Terms and conditions of the Indigenous Nation Rebuilding Program

Table of contents

1. Introduction

Recognition of and respect for Indigenous rights is the foundation to an improved relationship with Indigenous peoples and for advancing reconciliation. The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (1996) recommended that Indigenous nations should begin to reconstitute themselves as nations and create institutions with breadth and capacity to take on the exercise of rights, including self-government.

Priority has therefore been given to renewing the nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous peoples based on the recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. This will be accomplished by working with Indigenous peoples to support them in their work to rebuild and reconstitute their nations. This contribution program will support the rebuilding efforts of Indigenous nations through the provision of capacity development funding. These terms and conditions are specifically targeted to Indigenous nations.

2. Legal and policy authority

3. Purpose, objectives and expected results

The purpose of this program is an improved relationship and advancing reconciliation with Indigenous nations.

The objective of the program is to support nation rebuilding efforts that will contribute to aggregation and nation rebuilding.

The program furthers the departmental objective of increasing the sense of attachment to a nation and Indigenous peoples' self-determination, and supports broad governmental objective of establishing a respectful, responsive and supportive relationship between Indigenous peoples and Canada. Funding provided under this authority is intended to have the following outcomes:

In the Departmental Results Framework (DRF), this authority is listed under: Rights and Self-Determination.

4. Eligibility

Eligible recipients

The prime recipients for this program are Indigenous nations, however, there may be instances where the funding would need to flow to member communities or member organizations that would undertake activities on behalf of a nation to which they are a part of. Eligible recipients for this program would need to be legal entities with the capacity to enter into funding agreements and listed below:

Eligible initiatives and activities

Eligible initiatives are those that will foster nationhood and support the rebuilding of nations as well as capacity development initiatives that will develop the capacity of the self-identified nations.

Eligible activities include, but not limited to:

5. Type and nature of eligible expenditures

Eligible expenditures include, but are not limited to:

6. Total Canadian government funding and stacking limits

Proposals for funding from each recipient shall address the requirement for the recipient to declare any and all prospective sources of funding for the eligible project or initiative, inclusive of all federal, provincial, territorial or municipal governments (total government assistance) and other sources that is expected to be received. Annual financial reporting shall show all sources of funding received. Provision for repayment shall be included in the funding arrangements. Maximum funding by Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada and maximum total government assistance is 100% for eligible projects or initiatives.

7. Method for determining the amount of funding

The method for determining the amount of funding is based on the assessment of the proposals received. The approved activities contained in the proposal will be assessed against internal guidelines that will be developed for Nation rebuilding that will set the amounts to be accorded for each activity.

8. Maximum amounts payable

The maximum amount payable to any one recipient in any year will not exceed $1,500,000.

9. Basis on which payments will be made

Payments are made based on a combination of a cash flow forecast from the recipient and predetermined milestones, such as progress reports. Advance payments are allowed and fixed and flexible contribution arrangements will be utilized.

10. Application requirements and assessment criteria

Funding will be awarded to eligible recipients on a proposal based approach. Because of the limited amount of contribution funding available to support Indigenous nations rebuilding activities, decisions to fund proposals will be based on merit of the proposal and not on a first in or first out basis.

Application requirements

In order for the department to consider entering into an agreement with prospective recipients, the recipients will be required to provide:

Recipients who are former public office holders must respect and comply with the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment Code for Public Office Holders and the Conflict of Interest and Post-Employment Code for the Public Service (2003). Recipients who are former public servants must respect and comply with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service. Where an applicant employs or has a major shareholder who is either a current or former (in the last 12 months) public office holder or public servant in the federal government, compliance with the codes must be demonstrated.

Applicants shall provide assurance that, where lobbyists are utilized, they are registered in accordance with the Lobbyist Registration Act and that no contingency fee arrangement exists.

Assessment criteria

Proposals received will be assessed against the objective of this authority and for eligible activities that will contribute to this objective. To be eligible for funding, proposals must demonstrate that they are including more than one Indigenous group of the same nation (cultural or language background or historical treaty lines) and that the activities contribute to aggregation and nation rebuilding by increasing capacity for action at the nation level and by fostering a greater sense of attachment identity. As such, funding may be allocated for governance-like activities as well as heritage (culture, language) and education-like activities if these are to be applied to a nation or aggregation of First Nations. Assessment of proposals will also consider other federal programs in order to not duplicate funding.

11. Due diligence and reporting

The department has in place the appropriate systems, procedures and resources for ensuring due diligence in approving and verifying eligibility for the management and administration of the contributions. Recipients are required to provide year-end audited financial statements as well as year-end reporting on the utilization of the funding. Recipients will also be required to report on deliverables outlined in the departmental offer to provide funding for their project or initiative and contained in the contribution agreement.

12. Official languages

The department has procedures and resources that enable it to ensure compliance with the Official Languages Act in relation to this program. In particular, the department will ensure that its communications with and services to recipients and the public in relation to this program will be provided in both official languages, in accordance with Part IV of the Official Languages Act. The department will also ensure that the design and the delivery of this program respect the obligations of the Government of Canada as set out in Part VII of the Official Languages Act. Where the program supports activities that may be delivered to members of either official language community, conditions will be set out in the funding agreement to require that access to services from the recipient will be provided in both official languages where there is significant demand.

13. Intellectual property

Where a contribution is provided for the development of material in which copyright subsists, conditions for shared rights will be set out in the funding agreement.

14. Repayable contributions

Provisions for repayable contributions do not apply. Any contributions made to private firms under these programs are not intended to generate profits or to increase the value of a business.

15. Redistribution of contributions

Where a recipient further distributes contribution funding to an agency or a third party (such as an authority, board, committee, or other entity authorized to act on behalf of the recipient), the recipient shall remain liable to the department for the performance of its obligations under the funding agreement. Neither the objectives of the programs and services nor the expectations of transparent, fair and equitable services shall be compromised by any delegation or redistribution of contribution funding.

Recipients have full independence in the selection of such third parties and will not be acting as an agent of the government in making distributions.

Date modified:

Modalités du Programme de reconstruction des Nations autochtones

Table des matières

1. Introduction

La reconnaissance et le respect des droits ancestraux sont à la base d’une meilleure relation avec les peuples autochtones et permettent de faire progresser la réconciliation. La Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones (1996) recommandait que les nations autochtones commencent à se reconstituer en tant que nations et à créer des institutions ayant la capacité d’assumer l’exercice de leurs droits, y compris l’autonomie gouvernementale.

Dans ce but, la priorité a été accordée au renouvellement de la relation de nation à nation avec les peuples autochtones, une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat. Cela sera réalisé en travaillant avec les peuples autochtones pour les soutenir dans leurs travaux visant à reconstruire et reconstituer leurs nations. Ce programme de contributions appuiera les efforts de reconstruction des nations autochtones en finançant le renforcement de la capacité. Ces modalités ciblent particulièrement les nations autochtones.

2. Autorisations conférées par des lois, des règlements ou des politiques

3. Buts, objectifs et résultats escomptés

Le but de ce programme est d’améliorer la relation et de faire progresser la réconciliation avec les nations autochtones.

L’objectif du programme est de soutenir les efforts de reconstruction des nations qui contribueront au regroupement et à la reconstruction de ces nations.

Le programme appuie l’objectif ministériel consistant à favoriser le sentiment d’appartenance à une nation, de même que l’autodétermination des peuples autochtones et soutient l’objectif ministériel général visant à établir une relation respectueuse, dynamique et favorable entre les peuples autochtones et le Canada. Le financement fourni en vertu de cette autorisation vise l’atteinte des résultats suivants :

Dans le Cadre ministériel des résultats, cette autorisation est inscrite sous l’aspect Droits et autodétermination.

4. Admissibilité

Bénéficiaires admissibles

Les bénéficiaires premiers de ce programme sont les nations autochtones. Toutefois, il pourrait y avoir des situations dans lesquelles le financement devra être fourni à des communautés ou organisations membres d’une nation qui réaliseront des activités au nom d’une nation dont ils font partie. Les bénéficiaires de ce programme devraient être des entités légales ayant la capacité de conclure des ententes de financement, c'est-à-dire :

Initiatives et activités admissibles

Les initiatives admissibles sont celles qui favorisent un sentiment d’identité nationale et la reconstruction des nations, ainsi que celles qui permettront de renforcer la capacité des nations telles qu’elles s’autodéfinissent.

Les activités admissibles comprennent, sans s’y limiter :

5. Type et nature des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent, sans s’y limiter :

6. Aide financière totale du gouvernement du Canada et limites sur le cumul

Les propositions de financement des bénéficiaires doivent comporter une mention relative à l’exigence faite au bénéficiaire de déclarer toutes les sources prospectives de financement du projet ou de l’initiative , de la part des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ou les administrations municipales (l’ensemble de l’aide gouvernementale) et toute autre source de laquelle le bénéficiaire prévoit recevoir du financement. Un rapport financier annuel doit indiquer toutes les sources de financement reçu. Les ententes de financement devront comprendre une disposition sur le remboursement des trop-payés. Le financement maximum de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada et le financement gouvernemental total maximum équivalent à 100 % pour les projets ou initiatives admissibles.

7. Méthode utilisée pour calculer le montant du financement

La méthode utilisée pour calculer le montant du financement repose sur l’évaluation des propositions reçues. Les activités approuvées contenues dans la proposition seront évaluées compte tenu des lignes directrices internes actuellement utilisées dans le cadre d’autres processus de négociation pour déterminer le montant applicable à chaque activité.

