Students, casual and term employees

Due to the current situation with COVID-19 and the roll-out of the departmental Business Continuity Plan, only employees providing critical services within each branch are currently working. We understand that casual and term employees, as well as students, might feel that they are left behind at the moment.

We are aware that these are stressful times, especially since some contracts are ending very soon and, in most cases, we will not be able to renew them due to a lighter workload and, in the case of students, because there are not enough employees to supervise their work.

If you are in this situation and this generates financial issues, you will be able to apply for the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) to help you during these difficult times. This benefit falls under the Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan to help with COVID-19 related challenges.

We thank you for your contribution over the past few months, and we hope to have the pleasure to have you among our employees again in the future.


Daniel Watson
Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada


Diane Lafleur
Associate Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Sony Perron
Associate Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Date modified:

Étudiants, employés occasionnels et employés nommés pour une période déterminée

Compte tenu de la situation actuelle avec la COVID-19 et la mise en œuvre du plan de continuité des opérations des ministères, seuls les employés qui offrent des services critiques à l’intérieur de chaque direction générale travaillent présentement. Nous comprenons que les employés occasionnels, ceux nommés pour une période déterminée, de même que les étudiants, peuvent se sentir à l’écart durant ce temps.

Nous sommes conscients qu’il s’agit d’une période stressante, surtout puisque certains contrats arriveront à échéance très bientôt et que, dans la plupart des cas, nous ne serons pas en mesure de les renouveler à cause d’une charge de travail plus légère et, dans le cas des étudiants, parce qu’il n’y a pas assez d’employés pour superviser leur travail.

Si vous êtes dans cette situation et que cela vous cause des enjeux financiers, vous pourrez bénéficier de La nouvelle Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU) pour vous aider durant ces temps difficiles. Cette prestation fait partie du Plan d'intervention économique du Canada pour répondre aux enjeux reliés à la COVID-19.

Nous vous remercions pour votre contribution au cours des derniers mois et nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous compter de nouveau parmi nos employés dans le futur.


Daniel Watson
Sous-ministre, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Sous-ministre, Services aux Autochtones Canada


Diane Lafleur
Sous-ministre déléguée, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Sony Perron
Sous-ministre délégué, Services aux Autochtones Canada

Date de modification :