Ministers' message - COVID-19 pandemic response

We wanted to send a message of gratitude, thanks and sincere appreciation to all the Public Servants in all parts of the country working tirelessly to support Indigenous peoples, Northerners and all Canadians in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Whether you are working on the frontline or from your new home office, you are creating a significant impact and you should feel proud of what you are doing.

We are facing an unprecedented challenge when it comes to addressing COVID-19, but the work you are doing is ensuring Canadians have the support they need to get through these difficult times. We know this is not an easy time and many of you are working in very different circumstances – attempting to balance work and family life in this new reality. There is immense pressure on all of us.

We hope that you and your families are staying healthy, safe and physically distanced from those outside your bubble. Continue to reach out to your friends, families, colleagues and acquaintances. While we need to remain one hockey stick away (2 metres) from others (when out of the home for essential grocery trips), we can keep our social ties strong. It’s ok to not be ok too, and if that’s the case, there are resources available to support you such as the Employee Assistance Program and the Hope for Wellness Help Line. Please do not hesitate to reach out.

We are honoured to work with such a world class public service and proud of the work you do on behalf of Indigenous People, Northerners and indeed, all Canadians. We can see your hard work beginning to pay off. We will get through this – together.


Thank you again and we will see each other soon.

The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
The Honourable Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services
The Honourable Daniel Vandal, Minister of Northern Affairs

Date modified:

Message des ministres - réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19

Nous voulions envoyer un message de gratitude, de remerciement et d'appréciation sincères à tous les fonctionnaires de toutes les régions du pays qui travaillent sans relâche pour soutenir les Autochtones, les résidents du Nord et tous les Canadiens en réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19. Que vous travailliez sur la ligne de front ou depuis votre nouveau bureau, vous avez une incidence significative et vous devriez être fier de ce que vous faites.

Nous faisons face à un défi sans précédent lorsqu'il s'agit de faire face à la pandémie de COVID-19, mais le travail que vous faites consiste à garantir aux Canadiens le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour traverser cette période difficile. Nous savons que ce n'est pas une période facile et beaucoup d'entre vous travaillent dans des circonstances très différentes – en essayant de concilier le travail et la vie de famille dans cette nouvelle réalité. Nous sommes tous soumis à une immense pression.

Nous espérons que vous et vos familles restez en bonne santé, en sécurité et physiquement éloignés de ceux qui se trouvent en dehors de votre bulle. Continuez à tendre la main à vos amis, vos familles, vos collègues et vos connaissances. Bien que nous devions rester à une distance d'un bâton de hockey (2 mètres) les uns des autres (lorsque nous sortons de la maison pour des courses essentielles), nous pouvons maintenir des liens sociaux solides. C’est normal de ne pas toujours se sentir bien, et si c'est le cas, il existe des ressources pour vous aider comme le Programme d'aide aux employés et la Ligne d'écoute d'espoir. N'hésitez pas à demander de l’aide.

Nous sommes honorés de travailler avec un service public de classe mondiale et fiers du travail que vous faites au nom des populations autochtones, des résidents du Nord et, en fait, de tous les Canadiens. Nous pouvons voir que votre travail acharné commence à porter ses fruits. Nous nous en sortirons – ensemble.


Merci encore et nous nous reverrons bientôt.

L’honorable Carolyn Bennett, ministre des Relations Couronne-Autochtones
L’honorable Marc Miller, ministre des Services aux Autochtones
L’honorable Daniel Vandal, ministre des Affaires du Nord

Date de modification :