:

Why negotiate?

Negotiations are taking place across Canada to help right past wrongs, advance reconciliation and shape a new relationship with Indigenous peoples. The Government of Canada believes that negotiations and respectful dialogue are the best ways to resolve outstanding issues. Negotiations lead to shared solutions that work for and benefit everyone.

Negotiated agreements strengthen relationships and resolve longstanding disputes in a balanced way that respects the rights of Indigenous people and all Canadians. These co-developed agreements can also be a key path to economic growth, creating new investment opportunities for the benefit of communities today as well as future generations.

About land claims and Indigenous rights

The Government of Canada and Indigenous groups are working together to address many different land-related disputes through negotiations. These outstanding issues are commonly called land claims but not all of them are alike and they are addressed in different ways.

Many of these disputes are rights-based. Treaty rights and Aboriginal rights (commonly referred to as Indigenous rights) are recognized and affirmed by Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 and are also a key part of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, which Canada has committed to adopt.

Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussions

Some land-related topics are being addressed through Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussions. Through these discussions, Canada and Indigenous groups are exploring new ways of working together.

These innovative discussions (which can cover many topics) are driven by the priorities of the Indigenous group and are taking place both within treaty negotiation processes and with those outside treaty negotiations to address their unique rights, interests and needs.

Modern treaties and self-government

Other land-related disputes (called comprehensive land claims) arise in parts of Canada where past treaties were not signed. These claims are addressed through the negotiation of agreements called modern treaties with Indigenous groups and provincial and territorial governments. These forward-looking modern treaties define ongoing rights to land and natural resources and often include Indigenous self-government.

Treaties are a comprehensive way to recognize rights, advance self-determination and create an enduring relationship between Indigenous groups and the government.

Resolving specific claims

Some disputes relating to land are called specific claims and stem in part from historic treaties signed with First Nations between 1701 and 1923. Specific claims are resolved through negotiated settlements that provide compensation for a past wrong. Not all specific claim settlements are land-related. Some of these settlements relate to past grievances about how First Nation money was handled by the government.

Negotiated specific claim settlements help right past wrongs, renew relationships and advance reconciliation for the benefit of all Canadians.

Related links

Date modified:

Négociations en cours

Renseignez-vous sur les négociations sur les revendications territoriales et les autres pourparlers avec les partenaires afin de faire progresser la réconciliation partout au Canada.

Sur cette page

Les différentes voies vers la réconciliation

Le gouvernement du Canada est fondamentalement résolu à faire progresser la réconciliation et à renouveler sa relation avec les peuples autochtones afin qu'elle soit fondée sur la reconnaissance de leurs droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Le gouvernement du Canada élabore actuellement un Cadre pour la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de ce travail important, ces pages Web seront mises à jour. Renseignez-vous sur :

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille dans un esprit de collaboration et de renouveau avec les groupes autochtones et les partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux afin de faire évoluer notre démarche commune vers la réconciliation en empruntant de nombreuses voies différentes. Ce travail collaboratif continu comprend :

Pourquoi négocier?

Des négociations sont en cours partout au Canada pour redresser les torts du passé, faire progresser la réconciliation et façonner une nouvelle relation avec les peuples autochtones. Le gouvernement du Canada croit que la négociation et le dialogue respectueux constituent le meilleur moyen de régler les questions en suspens. Les négociations mènent à des solutions communes qui fonctionnent pour tout le monde et qui profitent à tout le monde.

Les règlements négociés contribuent à renforcer les relations et à résoudre les problèmes de longue date d'une manière qui concilie les droits des Autochtones et ceux des Canadiens. Ces ententes élaborées de façon conjointe peuvent également être une voie importante vers la croissance économique, créant de nouvelles occasions d'investissement pour les communautés d'aujourd'hui et les générations futures.

À propos des revendications territoriales et des droits ancestraux

Le gouvernement du Canada et les groupes autochtones travaillent ensemble pour régler de nombreux différends relatifs aux terres par la négociation. Ces questions en suspens sont communément appelées revendications territoriales, mais elles ne se ressemblent pas toutes et sont abordées de différentes façons.

Beaucoup de ces différends sont fondés sur les droits. Les droits issus de traités et les droits ancestraux (communément appelés droits des Autochtones) sont reconnus et confirmés à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et font également partie intégrante de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones que le Canada s'est engagé à adopter.

Discussions sur la reconnaissance des droits autochtones et l’autodétermination

Certains sujets liés à la terre sont abordés dans le cadre des discussions sur la reconnaissance des droits autochtones et l'autodétermination. Par ces discussions, le Canada et les groupes autochtones explorent de nouvelles façons de travailler ensemble.

Ces discussions novatrices (qui peuvent couvrir de nombreux sujets) sont guidées par les priorités du groupe autochtone et se déroulent à la fois dans le cadre des processus de négociation de traités et avec ceux qui ne participent pas aux négociations de traités afin de tenir compte de leurs droits, intérêts et besoins particuliers.

Traités modernes et autonomie gouvernementale

D'autres différends relatifs aux terres (appelés revendications territoriales globales) surviennent dans des régions du Canada où des traités n'ont pas été signés. Ces revendications sont traitées par la négociation d'ententes appelées traités modernes avec les groupes autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Ces traités modernes tournés vers l'avenir définissent les droits permanents à la terre et aux ressources naturelles et incluent souvent l'autonomie gouvernementale autochtone.

Les traités sont une façon globale de reconnaître les droits, de faire progresser l'autodétermination et de créer une relation durable entre les groupes autochtones et le gouvernement.

Règlement des revendications particulières

Certains différends relatifs aux terres sont appelés revendications particulières et découlent en partie de traités historiques signés avec les Premières Nations de 1701 à 1923. Les revendications particulières sont réglées au moyen de règlements négociés qui prévoient une indemnisation pour un tort passé. Les règlements de revendications particulières ne sont pas tous liés aux terres. Certains de ces règlements ont trait à des griefs antérieurs concernant la façon dont le gouvernement a géré l'argent des Premières Nations.

Les règlements négociés des revendications particulières aident à réparer les torts du passé, à renouveler les relations et à faire progresser la réconciliation au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :