A Time to Commemorate: National Indigenous History Month 2021

Ministers Bennett, Miller and Vandal encourage all peoples living in Canada to commemorate First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples this National Indigenous History Month.

A Time to Commemorate: National Indigenous History Month 2021

Transcript

Text on screen: National Indigenous History Month 2021 is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

Hon. Daniel Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs: Kwe kwe, Ullukkut, Tansi, bonjour, hello! June is National Indigenous History Month, a time for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate Indigenous history, peoples, and cultures.

This month, we encourage everyone to learn more about the many outstanding contributions Indigenous Peoples have made and continue to make in this country.

We hope all Canadians will expand their knowledge and gain a greater appreciation and understanding of Indigenous peoples, their history, and their culture.

Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations: This month is a time to honour the distinct heritage, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs of First Nations, Inuit and the Métis Nation.

All Canadians need to better understand the damaging intergenerational impacts of colonization. As a Government, we are taking steps to eliminate systemic racism, achieve equity and advance reconciliation, and celebrate Indigenous knowledge and culture.

This month, we encourage you to read, or re-read, the TRC Calls to Action, the Calls for Justice of the National Inquiry, or to read a book by a First Nations, Inuit or Métis author to expand your horizons and understand Canada better.

Hon. Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services: The courage and strength demonstrated by Indigenous Peoples and communities throughout the COVID-19 pandemic do not go unnoticed. We must keep in mind the generations of hard work and remarkable leadership of Indigenous Peoples to overcome and persevere through countless of challenges.

Today, we recognize the immeasurable contributions made by First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Learning doesn't end after today, it's a continuous process and journey, and I encourage all Canadians to do their part today and every day.

Meegwetch. Qujannamiik. Marci. Thank you. Merci.

Date modified:

Un temps à commémorer : Mois national de l'histoire autochtone 2021

Les ministres Bennett, Miller et Vandal encouragent tous les peuples vivant au Canada à célébrer les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis en ce Mois national de l'histoire autochtone.

Un temps à commémorer : Mois national de l'histoire autochtone 2021

Transcription

Texte sur l'écran : Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats autochtones.

L'hon. Daniel Vandal, Ministre des Affaires du Nord : Kwe kwe, Ullukkut, Tansi, bonjour, hello ! Le mois de juin, c'est le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone et c'est une occasion pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes de reconnaître et de célébrer l'histoire, les peuples et les cultures autochtones.

Ce mois-ci, nous encourageons tout le monde à en apprendre davantage sur les contributions exceptionnelles passées et présentes des Autochtones dans ce pays.

Nous espérons que tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes en profiteront pour élargir leurs connaissances afin de mieux apprécier et comprendre les peuples autochtones, ainsi que leur histoire et leur culture.

L'hon. Carolyn Bennett, Ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones : Ce mois est l'occasion de souligner le patrimoine, les langues, les pratiques culturelles et les croyances spirituelles distinctes des Premières Nations, des Inuit et de la Nation métisse.

Tous les Canadiens doivent mieux comprendre les impacts intergénérationnels de la colonisation. Comme gouvernement, nous prenons des mesures pour éliminer le racisme systémique, atteindre l'égalité et faire avancer la réconciliation et célébrer la sagesse et les coutumes autochtones.

Ce mois-ci, nous vous encourageons à lire, ou relire, les Appels à l'action, les Appels à la Justice ou de lire un livre d'un auteur des Premières Nations, Inuit ou Métis pour étendre vos horizons et votre compréhension du Canada.

L'hon. Marc Miller, Ministre des Services aux Autochtones : Le courage et la détermination dont ont fait preuves les communautés autochtones tout au long de la pandémie de COVID-19 ne passent pas inaperçus. Nous devons garder à l'esprit le dur labeur et le formidable leadership des peuples autochtones qui, de génération en génération, ont surmonté d'innombrables difficultés et continuent à avancer.

Aujourd'hui, nous soulignons les contributions extraordinaires des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis. L'apprentissage ne se termine pas à la fin de cette journée. Il s'agit d'un processus continu et j'encourage la population canadienne à y contribuer aujourd'hui et à tous les jours.

Meegwetch. Qujannamiik. Marci. Thank you. Merci.

Date de modification :