Summary of regulatory amendments to the Nunavut Mining Regulations (2020) allowing for online map selection of mineral claims in Nunavut

  Former Nunavut Mining Regulations (2014)Nunavut Mining Regulations (2020)
1. Land that can be staked is determined by the regulations without visible boundaries on the ground. Only units identified on a grid described in the amended regulations and based on the Canada Oil and Gas Land Regulations are available for selection as part of a claim to be recorded using the web-based Nunavut Map Selection System.

The grid can be visualized using the Nunavut Map Viewer which provides access to spatial data covering Nunavut.
2. Paper documents are considered official registry. Electronic data and paper documents are considered official registry.
3. Applications, notices, forms and other documents are in paper format and sent by mail or filed in person at the Mining Recorder's Office. Royalty returns are sent to the Chief by mail. Applications and documents, with the exception of reports of work and royalty returns and their supporting documents, are submitted online.
4. Payments must be mailed, credit card information can be taken over the telephone or payments in person at the counter of the Mining Recorder's Office are accepted. Royalty payments are paid by checks or through wire transfers to Public Works and Government Services Canada. The online payments with a credit or debit card are the only accepted modes of payment except for the royalty payments which will continue to be paid by check or wire transfer.
5. Administrative fees are required for items listed in Schedule 1 of the regulations. Administrative fees for the following items are repealed:
  • duplicate or renewal of a licence ($2,00)
  • claim and reduced-area claim tags ($2.00)
  • application to record a claim or reduced-area claim ($0.25/hectare)
  • Fees for submitting reports on work on claims (certificate of work) ($0,25/hectare)
  • application for extension to do work, and request to cancel the recording of a claim ($10.00)
The other fees are retained and the amounts will remain unchanged.
6.   A 90 day period dedicated to the transition from the old to the new regime is in place beginning on the CIF of the amended regulations. Prospecting is authorized, but staking or selection of units as claims is not allowed during that period.

Pending applications prior to CIF made in accordance with the Nunavut Mining Regulations (2014) are processed, except for prospecting permit applications.

Existing holders of claims or leased claims are able to continue to manage their existing mining rights except that itis not possible to:
  • apply for a mining lease
  • transfer or acquire an interest in a claim
  • report on work
  • apply for a reduced area claim or leased claim
7.   On the 91st day after CIF, all ground staked claims in existence on the day before CIF are re-recorded and converted to the grid-based claims (unit claims) depicted on a map, with the exception of leased claims.

Subsequently, the recording date of each converted claim is modified to the day that, following the 90-day transitional period, has the same day and the same month as the initial recording date of the claim before conversion. The modified recording date of the converted claim marks the beginning of its new 30-year duration.

As part of this conversion process, existing claims that occupy a portion of a unit where the remaining area is open Crown land are expanded to fill the entire unit.

Where a unit is occupied by more than one claim, the claim that was staked first and that is contiguous to the open Crown land is expanded to fill the unoccupied portion of the unit. If none of the claims are contiguous to the open Crown land, the claim that was staked first, regardless of contiguity, is expanded.

Following conversion, claim groupings are maintained. If there is excess unallocated cost of work on a converted claim, the excess is allocated forward at the request of the claim holder. The new cost of work obligations apply. However, excess cost of work is not allocated until the recording date of the converted claim is modified.
8. A prospecting licence is required to prospect, apply to record a claim, accept a transfer or assignment of a mineral title, submit an application for a certificate of work or certificate of extension, and acquire a mining lease.

The licence is renewable annually for a small fee ($5 for an individual and $50 for a corporation).
A prospecting licence is required to perform the following activities:
  • prospect
  • apply to record a claim and submit other applications in respect of a claim or a mining lease
  • acquire a recorded claim, a mining lease or an interest in either of them through a transfer
  • receive a certificate of work or a certificate of extension
The licence is not modified.
9. Prospecting permits are allowed. Prospecting permit applications are not accepted.

Prospecting permit provisions are retained until permits that existed before CIF expire or are cancelled.

Permittees continue to have the exclusive right to submit an application to record a claim within the permit zone. The claim is made of units selected on the map.
10. The application to record a claim must be filed within 60 days after the date on which the staking is completed.

A refundable work charge is not required when applying to record a claim.

Claims are recorded by the Mining Recorder as soon as practicable after the 60th day following the day on which the staking is completed. The recording date is considered to be the date that the application is received at the Mining Recorder's Office.
The application to record a claim is made using the web-based Nunavut Map Selection System.

A refundable work charge is required when applying to record a claim. The charge is equal to the first year's work charge of $45 per unit or partial unit ($2.50 per hectare for an average unit of 18 hectares). This concept is similar to refundable work charges for the existing prospecting permit process.

A claim is recorded immediately upon payment of the refundable work charge.
11. Wooden posts, trees, mounds of stones and metal tags are used to identify land as a claim. A claim is no longer physically identified on the land. Instead, it is displayed on the Nunavut Map Viewer.
12. Minimum area of a claim: 25 hectares

Maximum area of a claim: 1,250 hectares

Shape of a claim: rectangular
Area of units: between 10 and 25 hectares, depending on the location, with an average of 18 hectares.

Minimum size of a claim: 1 unit
Maximum size of a claim: 100 units

Within a claim, each selected unit have to be contiguous to another selected unit. An unselected unit must not be enclosed within a claim.
13. Consent from the Designated Inuit Organization to access Inuit Owned Land is required to prospect or stake a claim to Crown owned mining rights on those lands, unless witness posts can be planted on neighboring land. Consent from the Designated Inuit Organization continues to be required to prospect on Inuit Owned Lands, where the Crown owns the mining rights on those lands, because physical access is necessary. However, physical access to those lands is not necessary to record a claim because staking is no longer required. Therefore consent for access prior to recording a claim is not necessary.
14. To reduce the area of a claim, the claim holder must have done at least 2 years' worth of work ($10 per hectare) on that claim.

When reducing the area of a claim, the reduced claim must be staked using special reduced area tags.

The area excluded from the original claim is reopened for prospecting and staking at noon on the day following the first business day after the day of which the claim is reduced.
To reduce the area of a claim, the claim holder needs to have done at least 2 years' worth of work ($135 per unit or partial unit in the claim). Each units in the reduced claim has to be contiguous and not enclose a unit that is not included in that claim.

The claim holder has the ability to reduce the area of a claim once a year by selecting the units to be removed. Reduced-area tags are no longer available.

The units that are removed will be available to be selected as a claim on the day that is 31 days beginning on the day on which the reduced claim is recorded, unless multiple claims occupy portions of the unit. In that case, the claim that is staked first and that is contiguous to the newly available portion w is expanded to fill that portion. If none of the claims are contiguous to the available area, the claim that is staked first, regardless of contiguity, is expanded.
15. It is not possible to change the anniversary date of a claim. The holder of a claim recorded under the amended regulations has the ability, during the year following the recording of the claim and only once to choose a new anniversary date to establish, for example, common anniversary dates between various claims. The chosen date must fall within that year. However, if a certificate of work is issued, it is not possible to change the anniversary date of that claim.
16. Annual work charges to maintain a claim:
  • First two year period: $10 per hectare
  • Years 3 to 10: $5 per hectare
Annual work charges to maintain a claim per unit or partial unit:
  • Year 1: $45
  • Year 2: $90
  • Year 3: $90
  • Year 4: $90
  • Year 5 to 7: $135
  • Year 8 to 10: $180
  • Year 11 to 20: $225
  • Year 21 to 30: $270
17. The definition of "cost of work" includes a list of costs that do not contribute to fulfill the work requirements for a claim. Costs of environmental baseline studies – done in conjunction with geological field work – that exceed 10% of the cost of that work is added to the list of unacceptable costs. Therefore, it is no longer possible for environmental baseline studies to be credited to their full amount in order to satisfy the work requirements.
18. Reports on work done over multiple years are accepted. Claim holders are allowed to report on work done in the 4 years prior to the filing of the report. However, a report can only cover work done over a 12 month period.
19. The recording of a claim is cancelled if no work has been reported for a year and no certificate of extension was issued. A maximum of 3 certificates of extension can be issued for a claim.

The recording of a claim is cancelled upon the issuance of a third certificate of work indicating that the cost of work is less than the required amount.

It is possible to pay in lieu of work for any year of a claim.

Payments in lieu of work are refundable, upon completion of the required work.
The recording of a claim is cancelled when a certificate of insufficient work is issued with respect to that claim if five certificates of extension have been issued with respect to that claim after the coming into force of the amended regulations.

It is not possible to pay in lieu of work for the first year of a converted claim or for the first two years of a claim recorded under the amended regulations.

Payments in lieu of work are refundable, upon completion of the required work.
20. Claims can be grouped if they are contiguous and the total area of the group does not exceed 5,000 hectares. It is possible to group claims if they are contiguous and the total number of units in the group does not exceed 400 (equivalent to four claims of maximum size or approximately 7,200 hectares). The grouping must not result in the enclosure of a unit that is not part of the grouped claims.
21. The recording of a claim may be cancelled for various reasons identified in the regulations. As ground staking is replaced with map selection of claims online, the recording of a claim e is not cancelled anymore because the claim holder did not receive authorization to stake from the surface rights holder.
22. Lands on which the recording of a claim was cancelled are reopened for prospecting and staking at different times depending on the reason for the cancellation. All lands on which the recording of a claim was cancelled are reopened for prospecting and selection of units as a claim after 30 days following the cancellation unless:
  • the Minister delays the reopening because there are grounds to believe that there is unremedied environmental damage to the land, or
  • a ministerial review related to the cancellation of the recording of the claim is pending
However, if the lands were covered by a prospecting permit that expires or is cancelled, the lands are reopened for prospecting and selection of units as a claim at noon on the day following the first business day after the day on which the permit expired or was cancelled.

For the year following the cancellation of the recording of the original claim, the former lessee and any person related to the former lessee are not permitted to apply to record a claim that includes any unit that was contained in the original claim or acquire a legal or beneficial interest in respect of that claim.
23. It is possible to submit an application for a mining lease with respect to a claim before the end of its 9th year.
  • if an application is not submitted before the end of its 9th year, the claim is cancelled at that moment
  • if an application is submitted before the end of its 9th year, the claim is cancelled at the end of the 10th year unless a mining lease is issued
It is be possible to submit an application for a mining lease with respect to a claim before the end of its 29th year.
  • if an application is not submitted before the end of its 29th year, the claim is cancelled at that moment
  • if an application is submitted before the end of its 29th year, the claim is cancelled at the end of the 30th year unless a mining lease is issued
24. To obtain a mining lease:
  • costs of work of at least $25 per hectare must have been allocated to the claim to be leased, which represents 5 years' worth of work. The non-geological work included in that amount must not exceed $5 per hectare
  • a plan of survey of the claim must have been made, and
  • the rent for the first year of the lease must have been paid
The criteria for leasing claims is retained, except for the cost of work requirements. A minimum of $1,260 per unit or partial unit in the claim, which represents 10 years' worth of work, is required. The non-geological work included in that amount must not exceed $250 per unit or partial unit.
25. The leasing of multiple contiguous claims is allowed. It is not be possible to lease multiple claims.
26. A plan of survey of the claim covered by a lease is required.

The survey is based on the location of the legal posts marking the boundaries of the claim on the ground. The sketch illustrating the claim location, provided with the application to record, is used where posts are missing.

A report on any overlap of boundaries between the surveyed claim and any other claim must be provided by the lease applicant.
A plan of survey of the leased claim is still required to obtain a lease. It will mark, on the land, the claim boundaries using the geographical coordinates from the map.

Legal posts on the ground are not taken into consideration during the survey of a claim that existed before CIF.

As overlap with other claims is not possible with map selection, the requirement to provide reports on overlaps is repealed.
27. The mining lease applicant must send a notice, in the prescribed form, to the holders of the adjacent claims or leased claims to inform them of the leasing. The requirement to send a notice is extended to the surface rights holders if the surveyed claim, subject to the lease application, is located partly or totally on their lands is contiguous to those lands.
28. Annual rent for a mining lease:
  • $2,50 per hectare for the first term
  • $5,00 per hectare for subsequent terms
Annual rent for a mining lease: $10 per hectare (which corresponds to $180 per unit for a unit having an averaged area of 18 hectares).

The rental amounts prescribed under the Nunavut Mining Regulations (2014) continues to apply to leases that were issued under those regulations until the end of their term.
29. A mining lease has a term of 21 years and is renewable.

The reduction of the area of a mining lease can occur at renewal by staking the reduced area of the leased claim and submitting a plan of survey of the new boundaries.
A mining lease continues to have a 21-year term and is still renewable.

The ability to reduce the area of mining leases under the Nunavut Mining Regulations (2014) is repealed.

However, it is possible to reduce the area of a mining lease issued under the amended regulations, at the time of its renewal, by reducing the number of units from the leased claim at renewal time.

The deadline to apply for a lease renewal with a request to reduce the area of the leased claim is one year before the end of the term of the lease. A survey of the reduced leased claim boundaries is still required.

 

Date modified:

Résumé des modifications réglementaires proposées pour mettre en œuvre la sélection en ligne de claims miniers sur carte au Nunavut

No Règlement sur l'exploitation minière au Nunavut (2014) NOUVEAU - Modifications réglementaires proposées
1. Les terres qui peuvent être jalonnées à titre de claim sont déterminées par le règlement sans limites visibles sur le terrain. Seules les unités identifiées sur une grille décrite dans le règlement modifié et basées sur le Règlement sur les terres pétrolifères et gazifères du Canada seront disponibles pour la sélection et l'enregistrement à titre de claim au moyen du Système de Sélection sur Carte du Nunavut, disponible en ligne.

La grille peut être affichée à l'aide du Visualiseur de carte du Nunavut, lequel permet d'accéder aux données spatiales couvrant le Nunavut.
2. Les documents papier sont considérés comme le registre officiel. Les données électroniques et les documents papier constitueront le registre officiel.
3. Les demandes, avis, formulaires et autres documents sont transmis par la poste ou remis en personne au Bureau du registraire minier. Le formulaire de déclaration des redevances minières est transmis au Chef par la poste. Les demandes et autres documents seront transmis en ligne, à l’exception des rapports sur les travaux et du formulaire de déclaration des redevances minières et leurs documents connexes.
4. Les paiements doivent être envoyés par la poste, les données sur les cartes de crédit peuvent être communiquées au téléphone, et les paiements peuvent être effectués en personne au comptoir du Bureau du registraire minier. Le paiement des redevances est fait au moyen de chèques ou de virements télégraphiques à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada. Le seul mode de paiement accepté sera le paiement en ligne avec une carte de crédit ou de débit, à l’exception du paiement des redevances, lequel continuera d’être effectué par chèque ou virement télégraphique.
5. Des droits (frais administratifs) sont exigés pour les transactions décrites à l'annexe 1 du règlement. Les droits (frais administratifs) suivants seront éliminés:
  • double ou renouvellement d’une licence de prospection;
  • plaques d'identification d’un claim ou d’un claim réduit;
  • demande d’enregistrement d’un claim ou d’un claim de superficie réduite;
  • certificat de travaux;
  • demande de prolongation du délai d’exécution de travaux;
  • demande d’annulation de l’enregistrement d’un claim.
Les autres frais ne seront pas modifiés, et les montants resteront les mêmes.
6.   Une période de 90 jours consacrée à la transition du régime actuel vers le nouveau régime sera établie, débutant le jour de l’entrée en vigueur (EEV) du règlement modifié. Pendant cette période, la prospection sera permise, mais le jalonnement ou la sélection d’unités à titre de claim minier ne seront pas autorisés.

Les demandes en attente à l’EEV et faites conformément au Règlement sur l'exploitation minière du Nunavut (2014) seront traitées, à l'exception des demandes de permis de prospection.

Les détenteurs de claims ou de baux miniers pourront continuer de gérer leurs titres miniers qui existaient avant l’EEV. Cependant les activités suivantes ne seront pas permises :
  • faire une demande de bail minier;
  • transférer ou acquérir un intérêt à l'égard d’un claim;
  • soumettre un rapport sur les travaux;
  • faire une demande pour un claim ou un bail minier réduit.
7.   Le 91e jour suivant l’EEV, tous les claims jalonnés existant le jour précédant l’EEV seront réenregistrés et convertis en claims unitaires basés sur la grille et représentés sur la carte, à l'exception des claims pris à bail.

Subséquemment, la date d’enregistrement de chacun des claims convertis sera modifiée pour correspondre à la première date, suivant la période de transition de 90 jours, correspondant au même jour du même mois que la date d’enregistrement initiale du claim avant sa conversion. La date d’enregistrement modifiée du claim converti marquera le début de sa nouvelle période de validité de 30 ans.

Dans le cadre de ce processus de conversion, les claims existants qui occupent partiellement une unité dans laquelle une terre domaniale est disponible seront agrandis afin d’inclure l'ensemble de l'unité.

Lorsqu'une unité est occupée par plusieurs claims, le claim qui a été jalonné en premier et qui est contigu à la terre domaniale disponible sera agrandi pour inclure la partie inoccupée de l'unité. Si aucun claim n’est contigu aux terres domaniales disponibles, le claim jalonné en premier, sans égard à la contiguïté, sera agrandi.

Après la conversion, les groupements de claims seront préservés. S'il y a un excédent de coût des travaux non attribué sur un claim converti, l'excédent pourra être attribué aux années ultérieures à la demande du détenteur du claim. Les nouvelles obligations liées au coût des travaux s'appliqueront. Par contre, aucun coût de travaux excédentaire ne sera attribué avant que la date d’enregistrement du claim converti ne soit modifiée.
8. Une licence de prospection est exigée pour faire de la prospection, faire une demande d’enregistrement d’un claim, accepter un transfert ou une cession d’un titre minier, présenter une demande de certificat de travaux ou de certificat de prolongation et obtenir un bail minier.

La licence est renouvelable annuellement moyennant le paiement des frais applicables (5 $ pour une personne physique et 50 $ pour une personne morale.)
Une licence de prospection sera exigée pour la réalisation des activités suivantes :
  • faire de la prospection;
  • demander l’enregistrement d’un claim et toute autre demande à l'égard d’un claim ou d’un bail minier;
  • acquérir par transfert un claim enregistré ou un bail minier ou un intérêt à l'égard de l'un d'eux;
  • obtenir un certificat de travaux ou un certificat de prolongation.
La licence ne sera pas modifiée.
9. Les permis de prospection sont autorisés. Les demandes de permis de prospection ne seront plus acceptées.

Les dispositions portant sur les permis de prospection continueront de s’appliquer jusqu'à ce que les permis existant avant l’EEV expirent ou soient annulés.

Les titulaires conserveront le droit exclusif de faire une demande d’enregistrement pour un claim situé dans la zone du permis. Le claim sera constitué d’unités sélectionnées sur carte.
10. La demande d’enregistrement d’un claim doit être présentée au plus tard le 60e jour suivant la date à laquelle le jalonnement est complété.

Un prix à payer remboursable et correspondant aux coûts des travaux n’est pas exigé lors de la présentation d’une demande d’enregistrement d’un claim.

Le registraire minier enregistre le claim dès que possible après le 60e jour suivant la date du jalonnement. La date de réception de la demande au Bureau du registraire minier tient lieu de date d’enregistrement du claim.
La demande d’enregistrement d’un claim sera faite au moyen du Système de sélection sur carte au Nunavut, disponible en ligne.

Un prix à payer remboursable sera exigé lors de la demande d’enregistrement d’un claim. Le prix correspondra aux coûts des travaux requis pour la première année, soit 45 $ par unité (2,50 $ par hectare pour une unité ayant la superficie moyenne de 18 hectares). Ce concept s'apparente à celui du dépôt remboursable exigé actuellement pour un permis de prospection.

Le claim sera enregistré immédiatement, sur réception du paiement du prix à payer remboursable.
11. Des poteaux de bois, des arbres, des monticules de pierres et des plaques d’identification de métal sont utilisés pour identifier les terres qui constituent un claim. Un claim ne sera plus identifié physiquement sur le terrain. Il sera plutôt affiché sur le Visualiseur de carte du Nunavut.
12. Superficie minimum d’un claim : 25 hectares

Superficie maximum d’un claim : 1 250 hectares

Forme d’un claim : rectangulaire
Superficie des unités : entre 10 et 25 hectares, selon l'emplacement, la moyenne étant 18 hectares.

Taille minimum d’un claim : 1 unité

Taille maximum d’un claim : 100 unités

Dans un claim, chaque unité sélectionnée devra être contigüe à une autre unité sélectionnée. Aucune unité non sélectionnée ne devra être enclavée par un claim.
13. Le consentement de l'Organisation inuit désignée est nécessaire pour accéder aux terres inuit dans le but de prospecter ou de jalonner un claim sur ces terres afin d’y revendiquer les droits miniers appartenant à la Couronne, à moins que des bornes témoin soient érigées sur les terres avoisinantes. Le consentement de l'Organisation inuit désignée continuera d’être nécessaire pour accéder aux terres inuit afin d’y faire de la prospection – lorsque les droits miniers sur ces terres appartiennent à la Couronne – parce qu’un accès physique est nécessaire. Cependant, un accès physique ne sera plus nécessaire pour enregistrer un claim, parce que le jalonnement ne sera plus requis. Il ne sera donc plus nécessaire d’obtenir un consentement pour accéder à une terre avant l’enregistrement d’un claim.
14. Des coûts minimums correspondant à deux années de travaux (10 $ par hectare) sont exigés afin de réduire la superficie d’un claim.

Afin de réduire la superficie d’un claim, le claim réduit doit être jalonné au moyen de plaques spécifiques de superficie réduite.

La superficie exclue du claim original est rouverte à la prospection et au jalonnement à midi le lendemain du premier jour ouvrable suivant le jour de la réduction.
Des coûts minimums correspondant à deux années de travaux (135 $ par unité dans le claim) seront exigés afin de réduire la superficie d’un claim.

Le détenteur de claim pourra réduire la superficie de son claim une fois l’an en sélectionnant les unités à retirer. Les plaques de superficie réduite ne seront plus disponibles.

Les unités qui ont été retirées seront disponibles pour être sélectionnées à titre de claim le 31e jour à compter de la date d’enregistrement du claim réduit, sauf dans le cas où plusieurs claims occupent les portions d’une unité. Dans ce cas, le claim qui a été jalonné en premier et qui est contigu à la portion nouvellement disponible sera agrandi pour combler cette portion. Si aucun des claims restants n’est contigu aux terres disponibles, le claim jalonné en premier, sans égard à la contiguïté, sera agrandi.
15. Il n’est pas possible de modifier la date anniversaire d’un claim. Le détenteur d’un claim enregistré au titre du règlement modifié aura la possibilité – pendant l’année qui suit l’enregistrement du claim et une seule fois – de choisir une nouvelle date anniversaire afin d’établir, par exemple, une date anniversaire commune pour un ensemble de claims. La date choisie devra être comprise dans cette année.
16. Coûts des travaux annuels pour conserver un claim:
  • Deux premières années: 10 $ par hectare
  • Années 3 à 10: 5 $ par hectare
Coûts des travaux annuels pour conserver un claim:
  • 1re année : 45 $ par unité
  • 2e année : 90 $ par unité
  • 3e année : 90 $ par unité
  • 4e année : 90 $ par unité
  • 5e à 7e années : 135 $ par unité
  • 8e à 10e années : 180 $ par unité
  • 11e à 20e années : 225 $ par unité
  • 21e à 30e années : 270 $ par unité
17. La définition de « coût des travaux » comprend une liste de coûts qui ne permettent pas de contribuer au respect des exigences d’exécution des travaux pour un claim. Le coût des études environnementales de base – réalisées en conjonction avec des travaux géologiques sur le terrain – qui dépasse 10 % du coût de ces travaux seront ajoutées à la liste des coûts non acceptables. Il ne sera donc plus possible de réclamer le remboursement de la totalité des études environnementales de base exécutées sur un claim afin de respecter les exigences d’exécution de travaux pour ce claim.
18. Les rapports qui portent sur plusieurs années de travaux sont acceptés. Les détenteurs de claim seront autorisés à faire rapport sur les travaux exécutés au cours des quatre années précédant le dépôt du rapport. Cependant, le rapport devra porter sur des travaux exécutés pendant une période ne dépassant pas  mois.
19. L’enregistrement d’un claim est annulé si ni un rapport, ni un certificat de prolongation n’est remis. Un maximum de trois certificats de prolongation peut être remis à l’égard d’un claim

L’enregistrement d’un claim est annulé lorsqu’un troisième certificat de travaux insuffisants est remis à l’égard de ce claim.

Le paiement en lieu des travaux est accepté pour toute période d’un claim.

Les paiements sont remboursables lorsque les travaux manquants sont exécutés.
L’enregistrement d’un claim sera annulé lorsqu’un certificat de travaux insuffisant aura été délivré à l’égard du claim si cinq certificats de prolongation ont été délivrés à l’égard de ce claim depuis l’EEV du règlement modifié.

Il ne sera pas possible de faire un paiement en lieu des travaux pour la première période d’un an d’un claim converti ou pour la première période de deux ans d’un claim enregistré au titre du règlement modifié.

Les paiements seront remboursables lorsque les travaux manquants auront été exécutés.
20. Des claims peuvent être groupés s’ils sont contigus et si la superficie totale du groupement ne dépasse pas 5 000 hectares. Il sera possible de grouper des claims s'ils sont contigus et si le nombre total d'unités dans le groupement ne dépasse pas 400 (équivalent à quatre claims de taille maximale ou approximativement 7 200 hectares). Le groupement ne devra pas enclaver une unité qui ne fait pas partie des claims groupés.
21. L’enregistrement d’un claim peut être annulé pour différentes raisons précisées dans le règlement. Puisque le jalonnement sera remplacé par la sélection sur carte, l’enregistrement d’un claim ne sera plus annulé en raison de l’absence du consentement du titulaire des droits de surface.
22. Les terres d’un claim dont l'enregistrement a été annulé sont rouvertes à la prospection et au jalonnement à différents moments selon le motif de l'annulation. Toutes les terres d’un claim dont l’enregistrement a été annulé seront rouvertes à la prospection et à la sélection des unités à titre de claim le 31e jour à compter de son annulation, à moins que :
  • le ministre en diffère la réouverture car il a des motifs raisonnables de croire que des dommages non réparés ont été causés à l’environnement, ou
  • une révision par le ministre relative à l'annulation de l'enregistrement du claim est en cours.
Par contre, s’il s’agit de terres visées par un permis de prospection qui expire ou qui est annulé, ces terres seront rouvertes à la prospection et à la sélection des unités à titre de claim à midi le lendemain du premier jour ouvrable suivant la date d’expiration ou d’annulation du permis.
23. Une demande de bail minier peut être présentée à l’égard d’un claim avant la fin de sa 9e année.
  • Si la demande n’est pas faite avant la fin de sa 9e année, le claim est annulé à ce moment.
  • Si la demande est faite avant la fin de sa 9e année, le claim est annulé à la fin de sa 10e année, à moins qu’un bail minier n’ait été délivré.
Une demande de bail minier pourra être présentée à l’égard d’un claim avant la fin de sa 29e année.
  • Si la demande n’est pas faite avant la fin de sa 29e année, le claim sera annulé à ce moment.
  • Si la demande est faite avant la fin de sa 29e année, le claim sera annulé à la fin de sa 30e année, à moins qu’un bail minier n’ait été délivré.
24. Pour obtenir un bail minier :
  • un coût des travaux d’au moins 25 $ par hectare doit avoir été attribué pour le claim faisant l’objet de la demande de bail, ce qui représente cinq années de travaux. Les travaux non géologiques inclus dans ce montant ne doivent pas excéder 5 $ par hectare;
  • un plan d’arpentage du claim doit avoir été établi;
  • la première année du loyer doit avoir été payée.
Les critères permettant d’obtenir un bail minier seront les mêmes, à l’exception de ce qui concerne le coût des travaux. Un minimum de 1 260 $ de coût des travaux par unité dans le claim, ce qui représente 10 années de travaux, sera exigé. Les travaux non géologiques inclus dans ce montant ne devront pas excéder 250 $ par unité.
25. La prise à bail d’un ensemble de claims contigus est permise. Il ne sera plus possible de prendre à bail plusieurs claims.
26. L’arpentage du claim visé par un bail est exigé.

L’arpentage est basé sur l'emplacement des bornes légales qui marquent les limites du claim sur le terrain. Le croquis illustrant l'emplacement du claim, qui accompagne la demande d’enregistrement, est utilisé lorsque des bornes sont manquantes.

Un rapport sur tout chevauchement entre les limites du claim arpenté et d’autres claims doit être fourni par le demandeur du bail.
L’arpentage est basé sur l'emplacement des bornes légales qui marquent les limites du claim sur le terrain. Le croquis illustrant l'emplacement du claim, qui accompagne la demande d’enregistrement, est utilisé lorsque des bornes sont manquantes.

Les bornes légales sur le terrain ne seront pas prises en compte lors de l'arpentage des claims qui existaient avant l’EEV.

Puisque les chevauchements avec les autres claims ne seront plus possibles avec la sélection sur carte, l’obligation de fournir des rapports sur les chevauchements sera abrogée.
27. Le demandeur de bail minier doit envoyer un avis, sur la formule prescrite, aux détenteurs des claims ou des claims faisant l’objet d’un bail contigus afin de les informer de la prise à bail. L'obligation de fournir un avis sera étendue à tout titulaire des droits de surface si le claim arpenté, qui fait l’objet de la demande de bail, est situé, en tout ou en partie, sur leurs terres ou est contigu à ces terres.
28. Montants pour le loyer annuel d’un bail minier:
  • 2,50 $ par hectare pour le premier terme
  • 5,00 $ par hectare pour les termes subséquents
Loyer annuel d’un bail minier : 10 $ par hectare (ce qui correspond à 180 $ par unité, pour une unité ayant une superficie moyenne de 18 hectares).

Les montants du loyer exigés en vertu du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière au Nunavut (2014) continueront de s’appliquer aux baux délivrés au titre de ce règlement et ce, jusqu’à la fin de leur terme.
29. Un bail minier a un terme de 21 ans et il est renouvelable.

La réduction de la superficie d’un bail peut être effectuée lors de son renouvellement, par jalonnement sur le terrain du claim réduit faisant l’objet du bail. Un plan d’arpentage des nouvelles limites du bail est exigé.
Un bail minier aura toujours un terme de 21 ans et il demeure renouvelable.

La possibilité de réduire la superficie d’un bail minier délivré au titre du Règlement sur l’exploitation minière au Nunavut (2014) sera abrogée.

Toutefois, il sera possible de réduire la superficie d’un bail minier délivré au titre du règlement modifié par la réduction du nombre d’unités dans le claim faisant l’objet du bail, mais seulement au moment de son renouvellement. Un arpentage des limites du bail réduit sera encore exigé.
Date de modification :