Status report on transformational and major Crown projects

Canadian High Arctic Research Station

Description: The Canadian High Arctic Research Station Act, which came into force on June 1, 2015, established Polar Knowledge Canada, a new federal research organization that combines the mandate and functions of the Canadian Polar Commission and the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS) program. The new organization is responsible for advancing Canada's knowledge of the Arctic and strengthening Canadian leadership in polar science and technology.

The new research facility in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut will attract Canadian and international scientists to work on science and technology issues in Canada's North and provide a technology development centre, traditional knowledge centre and advanced laboratories. This station is being built by Canadians to serve the world, and engage Northerners in cutting-edge science and technology. The management of the station's construction will remain with the department until it is complete. Funding authorities for the construction of the station are set to expire in 2019–20. This profile and funding covers the capital investment and construction period only. The formal management arrangement and program development will be undertaken as of April 2019 by Polar Knowledge Canada.

Project outcomes:

Industrial benefits:

Sponsoring department: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Contracting authority: Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC)

Participating departments: Not applicable

Prime contractor: The construction contractor is the EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) in joint venture with NCC Dowland Ltd. (Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada).

Major subcontractors: Subcontracting is managed by the EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada).

Project phase: Design: Budget 2010 provided $18 million over 4 years for the design of the CHARS. EVOQ architects and NFOE et associés architectes, operating as a joint venture, were awarded the design consultant contract through a competitive and transparent bidding process. The design phase of the CHARS began in 2011–12 and was completed in 2014–15.

In November 2015, the 2 Triplex accommodation buildings were completed and have since been in use by Polar Knowledge Canada. The Field and Maintenance Building was completed by March 2017 and Polar Knowledge Canada has been occupying the building since April 2017.

In 2018–19, work to complete construction involved resolving minor and major deficiencies revealed during performance inspections. Seasonal civil work, the completion of an outdoor storage shelter, and work on mechanical systems in the Main Research Building will continue in the first 2 quarters of 2019–20. With the completion of the laboratory areas of the Main Research Building, the CHARS campus is expected to be fully operational in fall 2019.

Major milestones Date
Creation of CHARS announced Speech from the Throne 2007
CHARS feasibility: $2 million over 2 years Budget 2009
CHARS design: $18 million over 4 years Budget 2010
Cambridge Bay location announced by Prime Minister August 2010
CHARS mandate announced by Minister December 2010
Feasibility study September 2011
Request for proposal (RFP) for design consultant tendered September 2011
RFP for design consultant closed November 2011
Design consultant contract announced August 2012
RFP for construction management services tendered November 2012
RFP for construction management services closed December 2012
Site announced in Cambridge Bay February 2013
Construction management contract for advisory services awarded June 2013
Construction management contract for constructor services awarded May 2014
Begin site preparation June 2014
Begin construction August 2014
Complete design development January 2015
Complete land acquisition in Cambridge Bay March 2015
Complete Triplex Accommodation Buildings November 2015
Complete Field and Maintenance Building March 2017
Partial Substantial Completion of Public and Office Areas of the Main Research Building July 2018
Authority to Operate from Shared Services Canada October 2018
Performance Inspections Fall 2018 and ongoing
Completion of Deficiency Review Process Fall 2019
Partial Substantial Completion of Laboratories of the Main Research Building *Summer 2019
Completion of Civil Works *Fall 2019
Certificate for Completion of Construction *Winter 2019–20
*Anticipated milestones

Progress report and explanation of variances: CIRNAC is working with PSPC towards completing the construction of the Main Research Building of the CHARS campus and transferring ownership of all assets to Polar Knowledge Canada in 2019–20.

Progress in 2018–19 included:

Date modified:

Rapport d’étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l’État

Station canadienne de recherche dans l’Extrême-Arctique

Description : La Loi sur la station canadienne de recherche dans l’Extrême-Arctique, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2015, a permis de créer un nouvel organisme fédéral de recherche, Savoir polaire Canada, qui combine le mandat et le fonctionnement de la Commission canadienne des affaires polaires et le programme de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l’Extrême-Arctique (SCREA). Ce nouvel organisme est chargé d’approfondir les connaissances du Canada sur l’Arctique et de renforcer le leadership de notre pays en sciences et technologie polaires.

La nouvelle installation de recherche, située à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut, attirera les scientifiques canadiens et internationaux qui désirent étudier les questions de sciences et de technologie dans le Nord du Canada et offrira un centre de développement de la technologie, un centre de savoirs traditionnels et des laboratoires de pointe. Cette station est construite par des Canadiens pour servir le monde et mobilise les résidants du Nord pour les sciences et les technologies de pointe. La gestion de la construction de la station relèvera du Ministère jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit terminée. Les autorisations de financement pour la construction de la station arriveront à échéance en 2019-2020. Le profil et le financement couvrent uniquement l’investissement en capital et la période de construction. L’entente de gestion officielle et le développement du programme seront effectués à compter d’avril 2019 par Savoir polaire Canada.

Résultats du projet :

Retombées industrielles :

Ministère parrain : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada

Autorité contractante : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Ministères participants : Sans objet

Entrepreneur principal : EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) en coentreprise avec NCC Dowland Construction Ltd. (Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada)

Sous-traitants principaux : Sous-traitance gérée par EllisDon Corporation (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada)

Phase du projet : Conception : Le budget de 2010 a accordé 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans pour la conception de la SCREA. Les architectes de EVOQ ainsi que NFOE et associés architectes, qui fonctionnent en coentreprise, se sont vu accorder le contrat de consultant en conception par l’entremise d’un processus d’appel d’offres compétitif et transparent. La phase de conception de la SCREA a commencé en 2011-2012 et s’est achevée en 2014-2015.

En novembre 2015, les 2 triplex ont été achevés et sont depuis utilisés par Savoir polaire Canada. Le bâtiment de recherches sur le terrain et d’entretien a été achevé en mars 2017 et est occupé par Savoir polaire Canada depuis avril 2017.

En 2018-2019, le travail nécessaire pour achever la construction consistait à résoudre les lacunes majeures découvertes pendant les inspections de rendement. Les travaux de génie civil saisonniers, l’achèvement d’un abri d’entreposage extérieur et les travaux sur les systèmes mécaniques du bâtiment de recherche principal se poursuivront au cours des 2 premiers trimestres de 2019-2020. Puisque les laboratoires du bâtiment de recherche principal sont terminés, le campus de la SCREA devrait être entièrement opérationnel à l’automne 2019.

Jalons importants Date
Annonce de la création de la SCREA Discours du Trône 2007
Faisabilité du projet de la SCREA : 2 millions de dollars sur 2 ans Budget de 2009
Conception de la SCREA : 18 millions de dollars sur 4 ans Budget de 2010
Emplacement de Cambridge Bay annoncé par le premier ministre Août 2010
Mandat de la SCREA annoncé par le ministre Décembre 2010
Étude de faisabilité Septembre 2011
Ouverture de la demande de propositions pour un expert-conseil en conception Septembre 2011
Fermeture de la demande de propositions pour un expert-conseil en conception Novembre 2011
Annonce du contrat d’expert-conseil en conception Août 2012
Ouverture de la demande de propositions pour des services de gestion de la construction Novembre 2012
Fermeture de la demande de propositions pour des services de gestion de la construction Décembre 2012
Site annoncé à Cambridge Bay Février 2013
Attribution du contrat de gestion de la construction pour des services-conseils Juin 2013
Attribution du contrat de gestion de la construction pour les services d’un constructeur Mai 2014
Début de la préparation du site Juin 2014
Début de la construction Août 2014
Achèvement de la conception Janvier 2015
Achèvement de l’acquisition de terrains à Cambridge Bay Mars 2015
Achèvement des triplex Novembre 2015
Achèvement du bâtiment de recherches sur le terrain et d’entretien Mars 2017
Achèvement substantiel partiel des aires publiques et des aires de bureau du bâtiment de recherche principal Juillet 2018
Autorisation d’exploitation de Services partagés Canada Octobre 2018
Inspections de rendement Automne 2018 et de façon continue
Achèvement du processus d’examen des déficiences Automne 2019
Achèvement substantiel partiel des laboratoires du bâtiment de recherche principal *Été 2019
Achèvement des travaux de génie civil *Automne 2019
Certification d’achèvement de construction *Hiver 2019-2020
*Jalons anticipés

Rapport d’étape et explication des écarts : RCAANC travaille avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada pour terminer la construction du bâtiment de recherche principal du campus de la SCREA et pour transférer la propriété des actifs à Savoir polaire Canada en 2019-2020.

Les progrès réalisés en 2018-2019 comprennent :

Date de modification :