Media and reconciliation

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 84 to 86.

Based on data provided August 2021.

84. We call upon the federal government to restore and increase funding to the CBC/Radio-Canada, to enable Canada's national public broadcaster to support reconciliation, and be properly reflective of the diverse cultures, languages, and perspectives of Aboriginal peoples, including, but not limited to:

  1. Increasing Aboriginal programming, including Aboriginal-language speakers.
  2. Increasing equitable access for Aboriginal peoples to jobs, leadership positions, and professional development opportunities within the organization.
  3. Continuing to provide dedicated news coverage and online public information resources on issues of concern to Aboriginal peoples and all Canadians, including the history and legacy of residential schools and the reconciliation process.

What's happening?

In Budget 2016, the Government of Canada invested $675 million in CBC/Radio Canada over 5 years. This includes $75 million in new funds in 2016, as well as $150 million annually as a top up on the total budget invested by the Government of Canada, beginning in 2017. The annual top-up is a permanent increase to the total federal investment which supports the full range of programs and services it provides to Canadians. As the national public broadcaster, CBC/Radio-Canada plays a vital role in providing access to programs and services in the digital era, which includes Indigenous programming and services.

In its 2016 to 2017 Annual Report, CBC/Radio-Canada stated that the additional new funding from Budget 2016 enabled it to undertake key Indigenous initiatives such as creating additional Indigenous content, which includes its digital portal, Espaces autochtones, as well as hiring local Indigenous staff in Yellowknife to digitize CBC North's Indigenous language collection which spans over 6 decades. CBC's Indigenous Languages Archives project represents over 75,000 hours of audio programming in 8 Indigenous languages:

  • Chipewyan
  • Cree
  • Dogrib
  • Inuktitut
  • Inuvialuktun
  • Gwich'in
  • North Slavey
  • South Slavey

85. We call upon the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network, as an independent non-profit broadcaster with programming by, for, and about Aboriginal peoples, to support reconciliation, including but not limited to:

  1. Continuing to provide leadership in programming and organizational culture that reflects the diverse cultures, languages, and perspectives of Aboriginal peoples.
  2. Continuing to develop media initiatives that inform and educate the Canadian public, and connect Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Canadians.

What's happening?

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network is responsible for the response to Call to Action 85.

86. We call upon Canadian journalism programs and media schools to require education for all students on the history of Aboriginal peoples, including the history and legacy of residential schools, the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Treaties and Aboriginal rights, Indigenous law, and Aboriginal–Crown relations.

What's happening?

Canadian journalism programs and media schools are responsible for the response to Call to Action 86.

Related links

Date modified:

Les médias et la réconciliation

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 84 à 86 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en août 2021.

84. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de rétablir puis d'augmenter le financement accordé à Radio-Canada/CBC afin de permettre au diffuseur public national du Canada d'appuyer la réconciliation et de refléter adéquatement la diversité des cultures, des langues et des points de vue des peuples autochtones; plus particulièrement, nous demandons ce qui suit :

  1. accroître la programmation liée aux Autochtones et voir à ce qu'il y ait des invités qui parlent des langues autochtones;
  2. accroître l'accès équitable pour les peuples autochtones à des emplois, à des postes de direction et à des possibilités de perfectionnement professionnel au sein de l'organisation;
  3. continuer d'offrir au public des bulletins de nouvelles et des ressources d'information en ligne qui sont consacrés aux questions d'intérêt pour les peuples autochtones et tous les Canadiens, y compris en ce qui touche l'histoire et les séquelles des pensionnats ainsi que le processus de réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a investi 675 millions de dollars pour CBC/Radio-Canada, sur 5 ans. Ce montant comprend 75 millions de dollars de nouveaux fonds en 2016, ainsi que 150 millions de dollars par an en complément du budget total investi par le gouvernement du Canada, dès 2017. Le complément annuel représente une augmentation permanente de l'investissement fédéral total destiné à soutenir l'ensemble des programmes et services offerts aux Canadiens. En tant que radiodiffuseur public national, CBC/Radio-Canada joue un rôle essentiel pour ce qui est de fournir un accès à des programmes et à des services dans l'ère du numérique, notamment des programmes et services à l'intention des Autochtones.

Dans son rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017, CBC/Radio-Canada énonce que le nouveau financement supplémentaire sur 5 ans annoncé dans le budget de 2016 lui a permis d'entreprendre des initiatives clés s'adressant aux Autochtones, comme la création de contenu destiné aux Autochtones, notamment son portail numérique « Espaces autochtones », ainsi que l'embauche d'employés autochtones locaux à Yellowknife pour la numérisation de la collection en langues autochtones de CBC North qui s'étend sur plus de 6 décennies. Le projet d'archives des langues autochtones de CBC représente plus de 75 000 heures de programmation audio réalisée dans ces 8 langues autochtones :

  • Dogrib;
  • Inuktitut;
  • Inuvialuktun;
  • Chipewyan;
  • Slavey du Nord;
  • Slavey du Sud;
  • Gwich'in;
  • Cri.

85. Nous demandons au Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones, en tant que diffuseur indépendant sans but lucratif dont les émissions sont conçues par et pour les peuples autochtones et traitent de ces peuples, d'appuyer la réconciliation; plus particulièrement, nous demandons au Réseau, entre autres choses :

  1. de continuer d'exercer un leadership en ce qui a trait à la programmation et à la culture organisationnelle qui reflètent la diversité des cultures, des langues et des points de vue des peuples autochtones;
  2. de continuer d'élaborer des initiatives médiatiques pour informer et sensibiliser la population canadienne et tisser des liens entre les Canadiens autochtones et les Canadiens non autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones est responsable de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no. 85.

86. Nous demandons aux responsables des programmes d'enseignement en journalisme et des écoles des médias du Canada d'exiger l'enseignement à tous les étudiants de l'histoire des peuples autochtones, y compris en ce qui touche l'histoire et les séquelles des pensionnats, la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, les traités et les droits des autochtones, le droit autochtone de même que les relations entre l'État et les Autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les programmes de journalisme et les écoles de médias canadiens sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no. 86.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :