Canadian governments and the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 43 to 44.

43. We call upon federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal governments to fully adopt and implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples as the framework for reconciliation.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada is committed to a renewed nation-to-nation, government-to-government and Inuit-Crown relationship based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership.

In 2016, the Government of Canada announced its full support of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UN declaration) without qualification and committed to its full and effective implementation. To implement the UN declaration, a transformative shift in relations with Indigenous peoples is required. Relations must be based on the recognition of Indigenous rights.

Working with First Nations, Inuit and Métis partners, the Government of Canada will ensure that federal legislation and policies relevant to Indigenous peoples are based on the recognition and implementation of Indigenous peoples' rights, including the right of self-determination and the inherent right of self-government. For example, it will continue to engage with First Nations, Inuit and Métis to replace the outdated Comprehensive Land Claims and Inherent Right policies and is committed to take the time needed to get this right.

Engagement is setting the stage for co-development with Indigenous partners of a new rights-based policy. The new policy will concretely advance reconciliation with Indigenous peoples through the recognition and implementation of Indigenous rights and will align with the UNdeclaration.

The following measures have been undertaken since 2015:

  • endorsed the UN declaration and committed to its full implementation
  • established the Working Group of Ministers on the Review of Laws and Policies Related to Indigenous Peoples whose work is now being built upon by the new Cabinet Committee on Reconciliation
  • adopted and released the Principles Respecting the Government of Canada's Relationship with Indigenous Peoples
  • adopted new strategies to pursue negotiation rather than litigation as the preferred path to resolve disputes, including the release of the Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples
  • worked with First Nations, Inuit and Métis to co-develop and advance shared priorities

44. We call upon the Government of Canada to develop a national action plan, strategies, and other concrete measures to achieve the goals of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada continues to work in partnership with Indigenous peoples across the country to advance a recognition of rights approach and Indigenous self-determination. For example, there are currently over 80 Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussions through which Canada and Indigenous groups explore new ideas and ways to reach agreements that will recognize the rights of Indigenous groups and advance their vision of self-determination for the benefit of their communities and all Canadians.

On February 14, 2018, the Prime Minister announced that the Government of Canada will fundamentally transform the relationships with Indigenous peoples by basing the relationship on the recognition and implementation of Indigenous rights. This includes continued engagement with Indigenous peoples to co-develop a rights-based policy that will replace the Comprehensive Land Claims Policy and the Inherent Right Policy. The new policy will align with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and root the commitment to co-development of any section 35, Constitution Act, 1982 policy work going forward.

The over 80 Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussions tables have often been highlighted as a positive example of reconciliation that is accelerating progress towards self-determination and the implementation of inherent and treaty rights.

Related links

Date modified:

Les gouvernements canadiens et la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 43 et 44 de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

43. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral, aux provinces et aux territoires de même qu'aux administrations municipales d'adopter et de mettre en œuvre la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones dans le cadre de la réconciliation.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à renouveler les relations de nation à nation, les relations de gouvernement à gouvernement et les relations entre les Inuit et la Couronne, en s'appuyant sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat.

En 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu'il appuyait sans réserve à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s'est engagé à l'appliquer intégralement et concrètement. Cela exige un changement fondamental dans les relations avec les Autochtones.

En collaboration avec ses partenaires des Premières nations, des Inuit et des Métis, le gouvernement du Canada veillera à ce que les lois et les politiques fédérales relatives aux peuples autochtones soient fondées sur la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits des peuples autochtones, notamment le droit à l'autodétermination et le droit inhérent à l'autonomie gouvernementale. Par exemple, il continuera de collaborer avec les Premières nations, les Inuit et les Métis pour remplacer les politiques désuètes sur les revendications territoriales globales et le droit inhérent et il s'engage à prendre le temps nécessaire pour bien faire les choses.

La mobilisation ouvre la voie au co-développement, avec des partenaires autochtones, d'une nouvelle politique fondée sur les droits. La nouvelle politique fera concrètement progresser la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones par la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre de leurs droits et s'alignera sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Depuis 2015, les mesures suivantes ont été prises. Le gouvernement a :

  • appuyé la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et s'est engagé à sa pleine mise en œuvre;
  • mis sur pied le Groupe de travail des ministres chargé d'examiner les lois et les politiques liées aux Autochtones, dont le travail est actuellement à la base du nouveau comité du Cabinet sur la réconciliation;
  • adopté et publié les Principes régissant la relation du gouvernement du Canada avec les peuples autochtones;
  • adopté de nouvelles stratégies pour adopter la négociation plutôt que le litige comme voie privilégiée de règlement des différends, y compris la publication de la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones;
  • collaboré avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis pour élaborer et promouvoir des priorités communes.

44. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada d'élaborer un plan d'action et des stratégies de portée nationale de même que d'autres mesures concrètes pour atteindre les objectifs de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de travailler en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones du Canada en vue de l'adoption d'une approche de reconnaissance des droits et de l'autodétermination des Premières Nations. Par exemple, plus de 80 discussions sur la reconnaissance des droits ancestraux et l'autodétermination sont en cours avec des groupes autochtones du Canada. L'objectif consiste à explorer de nouvelles idées et de nouveaux moyens de conclure des ententes qui contribuent à la reconnaissance des droits de ces groupes ainsi qu'à la réalisation de leur vision d'autodétermination, et ce, dans l'intérêt de leurs communautés et de tous les Canadiens.

Le 14 février 2018, le premier ministre a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada transformerait fondamentalement la relation qu'il entretient avec les peuples autochtones en fondant la relation sur la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits des peuples autochtones. Ceci inclut une mobilisation continue auprès des peuples autochtones pour co-développer une politique fondée sur les droits qui remplacera la Politique sur les revendications territoriales globales et la Politique sur le droit inhérent. Cette nouvelle politique sera conforme à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et ancrera l'engagement de co-développer tout travail en matière de politiques relatif à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle, 1982 à l'avenir.

Les quelques 80 rencontres portant sur la reconnaissance des droits des Autochtones et leur droit à l'autodétermination ont souvent été citées comme un exemple positif de réconciliation qui permet d'accélérer les progrès vers l'autodétermination et la mise en œuvre des droits inhérents et des droits issus de traités.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :