Commemoration

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 79 to 83.

Based on data provided March 2022.

79. We call upon the federal government, in collaboration with Survivors, Aboriginal organizations, and the arts community, to develop a reconciliation framework for Canadian heritage and commemoration. This would include, but not be limited to:

  1. Amending the Historic Sites and Monuments Act to include First Nations, Inuit, and Métis representation on the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada and its Secretariat.
  2. Revising the policies, criteria, and practices of the National Program of Historical Commemoration to integrate Indigenous history, heritage values, and memory practices into Canada's national heritage and history.
  3. Developing and implementing a national heritage plan and strategy for commemorating residential school sites, the history and legacy of residential schools, and the contributions of Aboriginal peoples to Canada's history.

What's happening?

To begin to address Call to Action 79, Budget 2018 allocated $23.9 million to Parks Canada ($15.2 million of new funding in addition to $8.7 million of existing resources) over 5 years from 2018 to 2023 to advance initiatives that include:

  • policy and legislative updates
  • increased visibility and support for Indigenous histories in Canada
  • commemorations related to the history and legacy of residential schools

Call to Action 79(i)

On June 7, 2022, the Honourable Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, introduced Bill C-23, the Historic Places of Canada Act, in the House of Commons. The bill, if passed by Parliament as written, would create three new positions for First Nations, Métis and Inuit representatives on the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. The bill would also improve the integration of Indigenous history, heritage values, and memory practices into national heritage and history in Canada, thereby creating greater opportunities to protect and present the contributions of Indigenous peoples to cultural and natural heritage.

In support of Call to Action 79(i), Budget 2021 announced the government's intent to implement legislation that would provide for a transparent designation framework and the sustainable protection of over 300 federally owned historic places. The Budget proposed to provide $28.7 million over 5 years, and $5.8 million ongoing, to the Parks Canada Agency to implement the legislation, if enacted.

While the legislative proposal was being developed, non-legislative barriers to Indigenous participation as board members of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada were identified and addressed.

Actions taken include:

  • outreach to encourage Indigenous candidates to apply for vacancies on the Board
  • revisions to the required qualifications
  • generating better awareness of vacancies amongst potential Indigenous applicants

The 2 most recent appointees to the Board, representing Yukon and the Northwest Territories, identify as Indigenous persons.

Call to Action 79(ii)

In response to Call to Action 79 (ii), the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the Government of Canada's priority to advance reconciliation, Parks Canada is conducting an in-depth review of its cultural heritage policies to ensure that a renewed policy suite recognizes the diversity of Indigenous peoples' perspectives, values and knowledge systems.

In 2018, Parks Canada welcomed Indigenous cultural heritage practitioners, experts, Elders and academics to engage in discussions about the commemoration and protection of cultural heritage. As recommended during these gatherings, Parks Canada established the Indigenous Cultural Heritage Advisory Council in December 2019. Parks Canada maintains ongoing dialogue with members of the Council to seek input and guidance on specific cultural heritage policy review components. The Council has been providing the Agency with valuable advice for implementing Call to Action 79 and advancing reconciliation.

In 2019, the Minister for Parks Canada approved the Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019. This plan provides policy direction for the review of existing designations of national historic significance to:

  • address absences of Indigenous histories
  • take into account Indigenous perspectives and established Indigenous histories as a priority for the national program of historical commemoration

In 2020, Parks Canada collaborated with the Indigenous Heritage Circle to organize and hold three regional engagement sessions with Elders, Indigenous heritage professionals and Indigenous partners to review the cultural heritage policies at Parks Canada. The Indigenous Heritage Circle's report, 2020 Indigenous Heritage Engagement Sessions: Report from the Indigenous Heritage Circle to Parks Canada, provides recommendations for renewing cultural heritage policies and relationships with Indigenous peoples.

In 2021 and early 2022, Parks Canada engaged 40 Indigenous and modern treaty organizations who have a vested interest in cultural heritage to seek their input on:

  • topics relevant to a potential historic places legislation
  • the renewal of Parks Canada's Cultural Resource Management Policy

Call to Action 79(iii)

In response to Call to Action 79(iii), on September 1, 2020, the Government of Canada recognized the national significance of the residential school system as a tragic and defining event in Canadian history.

The former Portage la Prairie Indian Residential School (Manitoba) and the former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School (Nova Scotia) were designated as national historic sites in September 2020.

Since 2020, Parks Canada has provided multi-year funding to the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation for the purpose of engaging with residential school communities to:

  • determine commemorative approaches to former residential school sites
  • support community-level commemorations and healing gatherings in association with the national historic event designation of the residential school system

In July 2021, the former Shingwauk Indian Residential School (Ontario) and the former Muskowekwan Indian Residential School (Saskatchewan) were also designated as national historic sites.

Budget 2022 also proposed to provide Parks Canada with $25 million over 3 years, starting in fiscal year 2022 to 2023, to support continued efforts to commemorate the history and legacy of residential schools.

Finally, under the Stories of Canada initiative, Parks Canada is supporting 35 multi-component capacity building projects including oral history, traditional skills workshops and travelling exhibits. These projects involve over 40 heritage places including national parks and national historic sites across 6 regions with more than 60 communities and Indigenous organizations.

The projects showcase the importance of these heritage places from Indigenous perspectives and invest in opportunities for Indigenous communities to share and communicate their histories in their own ways and in their own voices.

Next steps

Parks Canada is undertaking a multidisciplinary analysis of recommendations received during the 2021 to 2022 dialogue with 40 Indigenous and modern treaty organizations in support of the renewal of key cultural heritage policies and directives by April 2023.

Parks Canada will continue to engage Indigenous partners in the review of the draft Parks Canada's Cultural Resource Management Policy in late 2022.

New nominations about the Indigenous histories and legacies of residential schools in Canada continue to be received by the Secretariat of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Eligible nominations will be considered for potential national historic designations, with an average processing time of 2 years.

Perspectives and interpretations of Canada's history have changed a lot over the last century and through Call to Action 79, the Government of Canada will continue to work to acknowledge the legacies of its past.

Some designations and their commemorative plaques include colonial, dated or insensitive content that does not accurately reflect what is known about the country's history today. A number of existing designations related to residential school and Indigenous history are being reviewed. To find out more, please visit: Reviews of existing designations

In addition, a review of the criteria and guidelines for evaluating subjects of potential national historic significance, which sets out policies and practices of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, has been initiated and is expected to be completed in 2022.

80. We call upon the federal government, in collaboration with Aboriginal peoples, to establish, as a statutory holiday, a National Day for Truth and Reconciliation to honour Survivors, their families, and communities, and ensure that public commemoration of the history and legacy of residential schools remains a vital component of the reconciliation process.

What's happening?

Bill C-5, the legislation to establish the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, received Royal Assent on June 3, 2021. The first National Day for Truth and Reconciliation, as an official federal statutory holiday, was marked on September 30, 2021.

81. We call upon the federal government, in collaboration with Survivors and their organizations, and other parties to the Settlement Agreement, to commission and install a publicly accessible, highly visible, Residential Schools National Monument in the city of Ottawa to honour Survivors and all the children who were lost to their families and communities.

What's happening?

Recent progress

In August 2021, the government announced $20 million in new funding to build a national monument in Ottawa to honour survivors and all the children who were taken from their families and communities.

The government is:

  • working to establish a survivor-led steering committee by appointing members who participated in a 2019 visioning workshop
  • collaborating with the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation to solicit nominations for new members

The first steering committee meeting will be convened in spring 2022.

82. We call upon provincial and territorial governments, in collaboration with Survivors and their organizations, and other parties to the Settlement Agreement, to commission and install a publicly accessible, highly visible, Residential Schools Monument in each capital city to honour Survivors and all the children who were lost to their families and communities.

What's happening?

The provincial and territorial governments are responsible for the response to Call to Action 82.

83. We call upon the Canada Council for the Arts to establish, as a funding priority, a strategy for Indigenous and non-Indigenous artists to undertake collaborative projects and produce works that contribute to the reconciliation process

What's happening?

The Canada Council for the Arts launched the {Re}conciliation Initiative in 2015, in association with the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation and the Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada. The initiative invited First Nations, Inuit and Métis artists, collectives and arts organizations to submit applications for projects that share how the arts can contribute to the ongoing process of reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples in Canada.

The program ran for 2 years until the end of fiscal year 2016 to 2017 and delivered $1.8 million in support towards 26 projects.

In 2016, the Canada Council for the Arts launched its 2016 to 2021 Strategic Plan with a commitment to support the relationship between Indigenous artists and people living in Canada. The plan articulates its approach to Indigenous self-determination and decolonization.

In April 2017, the Canada Council launched the program Creating, Knowing and Sharing: The Arts and Cultures of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples, for which projects previously funded through the {Re}conciliation Initiative are eligible. This ongoing grant program supports Indigenous individuals, groups, Indigenous-led arts organizations and arts and cultural sector development organizations that foster a vital and resilient Indigenous arts ecosystem.

Designed and administered by Indigenous staff, the program acknowledges the cultural sovereignty of Indigenous peoples and respects the concepts of First Nations, Inuit and Métis self-determination.

In 2021, the Canada Council for the Arts provided funding to 451 Indigenous artists, arts groups and organizations, totaling $31.3 million. Of this funding, from January 1 to December 31, 2021, 298 Indigenous artists, arts groups and organizations received funding directly through Creating, Knowing and Sharing: The Arts and Cultures of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples, totaling $20.9 million.

In fall 2016, the Canada Council committed to tripling its investment to support the knowledge, creation and sharing of First Nations, Inuit and Métis arts and cultures to $18.9 million by fiscal year 2020 to 2021.

The Canada Council supports work to renew the relationship between Indigenous artists and both Indigenous and non-Indigenous audiences. This work is furthering truth and reconciliation, decolonization, and helps foster a shared future free of discrimination.

In 2020 to 2021, the Canada Council provided $28 million in funding to over 540 Indigenous artists, groups and arts organizations from coast to coast to coast. The Canada Council surpassed its goal to triple support for Indigenous creation by fiscal year 2020 to 2021.

Related links

Date modified:

Commémoration

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 79 à 83 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en mars 2022.

79. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral d'établir, en collaboration avec les survivants, les organisations autochtones et les membres de la communauté artistique, un cadre de travail se rapportant à la réconciliation pour les besoins du patrimoine canadien et des activités de commémoration. Ce cadre engloberait notamment ce qui suit :

  1. la modification de la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques de manière à inclure la représentation des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis au sein de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada et de son secrétariat;
  2. l'examen des politiques, des critères et des pratiques se rattachant au Programme national de commémoration historique pour intégrer l'histoire, les valeurs patrimoniales et les pratiques de la mémoire autochtones au patrimoine et à l'histoire du Canada;
  3. l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'un plan national du patrimoine et d'une stratégie pour la commémoration des sites des pensionnats, de l'histoire et des séquelles de ces pensionnats et de la contribution des peuples autochtones à l'histoire du Canada.

Que se passe-t-il?

Afin de commencer à répondre à l'appel à l'action 79, le budget de 2018 a alloué 23,9 millions $ à Parcs Canada (15,2 millions $ de nouveaux fonds, en plus des ressources existantes s'élevant à 8,7 millions $) sur 5 ans, soit de 2018 à 2023. L'objectif est de faire avancer les initiatives qui comprennent :

  • les mises à jour des politiques et des lois;
  • une visibilité et un soutien accrus en ce qui concerne l'histoire des peuples autochtones au Canada;
  • les commémorations liées à l'histoire et à l'héritage des pensionnats.

Appel à l'action 79(i)

Le 7 juin 2022, l'honorable Steven Guilbeault, ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a présenté le projet de loi C-23, la Loi sur les lieux historiques du Canada, à la Chambre des communes. Le projet de loi, s'il est adopté dans son libellé actuel par le Parlement, créera 3 nouveaux postes pour les représentants des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuit à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Le projet de loi améliorerait également l'intégration de l'histoire, des valeurs patrimoniales et des pratiques de mémoire autochtones dans l'histoire et le patrimoine national du Canada, créant ainsi de plus grandes possibilités de protéger et de présenter les contributions des peuples autochtones au patrimoine culturel et naturel.

À l'appui de l'appel à l'action 79(i), le budget de 2021 a annoncé l'intention du gouvernement de mettre en œuvre une loi qui prévoirait un cadre de désignation transparent et la protection durable de plus de 300 lieux historiques appartenant au gouvernement fédéral. Le budget proposait de fournir à l'Agence Parcs Canada 28,7 millions $ sur 5 ans, et 5,8 millions $ par année par la suite, afin de mettre en œuvre la loi, si elle est adoptée.

Pendant l'élaboration de la proposition législative, on a cerné et éliminé les obstacles non législatifs à la participation des Autochtones en tant que membres de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Les mesures prises comprennent les suivantes :

  • encourager les candidats autochtones à poser leur candidature aux postes vacants au sein de la Commission;
  • réviser les qualifications requises;
  • mieux faire connaître les postes vacants auprès des candidats autochtones potentiels.

Les 2 personnes les plus récemment nommées à la Commission, représentant le Yukon et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, s'identifient comme des Autochtones.

Appel à l'action 79(ii)

En réponse à l'appel à l'action 79(ii); à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones; et à la priorité du gouvernement du Canada de faire progresser la réconciliation, Parcs Canada procède à un examen approfondi de ses politiques en matière de patrimoine culturel afin de s'assurer qu'un ensemble de politiques renouvelé reconnaîtra la diversité des perspectives, des valeurs et des systèmes de connaissances des peuples autochtones.

En 2018, Parcs Canada a accueilli des universitaires, des Aînés, des experts et des praticiens du patrimoine culturel autochtone pour participer à des discussions sur la commémoration et la protection du patrimoine culturel. Tel qu'il a été recommandé lors de ces rassemblements, Parcs Canada a créé le Conseil consultatif sur le patrimoine culturel autochtone en décembre 2019. Parcs Canada entretient un dialogue permanent avec les membres du Conseil pour obtenir des conseils sur des éléments précis de l'examen des politiques en matière de patrimoine culturel. Le Conseil a fourni à l'Agence de précieux conseils pour mettre en œuvre l'appel à l'action 79 et faire progresser la réconciliation.

En 2019, le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a approuvé Le cadre pour l'histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019. Ce plan fournit des orientations stratégiques pour l'examen des désignations existantes d'importance historique nationale dans les buts suivants :

  • remédier à l'absence d'histoires autochtones;
  • prendre en compte les perspectives autochtones et les histoires autochtones établies en tant que priorité pour le programme national de commémoration historique.

En 2020, Parcs Canada a collaboré avec le Cercle du patrimoine autochtone pour organiser et tenir 3 séances de mobilisation régionales avec des Aînés, des professionnels du patrimoine autochtone et des partenaires autochtones afin d'examiner les politiques en matière de patrimoine culturel de Parcs Canada. Le rapport du Cercle du patrimoine autochtone, Séances de mobilisation pour le patrimoine autochtone 2020 : Rapport du Cercle du patrimoine autochtone à Parcs Canada, fournit des recommandations visant à renouveler les politiques en matière de patrimoine culturel et les relations avec les peuples autochtones.

En 2021 et au début de 2022, Parcs Canada a mobilisé 40 organisations autochtones et organisations de traités modernes qui ont un intérêt direct dans le patrimoine culturel afin de recueillir leurs commentaires sur les éléments suivants :

  • des sujets pertinents pour une éventuelle loi sur les lieux historiques;
  • le renouvellement de la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada.

Appel à l'action 79(iii)

En réponse à l'appel à l'action 79(iii), le 1er septembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a reconnu l'importance nationale du système des pensionnats indiens comme un événement tragique et déterminant de l'histoire du Canada.

En septembre 2020, l'ancien pensionnat de Portage La Prairie (au Manitoba) et l'ancien pensionnat de Shubenacadie (en Nouvelle-Écosse) ont été désignés comme lieux historiques nationaux.

Depuis 2020, Parcs Canada a fourni un financement pluriannuel au Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation afin de communiquer avec les communautés des pensionnats indiens dans les buts suivants :

  • déterminer des approches commémoratives pour les sites des anciens pensionnats indiens;
  • soutenir les commémorations et les réunions de guérison communautaires en association avec la désignation d'événement historique national du système des pensionnats indiens.

En juillet 2021, l'ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk (en Ontario) et l'ancien pensionnat indien de Muscowequan (en Saskatchewan) ont également été désignés comme lieux historiques nationaux.

Le budget de 2022 a également proposé de fournir à Parcs Canada 25 millions $ sur 3 ans, à partir de l'exercice de 2022 à 2023, afin de soutenir les efforts continus visant à commémorer l'histoire et l'héritage des pensionnats indiens.

Enfin, dans le cadre de l'initiative Histoires du Canada, Parcs Canada soutient 35 projets de renforcement des capacités à volets multiples, notamment l'histoire orale, les ateliers sur les compétences traditionnelles, et les expositions itinérantes. Ces projets concernent plus de 40 lieux patrimoniaux, y compris des parcs nationaux et des lieux historiques nationaux dans 6 régions, et plus de 60 communautés et organisations autochtones. Ces projets mettent en évidence l'importance de ces lieux patrimoniaux du point de vue des Autochtones et offrent aux communautés autochtones la possibilité de diffuser et de communiquer leurs histoires à leur manière et de leur propre voix.

Prochaines étapes

Parcs Canada entreprend une analyse multidisciplinaire des recommandations reçues au cours du dialogue ayant eu lieu de 2021 à 2022 avec 40 organisations autochtones et organisations de traités modernes, afin d'appuyer le renouvellement des politiques et des directives clés en matière de patrimoine culturel d'ici avril 2023.

Parcs Canada continuera de faire participer ses partenaires autochtones à l'examen du projet de Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada à la fin de 2022.

Le Secrétariat de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada continue de recevoir de nouvelles candidatures relatives à l'histoire et à l'héritage des pensionnats indiens au Canada. Les candidatures admissibles seront prises en considération pour des désignations historiques nationales potentielles, avec un délai de traitement moyen de 2 ans.

Les perspectives et les interprétations de l'histoire du Canada ont beaucoup changé au cours du siècle dernier et, grâce à l'appel à l'action 79, le gouvernement du Canada continuera de s'efforcer de reconnaître l'héritage de son passé.

Certaines désignations et leurs plaques commémoratives comportent un contenu colonial, désuet ou insensible qui ne reflète pas fidèlement ce que l'on sait sur l'histoire du pays aujourd'hui. Un certain nombre de désignations existantes liées aux pensionnats et à l'histoire autochtone sont actuellement en cours de révision. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site suivant : Revue des désignations existantes

En outre, un examen des critères et des lignes directrices concernant l'évaluation des sujets d'importance historique nationale, qui énonce les politiques et les pratiques de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, a été entrepris et devrait être achevé en 2022.

80. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral d'établir comme jour férié, en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones, une journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation pour honorer les survivants, leurs familles et leurs communautés et s'assurer que la commémoration de l'histoire et des séquelles des pensionnats demeure un élément essentiel du processus de réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le projet de loi C-5, visant à instituer la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation, a reçu la sanction royale le 3 juin 2021. La première célébration de la Journée nationale de la vérité et de la réconciliation, en tant que jour férié fédéral officiel s'est tenue le 30 septembre 2021.

81. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral, en collaboration avec les survivants et leurs organisations de même qu'avec les autres parties à la Convention de règlement, de commander un monument national sur les pensionnats et de l'installer de manière à ce qu'il soit accessible au public et très visible dans la ville d'Ottawa, et ce, pour honorer les survivants et tous les enfants qu'ont perdus les familles et les communautés concernées.

Que se passe-t-il?

Progrès récents

En août 2021, le gouvernement a annoncé un nouveau financement de 20 millions $ pour la construction d'un monument national à Ottawa en l'honneur des survivants et de tous les enfants qui ont été enlevés à leur famille et à leur communauté.

Le gouvernement :

  • travaille à l'établissement d'un comité directeur dirigé par des survivants en nommant les membres qui ont participé à un atelier de visualisation en 2019;
  • collabore avec le Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation pour solliciter les candidatures de nouveaux membres.

La première réunion du comité directeur sera convoquée au printemps 2022.

82. Nous demandons aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, en collaboration avec les survivants et leurs organisations de même qu'avec les autres parties à la Convention de règlement, de commander un monument national sur les pensionnats et de l'installer de manière à ce qu'il soit accessible au public et très visible dans chaque capitale, et ce, pour honorer les survivants et tous les enfants qu'ont perdus les familles et les communautés concernées.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no. 82.

83. Nous demandons au Conseil des arts du Canada d'établir, en tant que priorité de financement, une stratégie visant à aider les artistes autochtones et non autochtones à entreprendre des projets de collaboration et à produire des œuvres qui contribueront au processus de réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le Conseil des arts du Canada a lancé l'initiative {Ré}conciliation en 2015, en association avec la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et le Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada (non disponible en français). Dans le cadre de l'initiative, le Conseil des arts a invité des artistes, des collectifs et des organismes artistiques des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis à présenter des projets qui démontrent la façon dont les arts peuvent contribuer au processus de réconciliation entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones au Canada.

Dans le cadre du programme qui a duré 2 ans, jusqu'à la fin de l'exercice financier 2016 à 2017, 1,8 million $ ont été attribués pour le financement de 26 projets.

En 2016, le Conseil des arts du Canada a lancé son Plan stratégique de 2016 à 2021 avec l'engagement de soutenir la relation entre les artistes autochtones et les gens qui vivent au Canada. Le plan décrit de quelle façon le Conseil entend aborder l'autodétermination et la décolonisation des Autochtones.

En avril 2017, le Conseil a lancé le programme Créer, connaître et partager : Arts et cultures des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, dans le cadre duquel les projets qui ont été financés par l'initiative {Ré}conciliation sont désormais admissibles. Ce programme de subventions permanent soutient les artistes et les groupes d'artistes autochtones, les organismes artistiques dirigés par des Autochtones et les organismes de développement artistique et culturel qui assurent la vitalité et la résilience de l'écosystème artistique autochtone.

Conçu et administré par un personnel autochtone, le programme reconnaît la souveraineté culturelle des peuples autochtones et respecte les concepts d'autodétermination des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis.

En 2021, le Conseil des Arts du Canada a accordé des fonds à 451 artistes, groupes artistiques et organismes autochtones, pour un total de 31,3 millions $. De ce montant, du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2021, 298 artistes, groupes artistiques et organismes autochtones ont reçu des fonds directement dans le cadre du programme Créer, connaître et partager : Arts et cultures des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, pour un total de 20,9 millions $.

À l'automne 2016, le Conseil s'est engagé à tripler son investissement pour soutenir la connaissance, la création et le partage des arts et des cultures des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, pour atteindre 18,9 millions $ d'ici l'exercice financier de 2020 à 2021.

Le Conseil soutient le travail visant à renouveler la relation entre les artistes autochtones et le public autochtone et non autochtone. Ce travail favorise la vérité, la réconciliation et la décolonisation, ainsi que la création d'un avenir commun exempt de discrimination.

De 2020 à 2021, le Conseil a fourni 28 millions $ de financement à plus de 540 artistes, groupes et organisations artistiques autochtones d'un océan à l'autre. Le Conseil a ainsi dépassé son objectif de tripler le soutien à la création autochtone avant la fin de l'exercice financier de 2020 à 2021.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :