Papal visit support for Indigenous communities

Pope Francis is travelling to Canada from July 24 to 29, 2022, where he will visit Alberta, Quebec and Nunavut.

Pope Francis' visit is being organized by the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops. Please consult their official website for information, including the itinerary and registration for in person events: Pope Francis' visit to Canada.

The Government of Canada is providing support to First Nations, Inuit, and Métis communities, including urban and off-reserve organizations, for community-led initiatives related to the July 2022 papal visit and the legacy of residential schools, such as healing activities, events, ceremonies and travel for Survivors.

Mental health supports

Throughout the papal visit trauma-informed mental wellness supports will continue to be available to residential school Survivors, their families, and communities, including Traditional Healers, Elders, and other mental wellness supports. Indigenous mental wellness workers and cultural support providers will also be available at specific papal events.

The Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program provides access to cultural and emotional support services and professional mental health counselling to eligible Survivors of residential schools and their families: Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program.

National helplines and other mental wellness services will continue to be available during the papal visit.

On this page

About the papal visit support

Funding will be provided to First Nations, Inuit, and Métis communities and governments, as well as a limited number of urban Indigenous organizations and organizations serving Indigenous women and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people.

Communities and organizations will be contacted directly.

Funds will flow to First Nation, Inuit and Métis communities and organizations in a flexible way that respects Indigenous communities' right to implement their own trauma-informed and culturally grounded responses to address specific needs identified by communities and their members.

Who this supports

Supported activities

Reporting requirements for funding

Funding provided to communities and organizations is flowing through existing contribution agreements wherever possible and using existing funding streams, via the Mental Wellness program (First Nations and Inuit Health Branch) or the Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples (UPIP). Within the amount of the funding allocated for a community or organization, funds can be used to reimburse expenses for eligible activities that have already been incurred this fiscal year. Recipients are encouraged to consider partnering to hold joint activities.

Support provided to communities and organizations will be subject to the same reporting requirements as other Mental Wellness or Urban Programming for Indigenous Peoples funding.

Papal visit event locations

During the papal visit to Canada from July 24 to July 29, 2022, Pope Francis will travel to Alberta, Quebec and Nunavut.

For a complete list of the dates, times and locations of the papal visit to First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities, please see the papal visit website.

Television and webcast coverage of events

Video feeds of official papal visit events will be made available so television broadcasters can provide coverage. Livestream coverage of official papal events will also be accessible from the papal visit website.

In addition to French, English, American Sign Language and Quebec Sign Language, interpretation of the broadcasted events will be available in 12 Indigenous languages through webcast and interested broadcasters:

For more information please contact your local FNIHB regional office (or First Nations Health Authority in British Columbia): First Nations and Inuit health regional offices.

Date modified:

Financement de la visite papale pour les communautés autochtones

Le pape François se rendra au Canada du 24 au 29 juillet 2022 et il visitera l'Alberta, le Québec et le Nunavut.

La visite du pape François est organisée par la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada. Veuillez consulter leur site Web officiel pour obtenir des informations, notamment sur l'itinéraire et l'inscription aux activités en personne : La visite du pape François au Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada offre un soutien aux communautés des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, y compris les organisation en milieu urbain et hors réserve, pour appuyer les initiatives communautaires liées à la visite papale en juillet 2022 et à celles liées aux séquelles laissées par les pensionnats, comme les activités de guérison, les rassemblements, les cérémonies et les déplacements des survivants.

Mesures de soutien en santé mentale

Tout au long de la visite papale, des mesures de soutien en santé mentale tenant compte des traumatismes continueront d'être offerts aux survivants des pensionnats, à leurs familles et à leurs communautés, notamment des guérisseurs traditionnels, des Aînés et d'autres mesures de soutien en matière de bien-être mental. Des travailleurs autochtones spécialisés dans le bien-être mental et le soutien culturel seront également disponibles lors de certains événements liés à la visite papale.

Le Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens offre des services de soutien affectif et culturel et des services professionnels en santé mentale aux survivants des pensionnats et à leurs familles : Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens.

Des lignes d'assistance téléphonique nationales et d'autres services de bien-être mental continueront d'être disponibles pendant la visite papale.

Sur cette page

À propos de la visite papale

Des allocations directes seront accordées aux communautés et aux gouvernements des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis, ainsi qu'à un nombre limité d'organisations et d'organismes autochtones en milieu urbain au service des femmes autochtones et des personnes 2ELGBTQQIA+.

On communiquera directement avec les communautés et les organismes.

Les fonds seront versés aux communautés et aux organisations des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis et celles-ci pourront utiliser les fonds comme bon leur semble; cela permet de respecter le droit des communautés autochtones de mettre en œuvre leurs propres réponses, fondées sur les traumatismes et la culture, en vue de répondre aux besoins ciblés par les communautés et leurs membres.

Qui cela soutient

Activités admissibles

Exigences en matière d'élaboration de rapports

Le financement fourni aux communautés et organisations autochtones sera, dans la mesure du possible, versé dans le cadre d'accords de contribution existants et à l'aide des volets de financement existants, par l'entremise du programme de mieux-être mental (Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits) ou des programmes pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. Dans la limite du montant du financement alloué à une communauté ou à une organisation, les fonds peuvent servir à rembourser des dépenses pour des activités admissibles qui ont déjà été engagées cet exercice financier. On invite les bénéficiaires à envisager un partenariat pour organiser des activités conjointes.

Le soutien financier fourni aux communautés et aux organismes sera assujetti aux mêmes exigences en matière d'élaboration de rapports que les autres fonds versés dans le cadre du Programme de mieux-être mental ou du Programme pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain.

Lieux des événements de la visite papale

Au cours de la visite papale au Canada, du 24 au 29 juillet 2022, le pape François se rendra en Alberta, au Québec et au Nunavut.

Pour une liste complète des dates, heures et lieux de la visite papale aux communautés des Premières Nations, consultez la programmation sur le site Web de la visite papale.

Couverture télévisée et webdiffusion des événements

Les flux vidéo des événements officiels de la visite papale seront disponibles afin que les télédiffuseurs puissent en assurer la couverture. Il y aura également une couverture en direct des événements officiels liés à la visite du pape sur le site Web de la visite papale.

En plus du français, de l'anglais, de l'American Sign Language et de la langue des signes du Québec, l'interprétation des événements diffusés sera disponible dans 12 langues autochtones grâce à des webdiffusions et à des diffuseurs intéressés :

Pour plus d'informations, communiquez avec le bureau régional de la DGSPNI de votre région (ou l'Autorité sanitaire des Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique) : Santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit - bureaux régionaux.

Date de modification :