Church apologies and reconciliation

The Government of Canada is not the lead on a response for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 58 to 61.

58. We call upon the Pope to issue an apology to Survivors, their families, and communities for the Roman Catholic Church's role in the spiritual, cultural, emotional, physical, and sexual abuse of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis children in Catholic-run residential schools. We call for that apology to be similar to the 2010 apology issued to Irish victims of abuse and to occur within one year of the issuing of this Report and to be delivered by the Pope in Canada.

What's happening?

The Pope is responsible for the response to Call to Action 58. On May 29, 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau met with His Holiness Pope Francis at the Vatican. During this meeting, the Prime Minister formally asked the Pope deliver a papal apology for the Catholic Church's role in Indian Residential Schools.

On July 24 – 29, 2022, Pope Francis visited Canada on what he termed a "penitential pilgrimage," visiting Alberta, Quebec and Nunavut. More information, including the trip itinerary, can be found on the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops website about Pope Francis' visit to Canada.

While in Maskwacîs, situated on Treaty 6 territory, traditional lands of First Nations and Métis people, Pope Francis recognized the abuses experienced at residential schools that resulted in cultural destruction, loss of life, and ongoing trauma lived by Indigenous Peoples in every region of this country. He made further remarks at Lac Ste. Anne, Ste. Anne de Beaupré and in Iqaluit.

59. We call upon church parties to the Settlement Agreement to develop ongoing education strategies to ensure that their respective congregations learn about their church's role in colonization, the history and legacy of residential schools, and why apologies to former residential school students, their families, and communities were necessary.

What's happening?

The church parties to the Settlement Agreement are responsible for the response to Call to Action 59.

60. We call upon leaders of the church parties to the Settlement Agreement and all other faiths, in collaboration with Indigenous spiritual leaders, Survivors, schools of theology, seminaries, and other religious training centres, to develop and teach curriculum for all student clergy, and all clergy and staff who work in Aboriginal communities, on the need to respect Indigenous spirituality in its own right, the history and legacy of residential schools and the roles of the church parties in that system, the history and legacy of religious conflict in Aboriginal families and communities, and the responsibility that churches have to mitigate such conflicts and prevent spiritual violence.

What's happening?

Leaders of the church parties to the Settlement Agreement and all other faiths are responsible for the response to Call to Action 60.

61. We call upon church parties to the Settlement Agreement, in collaboration with Survivors and representatives of Aboriginal organizations, to establish permanent funding to Aboriginal people for:

  1. Community-controlled healing and reconciliation projects.
  2. Community-controlled culture and language revitalization projects.
  3. Community-controlled education and relationship-building projects.
  4. Regional dialogues for Indigenous spiritual leaders and youth to discuss Indigenous spirituality, self-determination, and reconciliation.

What's happening?

The church parties to the Settlement Agreement are responsible for the response to Call to Action 61.

Related links

Date modified:

Les excuses de l'Église et la réconciliation

Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable des appels à l'action 58 à 61 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

58. Nous demandons au pape de présenter, au nom de l'Église catholique romaine, des excuses aux survivants, à leurs familles ainsi qu'aux communautés concernées pour les mauvais traitements sur les plans spirituel, culturel, émotionnel, physique et sexuel que les enfants des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis ont subis dans les pensionnats dirigés par l'Église catholique. Nous demandons que ces excuses soient semblables à celles faites en 2010 aux Irlandais qui avaient été victimes de mauvais traitements et à ce qu'elles soient présentées par le pape au Canada, dans un délai d'un an suivant la publication du présent rapport.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le pape est responsable de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no. 58. Le 29 mai 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a rencontré Sa Sainteté le pape François au Vatican. Au cours de cette rencontre, le premier ministre a officiellement demandé au pape de fournir des excuses relativement au rôle de l'Église catholique dans les pensionnats indiens.

Du 24 au 29 juillet 2022, le pape François s'est rendu au Canada pour ce qu'il a qualifié de « pèlerinage pénitentiel », visitant l'Alberta, le Québec et le Nunavut. Vous trouverez plus d'informations, y compris l'itinéraire du voyage, sur le site Web de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada concernant la visite du pape François au Canada.

Alors qu'il était à Maskwacîs, situé sur le territoire du Traité no 6, terres traditionnelles des Premières Nations et des Métis, le pape François a reconnu les mauvais traitements subis dans les pensionnats qui ont entraîné la destruction de la culture, la perte de vies humaines et les traumatismes permanents subis par les peuples autochtones dans toutes les régions du pays. Il a fait d'autres remarques à cet égard à Lac Sainte-Anne, à Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré et à Iqaluit.

59. Nous demandons aux représentants de l'Église qui sont parties à la Convention de règlement d'élaborer des stratégies d'éducation pour que leurs congrégations apprennent le rôle joué par l'Église en ce qui a trait à la colonisation de même qu'à l'histoire et aux séquelles des pensionnats, de même que les raisons pour lesquelles des excuses aux anciens élèves des pensionnats et à leurs familles de même qu'aux communautés concernées sont nécessaires.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les églises concernées par l'accord de règlement sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no 59.

60. Nous demandons aux représentants de l'Église qui sont parties à la Convention de règlement ainsi qu'à toutes les autres confessions religieuses concernées, en collaboration avec les chefs spirituels autochtones, les survivants des pensionnats, les écoles de théologie, les séminaires et d'autres centres de formation, d'élaborer un programme d'études sur la nécessité de respecter en soi la spiritualité autochtone, sur l'histoire et les séquelles des pensionnats et le rôle de l'Église dans ce système, sur l'histoire des conflits religieux et leurs répercussions sur les familles et les communautés autochtones, et sur la responsabilité de l'Église pour ce qui est d'atténuer ces conflits et de prévenir la violence spirituelle, et d'offrir ce programme à tous les séminaristes, membres du clergé et employés de ce milieu qui travaillent dans les communautés autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les dirigeants des églises concernées par l'accord de règlement et de toutes les autres confessions sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no 60.

61. Nous demandons aux représentants de l'Église qui sont parties à la Convention de règlement de collaborer avec les survivants et les représentants d'organisations autochtones en vue d'établir un fonds permanent destiné aux Autochtones pour les besoins de ce qui suit :

  1. projets de guérison et de réconciliation menés par la communauté;
  2. projets liés à la revitalisation de la langue et de la culture menés par la communauté;
  3. projets d'éducation et de création de liens menés par la communauté;
  4. rencontres régionales de chefs spirituels et de jeunes autochtones afin de discuter de la spiritualité autochtone, de l'autodétermination et de la réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les églises concernées par l'accord de règlement sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action no 61.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :