Health support services

Although the Final Report has been released, survivors, family members and those affected by the issue of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls are still able to access mental health counselling, emotional support, community-based cultural support services and some assistance with transportation costs.

To find out more or access supports near you, please call the number in your province or territory:

Mental health counselling

Mental health counselling is provided by professionals such as psychologists and social workers who are registered in their province or territory and enrolled with Indigenous Services Canada. Mental health counsellors will work with their clients to develop a wellness plan, and provide ongoing individual or family counselling to support healing as determined with the client.

Emotional support

Community-based Indigenous health workers, known as Resolution Health Support Workers (RHSWs), are hired by Indigenous organizations to provide trauma-informed, culturally grounded support to people affected by the issue of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls. RHSWs provide emotional support and comfort by listening, talking and providing referrals to other services.

Cultural supports

Elders and traditional healers provide cultural supports through local Indigenous organizations to assist clients on their healing journeys. Specific services are determined by the needs of the individuals and may include dialogue, ceremonies, prayers, Elder services or traditional healing.

Transportation

Wherever possible, assistance with transportation is offered when professional counselling and cultural support services are not locally available. Assistance with transportation costs to see Elders and traditional healers away from home is also available.

Date modified:

Services de soutien à la santé

Bien que le rapport final ait été publié, les survivantes, les membres de la famille et les personnes touchées par le problème des femmes et des filles autochtones disparues et assassinées peuvent tout de même accéder à des services de counseling en santé mentale, à des services de soutien émotionnel, à des services de soutien culturels communautaires et à une certaine aide relativement aux frais de transport.

Pour en savoir plus ou pour accéder aux services près de chez vous, appelez le numéro correspondant à votre province ou territoire:

Counseling en santé mentale

Des services de counseling professionnels en santé mentale sont offerts par des psychologues et des travailleurs sociaux agréés dans leur province ou territoire et engagés par Services autochtones Canada. Les conseillers en santé mentale travaillent avec leurs clients à élaborer un plan de mieux-être et fournissent un soutien continu individuellement ou en famille en vue d'appuyer les mesures de guérison prises par les clients.

Soutien émotionnel

Des travailleurs de la santé communautaires autochtones, connus sous le nom de travailleurs de la santé communautaire (résolution), sont embauchés par des organisations autochtones pour fournir un soutien fondé sur le plan culturel et tenant compte des traumatismes aux personnes touchées par la question des femmes et des filles autochtones disparues ou assassinées. Les travailleurs de la santé communautaires (résolution) offrent un soutien affectif et un réconfort en écoutant, en parlant et en aiguillant les clients vers d'autres services.

Soutien culturel

Les Aînés et les guérisseurs traditionnels offrent des services de soutien culturel par l'entremise d'organisations autochtones locales en vue d'aider les clients dans leur processus de guérison. Les services spécifiques sont déterminés en fonction des besoins des personnes et peuvent inclure le dialogue, les cérémonies, les prières, les services d'Aînés ou la guérison traditionnelle.

Transport

Dans la mesure du possible, de l'assistance au transport est offerte lorsque les services en matière de counseling et de soutien culturel ne sont pas disponibles localement. Une aide pour couvrir les frais de transport visant à rendre visite à des Aînés ou à des guérisseurs traditionnels loin de chez soi est également disponible.

Date de modification :