Keeping Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people safe

Support line for those affected by missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people

This website deals with topics which may negatively impact the reader due to its subject matter. For immediate emotional assistance, call 1-844-413-6649. You can also access long-term health support services such as mental health counselling, community-based emotional support and cultural services and some travel costs to see Elders and traditional healers.

Violence against and the disappearance and murder of Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people in Canada is an ongoing national tragedy. For over a decade, Indigenous families and communities, national Indigenous organizations, and non-governmental and international organizations called upon the Government of Canada to take action. In 2015 the government conducted a comprehensive pre-inquiry and in 2016 launched the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG). Building on the Calls for Justice made by the national inquiry, we are working with provinces, territories, Indigenous organizations and communities across the country to create a national action plan that keeps Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people safe.

Towards a national action plan

Together with provincial, territorial and Indigenous partners, we are taking steps to respond to the Calls for Justice and developing a whole-of-country plan to address the systemic causes of violence against Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people.

What we are doing

While much work remains, federal government departments have put in place concrete actions to end this national tragedy.

Resources

Find resources related to keeping Indigenous women, girls, Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people safe.

Honouring those we have lost

We remember and honour those daughters, mothers, grandmothers, aunties and Two-Spirit and LGBTQQIA people, who were taken from us, the survivors of violence, and families and community members whose lives have been forever changed.

Survivors and families have long called for action. The Government of Canada wants to thank them for their courage and determination in sharing their truths and stories with the national inquiry and all Canadians. We acknowledge that there is much more work to do to implement concrete actions to end this ongoing national tragedy.

Join the conversation

Use the hashtag #MMIWG

Follow us:

Contact us

aadnc.ffada-mmiwg.aandc@canada.ca

Date modified:

Assurer la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones

Ligne de soutien pour les personnes touchées par la question des femmes, des filles et des personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones disparues et assassinées

Le présent site Web traite de sujets qui peuvent avoir une incidence négative sur le lecteur en raison de leur nature. Pour obtenir une aide émotionnelle immédiate, composez le 1-844-413-6649. Vous pouvez également avoir accès à des services de soutien en santé à long terme comme le counseling en santé mentale, le soutien émotionnel communautaire et les services culturels et à une certaine aide relativement aux frais de transport pour aller voir les Aînés et les guérisseurs traditionnels.

La violence, la disparition et le meurtre de femmes, de filles et de personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones au Canada constituent une tragédie nationale qui continue de frapper le pays. Depuis plus d'une décennie, des familles et des communautés autochtones, des organisations autochtones nationales ainsi que des organismes non gouvernementaux et internationaux demandent au gouvernement du Canada de prendre des mesures. En 2015, le gouvernement a mené un enquête préliminaire approfondie et, en 2016, a lancé l'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones assassinées et disparues (FFADA). Dans le prolongement des appels à la justice lancés par l'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles disparues et assassinées, nous collaborons avec les provinces, les territoires, les organisations et les communautés autochtones de tout le pays pour créer un plan d'action national pour assurer la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones.

Vers un plan d'action national

Avec nos partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones, nous prenons des mesures pour répondre aux appels à la justice et élaborons un plan à l'échelle nationale pour éliminer les causes systémiques de la violence faite aux femmes, aux filles et aux personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones.

Ce que nous faisons

Même s'il reste beaucoup à faire, les différents ministères fédéraux ont mis en place des actions concrètes pour mettre fin à cette tragédie nationale.

Ressources

Trouvez des ressources liées à la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA autochtones.

Rendre hommage à celles que nous avons perdues

Nous nous souvenons et nous honorons ces filles, ces mères, ces grand-mères, ces tantes et ces personnes bispirituelles et LGBTQQIA qui nous ont été enlevées, les survivantes de la violence et les membres des familles et des communautés dont la vie a changé à jamais.

Les survivantes et les familles appellent à l'action depuis longtemps. Le gouvernement du Canada tient à les remercier de leur courage et de leur détermination à partager leurs vérités et leurs histoires avec l'enquête nationale et avec tous les Canadiens. Nous reconnaissons qu'il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour mettre en œuvre des actions concrètes qui mettront fin à cette tragédie nationale en cours.

Participez à la conversation

Utilisez le mot clic #FFADA

Suivez-nous sur :

Communiquez-avec nous

aadnc.ffada-mmiwg.aandc@canada.ca

Date de modification :