Short history of Northwest Territories Devolution

2014 On April 1, Northwest Territories Devolution Agreement comes into force.

2014 The Northwest Territories Devolution Act receives Royal Assent on March 25, becomes law. First elements of the modernized regulatory regime come into force.

2014 In January, the Senate Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs holds public hearings in Yellowknife on Bill C-15.

2013 Bill C-15, Northwest Territories Devolution Act, is introduced in the House of Commons on December 3.

2013 The Final Northwest Territories Lands and Resources Devolution Agreement is signed on June 25, by Canada, the Government of the Northwest Territories, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Gwich'in Tribal Council and the Tlicho Government.

2011 The Agreement-in-Principle for NWT Devolution is signed by the Government of Canada, the Government of the Northwest Territories, the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, the Northwest Territory Métis Nation, the Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, the Gwich'in Tribal Council and the Tlicho Government.

2010 The first of over 50 consultation meetings is held; meetings would continue to be held over the next three years.

2010 John Pollard is appointed Canada's Chief Federal Negotiator leading consultations and negotiations with the GNWT and Aboriginal leadership on changes to the Land and Water Boards and amendments to the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act and the Territorial Lands Act.

2004 NWT Lands and Resources Framework Agreement signed by Canada, Government of the Northwest Territories and Aboriginal Summit.

1988 Responsibility for the delivery of health care services is transferred to the Government of the Northwest Territories.

1987 Canada transfers forestry and fire suppression to the Government of the Northwest Territories.

1986 A series of programs and responsibilities devolved to the territorial governments in both Northwest Territories and Yukon, including airports, health, highways and inland fisheries.

1979 Northwest Territories Council is renamed the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly.

1975 Northwest Territories Council becomes a fully elected body and Dene, Métis and Inuit members form the majority on the 15-seat Council.

1967 Capital of the Northwest Territories is established in Yellowknife and the seat of government is moved from Ottawa.

Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Don't include personal information (telephone, email, SIN, financial, medical, or work details).
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Date modified: