Self-government

Learn about Indigenous self-government in Canada.

The Government of Canada is developing with First Nations, Inuit and Métis, a Recognition and Implementation of Rights Framework. As this important work evolves, these pages will be updated. Learn more about:

Advancing Indigenous self-government

Indigenous peoples practiced their own forms of government for thousands of years before the arrival of European and other settlers in what is today Canada. These forms of government reflected the economic, social and geographic diversity of Indigenous peoples, as well as their cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

Early partnerships between colonial governments with Indigenous nations were forged through treaties, trade and military alliances. Over many centuries, these relationships were eroded by successive laws, policies and decisions that were based on a colonial and paternalistic approach. This includes the Indian Act, which was passed in 1876 and continues to determine how most First Nations in Canada are governed to this day. The Indian Act imposed a colonial governance system on First Nation communities where authority rested with the federal Minister.

Canada has now embarked on a journey of reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples. It is a necessary journey intended to address a long history of colonialism and the scars it has left. The goal is to renew the nation-to-nation, government-to-government, and Inuit-Crown relationships with Indigenous peoples.

The Government of Canada is working in partnership with Indigenous peoples to undo federally imposed systems of governance and administration in favour of Indigenous control and delivery. Canada is working with Indigenous peoples to support them in their work to rebuild and reconstitute their nations, advance self-determination and, for First Nations, facilitate the transition away from the Indian Act and toward self-government.

Self-government negotiations are one way to work together in partnership toward this goal and advance Indigenous self-determination, which is a fundamental Indigenous right and principle of international law, as set out in the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

What is Indigenous self-government?

Canada recognizes that Indigenous peoples have an inherent right of self-government guaranteed in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982. Canada's Inherent Right Policy was first launched in 1995 to guide self-government negotiations with Indigenous communities.

Negotiated agreements put decision-making power into the hands of Indigenous governments who make their own choices about how to deliver programs and services to their communities. This can include making decisions about how to better protect their culture and language, educate their students, manage their own lands and develop new business partnerships that create jobs and other benefits for their citizens.

Because communities have different goals, negotiations will not result in a single model of self-government. Arrangements take many forms based on the different historical, cultural, political and economic circumstances of the Indigenous governments, regions and communities involved. For example: Inuit land claim agreements have been signed in all four Inuit regions. These Inuit communities are pursuing their vision of self-determination under these agreements and in some cases through ongoing self-government negotiations. The Métis are also actively pursuing their own vision of self-determination through ongoing engagement with their citizens and through dialogue at Recognition of Rights and Self-Determination discussion tables with Canada.

Self-government is part of the foundation for a renewed relationship and is a pathway to development and economic growth that generates benefits for Indigenous peoples.

The Indian Act

Unless they have negotiated self-government, most First Nations are currently governed by the Indian Act. They elect chiefs and councils to make decisions on their behalf and pass by-laws in a limited number of areas.

First Nations have been living under the Indian Act for over 140 years. The Indian Act establishes a limited form of local administration that does not take into account the specific circumstances of individual communities.

In contrast, self-governing First Nations can make their own laws and policies and have decision-making power in a broad range of matters. This includes matters internal to their communities and integral to their cultures and traditions. Under self-government, First Nations move out from under the Indian Act and chart their own course toward a brighter future.

How does self-government work?

Negotiated agreements can set out law-making authority in many areas, including: governance, social and economic development, education, health, lands and more. It varies from group to group, depending on their unique needs and priorities and their vision of self-determination.

While there is no "one-size fits all" approach to Indigenous self-government, all of the agreements negotiated to date have some things in common. This includes:

  • No self-government agreement is possible without the approval of the Indigenous people through a community vote.
  • Self-government is negotiated within the Canadian constitutional framework and federal legislation is passed before the negotiated agreement takes effect.
  • Under self-government, Indigenous laws operate in harmony with federal and provincial laws. Indigenous laws protecting culture and language generally take priority if there is a conflict among laws.
  • However, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, the Canadian Human Rights Act and other general laws such as the Criminal Code continue to apply.
  • Community members and non-member residents on Indigenous lands will have input into decisions that directly affect them.

Self-government agreements

There are 22 self-government agreements across Canada involving 43 Indigenous communities. There are also two education agreements involving 35 Indigenous communities.

Consult this map (PDF version: 739 kb, 1 page) to learn about the self-government agreements signed to date across Canada and search the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System to find out more about each agreement, including the full text of the agreement and summary information. Use the name of the Indigenous group, agreement name, or other term as a "keyword" search word and then click on the heading Treaties and Agreements above the search box to find the related records.

Different forms of governance or self-government have been negotiated in Canada. One example is the Nunavut Agreement, a modern treaty (comprehensive land claim agreement) where the self-government aspirations of Inuit are expressed through public government. This self-government agreement is unique due to the fact that the Nunavut government represents all the people residing in its territory.

Another form of self-government is where law-making power is negotiated with an Indigenous group in only one or two key areas such as the Education Agreement in Nova Scotia and the Anishinabek Nation Education Agreement in Ontario.

Ongoing self-government negotiations

Currently there are about 50 self-government negotiation tables across the country. These tables are at various stages of the negotiation process and in many cases are being negotiated in conjunction with modern treaties.

Self-government agreements address (among other things) the following key aspects:

Consult Agreements under negotiations to learn about ongoing self-government negotiations.

Other paths to greater self-determination

Indigenous groups are also pursuing greater self-determination, recognition of their rights and renewed relationships with other governments outside of self-government negotiations. This includes:

Funding for self-government

As part of self-government negotiations, joint work is done to lay the groundwork for moving forward together after a final agreement has been signed (implementation of the agreement). For example, Canada and its partners negotiate the funding that will support the operation of the Indigenous government in the future, so it can effectively deliver programs and services to its members on an ongoing basis.

An agreement called a Financial Transfer Agreement is negotiated to set out these arrangements, including the amount of funding that will be provided. This important agreement creates a new ongoing funding relationship between the Indigenous government, Canada and the provincial or territorial government. These funding arrangements are generally renegotiated every five years.

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples based on respect, co-operation and partnership. Canada is working in full partnership with self-governing Indigenous governments on a new self-government fiscal policy framework. This will ensure they have the tools and resources they need to support the well-being of their communities.

Related links

Date modified:

Autonomie gouvernementale

Renseignez-vous sur l’autonomie gouvernementale au Canada.

Sur cette page

Faire progresser l’autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones

Les peuples autochtones ont exercé leurs propres formes de gouvernement pendant des milliers d'années avant l'arrivée des Européens et d'autres colons dans ce qui est aujourd'hui le Canada. Ces formes de gouvernement tenaient compte de la diversité économique, sociale et géographique des peuples autochtones, ainsi que de leurs pratiques culturelles et de leurs croyances spirituelles.

Les premiers partenariats entre les gouvernements coloniaux et les nations autochtones ont été forgés au moyen de traités et d'alliances commerciales et militaires. Au fil des siècles, des lois, des politiques et des décisions successives fondées sur une approche coloniale et paternaliste ont érodé ces relations. Cela comprend la Loi sur les Indiens, qui a été adoptée en 1876 et qui continue de déterminer comment la plupart des Premières Nations du Canada sont gouvernées à ce jour. Cette loi a imposé un système de gouvernance coloniale aux communautés des Premières Nations, dont l'autorité incombait au ministre fédéral.

Le Canada s'est maintenant engagé sur la voie de la réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones. Il s'agit d'un processus nécessaire visant à corriger les erreurs du colonialisme qui remontent à bien loin et à apaiser les blessures qu'il a causées. L'objectif est de renouveler les relations de nation à nation, de gouvernement à gouvernement et entre les Inuit et la Couronne avec les peuples autochtones.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones pour défaire les systèmes de gouvernance et d'administration imposés par le gouvernement fédéral en faveur du contrôle et de l'exécution par les Autochtones. Le Canada collabore avec les peuples autochtones pour les appuyer dans leurs efforts visant à rebâtir et à réédifier leurs nations, à faire progresser l'autodétermination et, pour les Premières Nations, à faciliter la transition de la Loi sur les Indiens vers l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Les négociations sur l'autonomie gouvernementale sont une façon de travailler ensemble, en partenariat, pour atteindre cet objectif et faire progresser l'autodétermination des Autochtones, qui est un droit fondamental des Autochtones et un principe du droit international, tel qu'il est énoncé dans la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Qu’est-ce que l’autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones?

Le Canada reconnaît que les peuples autochtones jouissent du droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale en application de l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982. L'approche du gouvernement du Canada concernant la mise en œuvre du droit inhérent des peuples autochtones à l'autonomie gouvernementale et la négociation de cette autonomie a été lancée en 1995 pour guider les négociations sur l'autonomie gouvernementale avec les communautés autochtones.

Les ententes négociées confèrent un pouvoir décisionnel aux gouvernements autochtones qui font leurs propres choix quant à la façon d'offrir des programmes et des services à leurs communautés. Il peut s'agir de prendre des décisions sur la façon de mieux protéger leur culture et leur langue, d'enseigner à leurs élèves, de gérer leurs propres terres et d'établir de nouveaux partenariats d'affaires qui créent des emplois et d'autres avantages pour leurs citoyens.

Comme les communautés ont différents objectifs, les négociations ne mèneront pas à l'élaboration d'un modèle unique d'autonomie gouvernementale. Les arrangements peuvent revêtir différentes formes, selon les circonstances historiques, culturelles, politiques et économiques propres aux gouvernements autochtones, aux régions et aux communautés concernées. Par exemple, des ententes sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit ont été signées dans les quatre régions inuites. Ces communautés inuites poursuivent leur vision de l'autodétermination en vertu de ces ententes et, dans certains cas, au moyen de négociations en cours sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Les Métis poursuivent aussi activement leur propre vision de l'autodétermination par un engagement continu avec leurs citoyens et par le dialogue aux tables de discussion sur la reconnaissance des droits et l'autodétermination avec le Canada.

L'autonomie gouvernementale est une pierre angulaire du renouvellement de la relation et une voie vers le développement et la croissance économique qui procureront des avantages aux Autochtones.

La Loi sur les Indiens

À moins que des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale aient été négociées, la plupart des Premières Nations sont actuellement régies par la Loi sur les Indiens. Elles élisent des chefs et des conseils pour prendre des décisions en leur nom et adoptent des règlements dans un nombre limité de domaines.

Les Premières Nations vivent sous le régime de la Loi sur les Indiens depuis plus de 140 ans. La Loi sur les Indiens établit une forme limitée d'administration locale qui ne tient pas compte des circonstances particulières de la communauté.

En revanche, les Premières Nations autonomes peuvent faire leurs propres lois et politiques et ont un pouvoir décisionnel dans un large éventail de domaines. Cela comprend les questions qui sont internes à leur communauté et qui font partie intégrante de leur culture et de leurs traditions. Lorsqu'elles obtiennent l'autonomie gouvernementale, les Premières Nations s'affranchissent de la Loi sur les Indiens et tracent leur propre voie vers un avenir meilleur.

Comment fonctionne l’autonomie gouvernementale?

Les ententes négociées peuvent établir le pouvoir législatif dans de nombreux domaines, y compris la gouvernance, le développement social et économique, l'éducation, la santé, les terres et plus encore. Cela varie d'un groupe à l'autre, en fonction de leurs propres besoins et priorités et de leur vision de l'autodétermination.

Bien qu'il n'existe pas d'approche unique en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale autochtone, toutes les ententes négociées à ce jour ont certains points en commun, notamment ce qui suit :

  • Aucune entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale n'est possible sans l'approbation du peuple autochtone touché au moyen d'un vote communautaire.
  • L'autonomie gouvernementale est négociée dans le cadre constitutionnel canadien et une loi fédérale est adoptée avant l'entrée en vigueur de l'entente négociée.
  • Lorsqu'une Première Nation est autonome, les lois autochtones sont appliquées en harmonie avec les lois fédérales et provinciales. Les lois autochtones protégeant la culture et la langue ont généralement la priorité en cas de conflit entre les lois.
  • Toutefois, la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et d'autres lois générales comme le Code criminel continuent de s'appliquer.
  • Les membres des communautés et les membres qui n'habitent pas sur les terres autochtones auront leur mot à dire sur les lois qui les concernent directement.

Ententes sur l’autonomie gouvernementale

Au Canada, on compte 25 ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale visant 43 communautés autochtones et 2 ententes sur l’éducation visant 35 communautés autochtones.

Consultez Traités modernes et sur l’autonomie gouvernementale (Format PDF : 737 ko, 1 page) pour une carte des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale signées au Canada à ce jour et faites une recherche dans le Système d'information sur les droits ancestraux et les droits issus des traités pour en savoir plus sur chaque entente, y compris le texte intégral de l'entente et les renseignements sommaires. Utilisez le nom du groupe autochtone, le nom de l'entente ou autre terme comme mot-clé de recherche, puis cliquez sur l'en-tête Traités et ententes au-dessus de la boîte de recherche pour trouver les documents connexes.

Diverses formes de gouvernance ou d'autonomie gouvernementale ont été négociées au Canada. L'Accord du Nunavut est un exemple de traité moderne (accord sur les revendications territoriales globales) où les aspirations d'autonomie gouvernementale des Inuit sont exprimées par l'entremise d'un gouvernement public. Il s'agit d'un type unique d'entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, car le gouvernement du Nunavut représente tous les résidents de son territoire. 

Une autre forme d'autonomie gouvernementale est celle où le pouvoir législatif est négocié avec un groupe autochtone dans seulement 1 ou 2 domaines clés tels que l'Entente sur l'éducation en Nouvelle-Écosse (non disponible en français) et l'Entente sur l'éducation de la Nation Anishinabek en Ontario.

Négociations en cours sur l’autonomie gouvernementale

En ce moment, on compte quelque 50 tables de négociation sur l'autonomie gouvernementale au Canada. Toutes ces tables se trouvent à différentes étapes du processus de négociation et dans plusieurs des cas, les négociations portent aussi sur les traités modernes.

Les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale traitent (entre autres choses) des aspects suivants :

Consultez la section Ententes en cours de négociation pour en savoir plus sur les négociations en cours sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Autres voies vers une autodétermination accrue

Les groupes autochtones cherchent également à accroître leur autodétermination, à faire reconnaître leurs droits et à renouveler leurs relations avec d'autres gouvernements en dehors des négociations sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Cela comprend :

Financement de l’autonomie gouvernementale

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à renouveler la relation financière avec les peuples autochtones sur la base du respect, de la coopération et du partenariat. Le Canada travaille avec les gouvernements autochtones autonomes pour élaborer conjointement des approches financières visant à appuyer l'autonomie gouvernementale. Ces approches élaborées conjointement constituent la politique financière collaborative du Canada en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Cette politique :

La politique collaborative fiscale canadienne en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale est à la base de l'élaboration des ententes financières. Ces ententes sont parfois appelées :

Les ententes financières détaillent la relation de financement permanente entre le gouvernement autochtone, le Canada et, le cas échéant, le gouvernement provincial ou territorial. L'entente prévoit un financement qui soutient les opérations du gouvernement autochtone afin de lui permettre de fournir efficacement des programmes et des services à ses membres sur une base continue. Ces ententes financières ont généralement une durée de 5 ans.

Premières Nations fonctionnant en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens

En plus du travail de collaboration sur la politique financière en matière d'autonomie gouvernementale, le gouvernement du Canada est également engagé depuis 2016 dans des processus de collaboration pour renouveler les relations financières avec les Premières Nations fonctionnant en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. Ce processus distinct est coordonné par Services autochtones Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, avec l’appui d'organisations de gouvernance dirigées par des Autochtones. Le travail de ces 2 processus se fait séparément et aucun n'empêche le travail de l'autre.

Pour plus d'information :

Liens connexes

Date de modification :