Horizontal initiative

Horizontal initiative: Nutrition North Canada

Lead department: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs (CIRNAC)

Federal partner organizations: Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) and the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)

Start date: April 1, 2011

End date: Ongoing

Description: The objective of Nutrition North Canada (NNC) is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable than it otherwise would be to residents of eligible isolated northern communities without year-round surface (road, rail or marine) access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The NNC program — National Manual governs the terms of the funding agreements with CIRNAC's subsidy recipients.

Given that there are a number of factors that influence healthy eating patterns other than food cost, ISC and PHAC complement the NNC retail subsidy by providing funding to support culturally-appropriate retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives. These initiatives aim to increase knowledge of healthy eating and develop skills for the selection and preparation of healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods.

Governance structures: The NNC Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of Northern Affairs to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed to a 3-year term.

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date) (dollars):

CIRNAC: $782,291,844 (2011–12 to 2020–21)

ISC: $36,266,000 (2011–12 to 2020–21), $4,363,200 (ongoing)

PHAC: $1,975,000 (2016–17 to 2020–21), $385,000 (ongoing)

Total federal planned spending to date (dollars):

CIRNAC: $660,196,138

ISC: $27,539,600

PHAC: $1,071,000

Total federal actual spending to date (dollars):

CIRNAC: $639,595,526

ISC: $26,053,344

PHAC: $964,647

Date of last renewal of the horizontal initiative: September 29, 2016

Total federal funding allocated at the last renewal and source of funding (dollars):

CIRNAC: $183,007,062 (Budget 2016)

ISC: $7,266,000 and $1,463,200 ongoing (Budget 2016)

PHAC: $1,975,000 (Budget 2016)

Additional federal funding received after the last renewal (dollars): Not applicable

Total planned spending since the last renewal:

CIRNAC: $331,038,195

ISC: $13,039,600

PHAC: $1,071,000

Total actual spending since the last renewal:

CIRNAC: $310,437,582

ISC: $11,149,037

PHAC: $964,647

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation: 2023–24

Planning highlights

CIRNAC: In 2020–21, CIRNAC will continue to update and expand NNC, and implement the changes announced in December 2018, and June 2019 to better address Northerners' needs. These changes include:

The delivery and management of the Harvesters Support Grant, a priority for the department, will be co-developed with Indigenous partners and launched in spring 2020.

CIRNAC will continue to co-chair the Indigenous Working Group. CIRNAC will also continue to participate in the newly formed Inuit-Crown Food Security Working Group to work towards sustainable food systems in Inuit Nunangat and ensure that the unique interests, priorities and circumstances of Inuit are brought into federal food security programs and policies.

ISC: In 2020–21, ISC will fund and support the implementation of NNC nutrition education initiatives to all eligible First Nations and Inuit communities to increase knowledge of healthy eating and to develop skills in choosing and preparing healthy foods. In addition, ISC will work with CIRNAC and PHAC to support NNC overall, as appropriate.

PHAC: In 2020–21, PHAC will fund 10 projects to support culturally-appropriate retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives. The activities, developed and delivered by community-based organizations, are intended to complement the food retail subsidy by influencing healthy eating in isolated Northern communities. The aim of the nutrition education initiatives is to increase knowledge of healthy eating and develop skills for the selection and preparation of healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods.

Contact information:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Wayne Walsh
Director General, Northern Strategic Policy
Northern Affairs Organization
Telephone: 819-934-3171
Wayne.Walsh@canada.ca

Indigenous Services Canada

Mary Trifonopoulos
Senior Manager, Healthy Living, Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Telephone: 613-292-7518
Mary.Trifonopoulos@canada.ca

Public Health Agency of Canada

Kathleen Copp
Manager, Maternal and Child Health, Centre for Health Promotion
Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch
Telephone: 613-292-7058
Kathleen.Copp2@canada.ca

Nutrition North Initiative overview
Total federal funding allocated since the last renewal (dollars) 2020−21
Planned spending (dollars)
Horizontal initiative shared outcome(s) Performance indicator(s) Target(s) Date to achieve target

CIRNAC: 183,007,062

ISC: 7,266,000

PHAC: 1,975,000

CIRNAC: 104,500,440

ISC:

4,363,200

PHAC: 385,000

Isolated Northern communities' nutritional choices and community health are strengthened Percentage of population reporting their health is excellent or very good At least 45% of adults report that their health is excellent or very good March 31, 2021
Quantity of subsidized foods (kg) per capita by each category Stable or increasing from the 2011 baseline year March 31, 2021

Nutrition North Initiative activities

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Link to the program inventory: Nutrition North Canada

Activity: Nutrition North

2020–21 planned spending: $104,500,440

Total federal funding allocated to each activity since the last renewal: $183,007,062

Nutrition North Initiative activities: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
2020–21 Activity expected result(s) 2020–21 Activity performance indicator(s) 2020–21
Activity target(s)
Date to achieve activity target
Affordability of perishable, nutritious food in eligible communities is strengthened The annual growth rate of food prices in isolated Northern communities compared to the national growth rate At or below the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index basket for food March 31, 2021
Annual average cost of the Revised Northern Food Basket At or below the baseline for the food basket, adjusted for inflation rate for food purchased in stores (Statistics Canada) March 31, 2021
Residents in eligible communities have access to nutritious, perishable foods at a subsidized rate Percentage of compliance/audit reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers 100% March 31, 2021
Annual percentage variation in the quantity of subsidized items shipped by air 3% to 5% March 31, 2021

Indigenous Services Canada

Link to the program inventory: Healthy Living

Activity: Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives

2020–21 planned spending: $4,363,200

Total federal funding allocated to each activity since the last renewal: $7,266,000

Nutrition North Initiative activities: Indigenous Services Canada
2020–21 Activity expected results 2020–21 Activity performance indicator(s) 2020–21
Activity target(s)
Date to achieve activity target
Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills, and are choosing and preparing healthy foods Number of participants by type of nutrition education activity 4 or more different types of activities per year 6 or more participants per type of activity March 31, 2021
Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities 70% of funding recipients are reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills March 31, 2021
Quantity by weight of fruit and vegetables available to eligible communities Stable or increasing March 31, 2021
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives Percentage of communities promoting nutrition education activities 100% of funding recipients are promoting and offering nutrition education activities March 31, 2021
Number and types of nutrition education activities (by target population groups, venues) Funding recipients provide activities to 2 or more target populations (e.g., women, seniors, children, and youth) in 2 or more venues (e.g., grocery stores, schools, on the land) March 31, 2021

Public Health Agency of Canada

Link to the program inventory: Health Promotion Program

Activity: Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives

2020–21 planned spending: $385,000

Total federal funding allocated to each activity since the last renewal: $1,975,000

Nutrition North Initiative activities: Public Health Agency of Canada
2020–21 Activity expected result(s) 2020–21 Activity performance indicator(s) 2020–21
Activity target(s)
Date to achieve activity target
Community workers are trained to deliver retail and community- based nutrition education activities in eligible communities Percentage of funding recipients with trained NNC community workers to deliver programming 100% of recipients with trained NNC community workers to deliver programming March 31, 2021
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives Number of communities promoting nutrition education activities 10/10 communities promoting nutrition education activities March 31, 2021
Number of and types of nutrition education activities (by target population groups) 120 activities offered to 2 or more population groups (i.e. children, youth, adults, seniors) March 31, 2021
Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills, and are choosing and preparing healthy foods Number of participants by type of nutrition education activity At least 1260 participants in 4 types of nutrition education activities (e.g. cooking activities, nutrition sessions, taste tests, gardening activities, etc.) March 31, 2021
Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities 90% of funding recipients are reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills March 31, 2021
Date modified:

Initiative horizontale

Initiative horizontale : Nutrition Nord Canada

Ministère responsable : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord (RCAANC)

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC)

Date de début : 1er avril 2011

Date de fin : Sur une base continue

Description : L'objectif du programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) est de veiller à ce que les résidants des collectivités isolées du Nord admissibles qui sont privées d'une route, d'un chemin de fer ou d'un service maritime praticables toute l'année aient un meilleur accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs à un prix plus abordable.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires locaux des collectivités admissibles ainsi que les fournisseurs de produits alimentaires peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Ils doivent transférer aux consommateurs du Nord le montant de ces subventions en réduisant d'autant le prix de vente des aliments admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme NNC régit les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention de RCAANC.

Sachant que le coût des aliments n'est pas le seul facteur qui influe sur l'adoption de saines habitudes alimentaires, SAC et l'ASPC accordent un complément à la subvention des détaillants de NNC en offrant un financement pour soutenir des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition adaptées aux réalités culturelles offertes par les détaillants et les collectivités. Ces initiatives ont pour but de sensibiliser la population aux saines habitudes alimentaires et de développer les compétences nécessaires pour choisir et préparer les aliments sains achetés en magasin et les aliments traditionnels ou locaux.

Structure de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de NNC donne aux résidants du Nord la possibilité de s'exprimer directement au sujet du programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils au ministre des Affaires du Nord afin de guider l'orientation et les activités du programme, et de veiller à ce que les résidants du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidants et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de 3 ans.

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués, de la date de début à la date de fin (en dollars) :

RCAANC : 782 291 844 $ (de 2011–2012 à 2020–2021)

SAC : 36 266 000 $ (de 2011–2012 à 2020–2021), 4 363 200 $ (continu)

ASPC : 1 975 000 $ (de 2016–2017 à 2020–2021), 385 000 $ (continu)

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour (en dollars) :

RCAANC : 660 196 138 $

SAC : 27 539 600 $

ASPC : 1 071 000 $

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour (en dollars) :

RCAANC : 639 595 526 $

SAC : 26 053 344 $

ASPC : 964 647 $

Date du dernier renouvellement de l'initiative : 29 septembre 2016

Total du financement fédéral affecté lors du dernier renouvellement et source du financement (en dollars) :

RCAANC : 183 007 062 (budget de 2016)

SAC : 7 266 000 $ et 1 463 200 $ en continu (budget de 2016)

ASPC : 1 975 000 (budget de 2016)

Financement fédéral supplémentaire reçu après le dernier renouvellement (en dollars) : Sans objet

Dépenses totales prévues depuis le dernier renouvellement :

RCAANC : 331 038 195 $

SAC : 13 039 600 $

ASPC : 1 071 000 $

Dépenses totales réelles depuis le dernier renouvellement :

RCAANC : 310 437 582 $

SAC : 11 149 037 $

ASPC : 964 647 $

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation : 2023–2024

Faits saillants de la planification

RCAANC : En 2020–2021, RCAANC continuera de mettre à jour et d'élargir le programme NNC et de mettre en œuvre les changements annoncés en décembre 2018 et en juin 2019 afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des résidants du Nord. Ces changements comprennent :

La prestation et la gestion de la subvention pour les exploitants de ressources alimentaires, qui constitue une priorité ministérielle, seront préparées conjointement avec les partenaires autochtones et lancées au printemps 2020.

RCAANC continuera de coprésider le Indigenous Working Group. Le Ministère continuera également de participer au nouveau groupe de travail Inuit-Couronne sur la sécurité alimentaire qui travaille à mettre sur pied des systèmes alimentaires durables dans l'Inuit Nunangat et qui s'assure que les intérêts, priorités et circonstances uniques des Inuit sont intégrés dans les politiques et les programmes fédéraux portant sur la sécurité alimentaire.

SAC : En 2020–2021, SAC financera et appuiera la mise en œuvre des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de NNC pour toutes les Premières Nations et collectivités inuites admissibles afin qu'elles aient une meilleure connaissance des saines habitudes alimentaires et qu'elles développent les compétences nécessaires pour choisir et préparer des aliments sains. De plus, SAC collaborera avec RCAANC et l'ASPC afin d'appuyer NNC dans son ensemble, au besoin.

ASPC : En 2020–2021, l'ASPC financera 10 projets qui appuient les initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition pertinentes sur le plan culturel et offertes par les détaillants et les collectivités. Ces initiatives, élaborées et offertes par des organismes communautaires, servent de supplément à la subvention de vente au détail en influençant les habitudes alimentaires saines dans les collectivités du Nord isolées. Les initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition ont pour but de faire connaître davantage les saines habitudes alimentaires et de développer les compétences nécessaires pour choisir et préparer les aliments sains achetés en magasin et les aliments traditionnels ou locaux.

Coordonnées :

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Wayne Walsh
Directeur général, Direction générale des politiques stratégiques du Nord
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Téléphone : 819-934-3171
Wayne.Walsh@canada.ca

Services aux Autochtones Canada

Mary Trifonopoulos
Gestionnaire principale, Vie saine, Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuit
Téléphone : 613-292-7518
Mary.Trifonopoulos@canada.ca

Agence de la santé publique du Canada

Kathleen Copp
Gestionnaire, Santé des mères et des enfants, Centre pour la promotion de la santé
Direction générale de la promotion de la santé et de la prévention des maladies chroniques
Téléphone : 613-292-7058
Kathleen.Copp2@canada.ca

Aperçu de l'initiative horizontale de Nutrition Nord
Total du financement fédéral alloué depuis le dernier renouvellement
(en dollars)
Dépenses prévues en 2020–2021
(en dollars)
Résultats communs de l'initiative horizontale Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Date d'atteinte de la cible

RCAANC : 183 007 062

SAC : 7 266 000

ASPC : 1 975 000

RCAANC : 104 500 440

SAC : 4 363 200

ASPC : 385 000

La santé collective ainsi que les choix en matière de nutrition des collectivités isolées du Nord sont renforcés Pourcentage de la population qui déclare que sa santé est excellente ou très bonne Au moins 45 % des adultes déclarent que leur santé est excellente ou très bonne 31 mars 2021
Quantité d'aliments admissibles à une contribution (kg) par habitant par catégorie Stable ou en hausse par rapport à l'année de référence de 2011 31 mars 2021

Activités de l'initiative Nutrition Nord

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Lien au répertoire des programmes : Nutrition Nord Canada

Activité : Nutrition Nord

Dépenses prévues en 2020–2021 : 104 500 440 $

Total du financement fédéral alloué depuis le dernier renouvellement : 183 007 062 $

Activités de l'initiative Nutrition Nord : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
Résultats attendus pour l'activité en
2020–2021
Indicateurs de rendement de l'activité en 2020–2021 Cibles de l'activité en 2020–2021 Date d'atteinte de la cible de l'activité
Les aliments périssables nutritifs sont plus abordables pour les collectivités admissibles Taux de croissance annuel des prix des aliments dans les collectivités isolées du Nord comparativement au taux de croissance national Équivalent à la tendance annuelle (augmentation ou réduction) pour le panier de provisions de l'Indice des prix à la consommation, ou en deçà de la tendance 31 mars 2021
Prix annuel moyen du panier de provisions nordique révisé Équivalent à la base de référence du panier de provisions, ajustée en fonction du taux d'inflation pour les aliments achetés en magasin, ou en deçà de la base de référence (Statistique Canada) 31 mars 2021
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs à un taux subventionné Pourcentage des rapports de conformité ou de vérification démontrant que les contributions ont été entièrement transmises aux consommateurs 100 % 31 mars 2021
Pourcentage annuel de variation de la quantité d'articles admissibles à une contribution expédiés par avion De 3 à 5 % 31 mars 2021

Services aux Autochtones Canada

Lien au répertoire des programmes : Vie saine

Activité : Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada

Dépenses prévues en 2020–2021 : 4 363 200 $

Total du financement fédéral alloué depuis le dernier renouvellement : 7 266 000 $

Activités de l'initiative Nutrition Nord : Services aux Autochtones Canada
Résultats attendus pour l'activité en
2020–2021
Indicateurs de rendement de l'activité en 2020–2021 Cibles de l'activité en 2020–2021 Date d'atteinte de la cible de l'activité
Les résidants des collectivités admissibles connaissent les saines habitudes alimentaires et possèdent des compétences dans ce domaine, et ils choisissent et préparent des aliments sains Nombre de participants par type d'activité d'éducation en matière de nutrition

Au moins 4 types d'activités différentes par an

Au moins 6 participants par type d'activité

31 mars 2021
Pourcentage des bénéficiaires de fonds qui disent connaître les saines habitudes alimentaires et posséder des compétences dans ce domaine parmi les résidants des collectivités admissibles 70 % des bénéficiaires de fonds disent connaître les saines habitudes alimentaires et posséder des compétences dans ce domaine 31 mars 2021
Quantité selon le poids des fruits et des légumes offerts aux collectivités admissibles Stable ou en hausse 31 mars 2021
Les résidants des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition offertes par les détaillants et les collectivités Pourcentage des collectivités faisant la promotion des activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition 100 % des bénéficiaires de fonds font la promotion et offrent des activités éducatives en matière de nutrition 31 mars 2021
Nombre et types d'activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition (par groupes de population cibles, par site) Les bénéficiaires de fonds offrent des activités à au moins 2 populations cibles (p. ex. femmes, aînés, enfants et jeunes) dans 2 ou plusieurs sites (p. ex. épiceries, écoles, sur les terres) 31 mars 2021

Agence de la santé publique du Canada

Lien au répertoire des programmes : Programme de promotion de la santé

Activité : Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada

Dépenses prévues en 2020–2021 : 385 000 $

Total du financement fédéral alloué depuis le dernier renouvellement : 1 975 000 $

Activités de l'initiative Nutrition Nord : Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Résultats attendus pour l'activité en
2020–2021
Indicateurs de rendement de l'activité en
2020–2021
Cibles de l'activité en 2020–2021 Date d'atteinte de la cible de l'activité
Des travailleurs communautaires sont formés pour offrir dans les collectivités admissibles des activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition des détaillants et des collectivités Pourcentage des bénéficiaires de fonds pouvant compter sur des travailleurs communautaires formés de NNC pour offrir des programmes 100 % des bénéficiaires peuvent compter sur des travailleurs communautaires formés de NNC pour offrir des programmes 31 mars 2021
Les résidants des collectivités admissibles ont accès aux initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition des détaillants et des collectivités Nombre de collectivités faisant la promotion des activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition 10 collectivités sur 10 font la promotion d'initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition 31 mars 2021
Nombre et types d'activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition (par groupes de population cibles) 120 activités offertes à au moins 2 groupes de population cibles (c.‑à‑d. enfants, jeunes, adultes, aînés) 31 mars 2021
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles connaissent les saines habitudes alimentaires et possèdent des compétences dans ce domaine, et ils choisissent et préparent des aliments sains Nombre de participants par type d'activité d'éducation en matière de nutrition Au moins 1260 participants dans 4 types d'activités d'éducation en matière de nutrition (p. ex. activités de cuisine, séances sur la nutrition, séances de dégustation, activités de jardinage, etc.) 31 mars 2021
Pourcentage des bénéficiaires de fonds qui disent connaître les saines habitudes alimentaires et posséder des compétences dans ce domaine parmi les résidants des collectivités admissibles 90 % des bénéficiaires de fonds disent connaître les saines habitudes alimentaires et posséder des compétences dans ce domaine 31 mars 2021

Avez-vous trouvé ce que vous cherchiez?

Qu’est-ce qui n’allait pas?

Vous ne recevrez aucune réponse. N'incluez pas de renseignements personnels (téléphone, courriel, NAS, renseignements financiers, médicaux ou professionnels)
Maximum de 300 caractères

Merci de vos commentaires

Date de modification :