Petroleum and Environmental Management Tool

The Petroleum and Environmental Management Tool (PEMT) was originally developed in 2009 to help guide oil and gas development in the Canadian Arctic.  The online tool was decommissioned in 2019 due to low user traffic and in light of the moratorium on Arctic offshore oil and gas development. In order to preserve the data and retain the gathered information, the datasets, as well as the associated reports, have been moved to Open Data and are available in GIS format:

The tool mapped the environmental, social and economic sensitivities of a variety of Arctic features, ranging from whales, seals and migratory birds to traditional Indigenous hunting, fishing and plant gathering areas, across the Arctic.

It was intended to help government, oil and gas companies, Indigenous groups, resource managers and public stakeholders better understand the geographic distribution of areas which are sensitive.

The mapping was based on:

The PEMT used a ranking system based on the value of specific areas for animal or human activity. More details on the ranking system and the mapped features can be found in the documents accompanying the data on Open Data.

PEMT Regions

Text description of the image map

The image is a map depicting the Canadian arctic and the 3 geographic areas included in the PEMT data sets from west to east:

  • Beaufort Sea and Mackenzie Delta
  • High Arctic
  • Eastern Arctic

Contact

For questions and more information please contact us.

Date modified:

L'outil de gestion de l'environnement et des ressources pétrolières

L'outil de gestion de l'environnement et des ressources pétrolières (OGERP) a initialement été développé en 2009 afin de guider le développement pétrolier et gazier dans l'Arctique canadien. L'outil en ligne a été mis hors service en 2019 en raison du faible nombre d'utilisateurs et du moratoire sur le développement pétrolier et gazier extracôtier dans l'Arctique. Afin de préserver les données et de conserver les informations amassées, les ensembles de données, ainsi que les rapports connexes, ont été transférés vers la plateforme Données ouvertes et sont disponibles en format SIG :

L'outil en ligne permettait la mise en carte des sensibilités environnementales et socio-économiques de divers éléments arctiques, allant des baleines, des phoques et des oiseaux migrateurs jusqu'à la chasse, la pêche et la cueillette de plantes traditionnelles autochtones, dans l'ensemble de l'Arctique.

Cet outil était destiné à aider le gouvernement, les compagnies pétrolières et gazières, les groupes autochtones, les gestionnaires de ressources et les partenaires publics à mieux comprendre la répartition des zones qui sont sensibles.

La cartographie était fondée sur :

L'OGERP utilisait un système de classement basé sur la valeur de zones spécifiques pour l'activité animale ou humaine. Vous trouverez plus de détails sur le système de classement et les éléments cartographiés dans les documents accompagnant les données sur Données ouvertes.

Régions de l'OGERP

Description textuelle de l'image

L'image est une carte illustrant l'Arctique canadien et les trois zones géographiques comprises dans les ensembles de données de l'OGERP d'ouest en est :

  • Mer de Beaufort et delta du Mackenzie
  • Extrême Arctique
  • Arctique de l'Est

Contactez-nous

Pour toute question ou information contactez-nous.

Date de modification :