Settlement agreement parties and the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

The Government of Canada is not the lead on a response for Calls to Action 48 to 49.

48. We call upon the church parties to the Settlement Agreement, and all other faith groups and interfaith social justice groups in Canada who have not already done so, to formally adopt and comply with the principles, norms, and standards of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples as a framework for reconciliation. This would include, but not be limited to, the following commitments:

  1. Ensuring that their institutions, policies, programs, and practices comply with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
  2. Respecting Indigenous peoples' right to self-determination in spiritual matters, including the right to practise, develop, and teach their own spiritual and religious traditions, customs, and ceremonies, consistent with Article 12:1 of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
  3. Engaging in ongoing public dialogue and actions to support the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.
  4. Issuing a statement no later than March 31, 2016, from all religious denominations and faith groups, as to how they will implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is not the lead on a response for Call to Action 48.

49. We call upon all religious denominations and faith groups who have not already done so to repudiate concepts used to justify European sovereignty over Indigenous lands and peoples, such as the Doctrine of Discovery and terra nullius.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is not the lead on a response for Call to Action 49.

Related links

Date modified:

Les parties à la Convention de règlement et la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones

Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable pour les appels à l'action 48 à 49 de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

48. Nous demandons à l'Église, aux parties à la Convention de règlement et à tous les autres groupes confessionnels et interconfessionnels au Canada qui ne l'ont pas déjà fait d'adopter officiellement et de respecter les normes et les principes de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones en tant que cadre de réconciliation. Cela comprend, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les engagements suivants de la part des intervenants en cause :

  1. veiller à ce que leurs institutions, politiques, programmes et pratiques soient conformes à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones;
  2. respecter le droit à l'autodétermination des peoples autochtones dans les cas d'ordre spirituel, y compris le droit d'élaborer, de mettre en pratique et d'enseigner leurs propres traditions, coutumes et cérémonies religieuses et spirituelles, conformément à l'article 12.1 de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones;
  3. lancer un dialogue public, voir à ce qu'il se poursuive à long terme et prendre des mesures pour appuyer la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones;
  4. publier, au plus tard le 31 mars 2016, une déclaration de la part des intervenants de toutes les confessions religieuses et de tous les groupes confessionnels quant à la manière dont ils ont l'intention de mettre en œuvre la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'appel à l'action 48.

49. Nous demandons aux intervenants de toutes les confessions religieuses et de tous les groups confessionnels qui ne l'ont pas déjà fait de répudier les concepts utilisés pour justifier la souveraineté européenne sur les terres et les peuples autochtones, notamment la doctrine de la découverte et le principe de terra nullius.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'appel à l'action 49.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :