Response to parliamentary committees and external audits

Response to parliamentary committees

House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates

The Committee undertook a study on small and medium enterprises in federal procurement and the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business, and tabled its report on June 20, 2018.

Report 15 — Modernizing Federal Procurement for Small and Medium Enterprises, Women-Owned and Indigenous Businesses outlines the main challenges of the current federal procurement process and identifies barriers preventing small businesses and those owned by women and Indigenous peoples from accessing federal contracts. Chapter 6 evaluates the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business and calls for improved data collection as well as better awareness and use of the strategy across all Government departments. Accessibility and simplification are addressed in the supplementary opinion from the Conservative Party of Canada.

The Government Response, tabled on October 18, 2018, outlines 2 cornerstones for success in procurement modernization: building an open and transparent procurement foundation and delivering a simpler, accessible system. Actions taken addressing the 40 recommendations are grouped according to 6 themes identified in the report.

House of Commons Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs

The Committee studied the current processes for settling specific and comprehensive claims, as well as to identify challenges, benefits and outcomes for Indigenous communities, and tabled its report on March 19, 2018.

Report 12 — Indigenous Land Rights: Towards Respect and Implementation identifies the need to reform the specific and comprehensive land claims policy, and amend the Specific Claims Tribunal Act through a transparent co-development process that is rooted in the recognition of rights, and guided by the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. The report calls on the Government to work in partnership with Indigenous peoples to reform the funding models for the specific claims, comprehensive claims, Treaty Land Entitlement, and Additions to Reserve processes — including the forgiveness of all outstanding loans — and to make dispute resolution mechanisms available to Indigenous communities. The report also recommends that the Government create an independent office to monitor the implementation of comprehensive land claims and specific claims agreements, and support Indigenous community-led data collection. The report acknowledges the need to develop an improved process to promote awareness of the land claims processes, and to develop a mandatory education and training program for officials working on claims.

The Government Response, tabled on September 17, 2018, outlines the concrete actions being taken by the Government of Canada to shift its approaches to addressing historical grievances, the negotiation of treaties and agreements, and the settlement of specific claims through stronger and better ways of reconciling section 35 rights.

Senate Standing Committee on Aboriginal Peoples

The Committee examined the subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other acts, as it relates to the Indigenous peoples of Canada, and tabled its report on May 1, 2018.

The Committee’s Eleventh Report, The Subject Matter of Bill C-45: An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, identifies 5 key issues of concern for Indigenous communities:

  • lack of consultation
  • public education materials pertaining to the legalization of cannabis
  • funding for mental health and addictions services
  • recognition of Indigenous jurisdiction
  • right to participate in economic opportunities

The report proposed 2 amendments to the Bill and 8 policy recommendations for immediate action requiring a Government Response.

The Government Response, tabled on September 18, 2018, outlines the concrete actions being taken and investments being made to advance the objectives of the recommendations, and committed to a progress report back to both chambers by June 2019, on the action areas identified in the Report.

Response to audits conducted by the Office of the Auditor General of Canada (including audits conducted by the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development)

2018 Fall Reports of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development

Report 3 — Departmental Progress in Implementing Sustainable Development Strategies

This audit focused on whether the organizations examined had adequately applied the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, and whether they had met their commitments to strengthening their strategic environmental assessment practices.

There were no recommendations for CIRNAC.

Response to audits conducted by the Public Service Commission of Canada or the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

Public Service Commission of Canada

Pilot System-Wide Staffing Audit 2018: This audit represents the first comprehensive review of system-wide compliance in staffing. 25 departments and agencies participated in the audit, providing a sample of 386 appointments. The audit had 3 objectives:

  • to determine compliance with respect to organizational staffing system requirements
  • to determine compliance with respect to requirements during the appointment process and for appointments
  • to gauge stakeholder awareness and understanding of requirements, and of their roles and responsibilities

Overall findings indicated full compliance with staffing system requirements, with all 25 participating departments and agencies having made the changes to their staffing systems as required by the New Direction in Staffing. With regards to appointments, PSC found high levels of compliance with legislative, regulatory and policy requirements with respect to merit, consideration of persons with a priority entitlement, and appointment-related authorities (Attestation Form and Oath/Solemn Affirmation).

The audit also pointed to some areas for improvement, particularly related to official languages obligations and the application of the order of preference.

A questionnaire was administered to staffing advisors and hiring managers associated with the sample of appointments covered by the audit to gauge their awareness and understanding of their organizational appointment framework. The results revealed general awareness and understanding of their framework’s requirements, but only a modest indication of staffing culture change at the time of the audit.

Summary of recommendations:

  • Establishment of direction and requirements for organizational staffing systems
  • Greater awareness and understanding of staffing requirements
  • Quality control of staffing documents in relation to official languages
  • Sufficient documentation to explain appointment decisions

CIRNAC has a Staffing Framework, Sub-Delegation Instrument, a Monitoring Framework and documentation available to HR Advisors and Sub-delegated managers that already responded to those recommendations.

Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages

Not applicable.

Date modified:

Réponse aux comités parlementaires et aux audits externes

Réponse aux comités parlementaires

Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes

Le Comité a mené une étude sur les petites et moyennes entreprises relativement au processus d’approvisionnement fédéral et à la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones. Il a déposé son rapport le 20 juin 2018.

Le 15e rapport, Modernisation des marchés publics fédéraux pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, les entreprises appartenant à des femmes et les entreprises autochtones, porte sur les principaux défis du processus actuel d’approvisionnement fédéral et les obstacles qui empêchent les petites entreprises ainsi que les entreprises appartenant à des femmes et à des Autochtones de décrocher des contrats fédéraux. Le chapitre 6 évalue la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones et exige une meilleure collecte de données ainsi qu’une plus grande connaissance et utilisation de la Stratégie dans tous les ministères fédéraux. L’accessibilité et la simplification sont abordées dans l’opinion complémentaire du Parti conservateur du Canada.

La réponse du gouvernement, déposée le 18 octobre 2018, présente 2 pierres angulaires pour une modernisation réussie des marchés publics fédéraux : bâtir une fondation ouverte et transparente des marchés publics et offrir un système plus simple et accessible. Les mesures prises pour répondre aux 40 recommandations sont regroupées selon les 6 thèmes du rapport.

Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du Nord de la Chambre des communes

Le Comité a mené une étude sur les processus actuels pour régler les revendications particulières et globales et pour cerner les défis, les avantages et les résultats pour les collectivités autochtones. Il a déposé son rapport le 19 mars 2018.

Le 12e rapport, Vers la respect et la mise en œuvre des droits fonciers des peuples autochtones, présente le besoin de réformer la politique sur les revendications territoriales particulières et globales et de modifier la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières à l’aide d’un processus transparent d’élaboration conjointe qui est fondé sur la reconnaissance des droits et qui est guidé par la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones. Le rapport demande au gouvernement de travailler en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones pour réformer les modèles de financement pour les revendications particulières, les revendications globales, les droits fonciers issus des traités et les processus d’ajouts aux réserves, y compris la dispense du remboursement de tous les prêts en souffrance, et de mettre à la disposition des collectivités autochtones des mécanismes de résolution des différends. Le rapport recommande également au gouvernement de créer un bureau indépendant pour surveiller la mise en œuvre des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales et particulières et d’appuyer la collecte de données par les collectivités autochtones. Le rapport reconnaît le besoin d’élaborer un processus amélioré pour faire connaître les processus de revendications territoriales et d’élaborer un programme d’éducation et de formation obligatoire à l’intention des responsables traitant les revendications.

La réponse du gouvernement, déposée le 17 septembre 2018, énonce les mesures concrètes prises par le gouvernement du Canada pour modifier ses approches en vue de régler les griefs historiques, négocier les traits et les ententes et régler les revendications particulières à l’aide de moyens plus solides et plus efficaces qui réconcilient les droits prévus à l’article 35.

Comité permanent sur les peuples autochtones du Sénat

Le Comité a examiné la teneur du projet de loi C-45, Loi concernant le cannabis et modifiant la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances, le Code criminel et d’autres lois, dans la mesure où il concerne les peuples autochtones du Canada. Il a déposé son rapport le 1er mai 2018.

Le 11e rapport du Comité, La teneur du projet de loi C-45 : Loi concernant le cannabis et modifiant la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances, le Code criminel et d’autres lois, énonce 5 enjeux clés qui sont source de préoccupations pour les collectivités autochtones :

  • le manque de consultation
  • le manque de documentation pour sensibiliser le public sur la légalisation du cannabis
  • le manque de financement pour des services de santé mentale et de traitement des dépendances
  • le manque de reconnaissance des compétences des collectivités autochtones
  • le droit de tirer parti des possibilités économiques

Le rapport propose 2 modifications au projet de loi et 8 recommandations de politiques nécessitant une action immédiate et une réponse du gouvernement.

La réponse du gouvernement, déposée le 18 septembre 2018, énonce les mesures concrètes prises et les investissements faits pour faire progresser les objectifs des recommandations. La réponse énonce également l’engagement à soumettre un rapport des progrès réalisés aux 2 chambres d’ici juin 2019 en ce qui concerne les secteurs nécessitant une action indiqués dans le rapport.

Réponse aux audits effectués par le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada (y compris les audits effectués par le commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable)

Rapports de l’automne 2018 de la commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable

Rapport 3 — Progrès réalisés par les ministères et organismes dans la mise en œuvre des stratégies de développement durable

Cet audit visait à déterminer si les organisations examinées appliquaient adéquatement la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes et si elles avaient respecté leur engagement de renforcer leurs pratiques d’évaluation environnementale stratégique.

Il n’y avait aucune recommandation pour RCAANC.

Réponse aux audits effectués par la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada ou le Commissariat aux langues officielles

Commission de la fonction publique du Canada

Projet pilote de vérification de la dotation à l’échelle du système 2018 : Cette vérification constitue le premier examen exhaustif de la conformité de la dotation à l’échelle du système. Vingt-cinq ministères et agences ont participé à la vérification et ont fourni un échantillon de 386 nominations. La vérification comportait 3 objectifs :

  • déterminer la conformité en ce qui concerne les exigences organisationnelles du système de dotation
  • déterminer la conformité en ce qui concerne les exigences pendant le processus de nomination et pour les nominations
  • évaluer le niveau de connaissance et de compréhension des exigences de la part des intervenants, ainsi que de leur rôle et de leurs responsabilités

Dans l’ensemble, les résultats indiquent une conformité entière aux exigences du système de dotation. D’ailleurs, les 25 ministères et agences participants ont apporté les changements requis à leurs systèmes de dotation conformément à la Nouvelle orientation en dotation. En ce qui concerne les nominations, la Commission de la fonction publique a déterminé que le niveau de conformité aux exigences législatives, réglementaires et en matière de politiques étaient élevé dans les domaines du mérite, de la considération des bénéficiaires de priorité et des autorisations en matière de nominations (formulaire d’attestation et serment/affirmation solennelle).

La vérification a également cerné des points à améliorer, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux obligations en matière de langues officielles et à l’application de l’ordre de préférence.

Un questionnaire a été administré aux conseillers en dotation et aux gestionnaires responsables de l’embauche relativement à l’échantillon de nominations examinées pendant la vérification afin d’évaluer leur connaissance et leur compréhension de leur cadre de nomination organisationnel. Les résultats ont démontré une connaissance et une compréhension générales des exigences relatives au cadre mais une indication modeste du changement de culture en dotation au moment de la vérification.

Sommaire des recommandations :

  • Établissement d’une orientation et des exigences pour les systèmes de dotation organisationnels
  • Meilleure connaissance et compréhension des exigences de dotation
  • Contrôle de la qualité des documents de dotation en ce qui concerne les langues officielles
  • Documentation suffisante pour expliquer les décisions relatives aux nominations

RCAANC possède un cadre de dotation, un instrument de subdélégation, un cadre de surveillance et de la documentation qui sont accessibles aux conseillers en ressources humaines et aux gestionnaires subdélégués qui ont déjà répondu à ces recommandations.

Commissariat aux langues officielles

Sans objet

Date de modification :