Horizontal initiative: Nutrition North Canada

Lead department: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs (CIRNA)

Federal partner organizations: Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) and the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC)Footnote 1

Non-federal and non-governmental partner(s): Not applicable

Start date: April 1, 2011

End date: Ongoing

Description of the horizontal initiative: The objective of Nutrition North Canada is to help make perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable than it otherwise would be to residents of eligible isolated northern communities without year-round surface (road, rail or marine) access.

Registered retailers in the North, country food processors/distributors located in eligible communities, and food suppliers can apply for a subsidy based on the weight of eligible foods shipped by air to eligible northern communities. These subsidies are to be passed on to northern consumers by appropriate reductions in the selling prices of eligible foods. The Nutrition North Canada Program — National Manual governs the terms of the funding agreements with Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs' subsidy recipients (registered northern retailers and suppliers).

Given that there are a number of factors that influence healthy eating patterns other than food cost, Indigenous Services Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada complement the Nutrition North Canada retail subsidy by providing funding to support culturally appropriate community-based nutrition education initiatives. These initiatives aim to increase knowledge of healthy eating and develop skills for the selection and preparation of healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods.

Governance structures: The Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board gives Northerners a direct voice in the Program. The Board provides information and advice to the Minister of CIRNA to help guide the direction and activities of the Program, and to ensure that northern residents receive its full benefits. Members of the Board collectively represent the perspectives and interests of northern residents and communities in relation to the management and effectiveness of the Program. Members serve in their own right, as volunteers and not as representatives of any particular organization, area or special interest. Members are appointed for a three-year term.

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date) (dollars):
CIRNA: $581,082,763
ISC: $36,266,000 (2011-12 to 2020-21); $4,363,200 (ongoing)
PHAC: $137,000 (2016–2017); $405,000 (2017–2018); $529,000 (2018–2019); $519,000 (2019-2020); $385,000 (2020–2021 and ongoing)
Total: $623,686,963

Total federal planned spending to date (dollars):
CIRNA: $397,945,501
ISC: $18,843,200
PHAC: $137,000 (2016–2017)
Total: $416,925,701

Total federal actual spending to date (dollars):
CIRNA: $403,570,928
ISC: $16,945,739
PHAC: $63,181 (2016–2017)Footnote 2 
Total: $420,579,848

Date of last renewal of the horizontal initiative: September 29, 2016

Total federal funding allocated at the last renewal and source of funding (dollars): Input to come

Additional federal funding received after the last renewal (dollars): Not applicable

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners (dollars): Not applicable

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation:
A&E: An evaluation of Nutrition North Canada is being conducted in 2017–2018 and is currently scheduled for approval at the September 2018 EPMRC meeting.

Shared outcome of federal partners: The ultimate outcome of the Program is to strengthen the nutritional choices and overall health of isolated northern communities through the food subsidy delivered by Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs and the targeted nutrition education initiatives delivered by Indigenous Services Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Expected outcome or result of non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Name of theme: Not applicable

Theme Outcome: Not applicable

Theme performance indicator(s): Not applicable

Theme target: Not applicable

Planning highlights:
CIRNA: In 2018–2019, CIRNA will help to alleviate the high cost of food in the North by making perishable, nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities through the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) food subsidy. To ensure program transparency and accountability requirements are met, the Department will continue to support the activities of the Nutrition North Canada Advisory Board, as well as post recipient compliance reviews, shipping reports, and Revised Northern Food Basket price reports on the program website.

Building on program expansion and the completion of a year-long public engagement process, the Department will advance initiatives to guide program updates and further develop Nutrition North Canada so that it is more responsive to the needs of Northerners, while remaining sustainable. The Nutrition North Canada Indigenous Working Group (IWG) was launched at the May 2017 key stakeholder meeting. Consisting of Indigenous representative organizations and program officials, the IWG will work to co-design policy options and support program revisions that are relevant to Northerners and northern communities.

ISC: In 2018-19, Indigenous Services will support the implementation of Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives to all eligible First Nations and Inuit communities to increase knowledge of healthy eating and to develop skills in choosing and preparing healthy foods. In addition, ISC will work with CIRNA and PHAC to support program updates to Nutrition North Canada, as appropriate.

PHAC: In 2018–2019, PHAC will fund 10 projects to support culturally appropriate retail and community-based nutrition education initiatives. The activities, developed and delivered by community-based organizations, are intended to complement the food retail subsidy by influencing healthy eating in isolated northern communities. The aim of the nutrition education activities is to increase knowledge of healthy eating and develop skills for the selection and preparation of healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods.

Performance information
Federal organizations Link to the department's Program Inventory Horizontal initiative activities Total federal allocation
(from start to end date) (dollars)
2018–2019 Planned spending (dollars)
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Nutrition North Nutrition North $531,082,763 $93,817,6281
Indigenous Services Canada Healthy Living Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives $36,266,000 (2011-12 to 2020-21);
$4,363,200 (ongoing)
$4,353,200
Public Health Agency of Canada Core Responsibility 1: Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention

Health Promotion Program
Nutrition North Canada Nutrition Education Initiatives $137,000 (2016–2017);
$405,000 (2017–2018);
$529,000 (2018–2019);
$519,000 (2019-2020);
$385,000 (2020–2021 and ongoing)
$529,000
Total for all federal organizations $623,686,963 $98,699,828
1This amount includes $550,000, which was re-profiled from 2016-17.
 
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
2018–2019
Expected results
2018–2019
Performance indicators
2018–2019
Targets
Date to achieve target
Affordability of perishable, nutritious food in eligible communities is strengthened. The annual growth rate of food prices in isolated Northern communities compared to the national growth rate. At or below the annual trend (increase/decrease) for the Consumer Price Index (CPI) March 31, 2019
Annual average cost of the Revised Northern Food Basket At or below the baseline for the food basket, adjusted for inflation rate for food purchased in stores (Statistics Canada).

The baseline used is the 2010-2011 average annual cost for the food basket ($438).
March 31, 2019
Residents in eligible communities have access to nutritious perishable food at a subsidized rate. Percentage of compliance/audit reports demonstrating that subsidies have been fully passed on to consumers 100% March 31, 2019
Annual percentage variation in the quantity of subsidized items shipped by air 3 to 5% March 31, 2019
 
Indigenous Services Canada
2018–2019
Expected results
2018–2019
Performance indicators
2018–2019
Targets
Date to achieve target
Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills, and are choosing and preparing healthy foods. Number of participants by type of nutrition education activity 4 or more different types of activities per year

6 or more participants per type of activity
March 31, 2019

March 31, 2019
Percentage of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities 100% of funding recipients are reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills March 31, 2019
Quantity by weight of fruit and vegetables Stable or increasing annually March 31, 2019
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community based nutrition education initiatives. Percentage of communities promoting nutrition education activities 100% of funding recipients are promoting and offering nutrition education activities March 31, 2019
Number and types of activities (by target population groups, venues) Funding recipients provide activities to 2 or more target populations (e.g., women, seniors, children, and youth) in 2 or more venues (e.g., grocery stores, schools, on the land) March 31, 2019
 
Public Health Agency of Canada
2018–2019
Expected results
2018–2019 Performance indicators 2018–2019
Targets
Date to achieve target
Community workers are trained to deliver retail and community based nutrition education activities in eligible communities % of funding recipients with trained Nutrition North Canada community workers to deliver programming Target to be determined following 2017-18 data collection Not applicable
Residents in eligible communities have access to retail and community based nutrition education initiatives # of communities promoting nutrition education activities Target to be determined following 2017-18 data collection Not applicable
# and types of nutrition education activities (by target population groups, venues) Target to be determined following 2017-18 data collection Not applicable
Residents in eligible communities have knowledge of healthy eating and skills, and are choosing and preparing healthy foods # of participants by type of nutrition education activity Target to be determined following 2017-18 data collection Not applicable
% of funding recipients reporting knowledge of healthy eating and skills among residents in eligible communities Target to be determined following 2017-18 data collection Not applicable

Contact information:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
Diane Robinson
Director, Nutrition North Canada
Northern Affairs Organization
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Telephone: 819-997-9449
Diane.Robinson@canada.ca

Indigenous Services Canada
Mary Trifonopoulos
Senior Program Manager, Healthy Living
Population Health and Primary Care Directorate
First Nations and Inuit Health Branch
Indigenous Services Canada
Telephone: 613-292-7518
Mary.Trifonopoulos@canada.ca

Public Health Agency of Canada
Michelle Owen
Manager
Division of Children and Youth
Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention
Public Health Agency of Canada
Telephone: 613-325-5072
Michelle.Owen@canada.ca

Date modified:

Initiative horizontale : Nutrition Nord Canada

Ministère responsable : Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAAN)

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) et Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC)Note de bas de page 1

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 1er avril 2011

Date d'achèvement : En cours

Description de l'initiative horizontale : L'objectif du programme Nutrition Nord Canada est de veiller à ce que les résidents des collectivités nordiques isolées privées d'une route, d'un chemin de fer ou d'un service maritime praticables toute l'année aient un meilleur accès à des aliments périssables et nutritifs à un prix plus abordable.

Les détaillants enregistrés dans le Nord, les transformateurs et les distributeurs de produits alimentaires des collectivités admissibles peuvent présenter une demande de subvention qui sera établie en fonction du poids des aliments admissibles qui auront été expédiés par avion aux collectivités admissibles du Nord. Les consommateurs du Nord doivent profiter de ces subventions puisqu'elles permettent de réduire en conséquence le prix de vente des produits alimentaires admissibles. Le Manuel national du programme Nutrition Nord Canada régira les modalités des ententes de financement avec les bénéficiaires d'une subvention du ministère Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord (fournisseurs et détaillants du Nord inscrits).

Sachant que le coût des aliments n'est pas le seul facteur qui influe sur l'adoption de saines habitudes alimentaires, Services aux Autochtones Canada et l'Agence de la Santé publique du Canada, en complément de la contribution destinée à la vente au détail de Nutrition Nord Canada, offrent du financement visant à soutenir des initiatives d'éducation culturellement adaptées en matière de nutrition qui s'adressent aux détaillants et aux collectivités. Ces initiatives ont pour but de sensibiliser la population aux saines habitudes alimentaires et de lui offrir les outils nécessaires pour choisir et préparer les aliments sains achetés en magasin et les aliments traditionnels ou locaux.

Structures de gouvernance : Le Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada donne aux résidents du Nord une possibilité directe de s'exprimer au sujet du programme. Le Conseil transmet de l'information et des conseils au ministre des RCAAN afin de contribuer à l'orientation et aux activités du programme et de veiller à ce que les résidents du Nord en profitent pleinement. Les membres du Conseil représentent collectivement le point de vue et les intérêts des résidents et des collectivités du Nord en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à l'efficacité du programme. Les membres siègent à titre personnel et bénévole; ils ne représentent ni une organisation ni une région en particulier, et ne défendent aucune cause précise. Les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de trois ans.

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) (en dollars) :
RCAAN : 581,082,763 $
SAC : 36,266,000 $ (de 2011-2012 à 2020-2021); 4 363 200 $ (en cours)
ASPC : 137 000 $ (2016–2017); 405 000 $ (2017–2018); 529 000 $ (2018–2019); 519 000 $ (2019-2020); 385 000 $ (2020–2021 et continu)
Total : 623 686 963 $

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour (en dollars) :
RCAAN : 397 945 501 $
SAC : 18 843 200 $
ASPC : 137 000 $ (2016–2017)
Total : 416 925 701 $

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour (en dollars) :
RCAAN : 403 570 928 $
SAC : 16 945 739 $
ASPC : 63 181 $ (2016–2017)Note de bas de page 2
Total : 420 579 848 $

Date du dernier renouvellement de l'initiative horizontale : 29 septembre 2016

Total du financement fédéral affecté lors du dernier renouvellement et source du financement (en dollars) : Renseignements à venir

Financement fédéral supplémentaire reçu après le dernier renouvellement (en dollars) : Sans objet

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux (en dollars) : Sans objet

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation :
Vérification et évaluation : Une évaluation de Nutrition Nord Canada, devant être approuvée lors de la réunion du CEMRE de septembre 2018, doit être réalisée en 2017–2018.

Résultat commun des partenaires fédéraux : Le résultat ultime du programme est de renforcer les choix nutritifs et la santé globale des collectivités isolées du Nord par l'entremise d'une subvention des aliments accordée par RCAAN et des initiatives ciblées d'éducation en matière de nutrition menées par Services aux Autochtones Canada et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Résultat attendu des partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Nom du thème : Sans objet

Résultat du thème : Sans objet
Indicateurs de rendement pour le thème : Sans objet

Cibles du thème : Sans objet

Faits saillants de la planification :
RCAAN : En, 2018-2019, RCAAN contribuera à réduire le coût élevé des aliments dans le Nord, en rendant les aliments périssables et nutritifs plus accessibles et plus abordables pour les résidents des collectivités isolées du Nord grâce à des subventions versées dans le cadre du programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC).Afin de veiller à ce que les exigences en matière de transparence et de reddition de comptes soient respectées, le Ministère continuera à appuyer les activités du Conseil consultatif de Nutrition Nord Canada et à afficher les résultats d'examens de la conformité des bénéficiaires, les rapports sur les expéditions et les rapports sur le prix du panier de provisions nordique révisé sur le site Web du programme.

En s'appuyant sur l'expansion du programme et l'achèvement d'un processus de mobilisation du public d'un an, le Ministère fera la promotion d'initiatives visant à orienter les mises à jour du programme et à continuer à développer Nutrition Nord Canada afin de mieux répondre aux besoins des résidents du Nord, tout en demeurant durable. Le groupe de travail autochtone (GTA) de Nutrition Nord Canada a été mis sur pied lors de la réunion des intervenants clés de mai 2017. Composé de membres d'organisations autochtones représentatives et de responsables du programme, le GTA travaillera à élaborer conjointement des options stratégiques et à appuyer les révisions du programme qui s'avèrent pertinentes pour les résidents et les collectivités du Nord.

SAC : En 2018-2019, Services aux Autochtones Canada soutiendra la mise en œuvre d'initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada destinées à l'ensemble des collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations admissibles afin d'enrichir leurs connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et de développer la capacité de choisir et préparer des aliments sains. De plus, SAC collaborera avec le ministère des RCAAN et l'ASPC pour appuyer les mises à jour du programme Nutrition Nord Canada, le cas échéant.

ASPC : En 2018–2019, l'ASPC financera 10 projets visant à soutenir des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition adaptées aux réalités culturelles qui s'adressent aux détaillants et aux collectivités. Ces activités, élaborées et offertes par des organismes communautaires, sont destinées à servir de complément au programme de contribution alimentaire en influençant l'adoption de saines habitudes alimentaires dans les collectivités isolées du Nord. L'objectif des activités d'éducation à la nutrition est de mieux faire connaître ce qu'est une alimentation saine et d'apprendre à choisir et à préparer des aliments sains traditionnels, locaux ou du commerce.

Renseignements sur le rendement
Organisations fédérales Lien au Répertoire des programmes du ministère Activités de l'initiative horizontale Affectations totales fédérales (de la date de début à la date de fin) (en dollars) Dépenses prévues 2018-2019 (en dollars)
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Nutrition Nord Nutrition Nord 531 082 763 $ 93 817 628 $1
Services aux Autochtones Canada Vie saine Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 36 266 000 $ (2011-12 à 2020-21);
4 363 200 $ (et continu)
4 353 200 $
Agence de santé publique du Canada Responsabilité fondamentale 1 : Promotion de la santé et prévention des maladies chroniques

Programme de promotion de la santé
Initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition de Nutrition Nord Canada 137 000 $ (2016–2017);
405 000 $ (2017–2018);
529 000 $ (2018–2019);
519 000 $ (2019-2020);
385 000 $ (2020–2021 et continu)
529 000 $
Total pour l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 623 686 963 $ 98 699 828 $
1Ce montant inclut 550 000 $, qui sont des fonds reportés de 2016-2017.
 
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
Résultats attendus
2018-2019 
Indicateurs de rendement 2018-2019 Cibles 2018-2019 Date d'atteinte de la cible
L'accès à des aliments nutritifs et périssables dans les collectivités admissibles est renforcé. Le taux de croissance annuel des prix des aliments dans les collectivités isolées, par comparaison au taux de croissance national. Équivalente ou en deçà de la tendance annuelle (augmentation ou réduction) de l'Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) 31 mars 2019
Prix annuel moyen du panier de provisions nordique révisé Équivalente ou en deçà de la base de référence du panier de provisions, ajustée en fonction du taux d'inflation pour les aliments achetés en magasin (Statistique Canada).

La référence de base utilisée est le prix annuel moyen du panier de provisions en 2010-2011 (438 $).
31 mars 2019
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs à un taux subventionné. Pourcentage des rapports de conformité ou de vérification démontrant que les contributions ont été entièrement transmises aux consommateurs 100 % 31 mars 2019
Pourcentage annuel de variation de la quantité d'articles subventionnés expédiés par avion De 3% à 5 % 31 mars 2019
 
Services aux Autochtones Canada
Résultats attendus
2018-2019
Indicateurs de rendement 2018-2019 Cibles 2018-2019  Date d'atteinte de la cible
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles connaissent les bonnes habitudes alimentaires et choisissent et préparent des aliments sains. Nombre de participants par type d'activité d'éducation à la nutrition Au moins 4 types d'activités par an

Au moins 6 participants par type d'activité
31 mars 2019

31 mars 2019
Pourcentage des bénéficiaires de fonds qui disent savoir ce qu'est une alimentation saine et avoir de bonnes habitudes alimentaires parmi les résidents des collectivités admissibles 100 % des bénéficiaires de fonds disent savoir ce qu'est une alimentation saine et avoir de bonnes habitudes alimentaires 31 mars 2019
Quantité (poids) de fruits et de légumes Stable ou hausse annuelle 31 mars 2019
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès à des initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition qui s'adressent aux détaillants et aux collectivités Pourcentage de collectivités qui font la promotion d'activités d'éducation à la nutrition 100 % des bénéficiaires de fonds font la promotion et offrent des activités d'éducation à la nutrition 31 mars 2019
Nombre et types d'activités offertes (par groupes de population cibles, par lieu) Les bénéficiaires de fonds offrent des activités à deux ou plusieurs populations cibles (p. ex., femmes, aînés, enfants et jeunes) dans deux ou plusieurs sites (p. ex., épiceries, écoles, en plein air) 31 mars 2019
 
Agence de santé publique du Canada
Résultats attendus
2018-2019 
Indicateurs de rendement 2018-2019 Cibles 2018-2019  Date d'atteinte de la cible
Des travailleurs communautaires sont formés pour offrir dans les collectivités admissibles des activités d'éducation à la nutrition à l'intention des détaillants et de la collectivité % de bénéficiaires de fonds pouvant compter sur des travailleurs communautaires qualifiés de Nutrition Nord Canada pour offrir des activités d'éducation Les cibles seront établies après la collecte de données en 2017-2018 Sans objet
Des résidents des collectivités admissibles ont accès aux initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition qui s'adressent aux détaillants et aux collectivités Nombre de collectivités qui font la promotion d'initiatives d'éducation en matière de nutrition Les cibles seront établies après la collecte de données en 2017-2018 Sans objet
Nombre et types d'activités offertes (par groupes de population cibles, par lieu) Les cibles seront établies après la collecte de données en 2017-2018 Sans objet
Les résidents des collectivités admissibles savent ce qu'est une alimentation saine et ont les compétences nécessaires pour choisir et préparer des aliments nutritifs Nombre de participants par type d'activité d'éducation à la nutrition Les cibles seront établies après la collecte de données en 2017-2018 Sans objet
Pourcentage des bénéficiaires de fonds qui indiquent avoir acquis des connaissances sur l'alimentation saine et des compétences parmi les résidents des collectivités admissibles Les cibles seront établies après la collecte de données en 2017-2018 Sans objet

Coordonnées de la personne ressource :

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
Diane Robinson
Directrice, Nutrition Nord Canada
Organisation des affaires du Nord
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Téléphone : 819-997-9449
Diane.Robinson@canada.ca

Services aux Autochtones Canada
Mary Trifonopoulos
Gestionnaire principale de programme, Vie saine
Direction de la santé de la population et des soins primaires
Direction générale de la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits
Services aux Autochtones Canada
Téléphone : 613-292-7518
Mary.Trifonopoulos@canada.ca

Agence de santé publique du Canada
Michelle Owen
Gestionnaire
Division de l'enfance et de la jeunesse
Promotion de la santé et prévention des maladies chroniques
Agence de santé publique du Canada
Téléphone : 613-325-5072
Michelle.Owen@canada.ca

Date de modification :