COVID-19: Mobility and access to essential infrastructure

As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, some provinces, territories, cities and Indigenous communities have begun to institute measures limiting movement of people across their borders. This might create additional stress and confusion for employees working in a different area than the one they live in.

The Treasury Board Secretariat is engaged with partners in other jurisdictions to ensure critical federal workers are able to continue to travel across and within the provinces and territories. Employees who are carrying out critical functions and cannot telework may be provided with a departmental letter to assist them in reporting for work and returning home. The letter will clearly identify the employee, their organization and the reason for their travel, and could be presented with government identification upon request. If you have experienced or expect difficulties commuting, please discuss with your manager.

In addition to New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, the Government of Quebec announced on April 1, 2020 increased measures aimed at limiting non-essential travel in and around the province in certain regions, including the Outaouais. Quebec authorities have informed the Government of Canada that they will permit public servants with both valid government identification and another piece of valid photo identification to continue to move freely, allowing them to perform critical federal services.

As the situation evolves, it is crucial that employees stay informed of the latest news in their area and follow the recommendations of their local health authorities. If recommendations change, please make sure you connect with your manager to discuss your options.

For the latest updates related to your workplace, please continue to access the Internet sites for Government of Canada employees, ISC employees and CIRNAC employees.

Thank you.



Daniel Watson
Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada


Diane Lafleur
Associate Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Sony Perron
Associate Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Date modified:

COVID-19 : Déplacement et accessibilité aux infrastructures essentielles

Alors que la situation concernant la COVID-19 continue à évoluer, certaines provinces, villes, communautés autochtones et certains territoires ont instauré des mesures limitant les déplacements de la population ou l'accès à leurs frontières. Ces décisions peuvent créer un stress additionnel et de la confusion pour les membres du personnel qui travaillent dans une localité différente de celle où ils demeurent.

Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor travaille avec les partenaires des autres administrations pour s'assurer que les travailleurs fédéraux essentiels peuvent continuer de se déplacer entre les provinces et territoires. Les employés qui remplissent des fonctions critiques et qui ne peuvent pas faire du télétravail peuvent obtenir une lettre du Ministère pour les aider à se rendre au travail et à en revenir. La lettre identifiera clairement l'employé, l'organisation pour laquelle il travaille ainsi que la raison de son déplacement. La lettre pourrait être présentée avec une pièce d'identité du gouvernement sur demande. Si vous avez eu des difficultés dans vos déplacements ou pensez en avoir, veuillez en discuter avec votre gestionnaire.

En plus du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé le 1er avril 2020 des mesures accrues visant à limiter les déplacements non nécessaires à l'intérieur de la province et aux alentours, dans certaines régions, dont l'Outaouais. Les autorités québécoises ont informé le gouvernement du Canada qu'elles permettront aux fonctionnaires munis à la fois d'une pièce d'identité gouvernementale valide et d'une autre pièce d'identité avec photo valide de continuer à se déplacer librement, ce qui leur permettra de fournir des services fédéraux indispensables.

Au fur et à mesure que la situation évolue, il est essentiel que les employés demeurent informés des dernières nouvelles dans leur région et qu'ils respectent les recommandations de leur autorité de santé publique locale. Si les recommandations changent, veuillez communiquer avec votre gestionnaire pour discuter des options.

Pour obtenir l'information la plus récente au sujet de votre milieu de travail, veuillez continuer de consulter les sites Internet pour les employés du gouvernement du Canada, de SAC et de RCAANC.

Merci.



Daniel Watson
Sous-ministre, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord

Jean-François Tremblay
Sous-ministre, Services aux Autochtones


Diane Lafleur
Sous-ministre déléguée, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord

Sony Perron
Sous-ministre délégué, Services aux Autochtones

Date de modification :