8. Montants maximums payables

Le montant maximum payable à un seul bénéficiaire au cours d’un même exercice ne dépassera pas 1 500 000 $.

9. Modalités de paiement

Les paiements sont effectués en fonction des prévisions de trésorerie du bénéficiaire et de jalons déterminés au préalable, comme les rapports d’étape. Les paiements anticipés sont permis et des ententes de contributions fixes et souples seront utilisées.

10. Exigences concernant les demandes et critères d’évaluation

Le financement sera attribué aux bénéficiaires admissibles en suivant une approche fondée sur les propositions. En raison du montant limité du financement sous forme de contributions disponible pour financer les activités de reconstruction des nations autochtones, les décisions de financement seront fondées sur le bien-fondé des propositions et non pas en suivant l’approche du « premier arrivé, premier servi ».

Exigences relatives aux demandes

Pour que le ministère envisage de conclure une entente avec un bénéficiaire, celui-ci est tenu de fournir ce qui suit :

Les bénéficiaires qui sont d’anciens titulaires de charge publique doivent se conformer au Code régissant la conduite des titulaires de charge publique en ce qui concerne les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat et au Code régissant les conflits d’intérêts et l’après-mandat s’appliquant à la fonction publique (2003). Les bénéficiaires qui sont d’anciens fonctionnaires doivent se conformer au Code de valeurs et d’éthique de la fonction publique. Si un demandeur a un employé ou un actionnaire principal qui a occupé dans les 12 mois précédents ou qui occupe actuellement une charge publique au gouvernement fédéral, ce demandeur doit démontrer qu’il se conforme à ces codes.

Les demandeurs doivent fournir l’assurance, lorsque des lobbyistes sont utilisés, que ceux-ci sont dûment inscrits à ce titre conformément à la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes et qu’il n’existe aucune entente quant au versement d’honoraires de démarchage.

Critères d’évaluation

Les propositions seront évaluées en fonction de l’objectif de cette autorisation, pour des activités admissibles qui contribueront à cet objectif. Pour être admissibles à un financement, les proposants doivent soumettre une proposition qui démontre qu’ils incluent plus d’un seul groupe de la même nation (environnement culturel ou linguistique, frontières de traités historiques) et que les activités contribueront au regroupement et à la reconstruction d’une nation en améliorant la capacité d’agir au niveau national et en favorisant un plus grand sentiment d’appartenance identitaire. Ainsi, le financement pourrait être attribué pour des activités liées à la gouvernance, au patrimoine (culture, langue) ou à l’éducation, en lien avec une nation ou un regroupement de Premières Nations.

11. Diligence raisonnable et production de rapports

Le ministère a mis en place les systèmes, les procédures et les ressources appropriés pour assurer une diligence raisonnable dans l’approbation et la vérification de l’admissibilité à la gestion et à l’administration du financement sous forme de contributions. Les bénéficiaires sont tenus de rendre compte à propos des livrables énoncés dans l’offre ministérielle qui prévoit des fonds pour le projet ou l’initiative et comme indiqué dans l’entente de contribution.

12. Langues officielles

Le ministère dispose de procédures et de ressources lui permettant d’assurer la conformité à la Loi sur les langues officielles relativement à ce programme. Plus précisément, le ministère veillera à ce que ses communications et services aux bénéficiaires et au public relativement au programme soient assurés dans les deux langues officielles, conformément à la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles. De plus, le ministère veillera à ce que la conception et la mise en œuvre du programme respectent les obligations du gouvernement du Canada prescrites à la partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Si le programme appuie des activités susceptibles d’être offertes aux membres de l’une ou l’autre des communautés de langue officielle, des conditions seront énoncées dans l’entente de financement pour exiger que les services soient fournis dans les deux langues officielles lorsque la demande est importante.

13. Propriété intellectuelle

Lorsqu’une contribution est fournie pour la rédaction de documents pour lesquels il existe un droit d’auteur, les conditions touchant les droits partagés seront énoncées dans l’entente de financement.

14. Contributions remboursables

Les dispositions portant sur les contributions remboursables ne s’appliquent pas. Les contributions offertes à des entreprises privées dans le cadre de ces programmes n’ont pas pour but de leur faire générer des profits ou d’augmenter la valeur de ces entreprises.

15. Redistribution des contributions

Lorsqu'un bénéficiaire distribue ses fonds de contribution à un autre organisme ou à un tiers (qu'il s'agisse d'une administration, d'un comité, d'un conseil ou d'un autre organisme autorisé à agir en son nom), il demeure responsable envers le ministère de l'exécution de ses obligations liées à l'entente de financement. Ni les objectifs des programmes et services, ni l’attente d'un service transparent, juste et équitable ne peuvent être compromis par la délégation ou la redistribution du financement sous forme de contribution.

Les bénéficiaires choisissent en toute indépendance les tierces parties et ne font pas fonction d'agent du gouvernement dans leurs distributions.

Date de modification :