Horizontal initiative: Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Lead department: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs (CIRNA)

Federal partner organizations: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Indigenous Services Canada; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada; Environment and Climate Change Canada; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency.

Non-federal and non-governmental partner(s): Not applicable

Start date: June 17, 2011

End date: Ongoing

Description of the horizontal initiative:
Strategic Partnership Initiative (SPI)
With a focus on economic readiness, the Strategic Partnership Initiative (SPI) supports Indigenous participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on emerging opportunities in the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and potash.

SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Indigenous economic development opportunities. The process-oriented program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Indigenous communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Indigenous peoples take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The Initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

SPI also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Indigenous individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Indigenous communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

West Coast Energy:

In June 2014, a coordinated government response was launched with the objective of building Indigenous support for energy projects. Part of the response included the expansion of SPI, which will provide the Government of Canada with the resources needed to enhance Indigenous participation in West Coast Energy infrastructure development.

Funding is being used in four priority areas to help build Indigenous support for energy projects. These include:

Governance structures: Central to the governance structure of the Strategic Partnership Initiative is the Director General Investment Committee (DGIC), which includes all core voting member departments. The committee validates and prioritizes opportunities, taking a whole-of-Government approach to investments under the program. It also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative, and ensures that they work with Indigenous groups to advance these opportunities. The committee completes a review of detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program, and makes final decisions on initiatives seeking funding.

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date) (dollars):
Strategic Partnership Initiative: $85,500,000 over five years (approved in 2010–ongoing), and $14,500,000 for each of 2015–2016, 2016–2017, and 2017–2018

West Coast Energy Initiative: $61,000,000 over five years (2014–2019)

Total federal planned spending to date (dollars): $190,000,000

Total federal actual spending to date (dollars): $163,338,420

Date of last renewal of the horizontal initiative: Not applicable

Total federal funding allocated at the last renewal and source of funding (dollars): Not applicable

Additional federal funding received after the last renewal (dollars): Not applicable

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners (dollars): Not applicable

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation: An evaluation of SPI – West Coast Energy Initiative covering the period 2014–2015 to 2017–2018 commenced in early 2017. The final evaluation report, together with the Management Response and Action Plan, will be presented to CIRNA's Performance Measurement and Review Committee in 2018. This evaluation work will contribute to a Natural Resource Canada-led horizontal evaluation of the West Coast Energy Initiative in 2018–2019.

Shared outcome of federal partners: SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engage in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Indigenous participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Expected outcome or result of non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Name of theme: Not applicable

Theme Outcome: Not applicable                  

Theme performance indicator(s): Not applicable

Theme target: Not applicable

Planning highlights: SPI is a federal horizontal initiative designed to further the objectives of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development by ensuring:

Performance information
Federal organizations Link to the department's Program Inventory Horizontal initiative activities Total federal allocation
(from start to end date) (dollars)
2018–2019 Planned spending (dollars)

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs

Economic Development Capacity and Readiness

Not applicable $114,500,000
(General SPI)
$14,450,000
Not applicable $61,000,000
(West Coast Energy Infrastructure)
$8,000,000
Other federal partners Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable
Total for all federal organizations $175,500,000  $22,450,000
 
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
2018–2019
Expected results
2018–2019
Performance indicators
2018–2019
Targets
Date to achieve target
Regional economic opportunities and large resource development projects impacting Indigenous communities are pursued in partnership with public and private sectors Value of federal and non-federal investments leveraged under the community readiness phase of the Strategic Partnership Initiative 1:1.5 leveraging over three years (for every $1 Strategic Partnership Initiative investment an additional $1.50 is leveraged from other sources including private and other public sectors) March 31, 2019

Contact information:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
Stephanie Blondin
Director, Strategic Partnerships Initiative
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
Telephone: 819-994-7219
Stephanie.blondin@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Initiative horizontale : Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Ministères responsables : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord (RCAAN)

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Services aux Autochtones Canada; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et Développement social Canada; Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, incluant FedNor; Ressources naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada; Environnement et Changement climatique Canada; Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : sans objet

Date de début : 17 juin 2011

Date de fin : en cours

Description de l'initiative horizontale :
L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS)
L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est axée sur l'état de préparation sur le plan économique et vise à soutenir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie; pour ce faire, l'IPS accorde une place importante aux nouvelles possibilités dans les secteurs de l'exploitation des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture.  Le programme soutient également d'autres possibilités clés en matière de développement économique dans des domaines comme la construction navale, le tourisme et la potasse.

L'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone.  Ce programme axé sur le processus permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les peuples autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels et émergents de l'économie.  Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes auxquelles les programmes existants ne pourraient répondre.

L'IPS contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les partenaires non fédéraux, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones.  Ces partenariats contribuent à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Énergie de la côte Ouest

En juin 2014, le gouvernement a lancé une réponse coordonnée dans le but de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones relatif aux projets énergétiques.  La réponse comprenait notamment l'expansion de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, qui fournira au gouvernement du Canada les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer la participation des Autochtones au développement de l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest.

Le financement est utilisé dans quatre secteurs prioritaires afin de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones aux projets énergétiques.  Ceux-ci comprennent :

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux (CIDG) constitue un élément essentiel de la structure de gouvernance de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) et réunit tous les ministères membres votants. Le Comité valide et classe en ordre de priorité les possibilités; pour ce faire, il adopte une démarche pangouvernementale en matière d'investissement dans le cadre du programme.  Il répertorie également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent de concert avec les groupes autochtones en vue de faire progresser ces possibilités.  Le Comité examine les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme, et rend des décisions finales sur les initiatives qui recevront des fonds.

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de début à la date de fin) (en dollars) :
Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques: 85 500 000 $ sur cinq ans (approuvé en 2010 — continu), et 14 500 000 $ en 2015-2016, en 2016-2017 et en 2017-2018.

Initiative de développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest : 61 000 000 $ sur cinq ans (de 2014 à 2019)

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour (en dollars) :190 000 000 $

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour (en dollars) :163 338 420 $

Date du dernier renouvellement de l'initiative horizontale : sans objet

Total du financement fédéral affecté lors du dernier renouvellement et source du financement (en dollars) : sans objet

Financement fédéral supplémentaire reçu après le dernier renouvellement (en dollars) : sans objet

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux (en dollars) : sans objet

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation : Une évaluation de l'IPS — Développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest couvrant la période de 2014-2015 à 2017-2018 amorcée au début de 2017.  Le rapport d'évaluation final et la réponse de la direction et le plan d'action seront présentés au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen des RCAAN en 2018. Ces travaux d'évaluation contribueront à l'évaluation horizontale dirigée par Ressources naturelles Canada portant sur l'Initiative de développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest en 2018-2019.

Résultat commun des partenaires fédéraux : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale en matière d'investissements fédéraux, ce qui permet de s'assurer que ces investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et qu'ils sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux placé pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales.  En outre, l'IPS fait appel à une approche fondée sur un guichet unique (partage en matière de demande, de surveillance et de production de rapports) en ce qui a trait aux investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies, et elle comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités économiques.  Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, en vue d'appuyer une initiative.

Résultat attendu des partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : sans objet

Nom du thème : sans objet

Résultat du thème : sans objet 

Indicateurs de rendement pour le thème : sans objet

Cibles du thème : sans objet

Faits saillants de la planification : L'IPS est une initiative horizontale fédérale visant à faire progresser la réalisation des objectifs du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, en veillant à ce que :

Renseignements sur la planification
Organisations fédérales Lien au Répertoire des programmes du ministère Activités de l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales fédérales (de la date de début à la date de fin) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues 2018-2019 (en dollars)

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord

Responsabilité essentielle : développement communautaire et régional

Résultat ministériel 5 :

Sans objet 114 500 000 $
(IPS générale)
14 450 000 $
Sans objet 61 000 000 $
(Infrastructure énergétique sur la côte Ouest)
 8 000 000 $

Autres partenaires fédéraux

Sans objet

Sans objet Sans objet Sans objet
Total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 175 500 000 $ 22 450 000 $
 
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord
Résultats attendus
2018-2019 
Indicateurs de rendement 2018-2019 Cibles 2018-2019 Date d'atteinte de la cible
Des possibilités économiques régionales et les grands projets de ressources touchant les collectivités autochtones sont développés en partenariat avec le secteur privé et le secteur public (AAP 3,3) Valeur des investissements provenant du gouvernement fédéral et d'autres sources obtenus à l'étape de la préparation des collectivités en vertu de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques Rendement de 1:1,5 sur trois ans (pour chaque dollar investi par l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, un montant de 1,50 $ est obtenu d'autres sources, y compris le secteur privé et les autres sources du secteur public) 31 mars 2019

Coordonnées de la personne ressource :

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord
Stephanie Blondin
Directrice, Direction des Initiatives stratégiques et des partenariats
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord (RCAAN)
Téléphone : 819-994-7219
Stephanie.blondin@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :