Newcomers to Canada

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 93 to 94.

Based on data provided August 2021.

93. We call upon the federal government, in collaboration with the national Aboriginal organizations, to revise the information kit for newcomers to Canada and its citizenship test to reflect a more inclusive history of the diverse Aboriginal peoples of Canada, including information about the Treaties and the history of residential schools.

What's happening?

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada continues to work on the citizenship guide, associated study materials and the new citizenship test. Updates to the guide and test would respond to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's call to be more inclusive of the perspectives and history of the Indigenous peoples of Canada.

The department has engaged a wide range of partners to ensure the revised content of the citizenship study guide represents all Canadians, including Indigenous peoples, minority populations, women, francophone and Canadians with disabilities.

Recent progress

The department consulted national and regional Indigenous organizations and historians on final content for a revised citizenship study guide. New citizenship test questions have also been developed to reflect the changes in content.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada has also created a new Indigenous peoples resource sheet covering history, culture and reconciliation. The resource sheet is being used by settlement organizations providing group settlement orientations funded by the department.

Additional Indigenous content is also included in the International Organization for Migration's newly released Canadian Orientation-Abroad Participant Workbook: A Pre-Departure Guide for Newcomers to Canada, funded by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

This workbook includes content on Indigenous peoples, cultures, history and reconciliation. This information is delivered to resettled refugees coming to Canada, through the Canadian Orientation Abroad program.

The workbook is currently available in English and will be translated into French as well as 14 additional languages.

Next steps

An exact launch date for the revised study guide, study materials and a new citizenship kit has not been determined. Until the guide is officially launched, Discover Canada remains the official study guide for the citizenship test.

94. We call upon the Government of Canada to replace the Oath of Citizenship with the following: I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada including Treaties with Indigenous Peoples, and fulfill my duties as a Canadian citizen.

What's happening?

On June 21, 2021, an Act to amend the Citizenship Act (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's call to action number 94) received Royal Assent. This act inserts new language into the Oath of Citizenship that refers to the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples:

Text of the former Oath of Citizenship

"I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada, and fulfill my duties as a Canadian citizen."

Text of the current Oath of Citizenship

"I swear (or affirm) that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfully observe the laws of Canada, including the Constitution, which recognizes and affirms the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples, and fulfill my duties as a Canadian citizen."

The act expands the wording of the oath to address the spirit of the call to action, responding to what was heard during consultations and describing the broad range of rights applied to diverse Indigenous peoples.

Related links

Date modified:

Nouveaux arrivants au Canada

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 93 à 94 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Fondé sur les données fournies en août 2021.

93. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral d'examiner, en collaboration avec les organisations autochtones nationales, la trousse d'information pour les nouveaux arrivants au Canada et l'examen de citoyenneté afin que l'histoire relatée reflète davantage la diversité des peuples autochtones du Canada, y compris au moyen d'information sur les traités et sur l'histoire des pensionnats.

Que se passe-t-il?

Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada continue de travailler au guide de citoyenneté, le matériel d'étude qui y est associé et au nouvel examen de citoyenneté. Les mises à jour du guide permettraient de répondre à l'appel à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation visant à tenir davantage compte des perspectives et de l'histoire des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Le ministère a fait appel à un large éventail de partenaires pour s'assurer que le contenu révisé du guide d'étude sur la citoyenneté représente tous les Canadiens, y compris les peuples autochtones, les populations minoritaires, les femmes, les francophones et les Canadiens handicapés.

Progrès récents

Le ministère a consulté des organisations autochtones nationales et régionales ainsi que des historiens concernant le contenu final d'un guide d'étude révisé sur la citoyenneté. De nouvelles questions d'examen de citoyenneté ont également été élaborées pour refléter les changements.

Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada a également créé une nouvelle fiche de renseignements sur les peuples autochtones, portant sur l'histoire, la culture et la réconciliation. Cette fiche est utilisée par les organismes d'aide à l'établissement qui donnent des orientations collectives sur l'établissement financées par le ministère.

D'autres renseignements sur les Autochtones figurent également dans le nouveau manuel de l'Organisation internationale pour les migrations, intitulé Canadian Orientation-Abroad Participant Workbook : A Pre-Departure Guide for Newcomers to Canada, financé par Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada.

Ce manuel contient des renseignements sur les peuples autochtones, leurs cultures, leur histoire et la réconciliation. Ces renseignements sont fournis aux réfugiés réinstallés qui arrivent au Canada, au moyen du programme Orientation canadienne à l'étranger.

Le manuel est actuellement disponible en anglais, et sera traduit en français ainsi que dans 14 autres langues.

Prochaines étapes

La date exacte du lancement du guide d'étude révisé, du matériel d'étude et de la nouvelle trousse de citoyenneté n'a pas été déterminée. Tant que le guide n'aura pas été officiellement lancé, Découvrir le Canada demeurera le guide d'étude officiel pour l'examen pour l'obtention de la citoyenneté.

94. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada de remplacer le serment de citoyenneté par ce qui suit : Je jure (ou affirme solennellement) que je serai fidèle et porterai sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs, que j'observerai fidèlement les lois du Canada, y compris les traités conclus avec les peuples autochtones, et que je remplirai loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le 21 juin 2021, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur la citoyenneté (appel à l'action numéro 94 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada) a reçu la sanction royale. Cette loi insère un nouveau libellé dans le serment de citoyenneté, qui fait référence aux droits ancestraux et aux droits issus des traités des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis :

Texte de l'ancien serment de citoyenneté

« Je jure (ou j'affirme solennellement) que je serai fidèle et que je porterai sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs, que j'observerai fidèlement les lois du Canada et que je remplirai loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien. »

Texte du serment de citoyenneté actuel

« Je jure (ou j'affirme solennellement) que je serai fidèle et que je porterai sincère allégeance à Sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth Deux, Reine du Canada, à ses héritiers et successeurs, que j'observerai fidèlement les lois du Canada, y compris la Constitution, qui reconnaît et confirme les droits ― ancestraux ou issus de traités ― des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, et que je remplirai loyalement mes obligations de citoyen canadien. »

La Loi étend la formulation du serment pour répondre à l'esprit de l'appel à l'action, en répondant à ce qui a été entendu lors des consultations et en décrivant le large éventail de droits appliqués aux divers peuples autochtones.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :