Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools healing and commemoration

Some of the subject matter being discussed on this website is challenging and may cause emotional distress. If you are feeling distressed and require support, or someone to talk to, please call the Hope for Wellness Help Line at 1-855-242-3310. It's toll-free and open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

On this page

The settlement

In 2007 and 2008, 5 class action lawsuits were filed against the Government of Canada and other parties in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador. These lawsuits concerned 5 residential schools in Newfoundland and Labrador. Inuit, Innu and NunatuKavut individuals attended these schools and, as plaintiffs in these lawsuits, claimed sexual and physical abuse, neglect, language and cultural loss.

The schools were administered by the Government of Newfoundland and operated by the International Grenfell Association and the Moravian Mission. Canada's role was to provide funding to the province to be used for the educational needs of Indigenous students in Labrador.

The residential schools and the timelines covered by the claims period are:

The trial began on September 28, 2015. On November 25, 2015, following an agreement between the province and the plaintiffs, the court released Newfoundland and Labrador from the action.

In February 2016, the parties agreed to an adjournment in an effort to move the litigation towards a resolution. These discussions subsequently led to the negotiation of an out-of-court settlement between the parties.

On September 28, 2016, upon conclusion of the Fairness Hearing and at the request of the parties, Justice Stack of the Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador approved the settlement agreement as fair, reasonable and in the best interests of the class members.

Under the terms of the settlement, Canada provided a lump sum payment of $50 million to plaintiffs as compensation for attendance at the residential schools, as well as for serious abuse claims. As part of the settlement agreement, Canada provided funds to the three Indigenous groups (Innu Nation, Nunatsiavut Government and NunatuKavut Community Council) to complete their own healing and commemoration initiatives. The settlement agreement also includes healing and commemoration initiatives identified by former students. This approach has enabled former students, together with their counsel, to formulate a settlement which respects the terms most satisfactory to them, one which recognizes the needs of the former students from their own perspective.

The compensation process for claims filed by former students of the Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools for attendance at the schools or allegations of serious abuse was administered by a third party Crawford Class Actions. Former students who have any questions associated with the claims process, should contact the Claims Administrator directly.

Canada remains responsible for administering the healing and commemoration process, in addition to ensuring the implementation of initiatives under the Newfoundland and Labrador Residential Schools Settlement agreement.

In May 2017, James Igloliorte was appointed as Ministerial Special Representative to oversee the implementation of the healing and commemoration portion of the settlement agreement.

About the Prime Minister's apology

Through settlement negotiations, former students indicated that they were hurt and frustrated by their exclusion from the 2008 Indian Residential Schools Apology given by Prime Minister Harper, and clearly stated that an official apology is essential to their healing and ability to move forward with their lives.

On August 3, 2017, the Government of Canada met with representative plaintiffs, their counsel and interested Indigenous stakeholder organizations to collaboratively determine the themes and considerations that would form part of an official apology, as well as the ceremony which accompanied its delivery. Feedback on an official apology was also solicited from all former students through mail-outs and subsequent in-person meetings.

On November 24, 2017, Prime Minister Trudeau apologized to former students of Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools and their families in Happy Valley-Goose Bay. At the same time, the Prime Minister officially launched the healing and commemoration portion of the settlement agreement. This apology is an important step on the path to reconciliation between the Government of Canada and Indigenous peoples.

Read the apology given by the Prime Minister on behalf of the Government of Canada and all Canadians. The apology is also available in Inuttitut and Innu-Aimun.

Community healing and commemoration sessions

After the Prime Minister's apology, community healing and commemoration sessions took place from February to May 2018 in these communities:

Each community session began with an open community feast and was followed by 2 days of group and individual sessions, where former students shared stories of their experiences at residential schools. Many stories were recorded, and will be preserved for educational purposes and for future generations. The sessions were facilitated by Ministerial Special Representative James Igloliorte, with support from mental health counsellors, Elders, ceremony and officials from Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada.

Status of implementation of healing and commemoration agreement

As of January 25, 2019, the following elements of the agreement have been implemented:

As the implementation of the settlement agreement nears completion, the focus now is on completing these education and legacy initiatives:

What's next?

In the coming months and years, the commemorative plaques, travelling exhibition, historical account and permanent document collection will help to educate Canadians about the experiences of former students and the legacy of the schools. These initiatives will ensure that all Canadians continue to advance on the journey of reconciliation together. Telling the story of the Newfoundland and Labrador residential schools ensures that this history will never be forgotten.

Biography: James Igloliorte, Ministerial Special Representative

James Igloliorte of Hopedale, Newfoundland and Labrador is a retired Provincial Court Judge. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Education from Memorial University, Newfoundland in 1974. He and his wife, Linda Carter, then started their career as teachers on the west coast of Newfoundland. Mr. Igloliorte has lived in Newfoundland and Labrador his whole life.

Appointed first as a lay magistrate in 1980, he took responsibility of the Labrador Court and Circuit System and then completed law school at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia in 1985. He then returned to take up duties in Happy Valley-Goose Bay as a circuit judge, a position which he held for the majority of his career. James Igloliorte was a 1999 National Aboriginal Achievement Award recipient in the category of Law and Justice. He stepped down from the bench in 2004.

In addition to his impressive legal career, James Igloliorte is a past Labrador Director with the Innu Healing Foundation and was a commissioner with the Royal Commission on Renewing and Strengthening Our Place in Canada. He has also worked as Newfoundland and Labrador's Child and Youth Advocate and was Commissioner of the Qikiqtani Truth Commission in Nunavut.

James Igloliorte and his wife, Linda Carter, live in St. John's, Newfoundland and have four children and five grandchildren.

Related links

Date modified:

Pensionnats indiens de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador - Guérison et commémoration

Certains des sujets abordés dans le présent site Web sont difficiles et peuvent susciter de la détresse émotionnelle. Si vous ressentez une détresse émotionnelle et que vous avez besoin de soutien ou de parler à quelqu'un, appelez la Ligne d'écoute d'espoir pour le mieux-être, au 1-855-242-3310. Cette ligne sans frais est accessible en tout temps.

Sur cette page

Le règlement

En 2007 et en 2008, 5 recours collectifs ont été intentés contre le Canada et d'autres parties à la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Ces recours collectifs concernaient 5 pensionnats à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Des Inuit, des Innu et des habitants du NunatuKavut fréquentaient ces pensionnats, et les demandeurs dans le cadre de ces recours soutenaient avoir été victimes d'agressions sexuelles et physiques, de négligence ainsi que de la perte de leur langue et de leur culture.

Les pensionnats étaient gérés par le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve et exploités par l'International Grenfell Association et la Moravian Mission. Le rôle du Canada consistait à octroyer du financement au gouvernement pour répondre aux besoins en matière d'éducation des élèves autochtones au Labrador.

Voici les pensionnats et les périodes visés par les plaintes :

Le procès a débuté le 28 septembre 2015. Le 25 novembre 2015, suivant un accord conclu entre la province et les demandeurs, le Tribunal a libéré Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador du recours.

En février 2016, les parties ont convenu d'un ajournement afin d'essayer de trouver une solution au litige. Les discussions ont par la suite mené à la négociation d'un règlement à l'amiable entre les parties.

Le 28 septembre 2016, à la clôture de l'audience sur l'équité, et à la demande des parties, le juge Stack de la Cour suprême de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a approuvé la convention de règlement, la considérant comme juste, raisonnable et dans l'intérêt supérieur des membres du recours collectif.

Au titre de la convention de règlement, le Canada a versé une somme forfaitaire de 50 millions de dollars aux demandeurs à titre d'indemnisation pour la fréquentation des pensionnats indiens, ainsi que pour des sévices graves. Conformément aux modalités du règlement, le Canada a versé des fonds aux trois groupes autochtones (la nation innue, le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut et le conseil communautaire du NunatuKavut) afin qu'ils puissent mener leurs propres initiatives de guérison et de commémoration. Le règlement comporte également des dispositions prévoyant des initiatives de guérison et de commémoration déterminées par d'anciens élèves des pensionnats. Cette approche a permis aux anciens élèves, avec l'aide de leurs avocats, de formuler un règlement dont les modalités sont les plus convenables pour eux et qui tient compte de leurs besoins selon leur propre point de vue.

Le processus d'indemnisation des demandes des anciens élèves des pensionnats de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador liées à leur fréquentation des pensionnats ou à des allégations d'actes graves de violence a été administré par une tierce partie Services de recours collectifs Crawford. Les anciens élèves qui ont des questions sur le processus de demande peuvent communiquer directement avec l'administrateur des réclamations.

Le Canada demeure responsable de l'administration du processus de guérison et de commémoration, en plus de voir à la mise en œuvre des initiatives en vertu du règlement.

En mai 2017, James Igloliorte a été nommé représentant spécial de la ministre et chargé de superviser la mise en œuvre du volet de guérison et de commémoration de la Convention de règlement.

Au sujet des excuses formulées par le premier ministre

Dans le cadre des négociations de règlement, les anciens élèves ont fait savoir qu'ils s'étaient sentis blessés et contrariés du fait d'avoir été exclus de la déclaration d'excuses relativement aux pensionnats indiens formulée en 2008 par l'ancien premier ministre Harper. Ils ont en outre clairement indiqué qu'une déclaration d'excuses officielles était essentielle à leur guérison et à leur capacité d'aller de l'avant.

Le 3 août 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a rencontré des représentants des demandeurs, leurs avocats et des organisations autochtones intéressées afin de déterminer de concert les thèmes et les points qui allaient faire partie d'une déclaration d'excuses officielles et de discuter de la cérémonie pour la présentation des excuses. Tous les anciens élèves ont également demandé de la rétroaction sur une déclaration d'excuses officielles sous forme d'envois par la poste, suivis de rencontres en personne.

Le 24 novembre 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau s'est rendu à Happy Valley-Goose Bay, au Labrador, pour présenter des excuses au nom du gouvernement du Canada aux anciens élèves des pensionnats de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et à leurs familles. Le premier ministre a profité de l'occasion pour lancer la portion de guérison et de commémoration de la Convention de règlement. Ces excuses constituent une étape importante du processus de réconciliation entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Autochtones.

Lisez la déclaration d'excuses présentée par le premier ministre au nom du gouvernement du Canada et de tous les Canadiens. La déclaration d'excuses est aussi disponible en innutitut et en innu-aimun.

Séances de guérison et de commémoration communautaires

Après la déclaration d'excuses du premier ministre, des séances de guérison et de commémoration communautaires se sont tenues de février à mai 2018 dans les collectivités suivantes de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador :

Chaque séance communautaire a commencé par un festin communautaire ouvert suivi de 2 jours de séances individuelles et de groupe pendant lesquelles les anciens élèves ont pu raconter leurs expériences vécues dans les pensionnats indiens. De nombreux récits ont été enregistrés et seront préservés à des fins éducatives et pour les générations futures. Les séances ont été animées par le représentant spécial de la ministre, James Igloliorte, secondé par des conseillers en santé mentale, des Aînés, des aides de cérémonie et des représentants de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada.

État de la mise en œuvre de la portion de guérison et de commémoration de la Convention

Depuis le 25 janvier 2019, les éléments suivants de la Convention ont été mis en œuvre :

Tandis que la mise en œuvre de la Convention de règlement achève, on met maintenant l’accent sur la réalisation des initiatives suivantes sur l’éducation et les séquelles :

Prochaines étapes

Au cours des mois et années à venir, les plaques commémoratives, l'exposition itinérante, le compte rendu historique et la collecte de documents permanents contribueront à éduquer les Canadiens sur les expériences des anciens élèves et sur les séquelles laissées par les pensionnats. Ces initiatives permettront de voir à ce que tous les Canadiens continuent d'avancer ensemble dans le processus de réconciliation. En racontant l'histoire des pensionnats de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, nous nous assurons que cette histoire ne soit jamais oubliée.

Biographie : James Igloliorte, représentant spécial de la ministre

James Igloliorte, de Hopedale, à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, est un juge à la retraite de la Cour provinciale. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences et un baccalauréat en éducation de l'Université Memorial, à Terre-Neuve, en 1974. Son épouse, Linda Carter, et lui-même ont entrepris leurs carrières à titre d'enseignants sur la côte Ouest de Terre-Neuve. M. Igloliorte a vécu toute sa vie à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Nommé à l'origine à titre de magistrat non juriste en 1980, il était responsable de la Cour et de la Cour de circuit du Labrador. En 1985, il a terminé ses études en droit à l'Université Dalhousie, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a ensuite accepté un poste de juge de circuit à Happy Valley-Goose Bay, fonction qu'il a exercée la majeure partie de sa carrière. En 1999, il a reçu le Prix national d'excellence décerné aux Autochtones pour la catégorie Lois et justice. Il a pris sa retraite en 2004.

En plus de sa carrière juridique impressionnante, M. James Igloliorte a été directeur de l'Innu Healing Foundation et commissaire de la Commission royale d'enquête sur le renouvellement et le renforcement de notre place au sein du Canada. Il a également travaillé à titre de défenseur des droits des enfants et de la jeunesse à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, et il a été commissaire de la Qikiqtani Truth Commission au Nunavut.

James Igloliorte et son épouse, Linda Carter, vivent à St. John's, à Terre-Neuve, et ont quatre enfants et cinq petits-enfants.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :