Bear Witness Day

Spirit Bear’s birthday is commemorated on May 10, 2020, an important day in the history of Jordan’s Principle. This is a chance to honour Jordan River Anderson’s legacy and also to learn about how Jordan's Principle is transforming the way government works. It allows us to reflect on past practices and be inspired by new paths that lie ahead.

Jordan’s Principle is named in memory of Jordan River Anderson, who was born in 1999 with multiple disabilities. When he was two years old, doctors said he could move to a special home for his medical needs. However, the federal and provincial governments could not agree on who should pay for his home-based care. Jordan remained in hospital until he passed away at the age of five, without ever having the opportunity to go to a home-like setting.

In December 2007, the House of Commons passed a unanimous motion: The government should immediately adopt a child first principle, based on Jordan's Principle, to resolve jurisdictional disputes involving the care of First Nations children.

You would like to show your support? Here are some COVID-19 safe ways you can commemorate Spirit Bear’s birthday at home:

If you, or your team, is interested in learning more about Jordan’s Principle, please contact Christina Reid, Jordan’s Principle Executive Director, at christinaa.reid@canada.ca.

Merci / Thank you / Ekosani / Miigwech / Meegwetch / Mahseecho / Mutna / Wopida / Hei Hei / Marci Cho / ᖁᐊᓇᖅᑯᑎᑦ / Quanaqqutit / Nakurmik / Kukwstsétsemc / Woliwun

Jean-François Tremblay
Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Daniel Quan-Watson
Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada


Sony Perron
Associate Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Diane Lafleur
Associate Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Date modified:

Journée de l’ourson témoin

L'anniversaire de Spirit Bear est commémoré le 10 mai 2020, un jour important dans l'histoire du principe de Jordan. C’est l’occasion d’honorer l’héritage de Jordan River Anderson et d’apprendre comment le principe de Jordan transforme le fonctionnement du gouvernement. Cela nous permettra également de réfléchir aux pratiques antérieures et de s’inspirer des nouvelles voies qui s’ouvrent à nous.

Le principe de Jordan est nommé en mémoire de Jordan River Anderson, né en 1999 avec de multiples handicaps. Quand il avait deux ans, les médecins ont dit qu'il pouvait déménager dans une maison spéciale répondant à ses besoins médicaux. Cependant, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial ne pouvaient s'entendre sur qui devrait payer ses soins à domicile. Jordan est resté à l'hôpital jusqu'à son décès à l'âge de cinq ans, sans jamais avoir pu se rendre dans un cadre familial.

En décembre 2007, la Chambre des communes a adopté une motion unanime : le gouvernement devrait immédiatement adopter un principe de priorité à l'enfant, basé sur le principe de Jordan, pour résoudre les conflits de compétence concernant la garde d'enfants des Premières Nations.

Vous souhaitez démontrer votre soutien? Voici quelques façons sûres de commémorer l'anniversaire de Spirit Bear à la maison, en temps de pandémie :

Si vous, ou votre équipe, souhaitez en savoir plus sur le principe de Jordan, veuillez contacter Christina Reid, directrice exécutive du principe de Jordan, à christinaa.reid@canada.ca.


Merci / Thank you / Ekosani / Miigwech / Meegwetch / Mahseecho / Mutna / Wopida / Hei Hei / Marci Cho / ᖁᐊᓇᖅᑯᑎᑦ / Quanaqqutit / Nakurmik / Kukwstsétsemc / Woliwun

Jean-François Tremblay
Sous-ministre, Services aux Autochtones Canada

Daniel Quan-Watson
Sous-ministre, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada


Sony Perron
Sous-ministre délégué, Services aux Autochtones Canada

Diane Lafleur
Sous-ministre déléguée, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Date de modification :