Operating context: conditions affecting our work

As part of the journey towards Reconciliation, the Government of Canada has taken an important step to renew the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership, by announcing a profound shift in the way the Government delivers services and advances self-determination and self-government of Indigenous peoples.

In order to develop structures that are better aligned to support Reconciliation, on August 28, 2017, the Prime Minister announced the intention to create two new departments:

A key step was taken on November 30, 2017, with the creation of Indigenous Services Canada (ISC), formalizing the creation of a new Department that brings together essential and mutually reinforcing services: First Nations and Inuit health services (formerly with Health Canada), education services, essential social services, child and family services programs, and housing and infrastructure services (formerly with Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada).

In 2018–2019, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs will continue, in partnership with Indigenous peoples, the work that is already underway to advance nation-to-nation, Inuit-Crown, government-to-government relationships; support Indigenous peoples' vision of self-determination and lead the Government of Canada's work in the North.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs has been entrusted to accelerate progress towards self-determination, with an emphasis on reconstituting nations, and developing a Recognition and Implementation of Indigenous Rights Framework.

The Government of Canada recognizes that the relationship between the Crown and Indigenous peoples has been built on colonial structures, which has contributed to the current unacceptable socio-economic gap. The February 14, 2018 launch of a national engagement process, led by Minister Carolyn Bennett in partnership with First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples over spring 2018, will lead to the development of a Recognition and Implementation of Indigenous Rights Framework. The Framework will include legislation and policy that will entrench the recognition and implementation of rights as the basis for all relations between Indigenous peoples and the Government of Canada. The national engagement will also inform the final form of the two new departments.

Following the creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs and Indigenous Services Canada, there is now historic opportunity to make lasting change and move away from colonial and paternalistic approaches – towards a new era of collaboration with Indigenous peoples – based upon respect and the recognition and implementation of rights.

Date modified:

Contexte opérationnel et risques principaux

Dans le cadre de son cheminement vers la réconciliation, le gouvernement du Canada a franchi une étape importante pour renouveler sa relation avec les peuples autochtones – une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat – en annonçant un profond changement dans la façon dont il offre des services et fait la promotion de l'autodétermination et de l'autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones.

Afin de développer des structures mieux harmonisées pour appuyer la réconciliation, le premier ministre a annoncé le 28 août 2017 son intention de créer deux nouveaux ministères :

L'une des étapes clés de cette démarche a été franchie le 30 novembre 2017 par la création de Services aux Autochtones Canada, rendant officielle la création d'un nouveau ministère qui réunit des services essentiels et qui se renforcent mutuellement : les services de santé aux Premières Nations et aux Inuit (autrefois avec le ministère de la Santé), les services d'éducation, les services sociaux essentiels, les services à l'enfance et à la famille ainsi que les services de logement et d'infrastructure (autrefois avec le ministère d'Affaires Autochtones et du Nord Canada).

En 2018–2019, Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord poursuivra, en partenariat avec les peuples autochtones, ses travaux en vue de faire avancer les relations de nation à nation, la relation entre les Inuit et la Couronne et les relations de gouvernement à gouvernement; d'appuyer la vision des peuples autochtones à l'égard de l'autodétermination; et de diriger les travaux du gouvernement du Canada dans le Nord.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que la relation entre la Couronne et les Autochtones a été bâtie sur des structures coloniales, ce qui a contribué à l'écart socioéconomique inacceptable que l'on constate actuellement. Le 14 février 2018, le lancement d'un processus national de mobilisation dirigé par la ministre Carolyn Bennett, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis au cours du printemps 2018, donnera lieu à l'élaboration d'un cadre de reconnaissance et de mise en œuvre des droits des peuples autochtones. Ce Cadre inclura des lois et des politiques qui feront de la reconnaissance et de la mise en œuvre des droits le fondement de toutes les relations entre les peuples autochtones et le gouvernement fédéral. De plus, la mobilisation nationale permettra d'éclairer la la forme finale que prendront les deux ministères.

Suite à la création de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord et de Services aux Autochtones Canada, une occasion historique nous est maintenant donnée d'apporter des changements durables et de s'éloigner des approches coloniales et paternalistes – pour se tourner vers une nouvelle ère de collaboration avec les peuples autochtones – en s'appuyant sur le respect de même que la reconnaissance et la mise en œuvre des droits.

Date de modification :