Tragedy in Nova Scotia

Following the tragic events that happened over the weekend in Nova Scotia, which have been felt from coast to coast, we would like to offer our sincere condolences and support to our colleagues in Atlantic Region as well as to the families and communities in Nova Scotia directly or indirectly affected by this unimaginable situation.

During such a tragedy, we often feel helpless and are looking for ways to show our support to those who are in need. If you would like to express your condolences, you can do so on the Facebook group StrongerTogetherNS or send an email to condolences@novascotia.ca

Because of the current circumstances related to COVID-19 and the inability to organize large gatherings, a virtual vigil will take place today, Friday, April 24, at 7:00 p.m. (Atlantic Daylight Time). The vigil will be broadcast on Facebook and YouTube and available through the Facebook page Online Vigil: Nova Scotia Remembers.

In these difficult times, remember to take time to take care of yourself, and also to reach out to your families, friends and colleagues.

If you need additional support, we recommend accessing the Employee Assistance Program at 1-800-268-7708. Indigenous employees can also contact the Hope for Wellness Help Line at 1-855-242-3310 or via online chat at hopeforwellness.ca. These two resources are available 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Thank you.


Daniel Watson
Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada


Diane Lafleur
Associate Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Sony Perron
Associate Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Date modified:

Tragédie en Nouvelle-Écosse

À la suite des événements tragiques survenus la fin de semaine dernière en Nouvelle-Écosse, et ressentis d’un océan à l’autre, nous aimerions transmettre nos plus sincères condoléances et notre appui à nos collègues dans la Région de l’Atlantique ainsi qu’aux familles et aux communautés de la Nouvelle-Écosse affectées de près ou de loin par cette situation inimaginable.

Lors d’une telle tragédie, nous nous sentons souvent impuissants et cherchons des moyens pour démontrer notre appui à ceux et celles qui en ont besoin. Si vous désirez exprimer vos condoléances, vous pouvez le faire sur le groupe Facebook StrongerTogetherNS (non disponible en français) ou envoyer un courriel à l’adresse condolences@novascotia.ca

Étant donné les circonstances actuelles entourant la COVID-19 et l’impossibilité d’organiser de grands rassemblements, une cérémonie virtuelle aura lieu aujourd’hui, le vendredi 24 avril, à 19 h (heure avancée de l’Atlantique). La cérémonie sera diffusée sur Facebook et YouTube et accessible à partir de la page Facebook Online Vigil: Nova Scotia Remembers (non disponible en français).

En cette période difficile, rappelez-vous de prendre du temps pour vous, mais aussi pour communiquer avec vos familles, amis et collègues.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide additionnelle, nous vous encourageons à avoir recours au Programme d'aide aux employés en composant le 1-800-268-770. De plus, les employés autochtones peuvent aussi communiquer avec la Ligne d'écoute d'espoir par téléphone au 1-855-242-3310 ou par clavardage à espoirpourlemieuxetre.ca. Ces deux ressources sont disponibles pour vous aider tous les jours, 24 heures sur 24.

Merci.


Daniel Watson
Sous-ministre, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Sous-ministre, Services aux Autochtones Canada


Diane Lafleur
Sous-ministre déléguée, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Sony Perron
Sous-ministre délégué, Services aux Autochtones Canada

Date de modification :