Ministers Vandal, Miller, Bennett and Guilbeault mark Orange Shirt Day 2020 (video)

Ministers Vandal, Miller, Bennett and Guilbeault mark Orange Shirt Day 2020

Transcript

Text on screen:

This video deals with topics that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering.

Please call the National Indian Residential Schools Crisis Line at 1-866-925-4419 if you or someone you know is triggered while watching this video. You can also call the toll-free Hope for Wellness Help Line at 1-855-242-3310 or connect to the online chat at hopeforwellness.ca.

Hon. Dan Vandal: Kwe, bonjour, hello. Today, September 30th, is Orange Shirt Day, a time where Canadians across the country will be wearing orange to raise awareness of the tragic legacy of residential schools, and to honour the thousands of survivors.

Orange Shirt Day was inspired by the story of Phyllis (Jack) Webstad, a residential school survivor. At the age of 6, Phyllis went to the St. Joseph Mission Indian Residential School wearing the bright-orange shirt bought by her grandmother. She said she felt "bright and exciting", just like her shirt. But on the first day of school, her new shirt was forcibly taken from her, along with her dignity.

This story is one of the many examples of harm that was inflicted upon the self-esteem and well-being of children who were forced to attend residential schools. Today, we acknowledge the denial of the rights and the wrongdoings of the past, we recognize the present-day impacts across generations, including the trauma carried by survivors and their families.

Hon. Marc Miller: As we continue to move forward on the path of reconciliation, we must never forget the tragic impact of residential schools and we must learn from the experiences shared by survivors.

Orange Shirt Day is about creating space for survivors like Phyllis and their loved ones to share their stories. Stories they may never have had a chance to tell. It's also a day to acknowledge the courage of the former students and families who have come forward to tell and to share their truth.

And it is an invitation to the rest of us to listen and read about these stories with compassion and love. To learn the harsh realities of what actually happened to children at residential schools. To recognize that those children are now adults who still carry this trauma. And to take part in those difficult conversations on our path to reconciliation.

Hon. Carolyn Bennett: It is only by increasing our collective understanding of the damage done by colonial policies that we will break down barriers and racism towards Indigenous peoples in Canada.

We encourage everyone to educate themselves about their role on the journey of reconciliation. Take the day to expand your reading list.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission's 94 Calls to Action is a good place to start. The Calls to Action can provide you with a fundamental understanding of what specific actions you can take as an individual, and what you should encourage within your own community to advance reconciliation with First Nations, Inuit and Métis in Canada.

Hon. Steven Guilbeault: That is why we invite you to wear your orange shirt today. This is a moment that we must collectively seize to raise awareness amongst our friends, family and within our communities.

Today is also an opportunity to reaffirm our commitment to make September 30th a statutory holiday. We are working on it and we will have news to share in the near future.

They say it takes a whole village to raise a child. It's true. Every child deserves to feel appreciated, supported and listened to. Above all, every child deserves to feel hopeful about his or her future. Together, we will make that happen.

Text on screen: (Canada wordmark).

Related link

Date modified:

Les ministres Vandal, Miller, Bennett et Guilbeault soulignent la Journée du chandail orange 2020 (vidéo)

Les ministres Vandal, Miller, Bennett et Guilbeault soulignent la Journée du chandail orange 2020

Transcription

Texte à l'écran :

Cette vidéo traite de sujets pouvant être traumatisants. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le besoin de prendre certaines mesures de sécurité afin de réduire le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées.

Appelez la ligne d'écoute téléphonique de Résolution des questions de pensionnats indiens au 1-866-925-4419 si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez souffre d'un traumatisme et réagit en regardant cette  vidéo. Vous pouvez aussi joindre la Ligne d'écoute d'espoir pour le mieux-être en composant sans frais le 1-855-242-3310 ou branchez-vous en ligne par clavardage à espoirpourlemieuxetre.ca.

L'honorable Dan Vandal : Kwe, bonjour, hello. Aujourd'hui, le 30 septembre, les Canadiens de tout le pays porteront du orange pour sensibiliser les gens à l'héritage tragique des pensionnats indiens et pour honorer les milliers de survivants.

La Journée du chandail orange est inspirée de l'histoire d'une survivante des pensionnats, Phyllis (Jack) Webstad. À 6 ans, Phyllis est allée au pensionnat indien Mission St. Joseph vêtue du chandail orange que sa grand-mère lui avait acheté. Elle dit s'être sentie « vibrante et géniale », tout comme son chandail. Mais, en cette première journée d'école, on lui a enlevé son chandail orange, de même que sa dignité.

Cette histoire est l'un des nombreux exemples de préjudices infligés à l'estime de soi et au bien-être des enfants qui ont été forcés de fréquenter les pensionnats. Aujourd'hui, nous nous rappelons les méfaits du passé, le retrait des droits et nous reconnaissons les impacts qui affectent encore de nos jours les survivants et leurs familles.

L'honorable Marc Miller : Alors que nous continuons à avancer sur la voie de la réconciliation, nous ne devons jamais oublier l'impact tragique des pensionnats et nous devons tirer les leçons des expériences partagées par les survivants.

La Journée du chandail orange vise à créer un espace pour les survivants comme Phyllis et leurs proches afin qu'ils puissent partager leurs histoires. Des histoires qu'ils n'ont peut-être jamais eu la chance de raconter. C'est aussi une journée pour reconnaître le courage des anciens élèves et des familles qui se sont manifestés pour partager leur vérité.

C'est une invitation pour nous tous à écouter et lire leurs histoires avec compassion et amour. À apprendre les dures réalités de ce que les enfants des pensionnats ont vraiment vécu. Une occasion pour reconnaître que ces enfants sont maintenant des adultes qui portent toujours la trace de ces traumatismes. Ainsi, que de prendre part à ces conversations difficiles sur notre chemin vers la réconciliation.

L'honorable Carolyn Bennett : Ce n'est qu'en améliorant notre compréhension collective des dommages causés par les politiques coloniales que nous pourrons faire tomber les barrières et le racisme envers les peuples autochtones du Canada.

Nous encourageons chacun à s'informer sur son rôle dans le processus de réconciliation. Prenez la journée pour allonger votre liste de lecture.

Les 94 appels à l'action de la Commission vérité et réconciliation sont un bon point de départ. Les appels à l'action peuvent vous fournir une compréhension fondamentale des mesures spécifiques que vous pouvez prendre en tant qu'individu, et de ce que vous devriez encourager au sein de votre propre communauté pour faire avancer la réconciliation avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis au Canada.

L'honorable Steven Guilbeault : C'est pourquoi nous vous invitons à porter votre chandail orange aujourd'hui. C'est un moment que nous devons collectivement saisir pour sensibiliser nos amis, nos familles et nos communautés à l'importance de cette journée.

C'est aussi l'occasion de réaffirmer notre engagement à faire du 30 septembre un jour férié. Nous y travaillons et aurons des nouvelles à partager très prochainement.

On dit qu'il faut tout un village entier pour élever un enfant. C'est vrai. Chaque enfant mérite de se sentir apprécié, soutenu et écouté. Surtout, chaque enfant mérite de croire en son avenir. C'est ensemble que nous y parviendrons.

Texte sur l'écran : (mot-symbole Canada)

Lien connexe

Date de modification :