Missing children and burial information

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 71 to 76.

71. We call upon all chief coroners and provincial vital statistics agencies that have not provided to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada their records on the deaths of Aboriginal children in the care of residential school authorities to make these documents available to the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is not the lead on a response for Call to Action 71.

72. We call upon the federal government to allocate sufficient resources to the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation to allow it to develop and maintain the National Residential School Student Death Register established by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

What's happening?

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada has provided funding to the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation to support the development of a database registering the children who died or went missing while at Indian residential schools. This represents a critical first step towards addressing Calls to Action 73 to76.

In addition, Budget 2019 announced $33.8 million over 3 years, starting in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, to develop and maintain the National Residential School Student Death Register and work with parties to establish and maintain an online registry of residential school cemeteries.

73. We call upon the federal government to work with churches, Aboriginal communities, and former residential school students to establish and maintain an online registry of residential school cemeteries, including, where possible, plot maps showing the location of deceased residential school children.

What's happening?

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada has begun discussions with various partners, internal and external to the federal government, towards collaborating on an engagement strategy to gain a better understanding of the range of Indigenous family and community needs and interests and about how best to move forward in a comprehensive manner on all of the calls to actions regarding children who died or went missing while attending Indian residential schools (Calls to Action 72 to 76).

In addition, Budget 2019 announced $33.8 million over 3 years, starting in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, to develop and maintain the National Residential School Student Death Register and work with parties to establish and maintain an online registry of residential school cemeteries.

74. We call upon the federal government to work with the churches and Aboriginal community leaders to inform the families of children who died at residential schools of the child's burial location, and to respond to families' wishes for appropriate commemoration ceremonies and markers, and reburial in home communities where requested.

What's happening?

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada has begun discussions with various partners, internal and external to the federal government, towards collaborating on an engagement strategy to gain a better understanding of the range of Indigenous family and community needs and interests and about how best to move forward in a comprehensive manner on all of the calls to actions regarding children who died or went missing while attending Indian residential schools (Calls to Action 72 to 76).

75. We call upon the federal government to work with provincial, territorial, and municipal governments, churches, Aboriginal communities, former residential school students, and current landowners to develop and implement strategies and procedures for the ongoing identification, documentation, maintenance, commemoration, and protection of residential school cemeteries or other sites at which residential school children were buried. This is to include the provision of appropriate memorial ceremonies and commemorative markers to honour the deceased children.

What's happening?

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada has begun discussions with various partners, internal and external to the federal government, towards collaborating on an engagement strategy to gain a better understanding of the range of Indigenous family and community needs and interests and about how best to move forward in a comprehensive manner on all of the calls to actions regarding children who died or went missing while attending Indian residential schools (Calls to Action 72 to 76).

76. We call upon the parties engaged in the work of documenting, maintaining, commemorating, and protecting residential school cemeteries to adopt strategies in accordance with the following principles:

  1. The Aboriginal community most affected shall lead the development of such strategies.
  2. Information shall be sought from residential school Survivors and other Knowledge Keepers in the development of such strategies.
  3. Aboriginal protocols shall be respected before any potentially invasive technical inspection and investigation of a cemetery site.

What's happening?

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada has begun discussions with various partners, internal and external to the federal government, towards collaborating on an engagement strategy to gain a better understanding of the range of Indigenous family and community needs and interests and about how best to move forward in a comprehensive manner on all of the calls to actions regarding children who died or went missing while attending Indian residential schools (Calls to Action 72 to 76).

Related links

Date modified:

Enfants disparus et renseignements sur l'inhumation

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 71 à 76 de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

71. Nous demandons à tous les coroners en chef et les bureaux de l'état civil de chaque province et territoire qui n'ont pas fourni à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation leurs dossiers sur le décès d'enfants autochtones dont les autorités des pensionnats avaient la garde de mettre ces documents à la disposition du Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'appel à l'action 71.

72. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de mettre suffisamment de ressources à la disposition du Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation pour lui permettre de tenir à jour le registre national de décès des élèves de pensionnats établi par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada.

Que se passe-t-il?

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada contribue au financement du Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation afin de favoriser l'élaboration d'une base de données réunissant les cas d'enfants décédés ou disparus alors qu'ils fréquentaient un pensionnat indien. Cela représente une première étape cruciale dans le processus donnant suite aux appels à l'action 73 à 76.

En plus, dans le budget 2019, on a annoncé l'investissement de 33,8 millions de dollars sur 3 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020, pour développer et gérer le registre national des décès des élèves des pensionnats et collaborer avec les parties pour créer et gérer un registre en ligne des cimetières des pensionnats.

73. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de travailler de concert avec l'Église, les communautés autochtones et les anciens élèves des pensionnats afin d'établir et de tenir à jour un registre en ligne des cimetières de ces pensionnats, et, dans la mesure du possible, de tracer des cartes montrant l'emplacement où reposent les élèves décédés.

Que se passe-t-il?

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada a entamé des discussions avec divers partenaires internes et externes du gouvernement fédéral relativement à une collaboration possible sur une stratégie de mobilisation visant à mieux comprendre les besoins et les intérêts variés des communautés et des familles autochtones et de trouver la meilleure façon de faire avancer considérablement les travaux relatifs aux appels à l'action concernant les enfants qui sont décédés ou qui ont disparu alors qu'ils fréquentaient un pensionnat indien (appels à l'action 72 à 76).

En plus, dans le budget 2019, on a annoncé l'investissement de 33,8 millions de dollars sur 3 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020, pour développer et gérer le registre national des décès des élèves des pensionnats et collaborer avec les parties pour créer et gérer un registre en ligne des cimetières des pensionnats.

74. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de travailler avec l'Église et les dirigeants communautaires autochtones pour informer les familles des enfants qui sont décédés dans les pensionnats du lieu de sépulture de ces enfants, pour répondre au souhait de ces familles de tenir des cérémonies et des événements commémoratifs appropriés et pour procéder, sur demande, à la réinhumation des enfants dans leurs communautés d'origine.

Que se passe-t-il?

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada a entamé des discussions avec divers partenaires internes et externes du gouvernement fédéral relativement à une collaboration possible sur une stratégie de mobilisation visant à mieux comprendre les besoins et les intérêts variés des communautés et des familles autochtones et de trouver la meilleure façon de faire avancer considérablement les travaux relatifs aux appels à l'action concernant les enfants qui sont décédés ou qui ont disparu alors qu'ils fréquentaient un pensionnat indien (appels à l'action 72 à 76).

75. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de collaborer avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de même qu'avec les administrations municipales, l'Église, les communautés autochtones, les anciens élèves des pensionnats et les propriétaires fonciers actuels pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des stratégies et des procédures qui permettront de repérer, de documenter, d'entretenir, de commémorer et de protéger les cimetières des pensionnats ou d'autres sites où des enfants qui fréquentaient ces pensionnats ont été inhumés. Le tout doit englober la tenue de cérémonies et d'événements commémoratifs appropriés pour honorer la mémoire des enfants décédés.

Que se passe-t-il?

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada a entamé des discussions avec divers partenaires internes et externes du gouvernement fédéral relativement à une collaboration possible sur une stratégie de mobilisation visant à mieux comprendre les besoins et les intérêts variés des communautés et des familles autochtones et de trouver la meilleure façon de faire avancer considérablement les travaux relatifs aux appels à l'action concernant les enfants qui sont décédés ou qui ont disparu alors qu'ils fréquentaient un pensionnat indien (appels à l'action 72 à 76).

76. Nous demandons aux parties concernées par le travail de documentation, d'entretien, de commémoration, et de protection des cimetières des pensionnats d'adopter des stratégies en conformité avec les principes suivants :

  1. la communauté autochtone la plus touchée doit diriger l'élaboration de ces stratégies;
  2. de l'information doit être demandée aux survivants des pensionnats et aux autres détenteurs de connaissances dans le cadre de l'élaboration de ces stratégies;
  3. les protocoles autochtones doivent être respectés avant que toute inspection technique ou enquête potentiellement envahissante puisse être effectuée sur les lieux d'un cimetière.

Que se passe-t-il?

Que se passe-t-il?

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada a entamé des discussions avec divers partenaires internes et externes du gouvernement fédéral relativement à une collaboration possible sur une stratégie de mobilisation visant à mieux comprendre les besoins et les intérêts variés des communautés et des familles autochtones et de trouver la meilleure façon de faire avancer considérablement les travaux relatifs aux appels à l'action concernant les enfants qui sont décédés ou qui ont disparu alors qu'ils fréquentaient un pensionnat indien (appels à l'action 72 à 76).

Liens connexes

Date de modification :