About National Indigenous History Month

In June, Canadians celebrate National Indigenous History Month to honour the history, heritage and diversity of Indigenous peoples in Canada. It is also an opportunity to recognize the strength of present-day Indigenous communities.

This year's celebrations are particularly special as National Indigenous History Month marks its 10 anniversary. It follows the passing of a unanimous motion in the House of Commons in 2009, creating what was then known as National Aboriginal History Month.

The Government of Canada is proud to acknowledge that UNESCO declared 2019 as International Year of Indigenous Languages to raise awareness of the crucial role languages play in people's daily lives. According to results from the 2016 Census, from 1996 to 2016 the total number of people in Canada who were able to speak an Indigenous language went up by 8%.

We will continue to raise awareness and take action to improve the preservation and promotion of Indigenous languages to revitalize traditional knowledge, songs and cultural identity.

Related links

Date modified:

À propos du Mois national de l'histoire autochtone

En juin, les Canadiens célèbrent le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone pour honorer l'héritage et la diversité des peuples autochtones au Canada. C'est aussi l'occasion de reconnaître la vigueur des communautés autochtones d'aujourd'hui.

Les célébrations cette année sont particulièrement spéciales alors que l'on souligne le 10e anniversaire du Mois national de l'histoire autochtone, soit depuis l'adoption d'une motion unanime à la Chambre des Communes en 2009.

Le gouvernement du Canada est fier de saluer le fait que l'UNESCO a déclaré 2019 Année internationale des langues autochtones pour sensibiliser les populations au rôle crucial des langues dans la vie quotidienne des gens. Selon les résultats du Recensement de 2016, de 1996 à 2016, le nombre total de gens au Canada aptes à s'exprimer dans une langue autochtone a augmenté de 8 %.

Nous continuerons de sensibiliser le public et d'agir pour améliorer la préservation et la promotion des langues autochtones, pour revitaliser les connaissances et les chansons traditionnelles et l'identité culturelle.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :