Key risks 2018 to 2019

Key risks: things that could affect our ability to achieve our plans and results

The risks to which CIRNAC was exposed in 2018–19 were driven primarily by the complex changes that characterize its strategic agenda. The ambitious reconciliation agenda that was taking place against the backdrop of increased expectations involved a range of interconnected legislative, policy, structural and financial changes. The development of these new directions — many of which were interconnected and co-developed with Indigenous partners — brought considerable opportunity as well as a number of strategic and operational risks. Key to addressing these risks were conducting risk assessments and implementing risk mitigation plans at the corporate, sector, region, and project levels.

Following the announcement of the creation of CIRNAC as a new department, a risk assessment of the department’s transformation risks was conducted. This point-in-time analysis was intended to assist in the planning for the next phase of the transition and transformation project. Throughout the year, a number of the risks identified in the assessment were attended to by specific risk mitigation actions including: an interim plan, active communication with employees, establishment of working groups, the creation of a joint (CIRNAC/ISC) transformation committee, and the development of initial agreements for internal services with other departments.

The outcome of these measures were more informed and engaged employees and stakeholders on the direction of the department as well as the implementation of internal mechanisms to address the new transition requirements of the internal and external services of the department.

The tables below outline the department's most significant external risks (Indigenous relationship risk, Environmental risk and Legal risk) and the status of the key mitigating strategies undertaken in 2018–19.

Indigenous Relationship Risk

There is a risk that the department will not renew and sustain strong, productive and respectful relationships with Indigenous peoples, communities, organizations and governments to help fulfill its mandate. To mitigate this risk, in 2018–19, CIRNAC:

Mitigating Strategy and Effectiveness Link to the Department’s Core Responsibilities Link to mandate letter(s), government-wide and departmental priorities
  • Continued to support the Permanent Bilateral Mechanisms with the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council and the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and the 4 Inuit Nunagat Regions to make progress in addressing key social, economic, cultural, and environmental issues. The resulting Permanent Bilateral Mechanisms meetings helped:
    • renew Inuit-Crown relations through the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee. The Arctic and Northern Policy Framework was a discussion item at the Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee Leaders’ Meeting on November 29, 2018.
    • leverage results on a number of challenges facing Indigenous peoples, e.g., advancing Inuit and Métis specific approaches to housing within Inuit Nunangat and in Métis Nation communities.
  • Held over 100 engagement sessions with approximately 1,700 First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples to hear community perspectives regarding the recognition and implementation of Indigenous rights. CIRNAC was also involved in 142 active negotiations with Indigenous communities across the country to explore new ways of working together.
  • Engaged with Self-Governing Indigenous governments in the Collaborative Self-Government Fiscal Policy Development Process, to develop a new policy framework for the provision of federal financial support to self-government.
  • Provided guidance, advice and training to other government departments, leading the Government of Canada’s commitment to implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP).
  • Worked with Indigenous Representative Organizations such as the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples, the Native Women’s Association of Canada, Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak — Women of the Métis Nation, Pauktuutit Inuit Women, and their affiliates to establish a renewed relationship. These organizations received funding from CIRNAC to undertake policy work, provide advice to the government and increase capacity.
  • Co-developed Canada’s Arctic and Northern Policy Framework ("the Framework") with First Nations, Inuit and Métis:
    • Held 7 engagement sessions with Indigenous organizations to discuss the draft. There were 3 additional meetings held with Indigenous organizations alongside other northern partners and stakeholders to inform its development.
    • Indigenous partners will play an ongoing and meaningful role in the co-development of an approach to the implementation and governance of the Arctic and Northern Policy Framework. Indigenous partners are contributing their own chapters to the framework to express their priorities and aspirations. These chapters will inform federal initiatives and policies.
    • Engagements on review and validation of the draft framework held in January and February 2019 were considered effective mitigating strategies in ensuring that strong, productive and respectful relationships with Indigenous partners were maintained. Ongoing commitment to co-development, particularly in relation to governance and implementation, were singled out as priorities by Indigenous partners.
Rights and Self Determination

Community and Regional Development
Support the implementation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action and the establishment of a National Council for Reconciliation

Lead whole of government approach to renewal of nation-to-nation relationship

Increase the number of modern treaties and new self-government agreements

Launch the engagement strategy for a National Reconciliation Framework

Lead further work to address the number of murdered and missing Indigenous women and girls

Review of laws, policies and practices

Establish a new fiscal relationship

Lead Government of Canada work in the North, including Canada’s Arctic and Northern Policy Framework and shared Arctic leadership model

Environmental Risk

There is a risk that the department will be unable to manage environmental issues and liabilities in a timely and cost-effective manner. To mitigate this risk, in 2018–19, CIRNAC:

Mitigating Strategy and Effectiveness Link to the Department’s Core Responsibilities Link to mandate letter(s), government-wide and departmental priorities
  • Conducted an initial review of the departmental policy framework for environmental protection and reclamation for mines to identify areas where further analysis is required. Further work is underway to examine those areas that need to be addressed.
  • Conducted approximately 145 inspections for authorizations issued under various territorial and Nunavut related acts. This includes quarterly inspections of active mine sites, 25 community water licenses, and fuel spill response. The department also completed 77 field inspections and responded to 18 spills in the Northwest Territories.
  • In collaboration with Environment and Climate Change Canada, the department:
    • met with 14 First Nations regional organizations to confirm interest on co-developing options for addressing regulatory and capacity gaps in environmental protection on reserve. Most organizations were eager to improve environmental protection on reserve and wish to conduct regional planning sessions with their communities for the next phase of engagement.
    • worked to maximize funding available through the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan to support continued assessment and remediation of contaminated sites.
  • Funded the First Nations Waste Management Initiative launched in 2016 and $3.9 million dollars in renewable energy, energy efficiency and capacity building projects to reduce diesel fuel use in northern communities. 36 renewable energy projects were implemented in 22 communities.
  • Continued to implement climate change adaptation initiatives such as First Nation Adapt, Climate Change Preparedness in the North, and the Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring program.
  • Delivered in partnership with Indigenous organizations the Land Use Planning Initiative, which invested more than $8.9 million to build governance and land management capacity, and promote sustainable First Nations community development.
  • Undertook management and remediation activities at 60 high priority contaminated sites in the North using the National Classification System for Contaminated Sites and ensured these sites are managed to reduce risk to human and environmental health and safety for all Northerners through site assessments, care and maintenance, remediation and monitoring.
    • Held engagement events across the 3 territories to ensure that community perspectives from Indigenous and northern communities were considered in the planning and remediation phases of contaminated sites remediation projects.
  • Bill C-88, an Act to amend the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and to make consequential amendments to other acts, received Royal Assent on June 21, 2019.
    • the Bill seeks to repeal provisions which would amalgamate the regional land and water boards of the Mackenzie Valley into 1 valley-wide board; to bring into force provisions that have been delayed by an injunction; and, to provide the Governor in Council an order-making power to prohibit any interest holder or any other person from commencing or continuing any work or activity authorized under the Canada Petroleum Resources Act in the frontier if it is deemed in the national interest to do so.
Community and Regional Development Ensure that environmental assessment legislation is amended to enhance the consultation, engagement and participatory capacity of Indigenous groups

Implement the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change and support northern communities confronting immediate climate adaption challenges

Lead Government of Canada work in the North, including Canada’s Arctic and Northern Policy Framework and shared Arctic leadership model

Legal Risk

There is a risk that the department will be unable to effectively plan for or respond to legal risks that affect department operations. To mitigate this risk, in 2018–19, CIRNAC:

Mitigating Strategy and Effectiveness Link to the Department’s Core Responsibilities Link to mandate letter(s), government-wide and departmental priorities
  • Continued to work with Justice Canada, other federal government departments, provinces, territories, Indigenous groups and implicated stakeholders to explore interests and options to resolve litigation through out-of-court settlements, where possible.
  • Continued to develop, in close consultation with Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, a Nunavut-specific Procurement Directive as per Article 24 of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.
  • Used a new flexible negotiating process — initially advanced through the Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination tables and now extending to all negotiation tables — which are providing a means of advancing cooperative dispute resolution processes.
  • Reviewed litigation management in the department, assisted by the adoption of The Attorney General of Canada’s Directive on Civil Litigation Involving Indigenous Peoples.
    • issued litigation hold letters as required to preserve and facilitate the collection of modern documents.
    • upgraded the Ringtail document management and electronic processing software to facilitate better document processing.
  • Signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between CIRNAC and Justice Canada, which:
    • allowed sectors and Justice Canada to assess and discuss service needs, such as ensure compliance in authorities and risk management practices in department programs and forecasting of advisory and litigation services.
    • ensured that contingency planning was undertaken from a legal and departmental perspective.
  • Appealed, where appropriate, decisions to the right level of court. Advised by Justice Canada, CIRNAC considered risks such as legal, policy, program, financial and reputational risks when determining whether or not to appeal decisions. In 2018–19, the department did not identify any decisions warranting an appeal.
  • Supported other government departments in meeting the Government of Canada’s duty to consult, and also provided tools such as the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System, and training to federal officials.
  • Supported the negotiation and implementation of consultation protocols with First Nations and Métis groups and communities.
  • Shared best practices, lessons learned and advice on upcoming consultation processes with other government departments through interdepartmental networks on consultation, in the regions as well as in the NCR.
  • Received information on court decisions associated with the department. The internal communication of court decisions, summaries and analysis of impacts to sectors, ensured that approaches to litigation and legal risk, conformed to departmental policies and programs.
Rights and Self Determination

Community and Regional Development
Review of laws, policies and practices

Work to ensure that dispute resolution mechanisms and litigation are consistent with the resolution of past wrongs, promote cooperation and move towards a recognition of rights approach

Update elements of the treaty relationship to ensure consistency with a recognition of rights approach
Date modified:

Principaux risques 2018 à 2019

Principaux risques : facteurs susceptibles d’influer sur notre capacité de réaliser nos plans et d’atteindre nos résultats

Les risques auxquels RCAANC a été exposé en 2018-2019 étaient principalement attribuables aux changements complexes qui caractérisent son programme stratégique. L’ambitieux programme de réconciliation s’inscrit dans un contexte d'attentes accrues et englobe un éventail de changements législatifs, politiques, structurels et financiers qui sont interreliés. L’élaboration de ces nouvelles orientations, dont bon nombre étaient interreliées et élaborées conjointement avec les partenaires autochtones, ont fait naître de nombreuses possibilités mais ont aussi entraîné un certain nombre de risques stratégiques et opérationnels. Pour contrer ces risques, il était essentiel de mener des évaluations des risques et de mettre en œuvre des plans d’atténuation des risques à l’échelle de l’organisation, des secteurs, des régions et des projets.

À la suite de l’annonce de la création de RCAANC à titre de nouveau ministère, une évaluation des risques liés à la transformation du Ministère a été menée. Cette analyse ponctuelle avait pour but d’aider à la planification de la prochaine étape du projet de transition et de transformation. Au cours de l’année, un certain de nombre de risques cernés dans le cadre de l’évaluation ont été contrés à l’aide de mesures précises d’atténuation des risques, notamment : un plan provisoire, une communication active avec les employés, la mise sur pied de groupes de travail, la création d’un cercle mixte (RCAANC/SAC) sur la transformation ainsi que l’élaboration d’ententes initiales pour les services internes avec d’autres ministères.

Grâce à ces mesures, les employés et les intervenants étaient mieux informés et mobilisés sur l’orientation du nouveau ministère et de la mise en œuvre des mécanismes internes pour satisfaire aux nouvelles exigences de la transition en ce qui concerne les services internes et externes du Ministère.

Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent les risques externes les plus importants pour le Ministère (risque associé aux relations avec les Autochtones, risque environnemental et risque juridique) et l’état des principales stratégies d’atténuation entreprises en 2018-2019.

Risque associé aux relations avec les Autochtones

Il y a un risque que le Ministère ne renouvelle ni ne maintienne les relations fortes, productives et respectueuses avec les peuples autochtones, les collectivités, les organisations et les gouvernements pour l’aider à remplir son mandat. RCAANC a pris les mesures suivantes en 2018-2019 pour atténuer ce risque.

Stratégie d’atténuation et efficacité Lien aux responsabilités essentielles du Ministère Lien aux lettres de mandat et aux priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles
  • Le Ministère a continué d’appuyer les mécanismes bilatéraux permanents avec l’Assemblée des Premières Nations, le Ralliement national des Métis, l’Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami et les 4 régions de l’Inuit Nunangat pour faire progresser les questions prioritaires sur le plan social, économique, culturel et environnemental. Les mécanismes bilatéraux permanents qui ont découlé de ce travail ont permis :
    • de renouveler les relations Inuit-Couronne par l’entremise du Comité de partenariat entre les Inuit et la Couronne. Le Cadre stratégique pour l’Arctique et le Nord du Canada constituait un point de discussion à la réunion des dirigeants du Comité de partenariat entre les Inuit et la Couronne le 29 novembre 2018.
    • d’obtenir des résultats en ce qui concerne plusieurs défis auxquels font face les peuples autochtones, p. ex. faire avancer les approches propres aux Inuit et aux Métis pour le logement dans les collectivités de l’Inuit Nunangat et de la Nation métisse.
  • Le Ministère a tenu plus de 100 séances de mobilisation auprès d’environ 1700 peuples des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis pour obtenir leur point de vue sur la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits autochtones. RCAANC a participé à 142 négociations actives avec les collectivités autochtones aux quatre coins du pays afin d’explorer de nouvelles façon de collaborer.
  • Le Ministère a mobilisé les gouvernements autochtones autonomes dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration de la Politique financière collaborative du Canada sur l’autonomie gouvernementale, en vue d’élaborer un nouveau cadre stratégique visant à fournir un soutien financier fédéral aux gouvernements autonomes.
  • Le Ministère a fourni une orientation, des conseils et de la formation aux autres ministères fédéraux, et il a dirigé l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à mettre en œuvre la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones.
  • Le Ministère a travaillé avec des organismes représentant les Autochtones, tels que le Congrès des peuples autochtones, l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada, Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak et Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada ainsi que leurs associés, afin d’établir une relation renouvelée. Ces organismes ont reçu un financement de RCAANC afin d’entreprendre du travail d’élaboration de politiques, de fournir des conseils au gouvernement et d’augmenter leur capacité.
  • Le Ministère a élaboré le Cadre stratégique pour l’Arctique et le Nord du Canada en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis :
    • 7 séances de mobilisation ont été tenues avec les organismes autochtones afin de discuter de l’ébauche du Cadre. Trois réunions supplémentaires ont eu lieu avec les organismes autochtones ainsi que d’autres partenaires et intervenants du Nord pour discuter de l’élaboration du Cadre.
    • Les partenaires autochtones joueront un rôle continu et significatif dans l’élaboration conjointe d’une approche pour mettre en œuvre et gérer le Cadre stratégique pour l’Arctique et le Nord du Canada. Les partenaires autochtones contribuent leurs propres chapitres au Cadre pour exprimer leurs priorités et aspirations. Ces chapitres serviront à élaborer les initiatives et les politiques fédérales.
    • Les mobilisations sur l’examen et la validation de l’ébauche du Cadre tenues en janvier et en février 2019 ont été considérées comme étant des stratégies d’atténuation efficaces pour maintenir des relations solides, productives et respectueuses avec les partenaires autochtones. Ces derniers ont déterminé que l’engagement continu à l’élaboration conjointe, particulièrement en ce qui concerne la gouvernance et la mise en œuvre, était prioritaire.
Droits et autodétermination

Développement communautaire et régional
Appuyer la mise en œuvre des appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et établir un conseil national de réconciliation

Être à la tête d’une démarche pangouvernementale ayant pour objectif de renouveler la relation de nation à nation

Accroître le nombre de traités modernes et de nouvelles ententes sur l’autonomie gouvernementale

Lancer la stratégie de mobilisation pour un cadre national de réconciliation

Poursuivre les travaux entamés pour aborder la question des femmes et des filles autochtones assassinées ou portées disparues

Examiner les lois, les politiques et les pratiques

Établir une nouvelle relation financière

Diriger le travail du gouvernement du Canada dans le Nord, y compris le Cadre stratégique pour l’Arctique et le Nord du Canada et le modèle de leadership partagé dans l’Arctique

Risque environnemental

Il y a un risque que le Ministère soit incapable de gérer les enjeux et passifs environnementaux de manière efficace et rentable. RCAANC a pris les mesures suivantes en 2018-2019 pour atténuer ce risque.

Stratégie d’atténuation et efficacité Lien aux responsabilités essentielles du Ministère Lien aux lettres de mandat et aux priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles
  • Le Ministère a effectué un examen initial du cadre stratégique ministériel concernant la protection environnementale et la réhabilitation des mines afin de déterminer quels secteurs requièrent une analyse plus poussée. D’autres travaux sont en cours afin d’examiner les secteurs devant être traités.
  • Le Ministère a mené environ 145 inspections pour des autorisations émises en vertu de diverses lois relatives aux territoires et au Nunavut. Ce travail comprend des inspections trimestrielles des sites miniers actifs, 25 permis communautaires d’utilisation des eaux et les interventions en cas de déversement de carburant. Le Ministère a aussi mené 77 inspections sur place et intervenu dans 18 déversements de carburant dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
  • En collaboration avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le Ministère :
    • a rencontré 14 organismes régionaux des Premières Nations afin de confirmer leur intérêt à élaborer conjointement des options pour combler les écarts en matière de réglementation et de capacité en ce qui concerne la protection environnementale dans les réserves. La plupart des organismes étaient enthousiastes à l’idée d’améliorer la protection environnementale dans les réserves et désiraient mener des séances de planification régionale avec leur collectivité pour la prochaine étape de la mobilisation.
    • a travaillé en vue de maximiser le financement disponible par l’entremise du Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux afin d’appuyer l’évaluation et l’assainissement continus des sites contaminés.
  • Le Ministère a financé l’Initiative de gestion des matières résiduelles des Premières Nations lancée en 2016 et a investi 3,9 millions de dollars dans l’énergie renouvelable, l’efficacité énergétique et les projets de renforcement des capacités en vue de réduire l’utilisation du diesel dans les collectivités du Nord. Trente-six projets d’énergie renouvelable ont été mis en œuvre au sein de 22 collectivités.
  • Le Ministère a continué de mettre en œuvre des initiatives d’adaptation aux changements climatiques telles que le Programme d’adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations, le programme Se préparer aux changements climatiques dans le Nord et le Programme de surveillance du climat dans les collectivités autochtones.
  • Le Ministère a mis sur pied, en partenariat avec des organismes autochtones, l’initiative de planification de l’utilisation des terres, qui a investi plus de 8,9 millions de dollars pour renforcer la gouvernance et la capacité de gestion des terres et en vue de promouvoir le développement communautaire durable des Premières Nations.
  • Le Ministère a entrepris des activités de gestion et d’assainissement dans 60 sites contaminés hautement prioritaires dans le Nord à l’aide du Système national de classification des sites contaminés; il s’est assuré que ces sites sont gérés afin de réduire les risques en matière de santé et de sécurité humaines et environnementales pour tous les résidants du Nord par l’entremise d’évaluations, d’entretien et de maintenance, d’assainissement et de surveillance des sites.
    • Le Ministère a tenu des événements de mobilisation dans les 3 territoires pour s’assurer que le point de vue des collectivités autochtones et nordiques est pris en compte dans les phases de planification et d’assainissement des projets d’assainissement des sites contaminés.
  • Le projet de loi C-88, Loi modifiant la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie et Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois, a reçu la sanction royale le 21 juin 2019.
    • Ce projet de loi vise à : abroger les dispositions qui regroupent les offices régionaux des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie, de manière à ne former qu’un seul office de gestion pour toute la vallée; mettre en vigueur les dispositions qui ont été retardées par une injonction; autoriser le gouverneur en conseil à prendre un décret, lorsque l’intérêt national le justifie, pour interdire à tout titulaire ou à toute autre personne d’entreprendre ou de poursuivre des travaux ou des activités autorisées en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures sur les terres domaniales.
Développement communautaire et régional S’assurer que la loi sur l’évaluation environnementale est modifiée pour renforcer la capacité de consultation, de mobilisation et de participation des peuples autochtones

Mettre en œuvre le Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques et soutenir les collectivités nordiques déjà confrontées aux défis d’adaptation liés aux changements climatiques

Diriger le travail du gouvernement du Canada dans le Nord, y compris le Cadre stratégique pour l’Arctique et le Nord du Canada et le modèle de leadership partagé dans l’Arctique

Risque juridique

Il y a un risque que le Ministère soit incapable d’effectuer une planification efficace des risques juridiques qui touchent les activités du Ministère, ou d’y répondre. RCAANC a pris les mesures suivantes en 2018-2019 pour atténuer ce risque.

Stratégie d’atténuation et efficacité Lien aux responsabilités essentielles du Ministère Lien aux lettres de mandat et aux priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles
  • Le Ministère a continué de travaillé avec Justice Canada, d’autres ministères du gouvernement fédéral, les provinces, les territoires, les groupes autochtones et les intervenants visés pour sonder l’intérêt et les options visant à résoudre les litiges à l’aide de règlements hors cour lorsque c’est possible.
  • Le Ministère a continué d’élaborer, en collaboration étroite avec Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, une directive propre au Nunavut sur l’approvisionnement en vertu de l’article 24 de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.
  • Le Ministère a utilisé un nouveau processus de négociation flexible, initialement proposé par les tables de discussion sur la reconnaissance des droits autochtones et l’autodétermination et maintenant offert à toutes les tables de négociation, qui permet de faire avancer les processus de règlement des litiges de façon coopérative.
  • Le Ministère a révisé la gestion des litiges à l’interne, à l’aide de la Directive sur les litiges civils mettant en cause les peuples autochtones du procureur général du Canada.
    • Le Ministère a émis au besoin des lettres de conservation de documents en cas de litige pour préserver et faciliter la collection de documents modernes.
    • Le Ministère a mis à jour le logiciel de gestion de documents et de traitement électronique Ringtail afin d’améliorer le traitement des documents.
  • Le Ministère a signé un protocole d’entente avec Justice Canada qui :
    • permet aux secteurs et à Justice Canada de déterminer les services requis et d’en discuter, par exemple assurer la conformité des autorisations et des pratiques de gestion des risques au sein des programmes ministériels, et de prévoir les services consultatifs et litigieux.
    • permet de s’assurer que la planification des mesures d’urgence est entreprise d’un point de vue juridique et ministériel.
  • Le Ministère a porté des décisions en appel, au besoin, au niveau de tribunal approprié. Avec l’aide de Justice Canada, RCAANC a pris en considération les risques juridiques, politiques, financiers et liés aux programmes et à la réputation au moment de décider d’interjeter appel ou non. En 2018-2019, le Ministère a déterminé qu’aucune décision ne méritait d’être portée en appel.
  • Le Ministère a aidé d’autres ministères fédéraux à respecter l’obligation de consulter du gouvernement du Canada et a fourni des outils tels que le Système d’information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités ainsi que de la formation aux représentants fédéraux.
  • Le Ministère a appuyé la négociation et la mise en œuvre de protocoles de consultation avec les groupes et les collectivités des Premières Nations et des Métis.
  • Le Ministère a partagé des pratiques exemplaires, des leçons apprises et des conseils sur les processus de consultation à venir avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, par l’entremise de réseaux interministériels sur la consultation, dans les régions et au sein de la région de la capitale nationale.
  • Le Ministère a reçu de l’information sur les décisions de la cour associées au Ministère. La communication interne des décisions de la cour, des résumés et des analyses d’impact aux secteurs a permis de s’assurer que les approches en matière de litiges et de risques juridiques sont conformes aux politiques et aux programmes ministériels.
Droits et autodétermination

Développement communautaire et régional
Examiner les lois, les politiques et les pratiques

Veiller à ce que les mécanismes de résolution des différends et des litiges cadrent avec la résolution des torts commis dans le passé, favoriser la coopération et privilégier une approche fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits

Mettre à jour les éléments de la relation découlant des traités pour assurer la cohérence avec une approche fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits
Date de modification :