The federal pathway

The Government of Canada has come together to create a plan for departments to support systemic change to address the tragedy of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls (MMIWG) and Two Spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and intersex (2SLGBTQI+) people.

On this page

About the federal pathway

On June 2, 2021, the Government of Canada launched the Federal Pathway to Address Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ People. It is a key component of a much broader effort to end the national tragedy of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQI+ people, so that they are safe and free from violence, no matter where they live, work or travel.

The federal pathway is part of the larger national action plan, 2021 Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and 2SLGBTQQIA+ People National Action Plan: Ending Violence Against Indigenous Women, Girls, and 2SLGBTQQIA+ People. The national action plan, centered around the National Family and Survivor Circle, was co-developed by:

Like the national action plan, the federal pathway will evolve to remain effective in ending the national tragedy of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQI+ people.

To learn more, consult

Progress we've made

June 3, 2022 marked the first anniversary of the launch of the national action plan and the federal pathway. To mark that date, a progress report on the initiatives outlined in the federal pathway has been prepared and includes:

To learn more, consult:

Funding investments

Budget 2021 proposed historic investments to support the implementation of the federal pathway and directly contribute to ending violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQI+ people. These investments support over 50 programs and initiatives across 25 federal departments and agencies.

To learn more, consult:

Date modified:

La voie fédérale

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est uni pour créer un plan à l'intention des ministères afin de soutenir le changement systémique pour réagir à la tragédie des femmes, des filles, ainsi que des personnes bispirituelles, lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, transgenres, queer et intersexuées (2ELGBTQI+) autochtones qui sont disparues ou ont été assassinées (FFADA).

Sur cette page

À propos de la voie fédérale

Le 2 juin 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé la Voie fédérale concernant les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones disparues et assassinées. Cet élément clé s'inscrit dans un effort beaucoup plus vaste visant à mettre fin à la tragédie nationale des femmes, des filles et des personnes 2ELGBTQI+ autochtones disparues et assassinées, afin qu'elles soient en sécurité et à l'abri de la violence, où qu'elles vivent, travaillent ou voyagent.

La Voie fédérale fait partie d'un plan plus vaste, le Plan d'action national 2021 pour les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones disparues et assassinées : Mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones. Le Plan d'action national, centré sur le Cercle national des familles et des survivants, a été élaboré conjointement par :

À l'instar du Plan d'action national, la Voie fédérale évoluera pour rester efficace et mettre fin à la tragédie nationale des femmes, des filles et des personnes 2ELGBTQI+ autochtones disparues et assassinées.

Plus d'informations :

Progrès accomplis

Le 3 juin 2022 a marqué le premier anniversaire du lancement du Plan d'action national et de la Voie fédérale. Pour marquer cette date, un rapport d'étape sur les initiatives décrites dans la Voie fédérale a été préparé et comprend :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez :

Financement des investissements

Le budget de 2021 proposait des investissements historiques pour soutenir la mise en œuvre de la Voie fédérale et contribuer directement à mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes, aux filles et aux personnes 2ELGBTQI+ autochtones. Ces investissements soutiennent plus de 50 programmes et initiatives dans 25 ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez :

Date de modification :