Sports and reconciliation

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 87 to 91.

Based on data provided June 2022.

87. We call upon all levels of government, in collaboration with Aboriginal peoples, sports halls of fame, and other relevant organizations, to provide public education that tells the national story of Aboriginal athletes in history.

What's happening?

The Aboriginal Sport Circle, the national voice for Indigenous sport and a federally funded multisport service organization, has managed and presented the Tom Longboat Awards since 1999.

With funding support from the Department of Canadian Heritage (Sport Canada), the awards relaunched in 2017.

This program honours Indigenous athletes for their outstanding contributions to sport in Canada.

The 2019 award recipients were presented at the Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in October 2019.

The 2020 awards were cancelled, as athletes were not able to compete and participate in sport due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2021 award recipients formally received their awards at the 2021 Canada's Sport Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

The Aboriginal Sport Circle:

  • is engaging with Canada's Sports Hall of Fame to continue to promote the Tom Longboat Award and other relevant recognition projects
  • presents the National Indigenous Coaching Awards annually at the Petro-Canada Leadership Gala, in collaboration with the Coaching Association of Canada

88. We call upon all levels of government to take action to ensure long-term Aboriginal athlete development and growth, and continued support for the North American Indigenous Games, including funding to host the games and for provincial and territorial team preparation and travel.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada fully recognizes that expression through sport remains a key part of Indigenous identity. Since its inception in 1990, Sport Canada has been a steady funder of the North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) hosting, team preparation and travel. This is consistent with the terms of the North American Indigenous Games Funding Framework.

The NAIG is a multisport event for youth 13 to 19 years old that showcases unity, sport, culture, youth, volunteerism and teamwork between First Nations, Métis, Inuit and non-Indigenous communities. The NAIG was founded on the principles of promoting healthy lifestyles, building self-image and promoting Indigenous role models through sport and culture.

In October 2016, the NAIG Council, with the approval of the Federal-Provincial and Territorial Sport Committee, adopted a new hosting model for the games to be hosted in Canada every 4 years beginning in 2020. This previously alternated between Canada and the United States every 3 years.

For the NAIG beyond 2020, a new funding framework and hosting rotation will apply as approved in February 2019 by the federal, provincial and territorial ministers responsible for sport, physical activity and recreation.

Ministers agreed that:

  • this hosting framework will apply beginning in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter
  • the NAIG standard operating budget will range between $10 million and $14 million, with federal and provincial or territorial governments contributing a matching 35% of the agreed upon budget

The 2020 Games, set to be hosted in Halifax-Dartmouth Region and Millbrook First Nation, were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As a result, the NAIG Council had to review the hosting rotation.

In April 2021, the Council approved a revised hosting rotation that would start in 2023 and maintain the 4-year interval moving forward.

In June 2021, Federal/ Provincial/ Territorial (FPT) deputy ministers endorsed the hosting rotation as approved by the Council and endorsed by the Standing Work Group on Indigenous Sport Development.

This change in the rotation required that the NAIG Funding Framework be updated to reflect the new dates. The revised framework will now apply starting with the 2027 NAIG (as opposed to the 2024 NAIG).

The report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada and its Call to Action 88 was a clear factor in securing the ongoing dedicated source of funding for the NAIG. That funding was approved via Budget 2017's Indigenous Youth and Sport funding envelope.

The Budget 2017 investments towards Indigenous athlete development include $18.9 million over 5 years, starting in fiscal year 2017 to 2018 and ongoing funding of $5.5 million every 4 years thereafter, to support Indigenous youth and sport initiatives.

Investments from the initial 5 years enabled organizations to deliver culturally relevant sport programming and strengthened established roles and leadership of Canadian sport system partners such as:

  • the Aboriginal Sport Circle
  • Provinces and Territories
  • Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal Sport Bodies
  • National Sport Organizations
  • Multisport Service Organizations

The ongoing investment secures funding for the hosting of the NAIG and includes funding to support reporting requirements as well as to address data and research gaps relative to Indigenous children and youth in sport.

89. We call upon the federal government to amend the Physical Activity and Sport Act to support reconciliation by ensuring that policies to promote physical activity as a fundamental element of health and well-being, reduce barriers to sports participation, increase the pursuit of excellence in sport, and build capacity in the Canadian sport system, are inclusive of Aboriginal peoples.

What's happening?

Discussions with Indigenous sport organizations have concluded that this will be a longer-term effort, given that changes to legislation require consultation with other federal government departments in collaboration with the Aboriginal Sport Circle and Indigenous peoples in Canada.

Recent budget investments

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic's public health measures and the economic fallout many Indigenous communities and sport organizations faced, Sport Canada provided emergency support funds of up to 25% of respective sport organizations' operating and approved funding. This is on top of current funding received based on existing contribution agreements.

The emergency support funds were distributed as follows:

  • $34.5 million to 83 national level sport organizations based on identified needs, including the Aboriginal Sport Circle
  • $51.4 million to all 13 provinces and territories through existing bilateral agreements to help up to 700 not-for-profit provincial and territorial sport organizations, including Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal Sport Bodies, as well as regional and community sport organizations
  • $5 million to amateur athletes to help address impacts caused by the cancellation of national and international training opportunities and competitive events, including the postponement of the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games and the 2020 North American Indigenous Games

Next steps

The ongoing work in other areas related to Indigenous sport development will lay the foundation for the future amendment of the Physical Activity and Sport Act.

Over the next 2 years (2022 to 2024) the Aboriginal Sport Circle will lead a national consultation process resulting in the development of a National Indigenous Sport Strategy, funded by Canadian Heritage (Sport Canada). The strategy will be a framework for delivering culturally appropriate participant development, culturally informed engagement, and policy development for all levels of government. It will also include best practices for Indigenous and non-Indigenous sport, recreation, physical activity, health and wellness sectors. The Aboriginal Sport Circle also envision the strategy as providing a framework for the implementation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's Calls to Action, and particularly those focused on sport, i.e., #87-#91.

90. We call upon the federal government to ensure that national sports policies, programs, and initiatives are inclusive of Aboriginal peoples, including, but not limited to, establishing:

  1. In collaboration with provincial and territorial governments, stable funding for, and access to, community sports programs that reflect the diverse cultures and traditional sporting activities of Aboriginal peoples.
  2. An elite athlete development program for Aboriginal athletes.
  3. Programs for coaches, trainers, and sports officials that are culturally relevant for Aboriginal peoples.
  4. Anti-racism awareness and training programs.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is investing $18.9 million over 5 years, starting in fiscal year 2017 to 2018, and ongoing funding of $5.5 million every 4 years thereafter, to support Indigenous youth and sport initiatives in the following 4 areas:

  • Indigenous sport leadership
  • culturally relevant sport programming
  • the North American Indigenous Games
  • Sport Canada's data and research

More specifically, investments were allocated to:

  • the Aboriginal Sport Circle to assume a greater leadership role on Indigenous sport development. This means having the capacity to assume and maintain a national leadership role on Indigenous sport including:
    • to support the Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal Sport Bodies
    • national sport organizations and multisport services organizations aligning their existing programming with the Indigenous Long-term Participation Development Pathway
    • ensuring that a data strategy is developed
  • provinces and territories, through bilateral agreements, to increase the operational capacity of Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal Sport Bodies and the offering of culturally relevant sport programming including the North American Indigenous Games team preparation and travel
  • national sport organizations and multisport service organizations to ensure long-term Indigenous athlete development and growth through increasing the offering of culturally relevant sport programming

In addition, the Aboriginal Sport Circle co-chairs, with Sport Canada, the Standing Working Group for Indigenous Sport Development under the Federal-Provincial/Territorial Sport Committee reporting to FPT ministers responsible for sport. This working group brings together Indigenous sport organizations and federal, provincial and territorial governments to identify Indigenous sport priorities and co-create action plans to address them, including in relation to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action.

Recent budget investments

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic's public health measures and the economic fallout many Indigenous communities and sport organizations faced, Sport Canada provided emergency support funds, of up to 25% of respective sport organizations' operating and approved funding. This is on top of current funding received based on existing contribution agreements.

The emergency funds were distributed as follows:

  • $34.5 million to 83 national level sport organizations based on identified needs, including the Aboriginal Sport Circle
  • $51.4 million to all 13 provinces and territories through existing bilateral agreements to help up to 700 not-for-profit provincial and territorial sport organizations, including Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal Sport Bodies, as well as regional and community sport organizations
  • $5 million dollars to amateur athletes to help address impacts caused by the cancellation of national and international training opportunities and competitive events, including the postponement of the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games and the 2020 North American Indigenous Games

91. We call upon the officials and host countries of international sporting events such as the Olympics, Pan Am, and Commonwealth games to ensure that Indigenous peoples' territorial protocols are respected, and local Indigenous communities are engaged in all aspects of planning and participating in such events.

What's happening?

Sport Canada has included this call to action in its documents shared with bid and host organizations and other partners that are responsible for developing or supporting major sport event bids. These considerations are also included in Sport Canada's ongoing coordination to develop a national bidding and hosting framework for major sport events involving provincial and territorial governments, as well as other major events partners.

Related links

Date modified:

Les sports et la réconciliation

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 87 à 91 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en juin 2022.

87. Nous demandons à tous les ordres de gouvernement, en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones, les temples de la renommée des sports et d'autres organisations concernées, de sensibiliser le public à l'histoire des athlètes autochtones au pays.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le Centre sportif autochtone, représentant national du sport autochtone et organisme de services multisports financé par le gouvernement fédéral, a géré et présenté les Prix Tom Longboat (non disponible en français) depuis 1999.

Grâce à du financement de Patrimoine canadien (Sport Canada), les prix sont de retour depuis 2017.

Ce programme souligne les contributions exceptionnelles des athlètes autochtones au sport au Canada.

Les lauréats de 2019 ont été présentés lors de la cérémonie d'intronisation au Panthéon des sports canadiens en octobre 2019.

Les prix de 2020 ont été annulés, puisque les athlètes n'ont pas pu participer à des compétitions et pratiquer leur sport en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Les lauréats de 2021 ont reçu officiellement leurs prix lors de la cérémonie d'intronisation au Panthéon des sports canadiens de 2021.

Le Cercle sportif autochtone :

  • s'engage avec le Panthéon des sports canadiens à continuer de promouvoir les prix Tom Longboat et autres projets de reconnaissance;
  • présente les Prix nationaux des entraîneurs autochtones annuellement au cours du Gala des prix du leadership sportif Petro-Canada, en collaboration avec l'Association canadienne des entraîneurs.

88. Nous demandons à tous les ordres de gouvernement de prendre des mesures afin de garantir le développement à long terme des athlètes autochtones et de maintenir leur appui à l'égard des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord, y compris le financement pour la tenue des Jeux et pour la préparation et les déplacements des équipes provinciales et territoriales.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît pleinement que le sport est un élément clé de l'expression de l'identité autochtone. Depuis sa création en 1990, Sport Canada a été un contributeur financier régulier des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord (JAAN)(accueil, préparation des équipes et déplacements), conformément aux dispositions du Cadre de financement des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord.

Les JAAN sont un événement multisport pour les jeunes de 13 à 19 ans qui met en valeur l'unité, le sport, la culture, la jeunesse, le bénévolat et le travail d'équipe entre les communautés des Premières Nations, métisses, inuites et non autochtones. Les JAAN ont été fondés sur les principes de la promotion d'un mode de vie sain, du renforcement de l'image de soi et de la promotion de modèles autochtones par le sport et la culture.

En octobre 2016, le Conseil des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord, avec l'approbation du Comité fédéral‑provincial-territorial du sport, a adopté un nouveau modèle d'accueil pour les JAAN qui seront organisés au Canada, tous les 4 ans, à partir de 2020. Auparavant, le Canada et les États-Unis se relayaient tous les 3 ans.

Pour les JAAN qui auront lieu après 2020, un nouveau cadre de financement et de rotation des hôtes s'appliquera, tel qu'approuvé en février 2019 par les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables du sport, de l'activité physique et des loisirs.

Les ministres ont convenu que :

  • ce cadre d'accueil s'appliquera à partir de 2024, et tous les 4 ans par la suite;
  • le budget de fonctionnement standard des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord se situera entre 10 et 14 millions de dollars. Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux contribueront à hauteur de 35 % du budget convenu.

Les Jeux de 2020, qui devaient avoir lieu dans la région de Halifax-Dartmouth et la Millbrook First Nation, ont été reportés en raison de la pandémie de COVID‑19. Par conséquent, le Conseil des JAAN a dû revoir la rotation des régions-hôtesses.

En avril 2021, le Conseil a approuvé une rotation révisée des régions-hôtesses qui débuterait en 2023 et maintiendrait l'intervalle de 4 ans à l'avenir.

En juin 2021, les sous-ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) ont approuvé la rotation des hôtes telle qu'approuvée par le Conseil et avalisée par le Groupe de travail permanent sur le développement du sport autochtone.

Ce changement dans la rotation a nécessité la mise à jour du cadre de financement des JAAN afin de refléter les nouvelles dates. Le cadre révisé s'appliquera désormais à partir des JAAN de 2027 (et non les JAAN de 2024).

Le rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada et son appel à l'action no. 88 ont clairement contribué à l'obtention d'une source de financement dédiée aux Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord. Ce financement a été approuvé dans le cadre de l'enveloppe de financement consacrée à la jeunesse et au sport autochtones du budget de 2017.

Les investissements du budget de 2017 en faveur du développement des athlètes autochtones comprend 18,9 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à partir de l'exercice 2017 à 2018, et un financement continu de 5,5 millions de dollars tous les 4 ans par la suite, pour soutenir les initiatives relatives à la jeunesse et au sport chez les Autochtones.

Les investissements des 5 premières années ont permis aux organismes d'offrir des programmes sportifs adaptés à la culture et de renforcer les rôles établis et le leadership des partenaires du système sportif canadien tels que :

  • le Cercle sportif autochtone;
  • les provinces et les territoires;
  • les organismes sportifs autochtones provinciaux et territoriaux;
  • les organismes nationaux de sport;
  • les organismes de services multisports.

L'investissement continu assure le financement de l'accueil des JAAN et comprend des fonds pour répondre aux exigences en matière de rapports ainsi que pour combler les lacunes en matière de données et de recherche concernant les enfants et les jeunes autochtones dans le sport.

89. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de modifier la Loi sur l'activité physique et le sport pour appuyer la réconciliation, en s'assurant que les politiques visant à promouvoir l'activité physique comme élément fondamental de la santé et du bien-être, à réduire les obstacles à la participation au sport, à accroître la poursuite de l'excellence dans le sport et à renforcer la capacité du système sportif canadien intègrent les peuples autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les discussions avec les organisations sportives autochtones ont permis de conclure que la durée nécessaire à cette réalisation doit être prolongée, puisque les changements apportés à la législation nécessiteront une consultation avec d'autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral, en collaboration avec le Cercle sportif autochtone et les peuples autochtones de tout le pays.

Investissements budgétaires récents

À la lumière de la pandémie de COVID-19, de ses mesures de santé publique et des retombées économiques auxquelles ont été confrontées de nombreuses communautés et organisations sportives autochtones, Sport Canada a apporté son soutien au moyen de fonds d'urgence, jusqu'à concurrence de 25 % du financement du fonctionnement et du financement approuvé des organisations sportives respectives. Cette aide s'ajoute au financement actuel reçu en vertu des accords de contribution existants.

Les fonds d'urgence ont été distribués comme suit :

  • 34,5 millions de dollars à 83 organisations sportives de niveau national, selon les besoins ciblés, y compris le Cercle sportif autochtone;
  • 51,4 millions de dollars aux 13 provinces et territoires dans le cadre des accords bilatéraux existants pour aider jusqu'à 700 organismes sportifs provinciaux et territoriaux à but non lucratif, y compris les organismes sportifs autochtones provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi que les organismes sportifs régionaux et communautaires;
  • 5 millions de dollars aux athlètes amateurs pour les aider à faire face aux répercussions de la perte d'occasions d'entraînement et de compétitions nationales et internationales, y compris le report des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de 2020 et des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord de 2020.

Prochaines étapes

Les travaux en cours dans d'autres domaines liés au développement du sport autochtone jetteront les bases de la modification future de la Loi sur l'activité physique et le sport.

Au cours des 2 prochaines années (2022 à 2024), le Cercle sportif autochtone dirigera un processus de consultation nationale qui aboutira à l'élaboration d'une stratégie nationale pour le sport autochtone, financée par Patrimoine canadien (Sport Canada). Cette stratégie constituera un cadre de travail pour le développement des participants adapté à la culture, pour un engagement éclairé sur le plan culturel et pour l'élaboration de politiques à tous les niveaux de gouvernement. Elle comprendra également des pratiques exemplaires pour les secteurs autochtones et non autochtones du sport, des loisirs, de l'activité physique, de la santé et du bien-être. Le Cercle sportif autochtone envisage également que la stratégie fournisse un cadre pour la mise en œuvre des appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, et en particulier ceux qui sont axés sur le sport, c'est-à-dire 87 à 91.

90. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de veiller à ce que les politiques, les initiatives et les programmes de portée nationale se rattachant aux sports intègrent les peuples autochtones; nous demandons, entre autres choses :

  1. en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, un financement stable et l'accès à des programmes sportifs communautaires qui reflètent la diversité des cultures et les activités sportives traditionnelles des peuples autochtones;
  2. un programme de développement d'athlètes d'élite pour les Autochtones;
  3. des programmes pour les entraîneurs, les instructeurs et les autorités en matière de sports qui sont pertinents sur le plan culturel pour les peuples autochtones;
  4. des programmes de sensibilisation et de formation sur la lutte contre le racisme.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada investit 18,9 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à partir de l'exercice de 2017 à 2018, et un financement continu de 5,5 millions de dollars tous les 4 ans par la suite, pour soutenir les initiatives relatives à la jeunesse et au sport chez les Autochtones, dans les 4 domaines suivants :

  • Leadership sportif autochtone
  • Programmes sportifs adaptés à la culture
  • Les Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord
  • Les données et la recherche de Sport Canada

Plus précisément, les investissements ont été attribués pour que :

  • le Cercle sportif autochtone assume un rôle de leader plus important dans le développement du sport autochtone. Cela signifie qu'il soit en mesure d'assumer et de maintenir un rôle de leader national dans le domaine du sport autochtone, notamment :
    • en aidant les organismes sportifs autochtones provinciaux et territoriaux;
    • en appuyant les organismes nationaux sportifs et les organismes de services multisports à harmoniser leurs programmes existants avec le Parcours de développement a long terme du participant autochtone;
    • en veillant à ce qu'une stratégie en matière de données soit élaborée;
  • les provinces et les territoires, au moyen d'accords bilatéraux, renforcent la capacité opérationnelle des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de sport autochtone, et augmentent l'offre de programmes sportifs en rapport avec la culture, y compris la préparation et les déplacements des équipes participant aux Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord;
  • les organismes nationaux de sport et les organismes de services multisports assurent la croissance et le développement à long terme des athlètes autochtones grâce à l'offre accrue de programmes sportifs culturellement pertinents.

De plus, le Cercle sportif autochtone copréside, avec Sport Canada, le Groupe de travail permanent sur le développement du sport autochtone sous l'égide du Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial du sport qui relève des ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux responsables du sport. Ce groupe de travail réunit les organismes sportifs autochtones et les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux afin de déterminer les priorités du sport autochtone et de créer conjointement des plans d'action pour y répondre, notamment en ce qui concerne les appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Investissements budgétaires récents

À la lumière de la pandémie de COVID-19, de ses mesures de santé publique et des retombées économiques auxquelles ont été confrontées de nombreuses communautés et organisations sportives autochtones, Sport Canada a apporté son soutien au moyen de fonds d'urgence, jusqu'à concurrence de 25 % du financement du fonctionnement et du financement approuvé des organisations sportives respectives. Cette aide s'ajoute au financement actuel reçu en vertu des accords de contribution actuels.

Les fonds d'urgence ont été distribués comme suit :

  • 34,5 millions de dollars à 83 organisations sportives de niveau national, selon les besoins ciblés, y compris le Cercle sportif autochtone;
  • 51,4 millions de dollars aux 13 provinces et territoires dans le cadre des accords bilatéraux existants pour aider jusqu'à 700 organismes sportifs provinciaux et territoriaux à but non lucratif, y compris les organismes sportifs autochtones provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi que les organismes sportifs régionaux et communautaires;
  • 5 millions de dollars aux athlètes amateurs pour les aider à faire face aux répercussions de la perte d'occasions d'entraînement et de compétitions nationales et internationales, y compris le report des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de 2020 et dtes Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord de 2020.

91. Nous demandons aux hauts dirigeants et aux pays d'accueil de manifestations sportives internationales comme les Jeux olympiques, les Jeux du Commonwealth et les Jeux panaméricains de veiller à ce que les protocoles territoriaux des peuples autochtones soient respectés et à ce que les communautés autochtones locales participent à tous les aspects de la planification et de la tenue de ces événements.

Que se passe-t-il?

Sport Canada a inclus cet appel à l'action dans ses documents partagés avec les organismes candidats et hôtes et d'autres partenaires qui sont responsables de l'élaboration ou du soutien des candidatures aux grandes manifestations sportives. Ces considérations sont également incluses dans la coordination continue de Sport Canada en vue d'élaborer un cadre national de candidature et d'accueil de grands événements sportifs auquel participent les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi que d'autres partenaires intéressés par les grands événements.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :