How we built a national action plan with partners

Honouring those we have lost

We remember and honour all Indigenous women, girls, and Two Spirit, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Intersex, and Asexual Plus (2SLGBTQQIA+) people who were taken, the survivors of violence, and families and community members whose lives have been forever changed.

About the national action plan

The 2021 National Action Plan: Ending Violence Against Indigenous Women, Girls, And 2SLGBTQQIA+ People (PDF Version, 6,93 MB, 113 pages) is a major step in ending violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people. To address the Calls for Justice (PDF Version, 643,15 KB, 52 pages) and Calls for Miskotahâ, (PDF Version, 6,19 MB, 44 pages) families and survivors, the federal government, provincial and territorial governments, Indigenous governments, alongside Indigenous organizations and communities, worked together on the national action plan to make the necessary change across the country to ensure Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people are safe wherever they are, now and in the future. With the integral involvement of the families and survivors, the national action plan was built with a focus on the principle "nothing about us, without us." This upholds and prioritizes their voices and truths and places them at the centre of co-development. The national action plan:

With the integral involvement of the families and survivors, the national action plan was built with a focus on the principle "nothing about us, without us." This upholds and prioritizes their voices and truths and places them at the centre of co-development. The national action plan:

The timeline of the national action plan

2015 to 2016: Establishing the national inquiry

In response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action and the decades long advocacy from families and survivors, the Government of Canada began a detailed pre-inquiry across the country in 2015 and in 2016 launched the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG) and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people.

This inquiry included all provinces and territories and the federal government. It brought together:

  • Indigenous leaders
  • families and survivors
  • communities
  • knowledge keepers
  • experts
  • institutions

from across the country to study and discuss the underlying social, economic, cultural, institutional, systemic and historical causes, policies and practices for this ongoing violence.

The national inquiry's research was considerable and extensive. This body of work is now reflected in the final report's quality, thoughtful and respectful findings.

June 3 2019: Calls for Justice

After two and a half years of work, the national inquiry released its final report in June 2019. Reclaiming Power and Place: The Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls documents this work, and contains 231 Calls for Justice calling upon various organizations, governments, civil society actors, and individuals to take action to end the causes of this violence:

  • all federal, provincial, territorial and Indigenous governments
  • industries
  • institutions
  • health care
  • child welfare
  • correctional services
  • policing

June 29, 2019: Métis perspectives and 62 Calls for Miskotahâ

In response to the national inquiry's final report, and to supplement the 29 Métis-specific Calls for Justice, Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak released its own report, entitled Métis Perspectives of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and LGBTQ2S+ People (PDF Version, 5,98 MB, 119 pages) which includes 62 Calls for Change or Miskotahâ (pronounced "Mis-KO-ta-ha").

June 3, 2021: Responding with a plan for action

The Government of Canada, provincial, territorial and Indigenous governments and Indigenous partners, families and survivors were called upon to work together to respond to the issues identified by the national inquiry's final report and its Calls for Justice, as well as the 62 calls for Miskotahâ from Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak. Together, a national action plan to end the systemic causes of violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people was co-developed.

On June 3, 2021, the national action plan was released. As one component of the national action plan, the Government of Canada developed the federal pathway. It outlines the Government of Canada's commitments, contributions and planned actions to end violence against Indigenous women and girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people.

June 3, 2022: Re-affirm priorities and continuing to engage

For the first anniversary of the national action plan, the Government of Canada re-affirms its commitment to end the violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people by releasing the federal pathway annual progress report. This report outlines the work we've done since in last year and the work we still need to do.

Engagement is ongoing with partners, including with Indigenous representative organizations and governments to address the violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people and to ensure that progress continues.

While some progress has been made to address systemic forms of violence, the Government of Canada recognizes that so much more work must be done. Our close work with national action plan partners, families and survivors and Indigenous governments and organizations will ensure we continue to move ahead in the right direction. We will continue to respect and honour all of the experiences shared during the National Inquiry and beyond.

Since the release of national inquiry's final report, funding has been provided to Indigenous organizations to support engagement with their members, including families and survivors, and to identify priorities and mechanisms for implementation.

Work structure when national action plan was built

Who was involved in developing the national action plan

The national action plan was co-developed with:

  • families and survivors
  • Indigenous governments and organizations
  • federal, provincial and territorial governments
  • 2SLGBTQQIA+ organizations and leaders
  • grassroots organizations
  • practitioners
  • academics
  • subject-matter experts

The Core Working Group

The Core Working Group and the National Family and Survivors Circle were central to the process. They worked together to support the working groups by coordinating and validating their efforts. The working groups provided their input and feedback into the Core Working Group. The Core Working Group was co-chaired by:

  • Gina Wilson, Deputy Minister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth and Senior Associate Deputy Minister for Canadian Heritage for the Government of Canada
  • Valerie Royle, Deputy Minister of Tourism and Culture and Deputy Minister of the Women's Directorate for the Government of Yukon.

Even though the Core Working Group's work was completed in June 2021, participants and participating organizations continue to be involved in the national action plan as contributing partners.

The working groups

The sub-working groups developed sections that together form the national action plan. Every contribution from the working groups represents a unique perspective that is considered carefully on its own and in the context of the whole plan.

Partner organizations and governments participated in the working groups that included over 100 Indigenous women as well as members of the 2SLGBTQQIA+ community. These working groups were:

  • the federal working group
  • the provincial and territorial working group
  • the urban working group
  • the 2SLGBTQQIA+ working group
  • the First Nations working group
  • the Inuit working group
  • the Métis working group
  • the data working group

Indigenous groups and organizations

Many Indigenous groups and organizations worked on the development of the national action plan, including:

  • National Family and Survivors Circle
  • Assembly of First Nations' Women's Council
  • Pauktuuit Inuit Women of Canada
  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak
  • Alberta Joint Working Group on MMIWG
  • Ontario Indigenous Women's Advisory Council
  • Manitoba MMIWG Coalition
  • Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak
  • Ontario Federation of Friendship Centres
  • Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata
  • 2 Spirits in Motion Foundation
  • Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
  • Femmes Autochtones du Québec
  • Institute for the Advancement of Aboriginal Women
  • National Aboriginal Circle Against Family Violence
  • National Association of Friendship Centres
  • Newfoundland Aboriginal Women's Network
  • Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres
  • Ontario Native Women's Association

Learn more:

Date modified:

Comment nous avons élaboré un plan d'action national avec nos partenaires

Rendre hommage aux personnes que nous avons perdues

Nous rendons hommage à toutes les femmes, les filles et les personnes bispirituelles, lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, transgenres, queers, en questionnement, intersexes et asexuelles plus (2ELGBTQQIA+) autochtones qui ont été enlevées, ainsi qu'aux survivantes de la violence et aux familles et membres des communautés dont la vie a été changée à jamais.

À propos du plan d'action national

Le Plan d'action national 2021 pour les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones disparues et assassinées : Mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones (version pdf, 6,76 MB, 114 pages) est une étape majeure pour mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones. Pour répondre aux appels à la justice (version pdf, 643,15 KB, 55 pages) et aux appels à la miskotahâ, , ( version pdf, 6,19 MB, 44 pages) (non disponible en français) les familles et les survivantes, le gouvernement fédéral, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les gouvernements autochtones, ainsi que les organisations et les communautés autochtones, ont travaillé ensemble à un le plan d'action national afin d'apporter les changements nécessaires dans tout le pays pour que les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones soient en sécurité où qu'elles se trouvent, aujourd'hui et demain.

Grâce à la participation intégrale des familles et des survivantes, le plan d'action national a été élaboré selon le principe « rien sur nous, sans nous ». Cela permet de soutenir et de privilégier leurs voix et leurs vérités et de les placer au centre du processus d'élaboration conjointe. Le plan d'action national vise à :

Le calendrier du plan d'action national

De 2015 à 2016 : Mise en place de l'Enquête nationale

En réponse aux appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et au plaidoyer de plusieurs décennies des familles et des survivantes, le gouvernement du Canada a entamé en 2015 un processus détaillé de définition des paramètres de l'enquête à travers le pays et a lancé en 2016 l' Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées (FFADA) et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+.

Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ainsi que le gouvernement fédéral ont participé à cette enquête. Elle a réuni :

  • des dirigeants autochtones,
  • des familles et des survivantes,
  • des communautés,
  • des gardiens du savoir,
  • des experts,
  • des institutions

de partout au pays pour étudier les causes, les politiques et les pratiques sociales, économiques, culturelles, institutionnelles, systémiques et historiques sous-jacentes à cette violence permanente, et pour en discuter.

Les recherches effectuées dans le cadre de l'Enquête nationale ont été considérables et élargies. Tous ces travaux sont maintenant reflétés dans les conclusions de qualité, réfléchies et respectueuses du rapport final.

3 juin 2019 : Appel à la justice

Après deux ans et demi de travail, les responsables de l'Enquête nationale ont publié leur rapport final en juin 2019. Réclamer notre pouvoir et notre place : le rapport final de l'Enquête nationale sur les femmes et les filles autochtones disparues et assassinées documente le travail accompli et contient 231 appels à la justice s'adressant aux gouvernements, aux institutions, aux intervenants de la société civile et aux personnes à prendre des mesures pour mettre fin aux causes de cette violence :

  • tous les gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones
  • les industries
  • les institutions
  • les soins de santé
  • les services de protection de l'enfance
  • les services correctionnels
  • les services de police

29 juin 2019 : Perspectives métisses et 62 appels à la Miskotahâ

En réponse au rapport final de l'Enquête nationale, et pour compléter les 29 appels à la justice propres aux Métis, l'organisation Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak a publié son propre rapport intitulé Métis Perspectives of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and LGBTQ2S+ People (version pdf, 5,98 MB, 119 pages) (non disponible en français), qui comprend 62 appels au changement ou Miskotahâ (prononcé « Mis-KO-ta-ha »).

Le 3 juin 2021 : Répondre par un plan d'action

Le gouvernement du Canada, les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones ainsi que les partenaires, les familles et les survivantes autochtones ont été appelés à travailler ensemble pour répondre aux problèmes ciblés dans le rapport final de l'Enquête nationale et ses appels à la justice, ainsi que les 62 appels à la Miskotahâ de l'organisation Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak. Ensemble, ils ont élaboré un plan d'action national visant à mettre fin aux causes systémiques de la violence faite aux femmes, aux filles et aux personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones.

Le 3 juin 2021, le plan d'action national a été rendu public. Dans le cadre de ce plan d'action national, le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré la Voie fédérale (version pdf, 1,5 Mo, 35 pages). On y décrit les engagements, les contributions et les mesures planifiées par le gouvernement du Canada en vue de mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones.

3 juin 2022 : Réaffirmer les priorités et poursuivre l'engagement

Pour le premier anniversaire du plan d'action national, le gouvernement du Canada réaffirme son engagement à mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes, les filles et les personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones en publiant le rapport d'étape sur la voie fédérale. Ce rapport décrit le travail que nous avons accompli depuis l'année dernière et le travail qu'il nous reste à faire.

La mobilisation se poursuit auprès de nos partenaires, notamment les organisations autochtones représentatives et les gouvernements, afin de lutter contre la violence à l'égard des femmes, des filles et des personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ autochtones et de veiller à ce que les progrès se poursuivent.

Bien que des progrès aient été accomplis dans la lutte contre les formes systémiques de violence, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Notre étroite collaboration avec les partenaires du plan d'action national, les familles et les survivantes, ainsi que les gouvernements et les organisations autochtones, nous permettra de continuer à avancer dans la bonne direction. Nous continuerons à respecter et à honorer toutes les expériences partagées au cours de l'enquête nationale et par la suite.

Depuis la publication du rapport final de l'enquête nationale, des fonds ont été accordés aux organisations autochtones pour soutenir la mobilisation auprès de leurs membres, notamment les familles et les survivantes, et pour cibler les priorités et les mécanismes de mise en œuvre.

Structure de travail lors de l'élaboration du plan d'action national

Qui a participé à l'élaboration du plan d'action national

Le plan d'action national a été élaboré conjointement avec :

  • les familles et les survivants
  • les gouvernements et organisations autochtones
  • les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux
  • des organisations de personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+ et leurs dirigeants
  • des organisations locales
  • des praticiens
  • des universitaires
  • des experts en la matière

Le groupe de travail principal

Le groupe de travail principal et le Cercle national des familles et des survivantes ont joué un rôle primordial dans le processus. Ils ont travaillé ensemble afin d'appuyer les groupes de travail en coordonnant et en validant leurs efforts. Les groupes de travail ont fait part de leurs commentaires au groupe de travail principal. Le groupe de travail principal était coprésidé par :

  • Gina Wilson, sous-ministre de la Diversité et de l'Inclusion et de la Jeunesse et sous-ministre déléguée principale du Patrimoine canadien pour le gouvernement du Canada;
  • Valerie Royle, sous-ministre du Tourisme et de la Culture et sous-ministre du Bureau de promotion des intérêts de la femme du gouvernement du Yukon.

Même si les travaux du groupe de travail principal se sont terminés en juin 2021, les participants et les organisations participantes continuent de s'impliquer dans le plan d'action national en tant que partenaires contributeurs.

Les groupes de travail

Les sous-groupes de travail ont élaboré des sections qui, ensemble, forment le plan d'action national. Chaque contribution des groupes de travail représente une perspective unique qui est examinée attentivement en soi et dans le contexte du plan dans son ensemble.

Les organisations partenaires et les gouvernements ont participé aux groupes de travail qui comprenaient plus de 100 femmes autochtones ainsi que des membres de la communauté 2ELGBTQQIA+. Ces groupes de travail étaient les suivants :

  • le groupe de travail fédéral
  • le groupe de travail provincial et territorial
  • le groupe de travail urbain
  • le groupe de travail des 2ELGBTQQIA+
  • le groupe de travail des Premières Nations
  • le groupe de travail des Inuit
  • le groupe de travail des Métis
  • le groupe de travail sur les données

Groupes et organisations autochtones

De nombreux groupes et organisations autochtones ont travaillé à l'élaboration du plan d'action national, dont les suivants :

  • Cercle national des familles et des survivantes
  • Conseil des femmes de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations
  • Pauktuuit Inuit Women of Canada
  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak
  • Alberta Joint Working Group on MMIWG
  • Conseil consultatif des femmes autochtones de l'Ontario
  • Manitoba MMIWG Coalition
  • Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak
  • Fédération des centres d'amitié de l'Ontario
  • Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata
  • 2 Spirits in Motion Foundation
  • Congrès des peuples autochtones
  • Femmes Autochtones du Québec
  • Institute for the Advancement of Aboriginal Women
  • Cercle national autochtone contre la violence familiale
  • Association nationale des centres d'amitié
  • Newfoundland Aboriginal Women's Network
  • Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres
  • Ontario Native Women's Association

Learn more:

Date de modification :