Indigenous History-Makers

Learn about inspiring Indigenous peoples who have helped shape Canadian history.

On this page

Artists

Cherie Dimaline

Photo credit: Robin Sutherland

Métis author, Cherie Dimaline, is best known for the 2017 bestselling dystopian young adult novel, The Marrow Thieves, which won awards in both Canada and the United States. She was born in 1975 and is a member of the Georgian Bay Métis Nation in Ontario.

Dimaline published her first book, Red Rooms, in 2007. The novel won the Fiction Book of the Year award at the Ankoshk Aboriginal Literature Festival. She went on to publish her next novel, The Girl Who Grew a Galaxy, in 2013. The following year, she was named the Emerging Artist of the Year at the Ontario Premier's Award for Excellence in the Arts and became the first Indigenous Writer in Residence for the Toronto Public Library. Her short fiction collection, A Gentle Habit, was published in 2016.

The Marrow Thieves is set in a dystopian future, but reflects the destructive impact of Indian Residential Schools on Indigenous peoples in Canada. It won a Governor General's Literary Award for Young People's Literature, the Kirkus Prize for young readers' literature, the Amy Mather's Young Reader's Award and was named the "One Book" for both the cities of Brampton and London, Ontario. It was also a finalist in the 2018 Canada Reads competition on CBC Radio and is the YA selection for the Global Read Aloud program. Vancouver-based Thunderbird Entertainment optioned the book's television rights. She has also been the editor of both FNH Magazine and Muskrat Magazine and is currently part of the editorial team at Theytus Books, Canada's oldest Indigenous publishing house.

Find out more at Quill and Quire's article on Cherie Dimaline.

Jeremy Dutcher

Photo credit: Matt Barnes

Jeremy Dutcher is a classically-trained, First Nations tenor, composer, musicologist, performer and actor. His 2018 album, Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa, a tribute to the traditional songs of his people, won both the Polaris Music Prize and a JUNO Award.

Dutcher was born in 1990 and is a Wolastoqiyik (previously known as Maliseet) member of the Tobique First Nation in New Brunswick. He studied music and social anthropology at Dalhousie University in Halifax where he began a research project exploring the tonal differences between Western classical music and traditional Wolastoqiyik music.

An interview with traditional Wolastoqiyik song-carrier Maggie Paul led him to study early 20th century wax cylinder recordings of Wolastoqiyik music in the collection of the Canadian Museum of History. He was deeply moved to hear the recordings of his ancestors' songs, which, had been declared illegal and had to be kept alive in secret, like so much of Indigenous spiritual and cultural practices.

Today, Wolostoquey is an endangered language, with fewer than 100 people who speak it fluently. His award-winning album, Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa intertwines songs he composed and sings with samples of original recordings of traditional songs. Dutcher is devoted to the renaissance in Indigenous languages and cultures.

Find out more at JeremyDutcher.com.

Alanis Obomsawin

Photo credit: Cosmos Image

Alanis Obomsawin is a prominent First Nations documentary filmmaker, singer, artist, storyteller and activist who has focused her work on the struggles of Indigenous peoples and on ensuring their voices are heard.

Obomsawin is a member of the Abenaki Nation, born in August 1932 in New Hampshire on Abenaki territory but grew up on the Odanak Reserve near Sorel, Québec. Her family moved to Trois-Rivières, Québec and it was a difficult time during which she faced bullying, racism and the death of her father from tuberculosis. She moved to Montreal, Québec, in the late 1950s where she became known as a singer and activist, making appearances on reserves, in schools, prisons, at folk festivals and on television.

Obomsawin was hired by the National Film Board of Canada in 1967 and directed her first film which was released in 1971. Since then, she has made many films that focus on issues such as the plight of Indigenous children in foster care, addictions and Indigenous peoples' struggles for their land and resource rights. Her film on the 1990 conflict between the Mohawk and government at Oka, titled Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance, was acclaimed nationally and internationally. Obomsawin is an officer of the Order of Canada, a Grand Officer of the Ordre national du Québec, received the Canadian Screen Awards' Humanitarian Award, multiple Governor General's Awards and lifetime achievement awards.

Find out more at The Canadian Encyclopedia, Alanis Obomsawin.

Athletes

Jesse Cockney

Photo credit: Doug Stephen

Jesse Cockney is an Inuvialuk cross-country skier who competed for Canada at both the 2014 and 2018 Winter Olympics.

Cockney was born in 1989 in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories and started skiing when he was 3 years old. Skiing was an integral part of his family's life. His father skied on the national junior team and won 2 Canada Games gold medals. His sister has also skied for Canada in international competitions. When Cockney was 7, his family moved to Canmore, Alberta, where he was able to get involved in competitive cross-country skiing.

In his junior career, Cockney won 3 gold medals at the 2011 Canada Winter Games and finished sixth in the classic sprint at the 2011 FIS World Under-23 Championships. He competed in his first World Cup race in January 2011. In December 2012, he finished ninth in the free sprint. Cockney made his Olympic debut at the 2014 Winter Olympics where he finished 54 in the 50-km free mass start, 11 in the 4x10km relay, and 53 in the sprint free. In 2015, he competed in his first FIS World Championship, and in 2017, he skied as a member of Canada's world team. At the 2018 Winter Olympics test event, he finished 10th in the classic sprint. He also broke into the top 10 of the free sprint at the World Cup Finals in March 2017. In the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, he finished 35 in the sprint classic.

Jesse started an undergrad at the University of Calgary and hopes to graduate with a double bachelor in Kinesiology and Commerce. To stay involved in the community, he is also coaching in Calgary for the Foothills Nordic Ski Club, of which he has been a member since 2008.

Find out more at Canadian Olympic Team, Jesse Cockney.

Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie

Photo credit: Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie

Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie is a distinguished Métis curler.

She was born in 1963 in Arborg, Manitoba and began curling when she was 11. As a young woman, Darbyshire-McRorie played on a team with her mom. In 1985, they won the Manitoba provincial women's curling tournament and competed in the Canadian women's national Tournament of Hearts in Winnipeg.

She played third for Heather Fowlie at the 2001 Canadian Olympic Curling Trials and second for Renelle Bryden at the Canada Cup in Kamloops, British Columbia in 2003. When she played second for Cheryl Bernard's team starting in the 2005 to 2006 season, the team won two provincial championships (2007 and 2009) and went on to win a silver medal at the 2010 Winter Olympics. After Bernard's team disbanded, Darbyshire-McRorie formed her own team in Calgary and played second for Shannon Kleibrink. She later coached Casey Scheidegger's team and in 2018 became head coach for China's National women's curling teams.

Find out more at Canadian Olympic Team, Carolyn Barbyshire.

Activists and advocates

Thelma Chalifoux

Photo Credit: Senate of Canada

Thelma Chalifoux was the first Indigenous woman and the first Métis person to be appointed to the Canadian Senate.

Chalifoux was born in 1929 in Calgary, Alberta. She married at a young age, but at a critical point early in her life, her 4 children were taken away from her in 1958 as‎ part of what is now known as the Sixties Scoop. Chalifoux fought to get her children back and did so by 1965 while working two jobs and finishing high school. In the late 1960s, she went to the Edmonton office of the Métis Association of Alberta to update her membership; staff spotted her drive and talent and offered her a job as a fieldworker. Soon after she was responsible for setting up the association's welfare and land departments. Work took her to Slave Lake, Alberta where she co-founded the Native Friendship Centre and ran the first shelter for women fleeing domestic violence. She served in the Company of Young Canadians, working on Indigenous housing and community development. She also hosted a weekly radio show.

In the early 1980s, Chalifoux was part of a Métis delegation in constitutional talks with Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, working for recognition of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples as separate and distinct nations. In 1997, Prime Minister Jean Chrétien appointed her to the Senate, where she focused on issues including Métis housing, the environment and relations between pharmaceutical companies and the government. After she retired from the Senate in 2004, she founded the Michif Cultural Institute, now the Michif Cultural Connections, a museum and resource centre dedicated to preserving and promoting Métis culture. She died on September 22, 2017.

Find out more at The Canadian Encyclopedia, Thelma Chalifoux.

Scientists and researchers

Dr. Nadine Caron

Photo credit: Martin Dee

Dr. Nadine Caron, a member of the Sagamok Anishnawbek First Nation, is Canada's first female First Nations general surgeon. She is also a faculty member in the University of British Columbia's (UBC) Faculty of Medicine and is leading an innovative biobank project located at the University Hospital of Northern British Columbia.

Caron was born and raised in Kamloops, British Columbia. Her Anishnaabe mother grew up on a reserve in Ontario, attended residential school and became a teacher. Inspired by her example, Caron was an excellent student. She completed her Bachelor of Science degree in kinesiology at Simon Fraser University in 1993, where she was a star basketball player and a top undergraduate student. She was also a top student as she studied medicine at UBC. Caron earned a Masters degree in public health from Harvard while completing both her surgical residency as well as a postgraduate fellowship at the University of California specializing in endocrine surgical oncology.

She returned to British Columbia in 2005 and began her practice as a general and endocrine surgeon at the Prince George Regional Hospital. Caron is an associate professor in UBC's Northern Medical Program and founding co-director of the UBC Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health. She is also an associate faculty member at Johns Hopkins Centre for American Indian Health.

At the University Hospital of Northern British Columbia Caron is spearheading the Northern Biobank Initiative. This initiative will bank tissue from medical procedures to enable northern British Columbians, including members of rural, remote First Nations communities, to have more equitable access to genomic research into diseases such as colorectal, breast and thyroid cancer. Among other partners in the Northern Biobank Initiative is the British Columbia First Nations Health Authority.

Caron received the Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health award from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 2016.

Find out more at Nadine Caron's profile on The University of British Columbia's website.

Senator Lillian Eva Dyck

Photo credit: Senate of Canada

Trailblazing neuroscientist Senator Lillian Dyck was the first First Nations woman to obtain her PhD in the sciences in Canada. She is also the first female First Nations senator in Canada and the first Canadian-born Chinese senator.

Dyck was born in 1945 in North Battleford, Saskatchewan. Her father, Quan Leen Yok, had immigrated to Canada from China. Her mother, Eva Quan (McNab), was Cree and a member of the Gordon First Nation. However, her mother's Indian status was revoked because she married Quan, a non-status man. Her mother had attended an Indian Residential School where she learned to be ashamed of her Cree identity. She told Dyck and her brother to pretend they were just Chinese, so they would face less racism. After her death when Dyck was still a young girl, she and her brother helped their father run his cafés as they moved around small towns in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Dyck was always an excellent student, and she earned three degrees from the University of Saskatchewan, culminating in a PhD in biological psychiatry in 1981. She was a full professor in the Neuropsychiatry Research Unit, Department of Psychiatry and associate dean in the College of Graduate Studies and Research at the University of Saskatchewan. In 2005, she was appointed to the Senate and is the Chair of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples. Her areas of work in the senate include Chinese Canadians, women in science and post-secondary education. She has been particularly focused on the tragedy of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls, such as proposing bill S-215 to address violence against them.

Find out more at the Senate of Canada, Senator Lillian Eva Dyck.

Louie Kamookak

Photo Credit: Jason Fulford/ Canadian Geographic

Inuit Elder, educator and historian, Louie Kamookak, is best known for his extensive research into the lost Franklin expedition that was essential for the discovery of the HMS Erebus shipwreck in 2014.

Kamookak was born in 1959 at a seal-hunting camp on the Boothia Peninsula near Taloyoak, Nunavut. He learned hunting and fishing skills out on the land with his father and grandfather and began to attend school when he was 12. Lessons about the ill-fated 1845 Arctic expedition led by Sir John Franklin sparked his life-long interest in the mystery. He remembered his great-grandmother's stories of finding artifacts such as forks and spoons on the north shore of King William Island. He became a schoolteacher, working with youth in his hometown of Gjoa Haven, Nunavut and passing on traditional knowledge.

Kamookak continued to look for clues about Franklin and his crew, interviewing many Inuit in his area over decades. He assisted various searches and in 2008 began working with the Parks Canada team that found the shipwrecks in 2014 in the area that the Inuit stories had pointed to all along.

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society made Kamookak an honorary vice-president in 2016. He also received a Governor-General's Polar Medal, the Inuit Heritage Trust Recognition award and in 2017 he was invested as a member of the Order of Nunavut and the Order of Canada.

Find out more at Remembering Inuit oral historian Louie Kamookak.

Dr. Stanley Vollant

Photo Credit: Rodolphe Beaulieu

Dr. Stanley Vollant, the first Innu surgeon in Quebec, has worked to inspire and help Indigenous youth to fulfill their dreams, including embarking on a 6,000 km walk to bring Indigenous peoples together and foster cross-cultural understanding in Canada.

Vollant was born in 1965 in Québec City and raised by his grandparents in the village of Pessamit in the North Shore region of Québec. He spoke Innu and learned a love of the land from his trapper grandfather. He learned French when he started school and excelled in his studies and sports. He studied medicine at the Université de Montréal and finished his residency in general surgery in 1994. He began his work at the regional hospital in Baie-Comeau, Québec where he became known for his innovative work, particularly with laparoscopic surgery and lectured in many schools.

In 2001, he was elected president of the Québec Medical Association, the first Indigenous person to head a medical association in North America. After moving to Ottawa, he served as director of the Aboriginal program at the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Medicine.

Despite his professional success, Vollant fell into a deep depression. He eventually found a remedy in reconnecting with the Earth while traveling in New Zealand. In 2008, while walking the famous Santiago de Compostela route in Spain, he had a dream of his grandfather telling him to start a similar walk in Canada to help connect Indigenous communities and inspire Indigenous youth. In 2010, he began his 6,000 km Innu Meshkenu (My Innu Path) from Labrador through Québec and Ontario, speaking at schools and bringing Elders and youth together along the way. In 2016, he founded the Puamun Meshkenu (path of a thousand dreams), a non-profit organization with the goal of inspiring and supporting Indigenous individuals on their way to developing their full mental, spiritual, physical and emotional potential.

Find out more at The Canadian Encyclopedia, Stanley Vollant.

Date modified:

Autochtones ayant marqué l'histoire

Apprenez-en plus sur ces Autochtones qui ont aidé à façonner l'histoire canadienne.

Sur cette page

Artistes

Cherie Dimaline

crédit photo : Robin Sutherland

L'auteure métisse Cherie Dimaline est mieux connue pour le roman futuriste cauchemardesque à succès, The Marrow Thieves, pour jeunes adultes paru en 2017, qui a remporté des prix au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle est née en 1975 et est membre de la Nation métisse de Georgian Bay en Ontario.

Madame Dimaline a publié son premier livre Red Rooms, en 2007. Ce roman a remporté le prix Fiction Book of the Year (Livre de fiction de l'année) au Ankoshk Aboriginal Literature Festival. Elle a poursuivi avec la publication de son second roman, The Girl Who Grew a Galaxy, en 2013. L'année suivante, elle a été nommée Artiste émergente de l'année aux Prix du premier ministre pour l'excellence artistique en Ontario et est devenue la première écrivaine autochtone en résidence pour la Toronto Public Library (Bibliothèque publique de Toronto). Son recueil de nouvelles, A Gentle Habit, a été publié en 2016.

The Marrow Thieves se situe dans un futur cauchemardesque mais reflète l'impact destructeur des écoles résidentielles indiennes sur les peuples autochtones au Canada. Ce roman a remporté le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur Général dans la catégorie Littérature jeunesse et le prix Kirkus dans la catégorie Young Readers' literature (littérature pour jeunes lecteurs), le prix Amy Mather's Young Reader's Award et a été nommé le "One Book" (le livre de l'année que toute une communauté – ville ou province – est encouragée à partager) pour les villes de Brampton et London, en Ontario. Le livre fut aussi finaliste de la compétition Canada Reads 2018 sur les ondes de CBC Radio (dont l'équivalent à Radio-Canada est le Combat national des livres), et est la sélection YA pour le programme Global Read Aloud. Thunderbird Entertainment (basé à Vancouver) a pris une option d'achat sur les droits du livre pour la télévision. Son auteure a aussi été l'éditrice de FNH Magazine et de Muskrat Magazine et fait actuellement partie de l'équipe éditoriale de Theytus Books, la plus vieille maison de publication autochtone au Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur Cherie Dimaline dans l'article Quill and Quire (non disponible en français).

Jeremy Dutcher

crédit photo : Matt Barnes

Jeremy Dutcher est un ténor, compositeur, musicologue, interprète et acteur de formation classique des Premières Nations. Son album, Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa, un hommage aux chants traditionnels de son peuple paru en 2018, a remporté à la fois le Prix de Musique Polaris et un prix JUNO.

Monsieur Dutcher est né en 1990 et est membre Wolastoqiyik (auparavant appelé Maliseet) de la Première Nation Tobique au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il a étudié la musique et l'anthropologie sociale à l'université de Dalhousie à Halifax, où il a entamé un projet de recherche explorant les différences tonales entre la musique classique occidentale et la musique traditionnelle Wolastoqiyik.

Une entrevue avec la porteuse du chant traditionnel Wolastoqiyik Maggie Paul l'a amené à étudier les enregistrements du début du 20e siècle sur cylindres de cire de la musique Wolastoqiyik dans la collection du Musée canadien de l'histoire. Il a été profondément ému d'entendre les enregistrements des chants de ses ancêtres qui avaient été déclarés illégaux et devaient être préservés dans le secret, comme tant de pratiques spirituelles et culturelles autochtones. Aujourd'hui, le Wolostoquey est une langue menacée, parlée couramment par moins de 100 personnes. Son album primé, Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa, entrecroise ses propres chansons chantées avec des extraits d'enregistrements originaux de chants traditionnels. Monsieur Dutcher est dévoué à la renaissance des langues et des cultures autochtones.

Plus d'informations à l'adresse JeremyDutcher.com (non disponible en français).

Alanis Obomsawin

crédit photo : Cosmos Image

Alanis Obomsawin est une éminente cinéaste documentariste, chanteuse, artiste, raconteuse, et activiste des Premières Nations qui a axé son œuvre sur les luttes des peuples autochtones, en veillant entre autres à s'assurer que leurs voix soient entendues.

Madame Obomsawin est membre de la Nation Abenaki, née en août 1932 sur le territoire Abenaki dans le New Hampshire, elle a grandi sur la réserve d'Odanak près de Sorel, au Québec. Sa famille a déménagé à Trois-Rivières, au Québec, mais ce fût des temps difficiles pendant lesquels elle a été confrontée à de l'intimidation, du racisme et à la mort de son père atteint de tuberculose. Elle a déménagé à Montréal, au Québec, à la fin des années 50 où elle s'est fait connaître à titre de chanteuse et d'activiste, faisant des apparitions sur des réserves, dans des écoles, des prisons, à des festivals folks et à la télévision.

Madame Obomsawin a été embauchée par l'Office national du film du Canada en 1967 et dirigé son premier film qui est sorti en 1971. Depuis, elle a réalisé plusieurs films portant sur des enjeux tels que la détresse des enfants autochtones pris en charge, les toxicomanies et les luttes des peuples autochtones pour leurs droits concernant leurs terres et leurs ressources. Son film à propos du conflit de 1990 entre les Mohawks et le gouvernement à Oka, intitulé Kanehsatake : 270 ans de résistance a été acclamé sur les scènes nationale et internationales. Madame Obomsawin est officier de l'Ordre du Canada, Grand Officier de l'Ordre national du Québec, a reçu le Prix humanitaire des prix Écrans canadiens, de multiples Prix du Gouverneur général et des prix pour l'ensemble de son œuvre.

Pour plus d'informations  : L'Encyclopédie canadienne, Alanis Obomsawin.

Athlètes

Jesse Cockney

crédit photo : Doug Stephen

Jesse Cockney est un skieur de fond inuvialuk qui a pris part à aux compétitions pour le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2014 et de 2018.

Cockney est né en 1989 à Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et a commencé à skier lorsqu'il avait 3 ans. Skier était une partie intégrale de la vie familiale. Son père a skié pour l'équipe junior nationale et remporté 2 médailles d'or aux Jeux du Canada. Sa sœur a aussi skié pour le Canada dans des compétitions internationales. Lorsque Monsieur Cockney avait 7 ans, sa famille a déménagé à Canmore, en Alberta où il a été en mesure de s'impliquer dans le ski de fond compétitif.

Durant sa carrière junior, Cockney a remporté 3 médailles d'or aux Jeux d'hiver du Canada en 2011 et a terminé sixième en sprint classique aux Championnats du monde de la FIS pour les moins de 23 ans en 2011. Il a pris part à sa première course en Coupe du monde en janvier 2011. En décembre 2012, il a terminé neuvième en sprint libre. Monsieur Cockney a fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2014 lors desquels il a terminé 54e au 50KM classique, départ groupé, 11e au relais 4X10KM, et 53e au sprint classique. En 2015, il a pris part à ses premières compétitions de Championnats du monde de la FIS et en 2017, il a skié à titre de membre de l'équipe nationale du Canada. Aux épreuves tests des Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2018, il a terminé 10e en sprint classique. Il a aussi fait le top 10 du sprint libre en finale de la Coupe du monde en mars 2017. Aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2018, il a terminé 35e en sprint classique.

Jesse a entamé des études de premier cycle à l'université de Calgary et espère graduer avec un baccalauréat double en kinésiologie et en commerce. Afin de demeurer impliqué dans la communauté, il occupe les fonctions d'entraineur à Calgary pour le Foothills Nordic Ski Club, duquel il est membre depuis 2008.

Plus d'informations sur Jesse Cockney sur le site de l'Équipe olympique canadienne.

Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie

crédit photo : Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie

Carolyn Darbyshire-McRorie est une joueuse de curling métisse de renom.

Elle est née en 1963 à Arborg, au Manitoba, et a commencé à jouer au curling à l'âge de 11 ans. Jeune femme, Madame Darbyshire-McRorie jouait dans une équipe avec sa mère. En 1985, elles ont remporté le tournoi de curling provincial féminin du Manitoba et pris part au Tournoi national canadien féminin des cœurs à Winnipeg. Elle était la troisième joueuse pour Heather Fowlie aux essais olympiques canadiens de curling de 2001 et la deuxième pour Renelle Bryden à la Coupe Canada à Kamloops, Colombie-Britannique en 2003. Alors qu'elle jouait deuxième pour l'équipe de Cheryl Bernard, à partir de la saison 2005 à 2006, l'équipe a remporté 2 championnats provinciaux en 2007 et 2009 avant de remporter la médaille d'argent aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver en 2010. Après la dissolution de l'équipe de Bernard, Madame Darbyshire-McRorie a formé sa propre équipe à Calgary et joué deuxième pour Shannon Kleibrink. Elle a entraîné plus tard l'équipe de Casey Scheidegger et, en 2018, est devenue l'entraîneur en chef des équipes nationales de curling féminin de la Chine.

Plus d'informations sur Carolyn Darbyshire sur le site de l'Équipe olympique canadienne.

Activiste et défenseur

Thelma Chalifoux

crédit photo : Sénat du Canada

Thelma Chalifoux fut la première femme autochtone et la première personne métisse à être nommée au Sénat canadien.

Madame Chalifoux est née en 1929 à Calgary, en Alberta. Elle s'est mariée à un jeune âge mais, à un moment critique de sa vie, en 1958, ses 4 enfants lui ont été enlevés dans le contexte de ce qu'on appelle aujourd'hui la Rafle des années 60. Madame Chalifoux s'est battue pour ravoir ses enfants et y est parvenue en 1965, tout en occupant 2 emplois et en complétant l'école secondaire. À la fin des années 60, elle s'est rendue au bureau local à Edmonton de l'Association métisse d'Alberta pour mettre à jour son adhésion. On y a reconnu son entrain et ses talents et offert un emploi comme travailleuse sur le terrain. Peu après, elle était responsable de la mise en place des départements de services sociaux et fonciers de l'association. Le travail l'a menée à Slave Lake, Alberta, où elle a cofondé le Centre d'amitié métis et dirigé le premier refuge pour femmes fuyant la violence domestique. Elle a servi au sein de la Compagnie des jeunes Canadiens, œuvrant dans le logement et le développement communautaire autochtone. Elle animait aussi une émission de radio hebdomadaire.

Au début des années 80, Madame Chalifoux faisait partie de la délégation métisse impliquée dans les pourparlers constitutionnels avec le premier ministre Pierre Trudeau, en vue de faire reconnaître les peuples des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis comme étant des nations distinctes et séparées. En 1997, le premier ministre Jean Chrétien l'a nommé au Sénat, où elle s'est concentrée sur des enjeux tels que le logement pour les Métis, les relations entre les compagnies pharmaceutiques et le gouvernement. Après sa retraite du Sénat en 2004, elle a fondé le Michif Cultural Institute, maintenant connu sous le nom de Michif Cultural Connections, un musée et un centre de ressources dédiés à la préservation et la promotion de la culture métisse. Elle est décédée le 22 septembre 2017.

Plus d'informations sur Thelma Chalifoux sur la page Web de l'Encyclopédie canadienne.

Scientifiques et chercheurs

Docteure Nadine Caron

crédit photo : Martin Dee

Docteure Nadine Caron est fièrement membre de la communauté Sagamok Anishnawbek et est la première femme chirurgienne généraliste des Premières Nations au Canada. Elle est aussi membre de faculté de la Faculté de médecine de l'université de Colombie-Britannique (UBC) et dirige un projet innovateur de bio-banque à l'université de Northern British Columbia (UNBC).

Docteure Caron est née et a été éduquée à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique. Sa mère Anishnaabe a grandi sur une réserve en Ontario, a fréquenté une école résidentielle et est devenue enseignante. Inspirée par son exemple, Docteure Caron était une excellente étudiante. Elle a complété son baccalauréat en sciences en kinésiologie à l'université Simon Fraser en 1993, où elle était une joueuse de basketball étoile et une excellente étudiante de premier cycle. Elle était aussi une excellente étudiante alors qu'elle étudiait la médicine à l'université de Colombie-Britannique. Docteure Caron a obtenu une maîtrise en santé publique de Harvard pendant qu'elle complétait à la fois sa résidence en chirurgie et des études postdoctorales à l'université de Californie, spécialisées en oncologie chirurgicale endocrine.

Elle est retournée en Colombie-Britannique en 2005 et a débuté sa pratique à titre de chirurgienne généraliste et endocrinienne à l'hôpital régional de Prince George. Docteure Caron est professeure adjointe dans le programme de médecine du Nord de UBC et est co-directrice du Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health de UBC. Elle est aussi membre de faculté adjointe au Johns Hopkins Centre for American Indian Health.

Au University Hospital of Norther British-Columbia, Docteure Caron dirige le Northern Biobank Initiative. Cette initiative va conserver des tissus provenant de procédures médicales à des fins de recherche sur des maladies telles que le cancer colorectal, du sein, et de la thyroïde, aidant à mieux comprendre le profil démographique et génétique de différentes populations à travers la province. Parmi les partenaires de la Northern Biobank Initiative, on trouve la British Columbia First Nations Health Authority.

Docteure Caron a reçu le prix Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada en 2016.

Plus d'informations sur le profil de Nadine Caron sur le site Web de la University of British Columbia (non disponible en français).

Sénatrice Lillian Eva Dyck

crédit photo : Sénat du Canada

Neuro-scientiste pionnière Lillian Dyck fut la première femme des Premières Nations à obtenir son doctorat en sciences au Canada. Elle est aussi la première femme des Premières Nations nommée sénatrice au Canada et la première sénatrice chinoise née au Canada.

Sénatrice Dyck est née en 1945 à North Battleford, en Saskatchewan. Son père, Quan Leen Yok, avait immigré au Canada depuis la Chine. Sa mère, Eva Quan (McNab), était Crie et membre de la Première Nation Gordon. Cependant, le statut d'Indien de sa mère fut révoqué parce qu'elle a épousé Quan, un homme sans statut. Sa mère avait fréquenté une école résidentielle indienne où elle avait appris à avoir honte de son identité crie. Elle a dit à la Sénatrice Dyck et à son frère de prétendre qu'ils étaient seulement Chinois, pour qu'ils soient confrontés à moins de racisme. Après sa mort, alors que la Sénatrice Dyck était toujours une jeune fille, elle et son frère ont aidé leur père à exploiter ses cafés alors qu'ils se déplaçaient d'un petit village à un autre en Alberta et en Saskatchewan.

La Sénatrice Dyck était toujours une excellente étudiante et elle a obtenu 3 diplômes de l'université de la Saskatchewan, culminant avec un doctorat en psychiatrie biologique en 1981. Elle était professeure titulaire dans l'unité de recherches neuropsychiatriques du département de Psychiatrie et doyenne associée du collège de recherches et d'études supérieures à l'université de la Saskatchewan. En 2005, elle a été nommée au Sénat et est la présidente du comité sénatorial permanent sur les peuples autochtones. Ses champs d'activité au Sénat incluent les Chinois Canadiens, les femmes en sciences et l'éducation post-secondaire. Elle s'est particulièrement concentrée sur la tragédie des femmes et des filles autochtones disparues et assassinées et a notamment proposé un projet de loi, S-215, pour répondre à la violence faite contre elles.

Plus d'informations sur la sénatrice Lillian Eva Dyck sur le site Web du Sénat du Canada.

Louie Kamookak

crédit photo : Jason Fulford/ Canadian Geographic

L'Aîné, éducateur et historien inuit Louie Kamookak est mieux connu pour ses recherches exhaustives concernant le sort de l'expédition Franklin qui se sont avérées essentielles à la découverte de l'épave du HMS Erebus en 2014.

Kamookak est né en 1959 dans un campement de chasse au phoque sur la péninsule de Boothia près de Taloyoak, au Nunavut. Il a appris les rudiments de la chasse et de la pêche sur le terrain avec son père et son grand-père et a commencé à fréquenter l'école à l'âge de 12 ans. Les leçons entourant la tragique expédition arctique de 1845 dirigée par Sir John Franklin ont éveillé son intérêt à vie pour le mystère lorsqu'il s'est souvenu des histoires de sa grand-mère concernant la découverte de vestiges tels que des fourchettes et des cuillères sur la côte nord de l'île King William. Il devint enseignant, travaillant avec les jeunes dans son village de Gjoa Haven, au Nunavut, et leur transmettant les connaissances traditionnelles.

Monsieur Kamoolak a continué de chercher des indices concernant Franklin et son équipage en interviewant plusieurs Inuit dans son secteur au cours des décennies. Il a aidé diverses recherches et, en 2008, a commencé à travailler avec l'équipe de Parcs Canada qui a découvert l'épave en 2014 dans le secteur indiqué depuis toujours par les histoires inuites.

La Société géographique royale du Canada a donné à Monsieur Kamookak le titre de vice-président honorifique en 2016. Il a aussi reçu la médaille polaire du Gouverneur général et le prix de reconnaissance du Inuit Heritage Trust, et en 2017, il a été investi à titre de membre de l'Ordre du Nunavut et de l'Ordre du Canada.

Plus d'informations sur Louie Kamookak dans l'article intitulé Remembering Inuit oral historian Louie Kamookak.

Docteur Stanley Vollant

crédit photo : Rodolphe Beaulieu

Le docteur Stanley Vollant, premier chirurgien Innu au Québec, a œuvré en vue d'inspirer et d'aider des jeunes Autochtones à réaliser leurs rêves, y compris en entamant une marche de 6 000 km pour rassembler les peuples autochtones et favoriser la compréhension interculturelle au Canada.

Docteur Vollant est né en 1965 à Québec et a été élevé par ses grands-parents dans le village de Pessamit, dans la région de la Côte-Nord du Québec. Il y parlait Innu et y a découvert un amour de la nature grâce à son grand-père trappeur. Il a appris le français lorsqu'il a commencé l'école, où il a excellé dans les études et les sports. Il a étudié la médicine à l'université de Montréal et terminé sa résidence en chirurgie générale en 1994. Il a commencé son travail à l'hôpital régional de Baie-Comeau, Québec, où il a été reconnu pour son travail innovateur, particulièrement en chirurgie laparoscopique, et donné des cours dans plusieurs écoles.

En 2001, il a été élu président de l'Association médicale du Québec, devenant la première personne autochtone à diriger une association médicale en Amérique du Nord. Après s'être relocalisé à Ottawa, il a assumé le rôle de directeur du programme autochtone à la Faculté de médicine de l'université d'Ottawa.

Malgré ses succès professionnels, Docteur Vollant a sombré dans une profonde dépression. Il a éventuellement trouvé un remède en reprenant contact avec la nature alors qu'il voyageait en Nouvelle-Zélande. En 2008, alors qu'il parcourait à pied la célèbre route vers Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle (Santiago de Compostela) en Espagne, il a rêvé de son grand-père lui disant d'entamer une marche similaire au Canada pour aider les communautés autochtones à se relier entre elles et pour inspirer la jeunesse autochtone. En 2010, il a entamé son Innu Meshkenu (Mon sentier Innu) de 6 000 km à partir du Labrador et à travers le Québec et l'Ontario, parlant dans les écoles et rassemblant les Aînés et les jeunes le long de son parcours. En 2016, il a créé l'organisme sans but lucratif Puamun Meshkenu (Sentier des mille rêves) dans le but d'inspirer et d'appuyer les individus autochtones en voie de développer leur plein potentiel mental, spirituel, physique et émotionnel.

Plus d'informations sur Stanley Vollant sur la page Web de l'Encyclopédie canadienne.

Date de modification :