25th anniversary of the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management

The Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations celebrates the 25th anniversary of the signing of the Framework Agreement on First Nations Land Management. The Framework Agreement recognizes First Nations' inherent right of self-government by creating an option for participating First Nations to manage and govern their land, environment and resources using a community approved land code rather than the lands-related provisions of the Indian Act.

Transcript

Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations Carolyn Bennett: Kwe kwe, hello, bonjour!

My name is Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations. Aanii Caroline Bennett n'dizhnikaaz, Toronto ndo n'jibaa minwaa. I am joining you today from my home in Toronto, on the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit where we honour all the Indigenous peoples who paddled these waters and whose moccasins walked these lands.

As Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations, I would like to congratulate you on 25 years of advancing self-determination. The Framework Agreement was originally signed by 13 First Nations. It speaks to your dedication and the resolve of the First Nations that you serve, that today 99 First Nations from 9 provinces and territories have removed 25% of the imposed Indian Act constraints over their daily lives. This agreement is a true nation-to-nation, government-to-government partnership and, by working together, has stood the test of time.

The Framework Agreement supports self-government by recognizing First Nations' Inherent right to manage and govern their reserve land, environment and resources using a community-approved land code rather than be subject to the lands-related provisions of the Indian Act.

Efforts like these are critical towards the decolonization of laws and regulations governing reserve lands, as well as the elimination of colonial-era restrictions of the Indian Act.

Everyone in our country must acknowledge that the Canada we know today was built on the legacy of colonization, and the displacement of Indigenous peoples from their homelands. The Framework Agreement is an important step towards righting this wrong.

The Government of Canada is firmly committed to advancing reconciliation and renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based upon the affirmation of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership.

Once again, congratulations on this 25th anniversary.

Meegwetch. Thank you. Merci.

Text on screen: Canada Wordmark

Date modified:

25e anniversaire de l’Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des Premières Nations

La ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones célèbre le 25e anniversaire de la signature de l'Accord-cadre relatif à la gestion des terres des Premières Nations. L'Accord-cadre reconnaît le droit inhérent des Premières Nations à l'autonomie gouvernementale en créant une option permettant aux Premières Nations participantes de gérer et de gouverner leurs terres, leur environnement et leurs ressources en utilisant un code foncier approuvé par la communauté plutôt que les dispositions relatives aux terres de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Transcription

Ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones Carolyn Bennett : Kwe kwe, hello, bonjour!

Ici Carolyn Bennett, ministre des Relations entre la Couronne et les Autochtones.

Aanii  Caroline Bennett n'dizhnikaaz, Toronto ndo n'jibaa minwaa. Je vous parle aujourd'hui de ma maison à Toronto, sur le territoire traditionnel des Mississaugas of the Credit, où nous honorons tous les peuples autochtones qui ont pagayé sur ces eaux et dont les mocassins ont parcouru ces terres.

Comme ministre des Relations entre la Couronne et les Autochtones, je tiens à vous féliciter pour ces 25 années de progrès en matière d'autodétermination. L'accord-cadre a été signé à l'origine par 13 Premières Nations. Il témoigne de votre dévouement et de la détermination des communautés que vous servez. Aujourd'hui, 99 Premières Nations de 9 provinces et territoires ont éliminé 25 % des contraintes imposées par la Loi sur les Indiens dans leur vie quotidienne. Cet accord est un véritable partenariat de nation à nation, de gouvernement à gouvernement. En travaillant ensemble, il a résisté à l'épreuve du temps.

L'accord-cadre soutient l'autonomie gouvernementale en reconnaissant le droit inhérent des Premières Nations à gérer et à gouverner leurs terres, l'environnement et les ressources de leur réserve ainsi qu'en utilisant un code foncier approuvé par la communauté plutôt que d'être soumises aux dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens.

De tels efforts sont essentiels pour réécrire les lois et règlements régissant les terres des réserves, pour procéder à l'élimination des restrictions coloniales de la Loi sur les Indiens.

Tous les habitants de notre pays doivent reconnaître que le Canada que nous connaissons aujourd'hui a été construit sur l'héritage de la colonisation et le déplacement des peuples autochtones de leurs terres. L'accord-cadre est un pas important vers la réparation de ce tort.

Le gouvernement du Canada est fermement déterminé à faire progresser la réconciliation et à renouveler sa relation avec les peuples autochtones, sur la base de l'affirmation des droits, du respect, de la coopération et du partenariat.

Encore une fois, félicitations à l'occasion de ce 25e anniversaire.

Meegwetch. Merci. Thank you.

Texte à l'écran : Canada mot-symbole

Date de modification :