You want to know

This section contains information compiled from questions submitted by employees.

For more information on COVID-19 and for employees' information regarding telework, health, human resources and much more, please consult the Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) web page.

Telework/critical services

Indigenous Services Canada and Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada have activated their business continuity plans. This means that we will only continue to provide critical services to Canadians. Employees providing non-critical services are instructed to stay home until further notice. Employees providing critical services who are able to telework are encouraged to do so. Please consult your manager if you are unsure whether or not you are delivering a critical service.
Critical services include, but are not limited to:

A blanket authorization for telework cannot be provided as some functions cannot be fulfilled from a location other than a designated workplace. At this time, all situations should be considered. If you are performing critical work for the departments, or depending on the nature of the duties, telework may not be appropriate.

Network access/IT services

Our departments are expediting efforts to expand tools supporting teleworking. In addition to now supporting remote work through the VPN/SRA system, the Citrix access portal has been recently upgraded. Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat has been working with Shared Services Canada and departmental Chief Information Officers to maximize internet bandwidth to support remote work and prioritize network access tied to critical operations.

Therefore, all employees are asked to speak with their managers to discuss possible telework and alternative work arrangements, and determine if they deliver critical services by consulting the ISC DM message or the CIRNAC DM message – clarification on telework.

While network access will remain available within our national and regional offices as well as via smart phone, until further notice, the Departments will restrict access to the network (CITRIX or Government of Canada Secure Remote Access [GCSRA]) only to employees delivering critical services for 22 out of the 24 hours in a day.

For employees not delivering critical services, a 2-hour window, from 8pm to 10pm (EDT) will be made available every day to access the network to retrieve documents and update e-mail. We ask employees delivering critical services to work offline, if possible, during this 2-hour window.

As an exceptional measure, employees are invited to use their personal email for unclassified information and alternative means of communication, such as Webex, Facetime, Skype or Blackberry Messenger Enterprise (BBMe) application to communicate with colleagues, while respecting the Policy on Information Management.

If an employee is delivering a critical service and/or must access critical applications, managers must determine if:

If an employee is not deemed to be delivering critical services, managers must determine if the employee is:

The Service Desk Kiosk will be closed until further notice. All needed support will still be provided but delivered via phone call, email and/or remote desktop connection. Operating hours are from 7am to 8pm (EDT), Monday through Friday. Please contact the IM/IT Client Services Centre at 1-866-795-6465 or by email at aadnc.sti-its.aandc@canada.ca should you require further information.

Transport

Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) of Canada follows municipal and provincial directives with respect to the usage of public transportation. Therefore, employees who have such concerns or questions, should contact their municipal and provincial public transport.

At this time, employees must pay for their attendance at work (such as parking, public transport). Municipal and provincial authorities have not issued any directives to the effect that public transit is unsafe for the public. Employees not critical to departmental operations have been instructed to work from home. It is not excluded that this answer is subject to change according to the directives of the TBS.

Business continuity

If you need to organize a meeting, please look to integrate public health recommendations into your business practices. Under business continuity procedures face-to-face meetings may be unfeasible and create challenges for maintaining social distance. Consider replacing with alternate options, such as a multi-way call on an iPhone or on an android phone.

Employees are responsible for following their management's directions regarding reporting to work and workplace health procedures in the context of COVID-19. Notwithstanding, under the Canada Labour Code, employees have the right (with some exceptions) to refuse to do a job if there is reasonable cause to believe that the job presents a danger to themselves or another employee.

Procurement is an essential services. Requisition submitted before the published cut-off dates should be put in place and finalize before the year-end. Ancillary services from non-essential services such as BMU and Security Clearance validation might have an impact on the procurement timelines.

Accommodations

There is no office closure at this time. It is recommended that employees follow DMs' guidance on whether or not they should come in.

Public Services and Procurement Canada has developed an approach on the management and prevention of COVID-19, including cleaning and disinfecting protocols. For headquarters employees, PSPC has confirmed that BGIS will coordinate any request for cleaning/disinfection coming from departments when there is an incident of exposure.

Measures have been taken to provide hand sanitizer stations at appropriate locations.

For up to date information, please follow Health Canada's Public Service Occupational Health Program's advisories. Employees are encouraged to visit the Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) website for information about COVID-19 in the workplace. If needed, employees should discuss any operational requirements with their manager.

Health

As you know, the Public Health Agency of Canada has indicated that hand washing with soap and water is the best defense against common infectious diseases. Should soap and water not be readily available, employees should be encouraged to use hand sanitizer. Scent-free hand sanitizers should be available to employees in the workplace when soap and water are not readily available.

We are following the directives of the public, provincial and municipal authorities in the matter. Employees who do not provide critical service to Canadians should stay at home. We are waiting for Treasury Board of Canada management regarding employees who provide critical service to Canadians.

Employees wanting to get more tips on how to deal with COVID-19 in the workplace, and to learn about the supports available to them, should visit: COVID-19 and Mental Health @ Work

Human Resources

To respond to the health and safety of employees while recognizing operational need, Manager are asked to follow the direction of the Public Health Agency of Canada, the primary authoritative source of information for all Canadians on COVID-19, including Government of Canada employees. The move to business continuity operations was based upon this advice.

Employees providing non-critical services are instructed to stay home until further notice. Employees providing critical services who are able to telework are encouraged to do so. Please consult your manager if you are unsure whether or not you are providing critical or non-critical services.

With respect to benefits available for students, casuals and terms under three months please refer to the message from the Chief Human Resources Officer (PDF).

Should either a symptomatic employee, or an employee infected with COVID-19 report to work, he or she should be sent home and/or referred to a medical treatment facility. Building manager should immediately be contacted to request cleaning/disinfection if there is an incident of exposure. The absence from the workplace should be covered by sick leave. If the employee does not have sufficient sick leave credits, management should consider advancing sick leave credits in accordance with the collective agreement or the terms and conditions of employment for unrepresented employees. Managers may exercise their discretion in approving such requests.

Except in very limited circumstances, managers should not request medical certificate, Where managers are questioning whether or not a medical certificate is required, please consult aadnc.relationdetravail-labourrelations.aandc@canada.ca for specific advice. Employees exhibiting symptoms of COVID should be sent home.

For more information on COVID-19 and for employees' information regarding telework, health, human resources and much more, please consult the Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) web page.

Date modified:

Vous voulez savoir

Cette section contient des renseignements compilés à partir des questions soumises par les employés.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la COVID-19 et pour des renseignements destinés aux employés à propos du télétravail, de la santé, des ressources humaines et bien plus encore, veuillez consulter la page Web Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19).

Télétravail/services critiques

Services aux Autochtones Canada et Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada ont activé leurs plans de continuité des activités. Cela signifie que nous ne continuerons à fournir que les services critiques aux Canadiens. Les employés qui fournissent des services non critiques sont priés de rester chez eux jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Les employés offrant des services critiques qui sont en mesure de faire du télétravail sont encouragés à le faire. Veuillez consulter votre gestionnaire si vous n'êtes pas certain de fournir ou non un service critique.

Les services critiques comprennent, sans s'y limiter :

Une autorisation générale pour le télétravail ne peut pas être accordée, car certaines fonctions ne peuvent pas être remplies à partir d'un autre lieu qu'un lieu de travail désigné. À l'heure actuelle, toutes les situations doivent être envisagées. Le télétravail peut ne pas être approprié d'après la nature de vos fonctions ou si vous effectuez un travail essentiel pour les ministères.

Accès au réseau/services informatiques

Nos ministères accélèrent les efforts pour créer les outils de soutien au télétravail. En plus de soutenir désormais le travail à distance par le biais du système RVP/ADP, le portail d'accès Citrix a été récemment mis à niveau. Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a travaillé avec Services partagés Canada et les dirigeants principaux de l'information des ministères pour maximiser la bande passante Internet afin d'appuyer travail à distance et de donner la priorité à l'accès au réseau pour la gestion des opérations critiques.

Par conséquent, tous les employés sont invités à parler à leur superviseur pour discuter de la possibilité de faire du télétravail et de modalités de travail alternatives, et à déterminer s'ils fournissent des services critiques en consultant le message des sous-ministres de SAC ou le message des sous-ministres de RCAANC – clarification sur le télétravail.

Le réseau restera accessible dans nos bureaux nationaux et régionaux ainsi que par téléphone intelligent, mais jusqu'à nouvel ordre, les Ministères restreindront l'accès au réseau (CITRIX ou Accès à distance sécurisé du gouvernement du Canada [ADPGC])  uniquement aux employés fournissant des services critiques, pendant 22 des 24 heures dans une journée.

Pour les employés ne fournissant pas de services critiques, une fenêtre de 2 heures, de 20 h à 22 h (HAE), sera mise à leur disposition pour accéder à des documents et mettre à jour les courriels. Nous demandons aux employés fournissant des services essentiels de travailler sans connexion au réseau, si possible, durant cette fenêtre de 2 heures.

À titre exceptionnel, les employés sont invités à utiliser leur courriel personnel pour les renseignements non classifiés et d'autres moyens de communication tels que Webex, Facetime, Skype ou l'application Blackberry Messenger Enterprise (BBMe) pour communiquer avec leurs collègues, tout en respectant la Politique de gestion de l'information.

Si un employé fournit un service critique ou doit accéder à des applications critiques, ses gestionnaires devront déterminer si :

Si un employé n'est pas considéré comme fournissant des services critiques, les gestionnaires doivent déterminer s'il est :

Le kiosque du bureau de service sera fermé jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Toute l'assistance nécessaire sera fournie, mais par téléphone, par courrier électronique ou par une connexion à distance. Les heures d'ouverture sont de 7 h à 20h (HAE), du lundi au vendredi. Veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de services en GI/TI au 1-866-795-6465 ou par courriel à aadnc.sti-its.aandc@canada.ca si vous désirez de plus amples renseignements.

Transport

Le Conseil du Trésor du Canada suit les directives municipales et provinciales en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des transports publics. Par conséquent, les employés qui ont des préoccupations ou questions à ce sujet doivent s'adresser à leur fournisseur de transport public municipal et provincial.

À l'heure actuelle, les employés doivent débourser des frais pour leur présence au travail (par exemple, le stationnement ou les transports publics). Les autorités municipales et provinciales n'ont pas émis de directives selon lesquelles les transports en commun ne sont pas sûrs pour le public. Les employés qui ne sont pas indispensables au fonctionnement ministériel ont reçu l'instruction de travailler à domicile. Il n'est pas exclu que cette réponse soit sujette à changement selon les directives du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Continuité des activités

Si vous devez organiser une réunion, veillez à intégrer les recommandations en matière de santé publique dans vos pratiques. Dans le cadre des procédures de continuité des activités, les réunions en personne peuvent être impossibles et créer des difficultés pour maintenir la distance sociale. Envisagez des options alternatives, comme un appel à plusieurs participants à partir d'un iPhone ou d'un téléphone Android.

Les employés sont tenus de suivre les directives de leur direction concernant les procédures de déclaration au travail et de santé au travail dans le cadre de la COVID-19. Néanmoins, en vertu du Code canadien du travail, les employés ont le droit (à quelques exceptions près) de refuser de faire un travail s'il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire que ce travail présente un danger pour eux-mêmes ou pour un autre employé.

L'approvisionnement est un service essentiel. Les demandes soumises avant les dates limites publiées doivent être mises en place et finalisées avant la fin de l'année. Les services auxiliaires provenant de services non essentiels tels que l'Unité de gestion administrative (UGA) et la validation de la cote de sécurité peuvent avoir des répercussions sur les délais d'approvisionnement.

Gestion des immeubles

Pour le moment, nos bureaux demeurent ouverts. Toutefois, il est recommandé que les employés suivent les directives des sous-ministres pour savoir s'ils doivent ou non venir travailler au bureau.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a élaboré une approche de la gestion et de la prévention de la COVID-19, y compris des protocoles de nettoyage et de désinfection. Pour les employés de l'administration centrale, SPAC a confirmé que BGIS coordonnera toute demande de nettoyage/désinfection provenant des ministères lorsqu'il y a un incident lié à une exposition à la COVID-19.

Des mesures ont été prises pour fournir des postes de désinfection des mains dans des endroits appropriés.

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour, veuillez suivre les avis du Programme de santé au travail de la fonction publique de Santé Canada. Les employés sont encouragés à visiter le site Web Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada: maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19) pour obtenir des renseignements sur la COVID-19 en milieu de travail. Au besoin, les employés devraient discuter de toute exigence opérationnelle avec leur gestionnaire.

Santé

Comme vous le savez, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada a indiqué que le lavage des mains à l'eau et au savon est la meilleure défense contre les maladies infectieuses courantes. Si l'eau et le savon ne sont pas facilement accessibles, les employés sont encouragés à utiliser un désinfectant pour les mains. Des désinfectants pour les mains sans parfum devraient être mis à la disposition des employés sur le lieu de travail lorsque l'eau et le savon ne sont pas facilement accessibles.

Nous suivons les directives des autorités publiques, provinciales et municipales en la matière. Les employés qui ne fournissent pas de services essentiels aux Canadiens doivent rester à la maison. Nous attendons les directives du Conseil du Trésor du Canada concernant les employés qui fournissent des services essentiels aux Canadiens.

Les employés qui souhaitent obtenir plus de conseils sur la manière de gérer la COVID-19 au travail et se renseigner sur les services de soutien mis à leur disposition peuvent consulter le site : La COVID-19 et la Santé mentale au travail

Ressources humaines

Pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des employés tout en reconnaissant le besoin opérationnel, les gestionnaires sont priés de suivre les directives de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, la principale source d'information faisant autorité pour tous les Canadiens sur la COVID-19, y compris les employés du gouvernement du Canada. Le passage aux opérations de continuité des activités s'est fait sur la base des conseils fournis par l'Agence.

Les employés qui fournissent des services non critiques sont tenus de rester chez eux jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Les employés fournissant des services essentiels qui sont en mesure de faire du télétravail sont encouragés à le faire. Veuillez consulter votre gestionnaire si vous n'êtes pas certain de fournir ou non des services essentiels.
En ce qui concerne les avantages offerts aux étudiants, aux employés occasionnels et aux employés nommés pour une période de moins de trois mois, veuillez vous référer au message de la dirigeante principale des ressources humaines.

Si un employé symptomatique ou un employé infecté par la COVID-19 se présente au travail, il doit être renvoyé chez lui ou être orienté vers un établissement de traitement médical. Le gestionnaire de l'édifice doit être immédiatement contacté pour qu'il puisse demander un nettoyage ou une désinfection des lieux en cas d'exposition au virus. L'absence de l'employé au travail doit être couverte par un congé de maladie. Si l'employé n'a pas suffisamment de crédits de congé de maladie, la direction devrait envisager d'avancer les crédits de congé de maladie conformément à la convention collective ou aux conditions d'emploi des employés qui sont non représentés. Les gestionnaires peuvent exercer leur pouvoir discrétionnaire en approuvant de telles demandes.

Sauf dans des circonstances très limitées, les gestionnaires ne doivent pas demander de certificat médical. Lorsque les gestionnaires se demandent si un certificat médical est requis ou non, veuillez consulter aadnc.relationdetravail-labourrelations.aandc@canada.ca pour des conseils spécifiques. Les employés qui présentent des symptômes de la COVID doivent être renvoyés chez eux.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la COVID-19 et pour des renseignements destinés aux employés à propos du télétravail, de la santé, des ressources humaines et bien plus encore, veuillez consulter la page Web Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19).

Date de modification :