Removal of the 1951 cut-off

This fact sheet was designed in support of the Collaborative Process on Indian Registration, Band Membership and First Nation Citizenship. The fact sheet provides information on the current situation or issues to ensure participants in the collaborative process can engage in well-informed and meaningful dialogues.

There are three other fact sheets related to the collaborative process:

For a complete package of the fact sheets, please send an email to aadnc.fncitizenship-citoyennetepn.aandc@canada.ca.

The issues around the 1951 cut-off are complex and relate to technical requirements under the Indian Act registration provisions. We recommend that you read the following fact sheets before reading this one. These fact sheets provide context and background to this issue:

What is the "1951 cut-off"?

The 1951 cut-off date is the result of one of the four requirements that must be met in order for someone to be entitled to registration under section 6(1)(c.1) of the Indian Act. This section was added to the Indian Act as a result of the Bill C-3 2011 amendments in response to the McIvor decision under the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act. Section 6(1)(c.1) states that, for an individual to be registered under 6(1)(c.1), they must have had a child or adopted a child on or after September 4, 1951 and have a mother who lost entitlement due to a marriage to a non-Indian man. When an individual is entitled under section 6(1)(c.1), all their children would be entitled to registration (even if only one child was born or adopted after September 4, 1951). These children's entitlement to registration could be under section 6(1) or under section 6(2) depending of the circumstances. If there is no child born or adopted after September 4, 1951, then the individual is not entitled. In other words, the birth or adoption date of a grandchild (or of a sibling of the grandchild) of a woman who lost entitlement to registration due to a marriage to a non-Indian man must occur after September 4, 1951 for the grandchild to be entitled to registration. This could mean that two siblings born to the same parents (where the mother lost status due to marriage to a non-Indian man prior to their birth) could have different abilities to pass their entitlement to their descendants. This cut-off has implications for cousins that share a grandmother who lost entitlement due to a marriage to a non-Indian man, to pass on entitlement to their descendants. Some of the cousins can pass on entitlement, while others cannot.

Removing the 1951 cut-off extends entitlement to grandchildren born or adopted prior to September 4, 1951 and allows for entitlement to be passed down to their descendants resulting in the cousins having the same ability to pass on entitlement back to 1869.

Removing the 1951 cut-off

Although the issue of the 1951 cut-off has not been found to constitute sex-based discrimination by Canadian courts, Canada decided to address this issue under Bill S-3. This is a complex issue and there is a need to consult to understand the impacts and identify practical remedies and implementation options. Therefore, in line with the Canada's commitments for reconciliation and renewal of the nation-to-nation relationship, the removal of the 1951 cut-off is enshrined in legislation under clauses 2.1, 3.1, 3.2 and 10.1 of Bill S-3, but will come into force following consultations on a later date to be set by Order in Council.

The amendments that come into force at a later date will remove the 1951 cut-off from the Indian Act for determining eligibility of entitlement for a woman, and her descendants, who were removed from band lists or not considered an Indian due to marrying a non-Indian man, going back to 1869. These amendments will result in individuals previously entitled under section 6(1)(c) to be re-categorized under section 6(1)(a.1) for the women who married out and section 6(1)(a.3) for their direct descendants if they were born prior to April 17, 1985 (or of a marriage prior to that date). Section 6(1)(c) and all its subcategories will no longer appear in the Indian Act following the amendments as outlined in Bill S-3. For anyone who is not already registered at the time the amendments are made, their eligibility will be determined under the Indian Act in force at that time.

It is important to note that the second-generation cut-off continues to be applied after 1985.

Why is the removal of the 1951 cut-off important?

When the 1951 cut-off is removed, a significant number of individuals currently registered under section 6(2) who had children before September 4, 1951 will become eligible under section 6(1)(a.3) resulting in further entitlements for their direct descendants under 6(1)(a.3), 6(1)(f) and 6(2). This will increase the number of individuals benefitting from new or enhanced entitlement. Once the 1951 cut-off is repealed, sections 6(1)(c.2) and (c.4) will be repealed.

Such a measure will automatically and significantly increase the number of individuals eligible for registration and band membership and may result in pressures for First Nation communities with respect of resources, programs and services, and ethno-cultural integration.

As part of the collaborative process, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada is consulting with First Nations, Indigenous groups and impacted individuals on the implementation of the removal of the 1951 cut-off on how and when it should be implemented. Following the collaborative process, an implementation plan will be prepared, and the process will begin to bring the 1951 cut-off into force.

Projected demographic impacts

There is significant uncertainty around determining the population impacts of the removal of the 1951 cut-off amendments as there is no data-set that can directly identify the number of individuals that could be affected.

In the 2016 Census, 750,000 to 1.3 million non-registered individuals self-reported as having North American Indigenous ancestry. This reflects who may be entitled to, and who may be more likely to apply for Indian registration. This does not necessarily reflect how many individuals would and likely overestimates the number of individuals who would become registered.

The following chart demonstrates how the 1951 cut-off works:

Hypothetical situation to demonstrate the differences between the various amendments to the Indian Act when an Indian woman lost entitlement due to marriage to a non-Indian man
Annie and Sarah are siblings born to the same biological parents. Their mother Mary lost status prior to their births when she married a non-Indian. Following the Bill C-31 amendments, their mother regained her status under paragraphs 6(1)(c).
  Birthdate C-31
(1985)
C-3
(2011)
S-3
(2017)
S-3
(delayed)
(removal of the 1951 cut-off)
Mary Feb.15,1908 6(1)(c) 6(1)(c) 6(1)(c) 6(1)(a.1)
Child of Mary
Annie
6(2) 6(2) 6(2) 6(1)(a.3)
Grand Children of Mary
Sam
May 2, 1947 Denied Denied Denied 6(1)(a.3)
Sally
Mar.17,1949 Denied Denied Denied 6(1)(a.3)
Steve
Dec.1,1950 Denied Denied Denied 6(1)(a.3)
Child of Mary
Sarah
6(2) 6(1)(c.1) 6(1)(c.1) 6(1)(a.3)
Grand Children of Mary
Jane
Jan.11,1949 Denied 6(2) 6(1)(c.2) 6(1)(a.3)
John
Nov.5,1950 Denied 6(2) 6(1)(c.2) 6(1)(a.3)
James
Feb.3,1953 Denied 6(2)
See Note 1
6(1)(c.2)
See Note 2
6(1)(a.3)
See Note 3
Note 1: Because James was born after September 4, 1951, he and all his siblings became entitled to registration as their mother now met the criteria to be amended from section 6(2) to 6(1)(c.1). James’ other parent is not entitled to registration.
Note 2: As James was born after September 4, 1951, he and his siblings meet all the criteria required to be amended from 6(2) to 6(1)(c.2) as a result of Bill S-3. Annie’s children however are not entitled as none of them were born on or after September 4, 1951.
Note 3: Once the changes to remove the 1951 cut-off come into effect, section 6(1)(a.1), and(a.3) will extend entitlement to descendants of children born prior to 1951.
Date modified:

Élimination de la date limite de 1951

Cette fiche d’information a été conçue à l’appui du processus de collaboration sur l’inscription des Indiens, l’appartenance à une bande et la citoyenneté des Premières Nations. Les fiches d'information fournissent de l'information sur la situation ou les enjeux actuels afin de s'assurer que les participants au processus de collaboration peuvent participer à des dialogues bien informés et significatifs.

Il y a trois autres fiches d'information relatives au processus de collaboration :

Pour obtenir une copie complète de la trousse de fiches d'information, veuillez envoyer un courriel à aadnc.fncitizenship-citoyennetepn.aandc@canada.ca.

Les questions entourant la date limite de 1951 sont complexes et ont trait aux exigences techniques des dispositions sur l'inscription de la Loi sur les Indiens. Avant d'entreprendre la lecture du présent document, nous vous recommandons de lire les fiches d'information suivantes. Ces documents vous permettront de mettre en contexte la question examinée :

Qu'est-ce que la « date limite de 1951 »?

La date limite de 1951 est le résultat de l'une des quatre exigences qui doivent être satisfaites pour qu'une personne ait le droit d'être inscrite en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)c.1) de la Loi sur les Indiens. Cet alinéa a été ajouté à la Loi sur les Indiens par suite des modifications apportées en 2011 aux termes du projet de loi C-3 (Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au Registre des Indien), introduit en réponse à l'arrêt Mclvor. L'alinéa 6(1)c.1) stipule que, pour qu'une personne soit inscrite au registre, elle doit avoir eu un enfant ou adopté un enfant le 4 septembre 1951 ou après cette date et avoir une mère qui a perdu son droit d'être inscrite en raison d'un mariage avec un non-Indien. Lorsqu'une personne a le droit d'être inscrite en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)c.1), tous ses enfants auraient le droit d'être inscrits (même si un seul enfant est né ou a été adopté après le 4 septembre 1951). Le droit de ces enfants à l'inscription pourrait être aux termes du paragraphe 6(1) ou du paragraphe 6(2), selon les circonstances. Si aucun enfant n'est né ou adopté après le 4 septembre 1951, la personne n'y a pas droit. Autrement dit, la date de naissance ou d'adoption d'un petit-­enfant (ou d'un frère ou d'une sœur du petit-enfant) d'une femme qui a perdu son droit à l'inscription en raison d'un mariage avec un non-Indien doit être ultérieure au 4 septembre 1951 pour que le petit-enfant ait droit à l'inscription. Cela pourrait signifier que deux enfants nés des mêmes parents (la mère ayant perdu son statut en raison d'un mariage avec un non‑Indien avant leur naissance) pourraient avoir différentes capacités de transmission de leurs droits à leurs descendants. Cette date limite pourrait limiter la capacité des cousins qui ont la même grand-mère (qui a perdu son statut en raison d'un mariage avec un non-Indien) de transmettre le droit au statut d'Indien à leurs descendants. Certains cousins pourraient transmettre leur statut, d'autres non.

L'élimination de la date limite de 1951 permet aux petits-enfants nés ou adoptés avant le 4 septembre 1951 d'obtenir le statut et de le transmettre à leurs descendants, de sorte que les cousins possèdent la même capacité de transmettre leur statut à leur descendance, jusqu'en 1869.

Élimination de la date limite de 1951

Bien que les tribunaux canadiens n'aient pas jugé que la question de la date limite de 1951 constituait un cas de discrimination fondée sur le sexe, le gouvernement a décidé d'aborder cette question dans le projet de loi S-3. Il s'agit d'une question complexe et il est nécessaire de mener des consultations pour en comprendre les répercussions et déterminer des solutions pratiques et des options de mise en œuvre. Par conséquent, conformément aux engagements du gouvernement à l'égard de la réconciliation et du renouvellement de la relation de nation à nation, l'élimination de la date limite de 1951 est inclue aux dispositions législatives des articles 2.1, 3.1, 3.2 et 10.1 du projet de loi S-3, mais entrera en vigueur après les consultations, à une date ultérieure fixée par décret.

Les modifications qui entreront en vigueur à une date ultérieure élimineront la date limite de 1951 de la Loi sur les Indiens servant à déterminer l'admissibilité des femmes et de leurs descendants, qui ont été retirés des listes des bandes ou qui n'étaient pas considérées comme Indiennes en raison d'un mariage avec un non-Indien, depuis 1869. Grâce à ces modifications, les personnes qui avaient auparavant le droit d'être inscrites à titre d'Indiens en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)c) pourront être reclassées. Les femmes qui se sont mariées avec un non-Indien seront reclassées en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)a.1) et leurs descendants, s'ils sont nés avant le 17 avril 1985 (ou d'un mariage antérieur à cette date) seront visés par l'alinéa 6(1)a.3). L'alinéa 6(1)c) et tous ses sous-alinéas n'apparaîtront plus dans la Loi sur les Indiens à la suite des modifications prévues dans le projet de loi S-3. L'admissibilité d'une personne qui n'est pas déjà inscrite au moment où les modifications sont apportées sera déterminée en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens en vigueur à ce moment.

Il convient de noter que l'exclusion après la deuxième génération continue d'être appliquée après 1985.

Pourquoi l'élimination de la date limite de 1951 est-elle importante?

Lorsque la date limite de 1951 sera éliminée, un nombre important de personnes actuellement inscrites en vertu du paragraphe 6(2) qui ont eu des enfants avant le 4 septembre 1951 deviendront admissibles en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)a.3), ce qui donnera à leurs descendants directs des droits supplémentaires en vertu des alinéas 6(1)a.3) et 6(1)f) et du paragraphe 6(2). Cela augmentera le nombre de personnes qui bénéficieront de nouveaux droits ou de droits accrus. Une fois la date limite de 1951 abrogée, les alinéas 6(1)c.2) et c.4) seront également abrogés.

Une telle mesure augmentera automatiquement et considérablement le nombre de personnes ayant le droit d'être inscrites à titre d'Indiens et de personnes appartenant à une bande. Cela pourrait entraîner des contraintes pour les communautés des Premières Nations en ce qui concerne les ressources, les programmes et les services ainsi que l'intégration ethnoculturelle.

Dans le cadre du processus de collaboration, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada mènera des consultations sur la mise en œuvre de l'élimination de la date limite de 1951 (c'est-à-dire, les modalités de mise en œuvre) auprès des Premières Nations, des groupes autochtones et des personnes touchées. À la fin du processus de collaboration, un plan de mise en œuvre sera élaboré, et le processus visant l'entrée en vigueur de cette modification commencera.

Conséquences démographiques prévues

Il règne une grande incertitude quant à la détermination des répercussions sur la population de l'élimination de la date limite de 1951, car il n'existe aucun ensemble de données permettant de déterminer avec certitude le nombre de personnes qui pourraient être touchées.

Dans le Recensement de 2016, de 750 000 à 1,3 million de personnes non inscrites ont déclaré avoir des ancêtres autochtones (Indiens de l'Amérique du Nord). Ces chiffres correspondent au nombre de personnes qui auraient le droit de demander le statut d'Indien et de personnes qui seraient susceptibles de faire une demande pour être inscrites dans le Registre des Indiens. Ils ne correspondent pas nécessairement au nombre de personnes qui décideraient éventuellement de demander le statut d'Indien et constituent probablement une surestimation du nombre de personnes qui deviendraient des Indiens inscrits.

Le tableau suivant démontre comment l'élimination de la date limite de 1951 fonctionne :

Situation hypothétique pour démontrer les différences entre les diverses modifications apportées à la Loi sur les Indiens lorsqu'une Indienne a perdu son statut en raison de son mariage avec un non-Indien.
Annie et Sarah sont des sœurs nées des mêmes parents biologiques. Leur mère Mary a perdu son statut avant leur naissance lorsqu'elle s'est mariée avec un non-Indien. Après l'entrée en vigueur des modifications apportées par le projet de loi C-31, leur mère a retrouvé son statut en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)c).
  Date de naissance C-31
(1985)
C-3
(2011)
S-3
(2017)
S-3
(modifications différées)
(élimination de la date limite de 1951)
Mary 15 février 1908 6(1)(c) 6(1)(c) 6(1)(c) 6(1)(a.1)
Enfant de Mary
Annie
6(2) 6(2) 6(2) 6(1)(a.3)
Petit enfant de Mary
Sam
2 mai 1947 Rejeté Rejeté Rejeté 6(1)(a.3)
Sally
17 mars 1949 Rejeté Rejeté Rejeté 6(1)(a.3)
Steve
1er décembre 1950 Rejeté Rejeté Rejeté 6(1)(a.3)
Enfant de Mary
Sarah
6(2) 6(1)(c.1) 6(1)(c.1) 6(1)(a.3)
Petit enfant de Mary
Jane
11 janvier 1949 Rejeté 6(2) 6(1)(c.2) 6(1)(a.3)
John
5 novembre 1950 Rejeté 6(2) 6(1)(c.2) 6(1)(a.3)
James
3 février 1953 Rejeté 6(2)
Voir la note 1
6(1)(c.2)
Voir la note 2
6(1)(a.3)
Voir la note 3
Note 1 : Étant donné que James est né après le 4 septembre 1951, lui et ses frères et sœurs sont devenus admissibles à l'inscription puisque leur mère répond maintenant aux critères qui seront modifiés du paragraphe 6(2) à l'alinéa 6(1)c.1). L'autre parent de James n'a pas droit à l'inscription.
Note 2 : Étant donné que James est né après le 4 septembre 1951, lui et ses frères et sœurs satisfont à tous les critères qui seront modifiés du paragraphe 6(2) à l'alinéa 6(1)(c.2) par suite du projet de loi S-3. Les enfants d'Annie n'y ont cependant pas droit, car aucun d'eux n'est né le 4 septembre 1951 ou après cette date.
Note 3 : Une fois que les changements visant à éliminer la date limite de 1951 entreront en vigueur, les alinéas 6(1)a.1) et a.3) s'appliqueront aux descendants des enfants nés avant 1951.
Date de modification :