Residential schools missing children - community support funding

New funding

On August 10, 2021, the Government of Canada announced approximately $320 million in additional support for Indigenous-led, Survivor-centric and culturally sensitive initiatives and investments to help Indigenous communities respond to and heal from the ongoing impacts of residential schools:

Warning!

The website deals with topics that may cause trauma.

A National Indian Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former Residential School students. You can access emotional crisis referral services. You can also get information on how to get other health supports from the Government of Canada.

Please call the Crisis Line at 1-866-925-4419 if you or someone you know is triggered while reading the content on this website.

We encourage all those who need some support at this time to reach out and know that support is always there for you through the Hope for Wellness Help Line at 1-855-242-3310 (toll-free) or the online chat at hopeforwellness.ca open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

On this page

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 74 to 76 sets out an approach to address missing children and burial sites of Indian Residential Schools. This funding is dedicated to:

Who can access funding

To access funding, you must be:

As children from multiple home communities attended the same residential school, groups coming together with joint proposals for individual Indian Residential Schools, where appropriate, are encouraged to reduce duplication of work.

How to access funding

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada recognizes that these initiatives must be flexible and responsive to the broad range of community needs, realities and priorities.

Please contact the department for eligible expenditures and send a completed Residential Schools Missing Children – Community Support Funding form to aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca.

To access support for the demolition or rehabilitation of residential school buildings, or the construction of new facilities on reserve so that activities currently taking place in these buildings can continue, communities should contact aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca. More details about how to apply for the new funding will be provided on this webpage when available.

Eligible activities

To access funding, the work must include activities related to an Indian Residential Schools listed in the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement such as:

If the activities contemplated by your organization are not eligible for this funding, we will attempt to identify relevant available resources as part of our analysis, with a view to offering a single window for accessing support.

Residential Schools Missing Children – Community Support Funding

The funding is provided in the form of a contribution.

A contribution is a conditional payment issued for a specific purpose, as outlined in a funding agreement. The funding agreement is signed by all parties and specifies the terms to receive funding.

Contact us

Address:
Resolution & Partnerships, Settlement Agreement & Childhood Claims Branch
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H4

Email: aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca

Disclosure of information

Funding requests are subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. The information you submit in your application may be disclosed in accordance with these acts.

By submitting your activities information, you authorize us to disclose any information submitted with this form within the Government of Canada or to outside entities for the following purposes:

Mental health support

The Hope for Wellness Help Line offers immediate help 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to all Indigenous peoples across Canada, by telephone and by online chat.

The Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program provides mental health, emotional and cultural support services to eligible former Indian residential school students and their families.

Related links

Date modified:

Enfants disparus des pensionnats - financement de l'aide communautaire

Nouveau financement

Le 10 août 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé un soutien additionnel d'environ 320 millions de dollars pour des initiatives et des investissements dirigés par des Autochtones, axés sur les survivants et adaptés à leur culture, afin d'aider les communautés autochtones à réagir aux séquelles continues des pensionnats et à en guérir :

Avertissement!

Le présent site Web traite de sujets pouvant être traumatisants pour le lecteur.

Une ligne d'écoute téléphonique nationale concernant les pensionnats indiens a été mise en place pour offrir un soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats. Vous pouvez avoir accès à des services de soutien émotionnel et d'aiguillage en cas de crise. Vous pouvez également obtenir de l'information sur la façon d'obtenir d'autres services de santé du gouvernement du Canada.

Appelez la ligne d'écoute, au 1-866-925-4419, si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez souffrez d'un traumatisme en lisant le contenu de ce site Web.

Nous encourageons toutes les personnes qui ont besoin de soutien à communiquer avec nous et voulons que vous sachiez qu'il y a toujours du soutien pour vous par l'entremise de la Ligne d'écoute d'espoir pour le mieux-être au 1-855-242-3310 (sans frais) ou du service de clavardage en ligne à espoirpourlemieuxetre.ca, ouvert 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7.

Sur cette page

Les appels à l'action 74 à 76 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation définissent une approche pour traiter la question des enfants disparus et des lieux de sépulture des pensionnats indiens. Ce financement est consacré à :

Qui peut avoir accès au financement

Pour avoir accès au financement, vous devez être :

Étant donné que des enfants de plusieurs communautés d'origine ont fréquenté le même pensionnat, les groupes qui s'unissent pour présenter des propositions conjointes pour les pensionnats indiens individuels, le cas échéant, sont encouragés à réduire la duplication du travail.

Pour accéder au soutien pour la démolition ou la remise en état des bâtiments des pensionnats ou la construction de nouvelles installations dans les réserves pour que les activités qui ont lieu actuellement dans ces bâtiments puissent se poursuivre, les communautés devraient communiquer avec aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca.

Comment avoir accès au financement

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada reconnaît que ces initiatives doivent être souples et adaptées au large éventail de besoins, de réalités et de priorités des communautés.

Veuillez communiquer avec le ministère pour savoir quelles sont les dépenses admissibles et envoyer un formulaire rempli Enfants disparus des pensionnats – Financement de l'aide communautaire à l'adresse suivante : aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca.

Pour accéder au soutien pour la démolition ou la remise en état des bâtiments des pensionnats ou la construction de nouvelles installations dans les réserves pour que les activités qui ont lieu actuellement dans ces bâtiments puissent se poursuivre, les communautés devraient communiquer avec aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca. Plus de détails sur la façon de présenter une demande pour ce financement seront fournis sur cette page Web lorsqu'ils seront disponibles.

Activités admissibles

Pour avoir accès au financement, le travail doit inclure des activités liées à un pensionnat indien figurant dans la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, par exemple :

Si les activités envisagées par votre organisation ne sont pas admissibles au financement, nous tenterons de cibler les ressources disponibles pertinentes dans le cadre de notre analyse, afin d'offrir un guichet unique pour l'accès au soutien.

Enfants disparus des pensionnats – Financement de l'aide communautaire

Le financement est offert sous forme de contribution.

Une contribution est un paiement conditionnel émis dans un but précis, tel que décrit dans une entente de financement. L'entente de financement est signée par toutes les parties et précise les conditions d'obtention du financement.

Communiquer avec nous

Adresse :
Règlements et partenariats
Direction générale de la convention de règlement et des réclamations relatives à l'enfance
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H4

Courriel : aadnc.enfants_disparus-missing_children.aandc@canada.ca

Divulgation d'information

Les demandes de financement sont assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous soumettez dans votre demande peuvent être divulgués conformément à ces lois.

En soumettant les informations relatives à vos activités, vous nous autorisez à divulguer toute information soumise avec ce formulaire au sein du gouvernement du Canada ou à des entités extérieures aux fins suivantes :

Services de soutien en santé mentale

La Ligne d'écoute d'espoir pour le mieux-être apporte une aide immédiate à tous les peuples autochtones au Canada, par téléphone ou par clavardage.
Le Programme de soutien en santé : résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens offre des services de soutien en santé mentale et de soutien affectif et culturel aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens admissibles et à leurs familles.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :