Treaties and agreements

Learn about historic and modern treaties in Canada, treaty rights and the treaty relationship.

The Government of Canada is developing with First Nations, Inuit and Métis, a Recognition and Implementation of Rights Framework. As this important work evolves, these pages will be updated. Learn more about:

Choose a topic

Honouring the treaty relationship

Indigenous peoples have lived on the land we now call Canada for thousands of years, with their own unique cultures, identities, traditions, languages and institutions.

Early partnerships between Indigenous nations and colonial governments were forged through treaties as well as trade and military alliances and were based on mutual respect and co-operation. Over many centuries these relationships were eroded by colonial and paternalistic policies that were enacted into laws.

Canada has embarked on a journey of reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples. It is a necessary journey to address a long history of colonialism and the scars it has left.

Treaties provide a framework for living together and sharing the land Indigenous peoples traditionally occupied. These agreements provide foundations for ongoing co-operation and partnership as we move forward together to advance reconciliation.

Honouring the treaty relationship and negotiating new treaties based on the recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership, is key to achieving lasting reconciliation with Indigenous peoples.

"Canada is a test case for a grand notion - the notion that dissimilar peoples can share lands, resources, power and dreams while respecting and sustaining their differences. The story of Canada is the story of many such peoples, trying and failing and trying again, to live together in peace and harmony."

What are treaties with Indigenous peoples?

Treaties are agreements made between the Government of Canada, Indigenous groups and often provinces and territories that define ongoing rights and obligations on all sides.

These agreements set out continuing treaty rights and benefits for each group. Treaty rights and Aboriginal rights (commonly referred to as Indigenous rights) are recognized and affirmed in Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 and are also a key part of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples which the Government of Canada has committed to adopt.

Treaties with Indigenous peoples include both:

Historic treaties

Starting in 1701 in the British colonies of North America (these would later become parts of Canada), the British Crown entered into treaties with Indigenous groups to support peaceful economic and military relations. The Crown is the legal name for the British and later Canadian governments: federal, provincial and territorial.

Over the next two hundred years, the Crown signed treaties that defined the respective rights of Indigenous peoples and European newcomers to use the North American lands that Indigenous peoples traditionally occupied. The historic treaties signed after 1763 provided large areas of land, occupied by First Nations, to the Crown (transferring their Aboriginal title to the Crown) in exchange for reserve lands and other benefits.

The treaty-making process was formally established by the Royal Proclamation of 1763.

Consult the Historic Treaties and Treaty First Nations in Canada Infographic.

The Government of Canada recognizes 70 historic treaties in Canada signed between 1701 and 1923. These treaties include:  

These treaties form the basis of the relationship between the Crown and 364 First Nations, representing over 600,000 First Nation peoples in Canada.

Canada and First Nations often have differing views with respect to the implementation of historic treaties; these issues are complex and are not easily resolved. Through vehicles such as Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussion tables, Canada and Treaty First Nations are exploring ways to advance treaty rights and interests.

Independent treaty commissions in Manitoba and Saskatchewan were created in partnership with First Nation organizations to conduct a number of activities in relation to historic treaties. This includes public education, research and facilitating discussions on treaty issues.

The Specific Claims process provides an avenue for addressing past grievances in relation to the management of land and other First Nation assets and to the fulfillment of historic treaties. Resolving First Nation specific claims through negotiated settlements helps address past wrongs and honours treaty obligations.

Related links

Modern treaties

Historic treaties have only addressed a portion of Aboriginal rights to land across Canada. Land and resource-related negotiations are still underway in parts of the country where treaties were never signed.

The modern treaty era began in 1973 after the Supreme Court of Canada decision (Calder et al. v. Attorney-General of British Columbia), which recognized Aboriginal rights for the first time. This decision led to the development of the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy and the first modern treaty, the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement signed in 1975.

Since 1975, Canada has signed 25 additional treaties (called modern treaties or comprehensive land claim agreements) with Indigenous groups in Canada. Some of these treaties include self-government.

These treaties are the basis of the relationship between 97 Indigenous communities (representing about 89,000 Indigenous peoples) and the provincial or territorial and federal governments.

These treaties have provided:

As part of modern treaty negotiations, joint work is done to lay the groundwork for moving forward together after a final agreement has been signed (implementation of the agreement).

Historically, very few treaties were signed in British Columbia. A special independent body called the British Columbia Treaty Commission was established in 1992 by agreement among Canada, British Columbia and the  First Nations Summit to be "the keeper of the process" of treaty negotiations in the province. 

Over the past four decades, Canada's approach to treaty negotiations has evolved as a result of developments in Indigenous law, joint innovations at negotiating tables and past engagement with Indigenous groups and key stakeholders.

The process of treaty-making in Canada is continuing to evolve through ongoing engagement and dialogue with Indigenous groups. The Government of Canada believes that co-operative negotiations and respectful dialogue are the best way to resolve outstanding issues. Innovative solutions are being developed with partners through treaty negotiations and Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussion tables across the country.

Consult the Modern treaties – Comprehensive Land Claims and Self-Government agreements map to learn about the modern treaties in effect to date across Canada and search the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System to find out more about each agreement, including the full text of the agreement and summary information. Use the name of the Indigenous group, agreement name or other term as a "key word" search word and then click on the heading Treaties and Agreements above the search box to find the related records.

Related links

What are Aboriginal rights?

Aboriginal rights (commonly referred to as Indigenous rights) are collective rights of distinctive Indigenous societies flowing from their status as the original peoples of Canada. These rights are recognized and affirmed by Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

The Constitution does not define Indigenous rights under Section 35, but they can include:

Indigenous rights under Section 35 vary from group to group depending on the customs, practices and traditions that have formed part of their distinctive cultures.

The Government of Canada has a duty to consult, and where appropriate, accommodate Indigenous  groups when it considers conduct that might adversely impact potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights. Learn more about the Government of Canada's duty to consult with Indigenous peoples.

What are treaty rights?

Treaty rights are rights set out in either a historic or modern treaty agreement. These rights are recognized and affirmed by Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982.

Treaties define specific rights, benefits and obligations for the signatories that vary from treaty to treaty. Treaties and treaty rights also vary depending on the time and circumstances in which they were negotiated.

For example, in historic treaties (signed before 1975), treaty rights and benefits often, but not always, include:

Modern treaties negotiated with Indigenous groups (after 1975) may include (among other things):

Consult the treaty texts to learn about the specific treaty rights and benefits set out in each treaty:

Related links

Date modified:

Traités et ententes

Renseignez-vous sur les traités historiques et modernes au Canada, les droits issus de traités et les relations découlant des traités.

Le gouvernement du Canada élabore actuellement un Cadre pour la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis. Au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de ce travail important, ces pages Web seront mises à jour. Renseignez-vous sur :

Choisissez un sujet

Le respect de la relation découlant d’un traité

Les peuples autochtones vivent sur le territoire que nous appelons maintenant le Canada depuis des milliers d'années, avec des cultures, des identités, des traditions, des langues et des institutions qui leur sont propres.

Les premiers partenariats entre les nations autochtones et les gouvernements coloniaux ont été forgés au moyen de traités ainsi que d'alliances commerciales et militaires et étaient fondés sur le respect mutuel et la coopération. Au fil des siècles, des politiques coloniales et paternalistes qui ont été transposées en lois ont érodé ces relations.

Le Canada s'est engagé sur la voie de la réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones. Il s'agit d'un processus nécessaire pour corriger les erreurs du colonialisme qui remontent à bien loin et pour apaiser les blessures qu'il a causées.

Les traités fournissent un cadre pour vivre ensemble et partager les terres que les peuples autochtones occupaient traditionnellement. Ces ententes jettent les bases d'une coopération et d'un partenariat permanents alors que nous progressons ensemble vers la réconciliation.

Le respect de la relation découlant d'un traité et la négociation de nouveaux traités fondés sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat sont essentiels à la réalisation d'une réconciliation durable avec les peuples autochtones.

« Le Canada est le terrain d'essai d'une noble idée – l'idée selon laquelle des peuples différents peuvent partager des terres, des ressources, des pouvoirs et des rêves tout en respectant leurs différences. L'histoire du Canada est celle de beaucoup de ces peuples qui, après bien des tentatives et des échecs, s'efforcent encore de vivre côte à côte dans la paix et l'harmonie. »

Que sont les traités conclus avec les peuples autochtones?

Les traités sont des ententes conclues entre le gouvernement du Canada, les groupes autochtones et souvent les provinces et territoires qui définissent les droits et obligations permanents de toutes les parties.

Ces ententes énoncent les droits et avantages continus issus de traités pour chaque groupe. Les droits issus de traités et les droits ancestraux (communément appelés droits autochtones) sont reconnus et confirmés à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et font également partie intégrante de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones que le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à adopter.

Les traités avec les peuples autochtones comprennent :

Traités historiques

À partir de 1701, dans les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord (qui deviendront plus tard des parties du Canada), la Couronne britannique a conclu des traités avec des groupes autochtones pour soutenir des relations économiques et militaires pacifiques. La Couronne est le nom légal pour désigner les gouvernements britannique – et plus tard – canadien : fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Au cours des deux siècles suivants, la Couronne a signé des traités qui définissaient les droits respectifs des peuples autochtones et des nouveaux arrivants européens d'utiliser les terres nord-américaines que les peuples autochtones occupaient traditionnellement. Les traités historiques signés après 1763 ont fourni de grandes superficies de terres, occupées par les Premières Nations, à la Couronne (transfert de leur titre ancestral à la Couronne) en échange de terres de réserve et d'autres avantages.

Le processus d'élaboration des traités a été officiellement établi par la Proclamation royale de 1763.

Consultez Les Traités historiques et les Premières Nations signataires de traités au Canada – Infographie.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît 70 traités historiques signés au Canada de 1701 à 1923. Ceux-ci comprennent :  

Ces traités forment la base de la relation entre la Couronne et 364 Premières Nations, représentant plus de 600 000 membres des Premières Nations au Canada.

Le Canada et les Premières Nations ont souvent des points de vue différents en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre des traités historiques; ces questions sont complexes et difficiles à résoudre. Grâce à des moyens comme les tables de discussion sur la reconnaissance des droits autochtones et l'autodétermination, le Canada et les Premières Nations signataires de traités explorent des façons de faire progresser les droits et les intérêts issus de traités.

Des commissions indépendantes de traités au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan ont été créées en partenariat avec des organisations des Premières Nations pour mener un certain nombre d'activités liées aux traités historiques. Cela comprend l'éducation du public, la recherche et la facilitation des discussions sur les questions relatives aux traités.

Le processus de règlement des revendications particulières permet de régler les griefs antérieurs relatifs à la gestion des terres et d'autres biens des Premières Nations et à l'exécution des traités historiques. Le règlement des revendications particulières des Premières Nations au moyen de règlements négociés aide à corriger les torts passés et à honorer les obligations découlant des traités.

Liens connexes

Traités modernes

Les traités historiques n'ont abordé qu'une partie des droits ancestraux sur les terres au Canada. Les négociations relatives aux terres et aux ressources sont toujours en cours dans les régions du pays où des traités n'ont jamais été signés.

L'ère des traités modernes a commencé en 1973 après la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada (Calder et al. c. Procureur général de la Colombie-Britannique), qui a reconnu les droits ancestraux pour la première fois. Cette décision a mené à l'élaboration de la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales et au premier traité moderne : la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois de 1975.

Depuis 1975, le Canada a signé 25 autres traités (appelés traités modernes ou ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales) avec des groupes autochtones au Canada. Bon nombre de ces traités comprennent l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Ces traités sont à la base de la relation entre 97 communautés autochtones (représentant environ 89 000 Autochtones) et les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéral.

Ces traités ont produit les résultats suivants :

Dans le cadre des négociations de traités modernes, des travaux conjoints sont effectués afin de jeter les bases d'une collaboration après la signature d'une entente définitive (mise en œuvre de l'entente).

Par le passé, très peu de traités ont été signés en Colombie-Britannique. Un organisme spécial indépendant, la Commission des traités de la Colombie-Britannique (site Web non disponible en français), a été créé en 1992 par entente entre le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et le Sommet des Premières Nations (site Web non disponible en français) pour être « le gardien du processus » de négociation des traités dans la province. 

Au cours des quatre dernières décennies, l'approche du Canada en matière de négociation de traités a évolué en raison du développement du droit autochtone, des innovations conjointes aux tables de négociation et de la mobilisation passée avec les groupes autochtones et les principaux intervenants.

Le processus d'élaboration des traités au Canada continue d'évoluer grâce à une mobilisation et à un dialogue continus avec les groupes autochtones. Le gouvernement du Canada croit que la négociation dans un esprit de coopération et le dialogue respectueux constituent le meilleur moyen de régler les questions en suspens. Des solutions novatrices sont en cours d'élaboration avec les partenaires grâce à la négociation de traités et aux tables de discussion sur la reconnaissance des droits autochtones et l'autodétermination dans l'ensemble du pays.

Consultez le document Traités modernes — Ententes de revendication globales territoriales et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale pour en apprendre davantage sur les traités modernes en vigueur à ce jour au Canada et faites une recherche dans le Système d'information sur les droits ancestraux et les droits issus des traités pour en savoir plus sur chaque entente, y compris le texte intégral de l'entente et les renseignements sommaires. Utilisez le nom du groupe autochtone, le nom de l'entente ou autre comme mot-clé de recherche, puis cliquez sur l'en-tête Traités et ententes au-dessus de la boîte de recherche pour trouver les documents connexes.

Liens connexes

Que sont les droits ancestraux?

Les droits ancestraux (communément appelés droits autochtones) sont les droits collectifs de sociétés autochtones particulières, qui découlent de leur situation de peuples originels du Canada. Ces droits sont reconnus et affirmés par l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

La Constitution ne définit pas les droits ancestraux visés par l'article 35, mais ils peuvent inclure :

Les droits ancestraux visés par l'article 35 varient d'un groupe à l'autre, selon les coutumes, les pratiques et les traditions qui ont façonné leurs cultures distinctes.

Le gouvernement du Canada a l'obligation de consulter et, le cas échéant, d'accommoder les groupes autochtones lorsqu'il envisage de mettre en œuvre une initiative qui pourrait avoir des répercussions négatives sur les droits ancestraux établis ou éventuels en vertu des traités. Renseignez-vous sur l'obligation du gouvernement du Canada de consulter les peuples autochtones.

Que sont les droits issus de traités?

Les droits issus de traités sont des droits énoncés dans un traité historique ou moderne. Ces droits sont reconnus et affirmés par l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

Les traités définissent des droits, avantages et obligations particuliers pour les signataires qui varient d'un traité à l'autre. Les traités et les droits issus de traités varient également selon le moment et les circonstances dans lesquelles ils ont été négociés.

Par exemple, dans les traités historiques (signés avant 1975), les droits et avantages découlant des traités comprennent souvent, mais pas toujours :

Les traités modernes négociés avec les groupes autochtones (après 1975) peuvent inclure (entre autres) :

Consultez les textes des traités pour en savoir plus sur les droits et avantages particuliers prévus dans chaque traité.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :