Language and culture

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 13 to 17.

Based on data provided March 2022.

13. We call upon the federal government to acknowledge that Aboriginal rights include Aboriginal language rights

What's happening?

The Indigenous Languages Act received Royal Assent on June 21, 2019, to support the reclamation, revitalization, maintaining and strengthening of Indigenous languages in Canada. Under section 6 of the act entitled 'Rights Related to Indigenous Languages’, the Government of Canada recognizes that the rights of Indigenous peoples recognized and affirmed by section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, includes rights related to Indigenous languages.

The overall purpose of the act is to support the efforts of Indigenous peoples to reclaim, revitalize, maintain and strengthen Indigenous languages. Included within the act is the purpose of establishing a framework to facilitate the effective exercise of Indigenous peoples rights that relate to Indigenous languages, including by way of agreements referred to in sections 8 and 9.

Under these sections of the act, Canadian Heritage may enter into agreements or arrangements with provincial or territorial governments, Indigenous governments or other Indigenous governing bodies, Indigenous organizations or other entities to coordinate efforts to efficiently and effectively support Indigenous languages in Canada and to further the purposes of the act.

The Government of Canada is piloting 2 pathfinder initiatives to support more language activities. These include:

  • a 6-year project started in 2019 to 2020 to fund the Nisga'a Lisims government's language revitalization plan. This plan includes gathering and collecting information on Nisga'a language, culture and traditional practices to assist Nisga'a Nation efforts to maintain and strengthen the Nisga'a language within the Nation
  • in collaboration with the Government of Nunavut and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, a 5 year project to revitalize and strengthen Inuktut in Nunavut by increasing access to Inuktut-language instruction, maintaining the number of proficient Inuktut-speaking Inuit educators, creating support mechanisms for educators and establishing the Nunavut Partnership Table on Language and Education

Canadian Heritage will continue to work collaboratively with Indigenous partners to fully implement the legislation and identify opportunities for further agreements Sections 8 and 9 of the act.

With the Royal Assent of the act this call to action is now completed.

14. We call upon the federal government to enact an Aboriginal Languages Act that incorporates the following principles:

  1. Aboriginal languages are a fundamental and valued element of Canadian culture and society, and there is an urgency to preserve them.
  2. Aboriginal language rights are reinforced by the Treaties.
  3. The federal government has a responsibility to provide sufficient funds for Aboriginal-language revitalization and preservation.
  4. The preservation, revitalization, and strengthening of Aboriginal languages and cultures are best managed by Aboriginal people and communities.
  5. Funding for Aboriginal language initiatives must reflect the diversity of Aboriginal languages.

What's happening?

On June 21, 2019, the Indigenous Languages Act received Royal Assent and sets out a number of purposes and mechanisms, including:

  • creating an Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages
  • establishing measures to facilitate the provision of adequate, sustainable and long-term funding for the reclamation, revitalization, maintenance and strengthening of Indigenous languages
  • providing for agreements or arrangements under sections 8 and 9 to support Indigenous language revitalization and preservation with Indigenous governments or organizations and provinces and territories including in areas of provincial or territorial jurisdiction
  • recognizing the rights of Indigenous peoples recognized and affirmed under sec. 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, including rights related to Indigenous languages
  • facilitating meaningful opportunities for Indigenous governments and other Indigenous governing bodies and Indigenous organizations to collaborate in policy development related to the implementation of this act
  • outlining federal institutions' role in providing access to services in Indigenous languages where capacity and demand exists, subject to established regulations or agreements
  • requiring parliamentary reviews every 3 years and independent reviews every 5 years

A Joint Implementation Steering Committee has been created for the purpose of working together on the implementation of the act. The committee is made up of representatives of the Assembly of First Nations, the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the Métis National Council and Canadian Heritage.

Recent budget investments

Since 2019, the Government of Canada has invested $608.7 million and $117.7 million in ongoing funding to support the implementation of the Indigenous Languages Act, including the efforts of Indigenous communities and organizations to reclaim, revitalize, maintain and strengthen their languages.

Recent progress

In July 2021, the appointments of the first commissioner and 3 directors of the Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages took effect.

Next steps

With the Royal Assent of the Indigenous Languages Act, this call to action is completed.

15. We call upon the federal government to appoint, in consultation with Aboriginal groups, an Aboriginal Languages Commissioner. The commissioner should help promote Aboriginal languages and report on the adequacy of federal funding of Aboriginal-languages initiatives.

What's happening?

On June 21, 2019, the Indigenous Languages Act received Royal Assent. The act establishes the Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages, consisting of the commissioner and up to 3 directors who have the ability to represent the interests of the First Nations, Inuit and Métis languages.

Under the act, the office is mandated to:

  • promote public awareness and understanding about Indigenous languages
  • support the efforts of Indigenous peoples to reclaim, revitalize, maintain and strengthen Indigenous languages
  • support innovative projects and the use of new technologies
  • facilitate the resolution of disputes and review complaints
  • conduct research or studies regarding the provision of funding for the purposes of supporting Indigenous languages or the use of Indigenous languages in Canada, including for the purposes of measuring the vitality of those languages or identifying measures to restore and maintain fluency in those languages

Under the act, the office will be required to table a report for Parliament annually that assesses the:

  • use and vitality of Indigenous languages in Canada
  • needs of Indigenous groups, communities and peoples and entities that are specialized in Indigenous languages and the progress made in revitalizing, reclaiming, maintaining and strengthening of Indigenous languages
  • adequacy of funding provided by the Government of Canada for Indigenous languages
  • progress on the implementation of the act

Recent progress

From September to December 2020, Canadian Heritage held 26 virtual consultation sessions with different Indigenous partners from across the country on the Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages.

In addition, Canadian Heritage collaborated with the Assembly of First Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and Métis National Council to organize a virtual symposium in January 2021 on Indigenous Languages with the theme of Building on Strength and Successes. The symposium was attended by more than 300 participants and 1 day was dedicated to the Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages.

On June 14, 2021, the first appointees to the new Office of the Commissioner of Indigenous Languages were announced, including the Commissioner, Ronald E. Ignace. The selection committee to support the appointment process was comprised of 3 Indigenous representatives, so that First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation perspectives could directly inform the assessment and recommendation of candidates to the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

16. We call upon post-secondary institutions to create university and college degree and diploma programs in Aboriginal languages.

What's happening?

Post-secondary institutions lead the response to Call to Action 16.

17. We call upon all levels of government to enable residential school Survivors and their families to reclaim names changed by the residential school system by waiving administrative costs for a period of five years for the name-change process and the revision of official identity documents, such as birth certificates, passports, driver's licenses, health cards, status cards, and social insurance numbers.

What's happening?

Provincial and territorial vital statistics offices are responsible for name changes. In its capacity as co-chair of the Vital Statistics Council for Canada, a federal, provincial and territorial advisory group, Statistics Canada is supporting key federal departments, such as Indigenous Services Canada (status cards) and Employment and Social Development Canada (social insurance number cards) for name changes. Through its role as co-chair, Statistics Canada has raised the awareness of the importance associated with the process of name reclaiming.

Name changes for status cards, passports and social insurance number cards are under federal responsibility and all administrative fees have been waived when requests have been received from Indigenous peoples asking for such a change. Similarly, name changes for birth certificates, driver's licenses and health cards are under provincial or territorial responsibility and the majority of provinces and territories are waiving fees for name changes on such documents where relevant requests have been received.

Recent progress

On June 14, 2021, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada launched a process for all Indigenous peoples, residential school survivors and their families to reclaim their Indigenous names on replacement passports, travel documents, citizenship certificates and permanent resident cards free of charge until May 30, 2026.

Name changes for various federal and provincial or territorial documents are processed as they are received.

Next steps

Indigenous Services Canada (status cards) and Employment and Social Development Canada (social insurance number cards) will continue to waive administration fees for name changes requested by Indigenous peoples.

Statistics Canada will continue its role as co-chair of the Vital Statistics Council for Canada and federal, provincial and territorial partnership, by supporting key federal departments and raising awareness with provincial and territorial counterparts.

Related links

Date modified:

Langue et culture

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 13 à 17 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en mars 2022.

13. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de reconnaître que les droits des Autochtones comprennent les droits linguistiques autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

La Loi sur les langues autochtones a reçu la sanction royale, le 21 juin 2019, afin de soutenir la récupération, la revitalisation, le maintien et le renforcement des langues autochtones au Canada. Selon l’article 6 de la loi intitulé « Droits relatifs aux langues autochtones », le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que les droits des peuples autochtones reconnus et confirmés par l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 comportent des droits relatifs aux langues autochtones.

L'objectif général de cette loi consiste à soutenir les efforts déployés par les peuples autochtones pour se réapproprier les langues autochtones et les revitaliser, les maintenir et les renforcer. Elle vise aussi à établir un cadre pour faciliter l'exercice effectif des droits des peuples autochtones en ce qui concerne les langues autochtones, notamment au moyen des accords cités aux articles 8 et 9.

Conformément à ces articles, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien peut conclure des accords ou des arrangements avec les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux, les gouvernements autochtones ou d'autres corps dirigeants autochtones, des organisations autochtones ou d'autres entités, pour coordonner les efforts visant à soutenir de manière efficiente et efficace les langues autochtones au Canada et à contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs de la loi.

Le gouvernement du Canada mène 2 initiatives exploratoires pour soutenir plus d'activités linguistiques. Cela comprend :

  • un projet de 6 ans, lancé durant l'exercice de 2019 à 2020, visant à financer le plan de revitalisation linguistique du gouvernement Nisga'a Lisims. Ce plan porte sur la collecte d'information relative à la langue, à la culture et aux pratiques traditionnelles des Nisga'a pour aider la Nation Nisga'a à maintenir et à renforcer la langue nisga'a au sein de la nation;
  • un projet de 5 ans, en collaboration avec le gouvernement du Nunavut et Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, visant à revitaliser et à renforcer l'inuktut au Nunavut en augmentant l'accès à l'apprentissage de l'inuktut, en préservant le nombre d'éducateurs inuits compétents parlant l'inuktut, en créant des mécanismes de soutien pour les éducateurs et en mettant sur pied la Table de concertation sur la langue et l'éducation au Nunavut.

Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien continuera à travailler en collaboration avec ses partenaires autochtones pour assurer la mise en œuvre complète de la législation et déterminer les possibilités d'accords conformément aux articles 8 et 9 de la loi.

Avec la sanction royale de la loi, cet appel à l’action est maintenant terminé.

14. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral d'adopter une loi sur les langues autochtones qui incorpore les principes suivants :

  1. les langues autochtones représentent une composante fondamentale et valorisée de la culture et de la société canadiennes, et il y a urgence de les préserver;
  2. les droits linguistiques autochtones sont renforcés par les traités;
  3. le gouvernement fédéral a la responsabilité de fournir des fonds suffisants pour la revitalisation et la préservation des langues autochtones;
  4. ce sont les peuples et les communautés autochtones qui sont les mieux à même de gérer la préservation, la revitalisation et le renforcement des langues et des cultures autochtones;
  5. le financement accordé pour les besoins des initiatives liées aux langues autochtones doit refléter la diversité de ces langues.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le 21 juin 2019, la Loi sur les langues autochtones a reçu la sanction royale et a défini un certain nombre d'objectifs et de mécanismes, tels que :

  • la création du Bureau du commissaire aux langues autochtones;
  • la mise en place de mesures visant à faciliter la mise à disposition d'un financement adéquat, durable et à long terme pour la récupération, la revitalisation, le maintien et le renforcement des langues autochtones;
  • la mise en place d'accords ou d'arrangements, conformément aux articles 8 et 9, visant à soutenir la revitalisation et la préservation des langues autochtones, avec les gouvernements ou organisations autochtones, et les provinces et les territoires, dans les domaines de compétence provinciale ou territoriale;
  • la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones reconnus et affirmés conformément à l'article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, notamment les droits relatifs aux langues autochtones;
  • la promotion d'occasions significatives pour les gouvernements autochtones, les autres corps dirigeants autochtones et les organisations autochtones de collaborer à l'élaboration de politiques liées à la mise en œuvre de la présente loi;
  • la définition du rôle des institutions fédérales dans l'accès aux services en langues autochtones lorsque la capacité et la demande le justifient, sous réserve des règlements ou des accords établis;
  • l'exigence d'un examen parlementaire tous les 3 ans et d'un examen indépendant tous les 5 ans.

Un comité directeur conjoint de mise en œuvre a été créé dans le but de collaborer à la mise en œuvre de la loi. Le comité est composé de représentants de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, de l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, du Ralliement national des Métis et du ministère du Patrimoine canadien.

Investissements budgétaires récents

Depuis 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a investi 608,7 millions de dollars et 117,7 millions de dollars en financement continu pour appuyer la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les langues autochtones, y compris les efforts des communautés et des organisations autochtones pour se réapproprier, revitaliser, maintenir et renforcer leurs langues.

Progrès récents

En juillet 2021, les nominations du premier commissaire et des 3 directeurs du Commissariat aux langues autochtones sont entrées en vigueur.

Prochaines étapes

Avec la sanction royale de la Loi sur les langues autochtones, cet appel à l’action est terminé.

15. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de nommer, à la suite de consultations avec les groupes autochtones, un commissaire aux langues autochtones Plus précisément, nous demandons que ce commissaire soit chargé de contribuer à la promotion des langues autochtones et de présenter des comptes rendus sur l'efficacité du financement fédéral destiné aux initiatives liées aux langues autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le 21 juin 2019, la Loi sur les langues autochtones a reçu la sanction royale. Elle permet la création du Bureau du commissaire aux langues autochtones, composé du commissaire et d'un maximum de 3 directeurs ayant la capacité de représenter les intérêts linguistiques des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis.

Conformément à la loi, le bureau a pour mandat de :

  • promouvoir la sensibilisation du public aux langues autochtones et une meilleure compréhension de la situation;
  • soutenir les peuples autochtones dans leurs efforts visant à se réapproprier les langues autochtones et à les revitaliser, les maintenir et les renforcer;
  • soutenir les projets novateurs et l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies;
  • faciliter le règlement des différends et l'examen des plaintes;
  • réaliser des recherches ou des études portant sur l'octroi de fonds destinés à soutenir les langues autochtones ou l'utilisation des langues autochtones au Canada, notamment dans le but de mesurer la vitalité de ces langues ou de définir des mesures visant à rétablir et à maintenir la maîtrise de ces langues.

Conformément à la loi, le bureau sera tenu de déposer annuellement un rapport au Parlement qui fait état :

  • de l'utilisation et de la vitalité des langues autochtones au Canada;
  • des besoins des groupes, des communautés et des peuples autochtones et des entités spécialisées en matière de langues autochtones, ainsi que des progrès accomplis en matière de revitalisation, de récupération, de maintien et de renforcement des langues autochtones;
  • de l'adéquation du financement fourni par le gouvernement du Canada pour les langues autochtones;
  • de l'état d'avancement de la mise en œuvre de la loi.

Progrès récents

De septembre à décembre 2020, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien a organisé 26 séances de consultation virtuelle avec différents partenaires autochtones de l'ensemble du pays au sujet du Bureau du commissaire aux langues autochtones.

En outre, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien a collaboré avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami et le Ralliement national des Métis pour organiser, en janvier 2021, un symposium virtuel consacré aux langues autochtones, dont le thème était « Miser sur les forces et les réussites ». Le symposium a réuni plus de 300 participants et 1 journée a été consacrée à des discussions au sujet du Bureau du commissaire.

Le 14 juin 2021, les premiers membres du nouveau Bureau du commissaire aux langues autochtones ont été annoncés, dont le commissaire Ronald E. Ignace. Le comité de sélection chargé de soutenir le processus de nomination était composé de 3 représentants autochtones pour que les points de vue des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis puissent contribuer directement à l’évaluation et à la recommandation des candidats au ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

16. Nous demandons aux établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire de créer des programmes et des diplômes collégiaux et universitaires en langues autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les institutions postsecondaires sont responsables de la réponse à l'appel à l'action 16.

17. Nous demandons à tous les ordres de gouvernement de permettre aux survivants des pensionnats et à leurs familles de reprendre les noms qui ont été changés par le système des pensionnats en les exonérant des frais d'administration applicables dans le cadre du processus de changement de nom et de révision officielle des documents d'identité, comme les extraits de naissance, les passeports, les permis de conduire, les cartes santé, les certificats de statut d'Indien et la carte d'assurance sociale, et ce, pour une période de 5 ans.

Que se passe-t-il?

Les bureaux de la statistique de l'état civil des provinces et des territoires sont responsables des changements de nom. En sa qualité de coprésident du Conseil de la statistique de l'état civil du Canada, un groupe consultatif fédéral, provincial et territorial, Statistique Canada appuie les principaux ministères fédéraux, tels que Services aux Autochtones Canada (cartes de statut) et Emploi et Développement social Canada (cartes de numéro d'assurance sociale), pour les changements de nom. Grâce à son rôle de coprésident, Statistique Canada a sensibilisé les gens à l'importance du processus de réappropriation des noms.

Les changements de nom pour les cartes de statut, les passeports et les cartes de numéro d'assurance sociale relèvent de la responsabilité fédérale et tous les frais administratifs ont été supprimés en cas de demande de changement de nom de la part d'Autochtones. De même, les changements de nom pour les certificats de naissance, les permis de conduire et les cartes d'assurance-maladie relèvent de la responsabilité des provinces ou des territoires. La majorité des provinces et des territoires renoncent aux frais de changement de nom pour ces documents lorsque les demandes sont pertinentes.

Progrès récents

Le 14 juin 2021, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada a lancé un processus permettant à tous les peuples autochtones, aux survivants des pensionnats et à leurs familles de récupérer gratuitement leur nom autochtone sur les passeports de remplacement, les documents de voyage, les certificats de citoyenneté et les cartes de résident permanent, jusqu'au 30 mai 2026.

Les demandes de changements de nom pour divers documents fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux sont traitées au fur et à mesure qu'elles sont reçues.

Prochaines étapes

Services aux Autochtones Canada (cartes de statut) et Emploi et Développement social Canada (cartes de numéro d'assurance sociale) continueront à renoncer aux frais d'administration pour les changements de nom demandés par les Autochtones.

Statistique Canada poursuivra son rôle de coprésident du Conseil de la statistique de l'état civil du Canada et de partenaire fédéral, provincial et territorial, en soutenant les principaux ministères fédéraux et en sensibilisant ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :