Royal Proclamation and Covenant of Reconciliation

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 45 to 47.

45. We call upon the Government of Canada, on behalf of all Canadians, to jointly develop with Aboriginal peoples a Royal Proclamation of Reconciliation to be issued by the Crown. The proclamation would build on the Royal Proclamation of 1763 and the Treaty of Niagara of 1764, and reaffirm the nation-to-nation relationship between Aboriginal peoples and the Crown. The proclamation would include, but not be limited to, the following commitments:

  1. Repudiate concepts used to justify European sovereignty over Indigenous lands and peoples such as the Doctrine of Discovery and terra nullius.
  2. Adopt and implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples as the framework for reconciliation.
  3. Renew or establish Treaty relationships based on principles of mutual recognition, mutual respect, and shared responsibility for maintaining those relationships into the future.
  4. Reconcile Aboriginal and Crown constitutional and legal orders to ensure that Aboriginal peoples are full partners in Confederation, including the recognition and integration of Indigenous laws and legal traditions in negotiation and implementation processes involving Treaties, land claims, and other constructive agreements.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

On February 14, 2018, the Prime Minister announced that the Government of Canada will fundamentally transform the relationship with Indigenous peoples  by basing the relationship on the recognition and implementation of Indigenous rights. This approach will align with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UN declaration) and advance self-determination. The important work to reset the relationship with Indigenous peoples has already begun.

The following measures have been undertaken since 2015:

  • endorsed the UN declaration and committed to its full implementation
  • established the Working Group of Ministers on the Review of Laws and Policies Related to Indigenous Peoples whose work is now being built upon by the new Cabinet Committee on Reconciliation
  • adopted and released the Principles Respecting the Government of Canada's Relationship with Indigenous Peoples
  • adopted new strategies to pursue negotiation rather than litigation as the preferred path to resolve disputes, including the release of the Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples
  • worked with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis to co-develop and advance shared priorities

The Government of Canada continues to explore ways to address Call to Action 45, in collaboration with Indigenous peoples

46. We call upon the parties to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement to develop and sign a Covenant of Reconciliation that would identify principles for working collaboratively to advance reconciliation in Canadian society, and that would include, but not be limited to:

  1. Reaffirmation of the parties' commitment to reconciliation.
  2. Repudiation of concepts used to justify European sovereignty over Indigenous lands and peoples, such as the Doctrine of Discovery and terra nullius, and the reformation of laws, governance structures, and policies within their respective institutions that continue to rely on such concepts.
  3. Full adoption and implementation of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples as the framework for reconciliation.
  4. Support for the renewal or establishment of treaty relationships based on principles of mutual recognition, mutual respect, and shared responsibility for maintaining those relationships into the future.
  5. Enabling those excluded from the Settlement Agreement to sign onto the Covenant of Reconciliation.
  6. Enabling additional parties to sign onto the Covenant of Reconciliation.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is committed to working with the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement parties to forge a new type of forward-looking relationship: a covenant of reconciliation. As a start, preliminary discussions were held on implementing Call to Action 46.

In anticipation of working with participants on a covenant toward reconciliation, the Government of Canada is reviewing concepts that have been used to justify European sovereignty.

Furthermore, in 2016, the Government of Canada announced its full support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, without qualification and committed to its full and effective implementation.

47. We call upon federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal governments to repudiate concepts used to justify European sovereignty over Indigenous peoples and lands, such as the Doctrine of Discovery and terra nullius, and to reform those laws, government policies, and litigation strategies that continue to rely on such concepts.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

In May 2017, at the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, the Government of Canada publically stated: "The Doctrine of Discovery has no place in Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples." Further, in 2014, the Supreme Court of Canada confirmed the concept of terra nullius never applied in Canada, as confirmed by the Royal Proclamation of 1763.

Working with First Nations, Inuit and Métis partners, the government will consider new federal legislation and policies to formalize the recognition of Indigenous peoples' rights, including the right of self-determination and the inherent right of self-government.

The following measures have been undertaken since 2015:

  • endorsed the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous People and committed to its full implementation
  • established the Working Group of Ministers on the Review of Laws and Policies Related to Indigenous Peoples whose work is now being built upon by the new Cabinet Committee on Reconciliation
  • adopted and released the Principles Respecting the Government of Canada's Relationship with Indigenous Peoples
  • adopted new strategies to pursue negotiation rather than litigation as the preferred path to resolve disputes, including the release of the Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples
  • worked with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis to co-develop and advance shared priorities

Building on these initiatives, the Government of Canada will continue to explore additional ways to address Call to Action 47.

Related links

Date modified:

Proclamation royale et pacte de réconciliation

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 45 à 47 de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

45. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada d'élaborer, en son nom et au nom de tous les Canadiens, et de concert avec les peuples autochtones, une proclamation royale de réconciliation qui sera publiée par l'État. La proclamation s'appuierait sur la Proclamation royale de 1763 et le Traité du Niagara de 1764, et réaffirmerait la relation de nation à nation entre les peuples autochtones et l'État. La proclamation comprendrait, mais sans s'y limiter, les engagements suivants :

  1. répudier les concepts utilisés pour justifier la souveraineté des peuples européens sur les territoires et les peuples autochtones, notamment la doctrine de la découverte et le principe de terra nullius (territoire n'appartenant à personne);
  2. adopter et mettre en œuvre la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones dans le cadre de la réconciliation;
  3. établir des relations qui se rattachent aux traités et qui sont fondées sur les principes de la reconnaissance mutuelle, du respect mutuel et de la responsabilité partagée, et ce, de manière à ce qu'elles soient durables, ou renouveler les relations de ce type déjà nouées;
  4. concilier les affaires constitutionnelles et juridiques des peuples autochtones et de l'État pour s'assurer que les peuples autochtones sont des partenaires à part entière au sein de la Confédération, ce qui englobe la reconnaissance des lois et des traditions juridiques autochtones et leur intégration dans la négociation et la mise en œuvre des traités, des revendications territoriales et de toute autre entente constructive.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à renouveler la relation avec les peuples autochtones en s'appuyant sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat.

Le 14 février 2018, le premier ministre a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada transformerait fondamentalement la relation avec les peuples autochtones en fondant la relation sur la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits des peuples autochtones. Cette approche est conforme à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et fera avancer l'autodétermination. Cette importante tâche visant à renouveler la relation avec les peuples autochtones est entamée.

Depuis 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a pris les mesures suivantes. Il a :

  • appuyé la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s'est engagé à sa pleine mise en œuvre;
  • mis sur pied le Groupe de travail des ministres chargé d'examiner les lois et les politiques liées aux Autochtones, dont le travail est actuellement à la base du nouveau comité du Cabinet sur la réconciliation;
  • adopté et publié les Principes régissant la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones;
  • adopté de nouvelles stratégies pour adopter la négociation plutôt que le litige comme voie privilégiée de règlement des différends, y compris la publication de la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones;
  • collaboré avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis pour élaborer et promouvoir des priorités communes.

Le gouvernement du Canada continue d'envisager des options pour donner suite à l'appel à l'action 45, en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones.

46. Nous demandons aux parties à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens d'élaborer et de signer un pacte de réconciliation qui fait part des principes de la collaboration voulue afin de promouvoir la réconciliation au sein de la société canadienne et qui comprend, notamment, mais sans s'y limiter :

  1. la réaffirmation de l'engagement des parties à l'égard de la réconciliation.
  2. la répudiation des concepts utilisés pour justifier la souveraineté des peuples européens sur les territoires et les peuples autochtones, notamment la doctrine de la découverte et le principe de terra nullius, de même que la réforme des lois, des structures de gouvernance et des politiques au sein des institutions qui s'appuient toujours sur ces concepts;
  3. la pleine adoption et la mise en œuvre complète de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones dans le cadre de la réconciliation;
  4. le soutien de l'établissement de relations qui se rattachent aux traités et qui sont fondées sur les principes de la reconnaissance mutuelle, du respect mutuel et de la responsabilité partagée, et ce, de manière à ce qu'elles soient durables, ou encore du renouvellement des relations de ce type déjà nouées;
  5. l'octroi de la permission aux personnes exclues de la Convention de règlement de signer le pacte de réconciliation;
  6. l'octroi de la permission à d'autres parties concernées de signer le pacte de réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à collaborer avec les parties à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens pour tisser un nouveau type de relation tournée vers l'avenir : un pacte de réconciliation. Pour commencer, des discussions préliminaires ont eu lieu sur la mise en œuvre de l'appel à l'action 46.

En prévision de la collaboration avec les participants à un pacte de réconciliation, le gouvernement du Canada envisage des manières de s'attaquer aux concepts qui ont servi à justifier la souveraineté européenne.

Par ailleurs, en 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu'il appuyait sans réserve la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s'est engagé à la mettre en œuvre intégralement et efficacement.

47. Nous demandons aux gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux de rejeter les concepts ayant servi à justifier la souveraineté européenne sur les peuples et les territoires autochtones, comme la doctrine de la découverte et celle de la terra nullius, et de réformer les lois, les politiques gouvernementales et les stratégies d'instance qui continuent de s'appuyer sur de tels concepts.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à renouveler la relation avec les peuples autochtones en s'appuyant sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat.

En mai 2017, à l'Instance permanente des Nations Unies sur les questions autochtones, il a déclaré publiquement que : « la doctrine de la découverte n'a pas sa place dans les relations du Canada avec les peuples autochtones. De plus, en 2014, la Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé que le concept de terra nullius ne s'est jamais appliqué au Canada, comme l'a confirmé la Proclamation royale de 1763. »

En collaboration avec nos partenaires des Premières Nations, inuits et métis, le gouvernement examinera de nouvelles lois et politiques fédérales pour officialiser la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones, y compris le droit à l'autodétermination et le droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale.

Cela prend appui sur les mesures que le Canada a déjà prises en ce sens, notamment :

  • appuyé la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s'est engagé à sa pleine mise en œuvre;
  • mis sur pied le Groupe de travail des ministres chargé d'examiner les lois et les politiques liées aux Autochtones, dont le travail est actuellement à la base du nouveau comité du Cabinet sur la réconciliation;
  • adopté et publié les Principes régissant la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones;
  • adopté de nouvelles stratégies pour adopter la négociation plutôt que le litige comme voie privilégiée de règlement des différends, y compris la publication de la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones;
  • collaboré avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis pour élaborer et promouvoir des priorités communes.

En s'appuyant sur ces initiatives, le gouvernement du Canada continue d'envisager d'autres façons de donner suite à l'appel à l'action 47.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :