Mining and minerals in Nunavut

What's new

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada is developing a web-based system allowing for the selection of mineral claims on a map of Nunavut.

Map selection will change the way mineral claims are acquired. Instead of planting ground stakes, people applying for mineral claims will choose pre-defined grid units on an online map. These units will define the area of the mineral claim.

The decision to implement this system was made as a result of the department's consultations with the mining industry, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc., regional Inuit associations along with the support of the Government of Nunavut.

Limited functionalities of the system are already accessible for external clients. It allows them to learn how to use the system and print basic reports related to mineral rights.

The implementation of the fully functional Map Selection System requires modifications to the Nunavut Mining Regulations. The proposed Regulations amending the Nunavut Mining Regulations were published on May 25, 2019 in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette.

Interested persons may make comments to the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with respect to the proposed Regulations within 30 days after the date of publication. All such comments must be addressed to:

Dominique Quirion
Senior Geologist
Petroleum and Mineral Resource Management Directorate
Natural Resource and Environment Branch
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
25 Eddy Street
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H4

Phone: 819-360-4070
Email: dominique.quirion@canada.ca

The launch of the fully functional Map Selection System is planned for 2021. This launch will happen 90 days after the modifications to the Nunavut Mining Regulations come into force. The modifications will include transitional measures to help the mining industry switch to the new mineral regime. Additional information is available on the page Online map selection of mineral claims in Nunavut.

Canada's North is rich in mineral resources and the development of these resources provides socio-economic benefits to Northerners.

Crown lands in Nunavut and the Northwest Territories are managed pursuant to the Territorial Lands Act and its related Regulations.

In the northern territories sub-surface lands include hard-rock minerals, precious gems and coal. The rights to these materials are administered through the Nunavut Mining Regulations the Northwest Territories Mining Regulations and the Territorial Coal Regulations.

There is a distinction between sub-surface minerals and surface mineral substances that have specific purposes such as carving stone and building materials. These special use surface minerals are administered through the Territorial Quarrying Regulations.

For more information on the Nunavut Mining Regulations, the Northwest Territories Mining Regulations, the Territorial Coal Regulations, mining royalty, major mining projects, Mineral and Energy Resource Assessments for the purpose of determining park boundaries, or for more information on policy and legislative issues or initiatives affecting mineral exploration and development in the North, please contact:

Petroleum and Mineral Resources Management Directorate
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
10th Floor, 25 Eddy Street
Gatineau, Qc K1A 0H4

Phone: 819-953-2087
Fax: 819-953-5828

For more information on the administration of subsurface rights and mineral tenures, including issuance of prospectors' licences, prospecting permits, minerals claims, claim tags, claim maps, minerals leases, or for information on mineral rights records and reports of work, please contact the Mining Recorder's Office in Nunavut.

What Information is available?

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Mines et minéraux au Nunavut

Quoi de neuf

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada travaille présentement à l'élaboration d'un système Web permettant la sélection sur carte des claims miniers au Nunavut.

La sélection sur carte modifiera la façon dont les claims miniers sont acquis. Plutôt que d'effectuer un jalonnement au sol des limites d'un claim minier, le promoteur sélectionnera des unités prédéfinies sur une grille d'une carte en ligne. Ces unités définiront la superficie du claim minier.

La décision de mettre en œuvre ce système a été prise à la suite des consultations avec l'industrie minière, la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc, les associations inuites régionales et le soutien du Gouvernement du Nunavut.

Certaines fonctionnalités du système sont déjà accessibles pour les clients externes. Ceci leur permet de faire l'apprentissage du système et d'imprimer des rapports de base liés aux droits miniers.

La mise en service complète du Système de sélection sur carte requiert la modification du Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut. Le projet de règlement intitulé Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut a été publié le 25 mai 2019 à la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada.

Les personnes intéressées peuvent faire parvenir leurs commentaires au ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien au sujet du projet de règlement dans les 30 jours suivant la date de publication. Tous ces commentaires doivent être adressés à :

Dominique Quirion
Géologue principale
Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et minérales
Direction générale des ressources naturelles et de l'environnement
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
25 rue Eddy
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4

Téléphone : 819-360-4070
Courriel : dominique.quirion@canada.ca

La mise en service complète du Système de sélection sur carte est prévue en 2021, après une période de 90 jours suivant la date d'entrée en vigueur des modifications au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut. Les modifications comprendront des mesures transitoires pour aider l'industrie minière à passer au nouveau régime minier. Des informations supplémentaires sont disponibles sur la page Sélection en ligne de claims miniers au Nunavut.

Le Nord du Canada regorge de ressources minérales, dont l'exploitation apporte des avantages socioéconomiques aux résidents du Nord.

Au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les terres publiques sont gérées en vertu de la Loi sur les terres territoriales et de ses règlements d'application.

La définition du sous-sol, dans les territoires du Nord, englobe les minéraux solides, les pierres précieuses et la houille (charbon). Les droits sur ces matières sont gérés conformément au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut, au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Règlement territorial sur la houille.

Une distinction est faite entre les minéraux du sous-sol et les substances minérales de surface exploitées à des fins particulières, comme la pierre à sculpter et les matériaux de construction. Ces dernières substances sont gérées en vertu du Règlement sur l'exploitation de carrières territoriales.

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire sur le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut, sur le Règlement sur l'exploitation minière dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et sur le Règlement territorial sur la houille (charbon), sur les redevances minières, sur les grands projets miniers, sur les évaluations des ressources minérales et énergétiques à des fins de délimitation des parcs, ou plus d'information sur les questions ou projets politiques et législatifs touchant l'exploration et l'exploitation des minéraux dans le Nord, veuillez contacter :

Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et minérales
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
25, rue Eddy, 10e étage
Gatineau, Qc K1A 0H4

Téléphone : 819-953-2087
Télécopieur : 819-953-5828

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire sur l'administration des droits et des régimes miniers – y compris la délivrance des licences de prospection, les permis de prospection, les claims miniers, les plaques d'identification de claim, les cartes des claims et les baux miniers – ou pour de l'information sur les registres des droits miniers et les rapports sur les travaux, veuillez contacter le Bureau du conservateur des registres miniers du Nunavut.

Renseignements disponibles :

Autres liens d'intérêt :

Date de modification :