National Council for Reconciliation

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 53 to 56.

Based on data provided March 2022.

  • Call to action 53 is based on data provided March 2022.

53. We call upon the Parliament of Canada, in consultation and collaboration with Aboriginal Peoples, to enact legislation to establish a National Council for Reconciliation.

What's happening?

The creation of a National Council for Reconciliation (NCR) as a national Indigenous-led oversight body is a vital milestone to implementing the Calls to Action from the final report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and in particular ensures the full implementation of Calls to Action 53 to 56.

The NCR's core mandate would be to ensure the Government of Canada's accountability for reconciling the relationship with Indigenous Peoples and implementing the Calls to Action. Establishing the National Council for Reconciliation is one of the many actions that the Government of Canada is taking to advance reconciliation in Canada and it is a clear priority of Indigenous partners.

This builds off an announcement in December 2017, when the Prime Minister announced the creation of an Interim Board of Directors to make recommendations on the creation of a National Council for Reconciliation.

In June 2018, an Interim Board of Directors presented its final report to the Minister, which contained 20 specific recommendations relating to the name, vision, mission, mandate, structure, membership, funding, reporting, and the legislation of the National Council for Reconciliation.

The Interim Board recommended that the National Council for Reconciliation be an Indigenous-led, non-political organization mandated to monitor and report on progress towards reconciliation and the Calls to Action implementation.

The Interim Board recommended that a Transitional Committee be established to complete the task of establishing the National Council for Reconciliation.

Following their inaugural meeting on December 16, 2021, the Honourable Marc Miller, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations, announced that an Indigenous-led Transitional Committee had been established. The Committee has begun their work through discussions on the vision for the Council, identified key milestones and timelines, as well as a proposed engagement approach.

Recent budget investments

Budget 2019 announced a total of $126.5 million to establish the National Council for Reconciliation, which includes $1.5 million to support the first year of operations.

Recent progress

The transitional committee has been established to lead the engagement on the draft legal framework with Indigenous partners, provinces, territories and other key partners.

The Transitional Committee members that have been appointed by the Minister are former Truth and Reconciliation Commissioner Wilton Littlechild, Dr. Mike DeGagné, Edith Cloutier, Rosemary Cooper and Mitch Case.

Support is being provided to the Transitional Committee through the Reconciliation Secretariat at Crown Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada. The Transitional Committee members will be responsible for:

  • developing the Terms of Reference of the board for the National Council on Reconciliation;
  • formally constituting the National Council for Reconciliation under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act;
  • leading engagements; and
  • providing their recommendations on the draft legal framework before tabling in Parliament.

Next steps

The Transitional Committee will engage with various groups on the legislative framework for the National Council for Reconciliation, and will provide advice and recommendations to the Minister. The Committee will set up the Council's first Board of Directors, and establish the Council as an Indigenous-led, non-political organization, working to advance reconciliation.

54. We call upon the Government of Canada to provide multi-year funding for the National Council for Reconciliation to ensure that it has the financial, human, and technical resources required to conduct its work, including the endowment of a National Reconciliation Trust to advance the cause of reconciliation.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada announced in Budget 2019 that a total of $126.5 million was allocated to support the establishment of the National Council for Reconciliation. This includes $1.5 million to support the first year of the council's operations.

Next steps

Work is progressing on Call to Action 53. Once established, the funding for the National Council for Reconciliation will be transferred.

55. We call upon all levels of government to provide annual reports or any current data requested by the National Council for Reconciliation so that it can report on the progress towards reconciliation. The reports or data would include, but not be limited to:

  1. The number of Aboriginal children—including Métis and Inuit children—in care, compared with non-Aboriginal children, the reasons for apprehension, and the total spending on preventive and care services by child-welfare agencies.
  2. Comparative funding for the education of First Nations children on and off reserves.
  3. The educational and income attainments of Aboriginal peoples in Canada compared with non-Aboriginal people.
  4. Progress on closing the gaps between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities in a number of health indicators such as: infant mortality, maternal health, suicide, mental health, addictions, life expectancy, birth rates, infant and child health issues, chronic diseases, illness and injury incidence, and the availability of appropriate health services.
  5. Progress on eliminating the overrepresentation of Aboriginal children in youth custody over the next decade.
  6. Progress on reducing the rate of criminal victimization of Aboriginal people, including data related to homicide and family violence victimization and other crimes.
  7. Progress on reducing the overrepresentation of Aboriginal people in the justice and correctional systems.

What's happening?

The National Council for Reconciliation will be an independent, Indigenous-led, not-for-profit organization mandated to monitor and report on progress towards reconciliation and calls to action implementation.

Once the National Council is formally established, reporting requirements for all levels of government will be developed and identified to demonstrate progress towards reconciliation.

Next steps

Call to Action 55 is dependent on the full implementation of Calls to Action 53 and 54.

56. We call upon the Prime Minister of Canada to formally respond to the report of the National Council for Reconciliation by issuing an annual "State of Aboriginal Peoples" report, which would outline the government's plans for advancing the cause of reconciliation.

What's happening?

Recent progress

This State of Aboriginal Peoples report is important to ensure that the actions of the Government of Canada in response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission are transparent and accountable to Canadians. Investments are ongoing to improve and support Indigenous-led data.

Once the National Council for Reconciliation is established and reports to Parliament on reconciliation progress, the Prime Minister of Canada will be able to issue an annual State of Indigenous Peoples report.

Next steps

Call to Action 56 is dependent on the full implementation of Calls to Action 53, 54 and 55.

Related links

Date modified:

Conseil national de réconciliation

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 53 à 56 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en mars 2022.

  • L'appel à l'action 53 est fondé sur les données fournies en mars 2022.

53. Nous demandons au Parlement du Canada, en consultation et en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones, d'adopter une loi visant à établir un Conseil national pour la réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

La création d'un Conseil national pour la réconciliation en tant qu'organisme national de surveillance dirigé par des Autochtones est une étape essentielle à la mise en œuvre des appels à l'action du rapport final de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et, plus particulièrement, permet d'assurer la pleine mise en œuvre des appels à l'action 53 à 56.

Le mandat principal du Conseil national pour la réconciliation serait d'assurer la responsabilité du gouvernement du Canada pour ce qui est de concilier les relations avec les peuples autochtones et de mettre en œuvre les appels à l'action. La création du Conseil national pour la réconciliation est l'une des nombreuses mesures prises par le gouvernement du Canada pour faire progresser la réconciliation au Canada et c'est une priorité claire des partenaires autochtones.

Cela s'appuie sur une annonce faite en décembre 2017, lorsque le premier ministre a annoncé la création d'un conseil d'administration intérimaire chargé de formuler des recommandations sur la création d'un Conseil national pour la réconciliation.

En juin 2018, un conseil d'administration intérimaire a présenté au ministre son rapport final, qui contenait 20 recommandations précises concernant le nom, la vision, la mission, le mandat, la structure, la composition, le financement, les rapports du Conseil national pour la réconciliation et les dispositions législatives qui s'y rattachent.

Le conseil intérimaire a recommandé que le Conseil national pour la réconciliation soit une organisation apolitique dirigée par des Autochtones et chargée de surveiller les progrès accomplis sur la voie de la réconciliation et de la mise en œuvre des appels à l'action.

Le conseil intérimaire a recommandé la création d'un comité de transition chargé d'achever la tâche consistant à créer le Conseil national pour la réconciliation.

À la suite de la réunion inaugurale du Conseil national pour la réconciliation tenue le 16 décembre 2021, l'honorable Marc Miller, ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones, a annoncé la création d'un comité de transition dirigé par des Autochtones. Ce dernier a commencé ses travaux dans le cadre de discussions sur la vision du Conseil national pour la réconciliation, a ciblé des jalons et des échéanciers clés et a proposé une approche à l'égard de la mobilisation.

Investissements budgétaires récents

Le budget de 2019 annonçait un investissement total de 126,5 millions de dollars pour établir le Conseil national de réconciliation, dont 1,5 million de dollars pour appuyer la première année de fonctionnement.

Progrès récents

Le comité de transition a été mis sur pied pour diriger la mobilisation concernant l'ébauche du cadre juridique auprès des partenaires autochtones, des provinces, des territoires et d'autres partenaires clés.

Les membres du comité de transition qui ont été nommés par le ministre sont l'ancien commissaire à la vérité et à la réconciliation, Wilton Littlechild, le Dr Mike DeGagné, Edith Cloutier, Rosemary Cooper et Mitch Case.

Un soutien est fourni au comité de transition par l'entremise du Secrétariat de la réconciliation de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada. Les membres du comité de transition seront chargés:

  • d'élaborer le mandat du conseil d'administration du Conseil national pour la réconciliation;
  • de constituer officiellement le Conseil national de réconciliation en vertu de la Loi sur les personnes morales sans but lucratif du Canada;
  • de diriger les mobilisations;
  • de formuler des recommandations sur le projet de cadre juridique avant de les déposer au Parlement.

Prochaines étapes

Le comité de transition discutera avec divers groupes au sujet du cadre législatif du Conseil national pour la réconciliation et fournira au ministre des conseils et des recommandations. Le comité mettra sur pied le premier conseil d'administration du conseil et établira le conseil en tant qu'organisation apolitique dirigée par des Autochtones, dont le mandat est de faire progresser la réconciliation.

54. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada de fournir un financement pluriannuel pour les besoins du conseil national de réconciliation qui sera créé afin de s'assurer qu'il dispose des ressources humaines, financières et techniques nécessaires pour mener ses travaux, y compris la dotation d'une fiducie de la réconciliation nationale pour faire avancer le dossier de la réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé dans le budget de 2019 qu'un total de 126,5 millions de dollars serait affecté à l'appui de la mise sur pied du Conseil national de réconciliation. Cette somme comprenait un montant de 1,5 million de dollars visant à soutenir la première année d'activité du conseil.

Prochaines étapes

Le travail concernant l'appel à l'action 53 se poursuit. Une fois mis en place, le financement du Conseil national pour la réconciliation sera transféré.

55. Nous demandons à tous les ordres de gouvernement de fournir des comptes rendus annuels ou toutes données récentes que demande le conseil national de réconciliation afin de permettre à celui-ci de présenter des rapports sur les progrès réalisés en vue de la réconciliation. L'information ainsi communiquée comprendrait, sans toutefois s'y limiter :

  1. le nombre d'enfants autochtones pris en charge — y compris les enfants métis et inuits — par comparaison avec les enfants non autochtones, les motifs de la prise en charge d'enfants par l'État ainsi que les dépenses totales engagées pour les besoins des services de prévention et de nature autre offerts par les organismes de protection de l'enfance;
  2. une comparaison en ce qui touche le financement destiné à l'éducation des enfants des Premières Nations dans les réserves et à l'extérieur de celles-ci;
  3. une comparaison sur les plans des niveaux de scolarisation et du revenu entre les communautés autochtones et les communautés non autochtones du Canada;
  4. les progrès réalisés pour combler les écarts entre les communautés autochtones et les communautés non autochtones en ce qui a trait à divers indicateurs de la santé dont la mortalité infantile, la santé maternelle, le suicide, la santé mentale, la toxicomanie, l'espérance de vie, les taux de natalité, les problèmes de santé infantile, les maladies chroniques, la fréquence des cas de maladie et de blessure ainsi que la disponibilité de services de santé appropriés;
  5. les progrès réalisés pour ce qui est d'éliminer la surreprésentation des jeunes Autochtones dans le régime de garde applicable aux adolescents, au cours de la prochaine décennie;
  6. les progrès réalisés dans la réduction du taux de la victimisation criminelle des Autochtones, y compris des données sur les homicides, la victimisation liée à la violence familiale et d'autres crimes;
  7. les progrès réalisés en ce qui touche la réduction de la surreprésentation des Autochtones dans le système judiciaire et correctionnel.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le Conseil national de réconciliation sera un organisme indépendant, dirigé par des Autochtones et sans but lucratif. Il aura pour mandat de surveiller les progrès réalisés en vue de la réconciliation et la mise en œuvre des appels à l'action et d'en rendre compte.

Une fois que le Conseil national de réconciliation sera officiellement mis en place, les exigences en matière de rapports pour tous les ordres de gouvernement seront définies et permettront de faire état des progrès vers la réconciliation.

Prochaines étapes

L'appel à l'action 55 dépend de la pleine mise en œuvre des appels à l'action 53 et 54.

56. Nous demandons au premier ministre du Canada de répondre officiellement au rapport du conseil national de réconciliation en publiant un rapport annuel sur la « situation des peuples autochtones », dans lequel on pourrait présenter les intentions du gouvernement pour ce qui est de faire avancer le dossier de la réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Progrès récents

Ce rapport sur l'état des peuples autochtones est important pour garantir que les actions du gouvernement du Canada en réponse à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation soient transparentes et rendent compte aux Canadiens. Des investissements sont en cours pour améliorer et soutenir les données dirigées par des Autochtones.

Une fois que le Conseil national pour la réconciliation sera mis en place et qu'il rendra compte au Parlement des progrès de la réconciliation, le premier ministre du Canada pourra publier un rapport annuel sur l'état des peuples autochtones.

Prochaines étapes

L'appel à l'action 56 dépend de la mise en œuvre complète des appels à l'action 53, 54 et 55.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :