Child welfare

Learn how the Government of Canada is responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action 1 to 5.

1. We call upon the federal, provincial, territorial, and Aboriginal governments to commit to reducing the number of Aboriginal children in care by:

  1. Monitoring and assessing neglect investigations.
  2. Providing adequate resources to enable Aboriginal communities and child-welfare organizations to keep Aboriginal families together where it is safe to do so, and to keep children in culturally appropriate environments, regardless of where they reside.
  3. Ensuring that social workers and others who conduct child-welfare investigations are properly educated and trained about the history and impacts of residential schools.
  4. Ensuring that social workers and others who conduct child-welfare investigations are properly educated and trained about the potential for Aboriginal communities and families to provide more appropriate solutions to family healing.
  5. Requiring that all child-welfare decision makers consider the impact of the residential school experience on children and their caregivers.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada has made historic investments to better support the well-being of children and families on reserve, improve the quality of education for First Nations children and urgently address housing needs on reserve. These investments include Budget 2016 funding of $635 million over 5 years and ongoing, as a first step in addressing funding gaps in First Nations Child and Family Services and provide greater support for culturally appropriate prevention services and front-line service delivery. Budget 2018 announced additional funding of $1.4 billion over 6 years, starting in fiscal year 2017 to 2018, for the First Nations Child and Family Services Program to address the funding pressures facing child and family service agencies, while increasing prevention resources so that children are safe and families can stay together. To support the safety and well-being of First Nations children and families living on reserve, Indigenous Services Canada is focused on fully implementing the orders of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal, including reimbursement of funding to First Nations child and family services agencies based on actual costs for prevention, intake and investigation, legal fees, building repairs and small agencies in the best interest of the child, as well as reforming the First Nations Child and Family Services Program. These solutions, however, are multi-faceted and will require collaboration with First Nations partners, the provinces and territories to ensure that the well-being of children comes first.

The Government of Canada will continue to collaborate with First Nations, Inuit and Métis, as well as other partners, to advance the reforms to child and family services that are needed and develop Indigenous-led solutions that put the well-being of children first. For example: $1 million in funding was provided to the Métis National Council to support their work on engagement and consultation to advance culturally appropriate reform.

The government is also engaged in over 80 Recognition of Indigenous Rights and Self-Determination discussions tables through which Canada and Indigenous groups explore new ideas and ways to reach agreements that will recognize the rights of Indigenous groups and advance their vision of self-determination for the benefit of their communities and all Canadians. In many of the existing discussions Indigenous groups have identified child and family services as an important subject for discussion.

2. We call upon the federal government, in collaboration with the provinces and territories, to prepare and publish annual reports on the number of Aboriginal children (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis) who are in care, compared with non-Aboriginal children, as well as the reasons for apprehension, the total spending on preventive and care services by child-welfare agencies, and the effectiveness of various interventions.

What's happening?

Indigenous Services Canada hosted an emergency meeting on child and family services in January 2018 to discuss how to work with First Nations, Inuit and Métis to transform Indigenous child welfare so that it is truly child-centered, community-directed and focused on prevention and the rights of the child. This meeting brought together federal, provincial, territorial and Indigenous partners to discuss reform as well as how to collectively monitor and report on our efforts as called for by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action. This meeting was an opportunity, among other things, to take stock on the current situation and identify key next steps. Key topics of discussion included the collection and publication of data, establishing measurable goals and information sharing on Indigenous children in care in Canada.

As of fall 2018, the Government of Canada is working with provinces, territories and Indigenous partners to develop a data and reporting strategy that will help provide a more complex picture of the outcomes of children in care and the challenges experienced by Indigenous children and family, to inform future service delivery improvements.

3. We call upon all levels of government to fully implement Jordan's Principle.

What's happening?

Since 2016, the Government has made available $679.9 million to Jordan's Principle to help with health, social and education services that are needed right away.

Between July 2016 and July 31, 2019, more than 341,000 products, services and supports were approved under Jordan's Principle. These include mental health supports, medical equipment, speech therapy, educational supports and more.

Indigenous Service Canada (ISC) is fully committed to implementing Jordan's Principle and complying with the orders of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal. ISC continues to monitor and track compliance with the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal orders and is working with partners to improve processes to review and assess Jordan's Principle requests and to implement a coordinated care system.

ISC will continue to reach out to First Nations families, health providers and provincial or territorial partners to raise awareness of Jordan's Principle through a proactive communications and marketing approach.

On September 18, 2018, the Government of Canada, in partnership with the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, announced that an Inuit-specific Child First Initiative and framework is under development and that interim measures are available for Inuit families to submit requests to ISC on behalf of Inuit children requiring access to the health, social and education products, services and supports they need.

To ensure that First Nations children continue to have access to the services that they need, Budget 2019 announced $1.2 billion over 3 years, beginning in fiscal year 2019 to 2020. During that time, the Government of Canada and First Nations will continue to work together to develop a long-term approach to improving services for First Nations children, based on Jordan's Principle.

In addition, to address the immediate needs of Inuit children, Budget 2019 announced to invest $220 million over 5 years, beginning in fiscal year 2019 to 2020, to provide services to Inuit children as work continues with Inuit and other government partners to improve local capacity to deliver services.

4. We call upon the federal government to enact Aboriginal child-welfare legislation that establishes national standards for Aboriginal child apprehension and custody cases and includes principles that:

  1. Affirm the right of Aboriginal governments to establish and maintain their own child-welfare agencies.
  2. Require all child-welfare agencies and courts to take the residential school legacy into account in their decision making.
  3. Establish, as an important priority, a requirement that placements of Aboriginal children into temporary and permanent care be culturally appropriate.

What's happening?

The Government of Canada has been engaging with partners across the country on how to reform the Indigenous child welfare. As part of this process, Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) engaged with First Nations, Inuit and Métis, as well as Treaty Nations and provincial and territorial governments to co-develop options for potential federal legislation that would set the stage for comprehensive reform. Sixty-five engagement sessions were held over the summer and fall of 2018 with nearly 2,000 participants. ISC will continue to advance this work in partnership with Indigenous peoples.

In addition to these efforts, the Government of Canada has committed to 6 points of action:

  • continuing the work to fully implement all orders of the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal and reforming child and family services including moving to a flexible funding model: Canada has begun implementing the orders and has, for example, been funding agencies for their actual costs in the areas ordered by the tribunal and has formed a Consultation committee on Child Welfare Reform
  • shifting the programming focus to prevention and early intervention: Canada is working with partners to fundamentally change the system to be truly child-centered, community-directed and focused on prevention
  • supporting communities to draw down jurisdiction and explore the potential for co-developed federal child and family services legislation: as mentioned above, ISC has been engaging with partners over the summer and early fall 2018
  • accelerating the work of trilateral and technical tables that are in place across the country: tripartite tables, technical working groups and regional advisory committees are in place in each province and the Yukon. Canada is working with partners to accelerate the work of these initiatives in support of reform
  • supporting Inuit and Métis Nation leadership to advance culturally appropriate reform: Permanent Bilateral Mechanism forums have been established respectively between Canada and the Métis Nation and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, as well as the Assembly of First Nations, to provide a distinction-based forum to jointly set priorities for reform and oversee outcomes
  • developing a data and reporting strategy with provinces, territories and Indigenous partners: Canada is working with partners to develop a data and reporting strategy that will help provide a more complete picture of the outcomes of children in care and the challenges experienced by Indigenous children and families, to inform future service delivery improvements

It is critical that these efforts are being led by Indigenous leaders and communities in alignment with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and the United Nations Convention of the Rights of the Child. Articles 3 and 4 on the right to self-determination and self-government in particular are relevant to these efforts.

On June 21, 2019, the Government of Canada introduced Bill C-92, an Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families, received Royal assent. Co-developed with Indigenous partners, Bill C-92 affirms Indigenous peoples' inherent right to exercise jurisdiction over child and family services and is consistent with the Government of Canada's ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and commitment to implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. The bill affirms the rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis to exercise jurisdiction over child and family services and establish national principles, such as best interests of the child, cultural continuity and substantive equality to guide the interpretation and administration of the bill. These principles would guide Indigenous communities and provinces and territories on the delivery of child and family services to keep families together and reduce the number of Indigenous children in care.

5. We call upon the federal, provincial, territorial, and Aboriginal governments to develop culturally appropriate parenting programs for Aboriginal families.

What's happening?

With the creation of Indigenous Services Canada (ISC), the platform now exists to bring together a range of supports for maternal child health, Aboriginal Head Start, family violence prevention and other programs. This will allow us to break down silos and better support the health and well-being of Indigenous children, parents and communities.

Budget 2016 investments of $634.8 million over 5 years and ongoing were provided to support greater culturally appropriate prevention services and front-line service delivery. To ensure adequate funding for the ongoing provision of culturally appropriate prevention, protection and well-being services for First Nations children and families on reserve, Budget 2018 committed more than $1.4 billion in new funding over 6 years, starting in fiscal year 2017 to 2018, for First Nations child and family services. This includes a dedicated Community Well-Being and Jurisdiction Initiatives stream of funding to support First Nations communities to lead the development and delivery of prevention services and to assert greater control over the well-being of their children and families.

The Government of Canada will continue to collaborate with First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation, as well as other partners, to advance the reforms to child and family services that are needed and develop Indigenous-led solutions that put the well-being of children first, in addition to collaborating with the Métis National Council in taking steps to explore solutions that will be community-directed and focused on prevention.

Related links

Date modified:

Protection de l’enfance

Apprenez comment le gouvernement du Canada répond aux appels à l'action 1 à 5 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

1. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de même qu'aux gouvernements autochtones de s'engager à réduire le nombre d'enfants autochtones pris en charge en ayant recours aux moyens suivants :

  1. le contrôle et l'évaluation des enquêtes sur la négligence;
  2. l'affectation de ressources suffisantes pour permettre aux communautés autochtones et aux organismes de protection de l'enfance de garder les familles autochtones ensemble, dans les cas où il est sécuritaire de le faire, et de garder les enfants dans des environnements adaptés à leur culture, quel que soit l'endroit où ils habitent;
  3. la prise de mesures pour voir à ce que les travailleurs sociaux et les autres intervenants qui mènent des enquêtes liées à la protection de l'enfance soient bien renseignés et formés en ce qui touche l'histoire et les répercussions des pensionnats;
  4. la prise de mesures pour voir à ce que les travailleurs sociaux et les autres intervenants qui mènent des enquêtes liées à la protection de l'enfance soient bien renseignés et formés au sujet de la possibilité que les familles et les communautés autochtones représentent de meilleures solutions en vue de la guérison des familles;
  5. l'établissement d'une exigence selon laquelle tous les décideurs du milieu de la protection de l'enfance doivent tenir compte des répercussions de l'expérience des pensionnats sur les enfants et sur ceux qui leur fournissent des soins.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada a réalisé des investissements sans précédent pour mieux soutenir le bien-être des enfants et des familles dans les réserves, pour améliorer la qualité de l'éducation des enfants des Premières Nations et pour répondre aux besoins urgents en matière de logement dans les réserves. Ces investissements comprennent un soutien financier de 635 millions de dollars prévu dans le budget de 2016 sur 5 ans et sur une base continue, comme première étape pour combler les lacunes dans le financement des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations et offrir un soutien accru pour des services de prévention et de première ligne culturellement appropriés. Il s'agit d'une première étape pour régler le manque de fonds accordés aux services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations. Le budget de 2018 prévoyait un financement supplémentaire de 1,4 milliard de dollars sur 6 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2017 à 2018, pour le Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations afin de répondre aux pressions financières auxquelles sont confrontés les organismes de services à l'enfance et à la famille, tout en augmentant les ressources en matière de prévention pour la sécurité des enfants et afin que les familles puissent rester ensemble. Afin d'appuyer la sécurité et le bien-être des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves, Services aux Autochtones Canada se concentre sur la mise en œuvre des ordonnances du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne, y compris le remboursement du financement aux organismes de services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations en fonction des coûts réels de prévention, d'admission et d'évaluation, des frais juridiques, des réparations d'immeubles et des petits organismes œuvrant dans l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant, ainsi que la réforme du programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations. Les solutions comprennent toutefois plusieurs facettes et nécessiteront la collaboration des Premières Nations, des provinces et des territoires pour s'assurer que le bien-être des enfants demeure la priorité.

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de collaborer avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis, ainsi qu'avec d'autres partenaires, pour faire progresser les réformes nécessaires des services destinés aux enfants et aux familles, ainsi que pour créer des solutions dirigées par les peuples autochtones qui mettent au premier plan le bien-être des enfants. Par exemple, il s'est engagé à verser 1 million de dollars au Ralliement national des Métis afin de les aider dans leur travail sur la mobilisation et la consultation visant à promouvoir une réforme adaptée sur le plan culturel.

Le gouvernement du Canada participe également à plus de 80 tables de discussions sur la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones et l'autodétermination au cours desquelles le Canada et les groupes autochtones explorent de nouvelles idées et de nouvelles façons de conclure des accords qui reconnaîtront les droits des groupes autochtones et feront progresser leur vision de l'autodétermination au profit de leurs communautés et de tous les Canadiens. Dans de nombreuses discussions existantes, les groupes autochtones ont identifié les services à l'enfance et à la famille comme un sujet de discussion important.

2. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral, en collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires, de préparer et de publier des rapports annuels sur le nombre d'enfants autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis) qui sont pris en charge, par comparaison avec les enfants non autochtones, ainsi que sur les motifs de la prise en charge d'enfants par l'État, sur les dépenses totales engagées pour les besoins des services de prévention et de nature autre offerts par les organismes de protection de l'enfance, et sur l'efficacité des diverses interventions.

Que se passe-t-il?

En janvier 2018, Services aux Autochtones Canada a tenu une réunion d'urgence sur les services destinés aux enfants et aux familles afin de discuter de la façon de collaborer avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis pour transformer les services de protection de l'enfance et ce, pour que ces services placent réellement l'enfant au centre des priorités, qu'ils soient dirigés par la communauté et qu'ils soient axés sur la prévention et sur les droits de l'enfant. Cette réunion a rassemblé les partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones pour discuter de la réforme ainsi que de la manière de surveiller collectivement nos efforts et d'en rendre compte comme le préconisent les appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation. Cette réunion a été l'occasion, entre autres, de faire le point sur la situation actuelle et les prochaines étapes clés. Les principaux sujets abordés comprenaient la collecte et la publication des données, l'établissement d'objectifs mesurables et la communication de l'information sur les enfants autochtones pris en charge au Canada.

Depuis l'automne 2018, le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec les provinces, les territoires et les partenaires autochtones pour élaborer une stratégie de données et d'élaboration de rapports qui permettra de brosser un tableau plus complexe des résultats des enfants pris en charge et des difficultés éprouvées par les enfants et les familles autochtones afin d'améliorer la prestation de services.

3. Nous demandons à tous les ordres de gouvernement de voir à la pleine mise en œuvre du principe de Jordan.

Que se passe-t-il?

Depuis 2016, le gouvernement a débloqué des fonds de 679,9 millions de dollars dans l'application du principe de Jordan afin de répondre à des besoins immédiats en matière de services de santé, de services sociaux et de services d'éducation. Il s'agit, entre autres, de demandes de soutien en santé mentale, de fournitures médicales, de services d'orthophonie et de soutien à l'éducation.

Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) s'engage pleinement à mettre en œuvre le principe de Jordan et à se conformer aux ordonnances du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne. SAC continue de surveiller le respect des ordonnances du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne en plus d'en faire le suivi et collabore avec ses partenaires pour améliorer les processus d'examen et d'évaluation des demandes liées au principe de Jordan ainsi que pour mettre sur pied un système de soins coordonnés.

SAC continuera de communiquer avec les familles des Premières Nations, les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les partenaires provinciaux ou territoriaux pour les sensibiliser au principe de Jordan au moyen de communications proactives et d'une approche marketing.

Le 18 septembre 2018, le gouvernement du Canada en partenariat avec l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami a annoncé qu'un cadre et une initiative propres aux Inuit, Les enfants d'abord, sont en cours d'élaboration et que des mesures provisoires sont prises pour aider les familles inuites à soumettre des demandes à SAC au nom d'enfants inuits ayant besoin de soutien, de produits, de services en santé et de services sociaux et éducatifs.

Pour s'assurer que les enfants des Premières Nations continuent d'avoir accès aux services dont ils ont besoin, le budget de 2019 a annoncé un investissement de 1,2 milliard de dollars sur 3 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020. Au cours de cette période, le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations continueront de travailler ensemble à l'élaboration d'une approche à long terme afin d'améliorer les services offerts aux enfants des Premières Nations, fondé sur le principe de Jordan.

Afin de répondre aux besoins immédiats des enfants inuits, le budget de 2019 a annoncé d'investir 220 millions de dollars sur 5 ans, à compter de l'exercice financier de 2019 à 2020, dans la prestation de services aux enfants inuits, alors que se poursuivent les travaux avec les partenaires inuits et les autres partenaires gouvernementaux afin d'améliorer les capacités locales nécessaires à la prestation de services.

4. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral de mettre en place des dispositions législatives en matière de protection des enfants autochtones qui établissent des normes nationales en ce qui a trait aux cas de garde et de prise en charge par l'État concernant des enfants autochtones, et qui prévoient des principes qui :

  1. confirment le droit des gouvernements autochtones d'établir et de maintenir en place leurs propres organismes de protection de l'enfance;
  2. exigent des organismes de protection de l'enfance et des tribunaux qu'ils tiennent compte dans leurs décisions des séquelles laissées par les pensionnats;
  3. établissent, en tant que priorité de premier plan, une exigence selon laquelle le placement temporaire ou permanent des enfants autochtones le soit dans un milieu adapté à leur culture.

Que se passe-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada consulte ses partenaires de partout au pays sur la façon de réformer le bien-être des enfants autochtones. Dans le cadre de ce processus, SAC a entamé des discussions avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et la Nation métisse, ainsi que les nations signataires de traités et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, pour élaborer conjointement des options relatives à une mesure législative fédérale possible qui ouvrirait la voie à une réforme complète. Un total de 65 séances de mobilisation ont été organisées à l'été et à l'automne 2018 avec près de 2 000 participants. SAC continuera de faire avancer ce travail en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones.

En plus de déployer ces efforts, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à prendre 6 mesures :

  • poursuivre les travaux pour mettre en œuvre l'ensemble des ordonnances du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne et réformer les services aux enfants et aux familles des Premières Nations, notamment en adoptant un modèle de financement souple : le Canada a commencé à mettre en œuvre les ordonnances et, par exemple, finance les coûts réels des organismes dans les zones commandées par le tribunal et a créé un comité consultatif sur la réforme du bien-être de l'enfance;
  • changer l'orientation des programmes pour qu'ils soient plutôt axés sur la prévention et l'intervention précoce : le Canada travaille avec ses partenaires pour changer radicalement le système afin qu'il soit véritablement centré sur l'enfant, dirigé par la communauté et axé sur la prévention;
  • soutenir les communautés pour réduire les contraintes associées aux secteurs de compétence et examiner la possibilité d'élaborer conjointement une loi fédérale sur les services à l'enfance : tel que mentionné ci-dessus, SAC a noué des liens avec des partenaires au cours de l'été et début de l'automne 2018;
  • accélérer les travaux des tables techniques et trilatérales en cours dans l'ensemble du pays : des tables tripartites, des groupes de travail techniques et des comités consultatifs régionaux sont en place dans chaque province et au Yukon. Le Canada travaille avec ses partenaires pour accélérer le travail de ces initiatives en faveur de la réforme;
  • appuyer les dirigeants inuits et métis pour mettre sur pied une réforme adaptée à la culture : des forums sur les mécanismes bilatéraux permanents ont été mis en place entre le Canada et la Nation métisse et l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, ainsi que l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, pour fournir une tribune fondée sur la distinction permettant d'établir conjointement les priorités en matière de réforme et de surveiller les résultats;
  • élaborer une stratégie en matière de données et de rapports avec les provinces, les territoires et les partenaires autochtones : le Canada collabore avec ses partenaires à l'élaboration d'une stratégie de collecte de données et de rapports qui permettra de brosser un tableau plus complet des résultats obtenus par les enfants pris en charge et des difficultés éprouvées par les enfants et les familles autochtones, pour améliorer la prestation des services.

Il est essentiel que ces efforts soient menés par les dirigeants et les communautés autochtones conformément à la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et la Convention des Nations Unies sur les droits de l'enfant. Les articles 3 et 4 sur le droit à l'autodétermination et à l'autonomie en particulier sont pertinents à ces efforts.

Le 21 juin 2019, le projet de loi C-92, une Loi concernant les enfants, les jeunes et les familles des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, a reçu la sanction royale. Élaboré conjointement avec les partenaires autochtones, le projet de loi C-92 affirme le droit inhérent des Autochtones d'exercer leur compétence en matière de services à l'enfance et à la famille et est conforme à la ratification par le gouvernement du Canada de la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits de l'enfant et aux engagements pris quant à la mise en œuvre de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones. Le projet de loi affirme le droit des gouvernements des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis d'exercer leur compétence sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille et établir des principes nationaux tels que l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant, la continuité culturelle et l'égalité réelle pour guider l'interprétation et l'administration du projet de loi. Ces principes permettraient de guider les communautés autochtones, ainsi que les provinces et les territoires, dans la prestation des services à l'enfance et à la famille de façon à ne pas séparer les familles et à réduire le nombre d'enfants autochtones pris en charge.

5. Nous demandons au gouvernement fédéral, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de même qu'aux gouvernements autochtones d'élaborer des programmes d'éducation destinés aux parents et qui sont adaptés à la culture des familles autochtones.

Que se passe-t-il?

Grâce à la création de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC), il existe désormais une plate-forme pour réunir un éventail de mécanismes de soutien relatifs à la santé maternelle et infantile, le Programme d'aide préscolaire aux Autochtones, la prévention de la violence familiale ainsi que d'autres programmes. Nous pourrons ainsi briser les cloisonnements et mieux soutenir la santé et le bien-être des enfants, des parents et des communautés autochtones.

Les investissements prévus dans le budget de 2016 de 634,8 millions de dollars sur 5 ans et au-delà ont été accordé pour appuyer des services de prévention culturellement adaptés et une prestation de services de première ligne. De plus, afin d'assurer un financement adéquat pour la prestation continue de services de prévention, de protection et de bien-être adaptés aux cultures des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves, on a prévu dans le budget de 2018 un nouveau financement de plus de 1,4 milliard de dollars sur 6 ans, à compter de l'exercice de 2017 à 2018, pour les services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations. Cela comprend un volet de financement dédié aux initiatives de bien-être et de compétence des communautés pour aider les communautés des Premières Nations à diriger l'élaboration et la prestation de services de prévention et à exercer un contrôle accru sur le bien-être de leurs enfants et de leurs familles.

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de collaborer avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et la Nation métisse, ainsi qu'avec d'autres partenaires, pour :

  • faire progresser les réformes nécessaires des services destinés aux enfants et aux familles;
  • créer des solutions dirigées par les peuples autochtones qui mettent au premier plan le bien-être des enfants;
  • collaborer avec le Ralliement national des Métis pour prendre les mesures nécessaires pour trouver des solutions menées par la communauté et axées sur la prévention.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :