Equity for Aboriginal people in the legal system

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 50 to 52.

50. In keeping with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, we call upon the federal government, in collaboration with Aboriginal organizations, to fund the establishment of Indigenous law institutes for the development, use, and understanding of Indigenous laws and access to justice in accordance with the unique cultures of Aboriginal peoples in Canada.

What's happening?

Indigenous peoples in Canada have unique laws and legal traditions. The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of revitalizing Indigenous legal systems, as well as the important role of Indigenous law institutes. To this end, Budget 2019 announced $9.1 million over 3 years, starting in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, to support the construction of an Indigenous Legal Lodge at the University of Victoria, a leader in this field. The Indigenous Legal Lodge will house the university's new dual degree program in Canadian Common Law and Indigenous Legal Orders and will serve as a foundation for debate, learning, public education and partnership on the revitalization of Indigenous laws.

Budget 2019 also announced $10 million over 5 years, starting in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, in support of Indigenous law initiatives across Canada through the Justice Partnership and Innovation Program, to improve equality for Indigenous Peoples in Canada's legal system.

For example, through the Justice Partnership and Innovation Program, $134,127 has been provided to the University of Alberta for the development of the new Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge, as announced by the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada on August 14, 2019.

51. We call upon the Government of Canada, as an obligation of its fiduciary responsibility, to develop a policy of transparency by publishing legal opinions it develops and upon which it acts or intends to act, in regard to the scope and extent of Aboriginal and Treaty rights.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

On January 11, 2019, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada issued the Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples. The directive guides the government's legal approaches, positions and decisions taken in civil litigation involving Aboriginal and treaty rights and the Crown's obligation towards Indigenous peoples.

The Government of Canada is currently reviewing existing policies and practices on legal opinions including through the lens of broader open government initiatives. Through this review, further options will be developed to address Call to Action 51.

52. We call upon the Government of Canada, provincial and territorial governments, and the courts to adopt the following legal principles:

  1. Aboriginal title claims are accepted once the Aboriginal claimant has established occupation over a particular territory at a particular point in time.
  2. Once Aboriginal title has been established, the burden of proving any limitation on any rights arising from the existence of that title shifts to the party asserting such a limitation.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada has moved to an approach to Indigenous relations that is grounded in the recognition of rights. This means not forcing First Nations, Inuit and Métis rights-holders to use the courts to see those rights implemented.

On January 11, 2019, the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada issued the Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples. The directive will guide the government's legal approaches, positions and decisions taken in civil litigation involving Aboriginal and treaty rights and the Crown's obligation towards Indigenous peoples.

The directive is part of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada's work to review the Government of Canada's litigation strategy. This is to ensure the federal government's legal positions are consistent with its commitments, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and Canadian values.

Consistent with the Principles Respecting the Government of Canada's Relationship with Indigenous Peoples, the directive emphasizes the importance of resolving conflicts expeditiously and collaboratively, reducing the use of litigation and the courts.

Related links

Date modified:

L’équité pour les Autochtones dans le système judiciaire

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 50 à 52 de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

50. Conformément à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones, nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de financer, en collaboration avec les organisations autochtones, la création d'instituts du droit autochtone pour l'élaboration, la mise en application et la compréhension des lois autochtones ainsi que l'accès à la justice en conformité avec les cultures uniques des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les Autochtones du Canada ont des lois et des traditions juridiques uniques. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance de revitaliser les systèmes de justice autochtones, ainsi que le rôle important des instituts en matière de droit autochtone. À cette fin, le budget de 2019 a annoncé de verser 9,1 millions de dollars sur 3 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020, pour la construction d'un pavillon juridique autochtone à l'Université de Victoria, un chef de file dans ce domaine. Le pavillon juridique autochtone abritera le nouveau programme universitaire à double diplôme en common law canadienne et en ordonnances juridiques autochtones, et servira de base au débat, à l'apprentissage, à l'éducation publique et aux partenariats sur la revitalisation des lois autochtones.

Le budget de 2019 a également annoncé un financement de 10 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020, pour appuyer les initiatives juridiques autochtones partout au Canada dans le cadre du Programme juridique de partenariats et d'innovation pour améliorer l'égalité des peuples autochtones dans le système de justice du Canada.

Par exemple, grâce au Programme juridique de partenariats et d'innovation, 134 127 dollars ont été accordés à l'Université de l'Alberta pour le développement du nouveau Wahkohtowin Law and Governance Lodge, tel que l'a annoncé le ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada le 14 août 2019.

51. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada d'élaborer, en tant qu'obligation dans le cadre de sa responsabilité fiduciaire, une politique de transparence en publiant des avis juridiques qu'il élabore, invoque ou entend invoquer en ce qui concerne la portée et l'étendue des droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à à établir une relation renouvelée avec les peuples autochtones. Cette relation sera fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat.

Le 11 janvier 2019, le ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada a publié la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones. La directive permettra d'orienter les approches juridiques, les positions et les décisions du gouvernement dans les litiges civils concernant les droits ancestraux et issus de traités des Autochtones, ainsi que les obligations de la Couronne envers les Autochtones.

Le gouvernement du Canada examine actuellement les politiques et pratiques en matière d'avis juridiques, notamment dans l'optique plus vaste d'un gouvernement ouvert. Grâce à cet examen, d'autres options seront élaborées pour répondre à l'appel à l'action 51.

52. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de même qu'aux tribunaux d'adopter les principes juridiques suivants :

  1. les revendications de titres ancestraux seront acceptées lorsque le revendicateur autochtone aura établi qu'il a occupé le territoire en cause à un moment en particulier;
  2. lorsque le titre autochtone aura été établi, le fardeau de prouver toute limitation à l'exercice d'un droit résultant de l'existence de ce titre reviendra à la partie qui soutient l'existence d'une telle limitation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une approche fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits dans le cadre de toutes ses relations avec les Autochtones. Cela signifie que les membres des Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis détenteurs de droits n'auront pas à faire appel aux tribunaux pour que leurs droits soient établis.

Le 11 janvier 2019, la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada a publié la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones. Cette directive permettra d'orienter les approches juridiques du gouvernement, de même que ses prises de position et ses décisions dans les litiges civils concernant les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, ainsi que l'obligation qu'assume la Couronne envers les peuples autochtones.

La directive s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'examen, par la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada, de la stratégie du gouvernement du Canada en matière de litiges. Ceci vise à veiller à ce que les prises de position juridiques du gouvernement fédéral cadrent avec ses engagements, envers la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et les valeurs canadiennes.

Conformément aux Principes régissant la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones, la directive met l'accent sur l'importance de régler les conflits rapidement et de manière collaborative et ainsi de limiter le recours aux litiges et aux tribunaux.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :