Kumik Elder Lodge

COVID-19 Kumik closure

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the Kumik is currently closed to visitors.

For more information, please contact aaadnc.hq.kumik.aandc@canada.ca.

On this page

What is the Kumik?

The Kiche Anishnabe Kumik (Kumik) is a Lodge where federal employees in the National Capital Region can learn directly from Indigenous Elders through teachings, guidance and advice. There is also a chance to engage in cultural awareness workshops with from Indigenous facilitators to enrich understanding and promote reconciliation.

The Kumik can begin or be a continuation of one's participation in Algonquin traditions and ceremonial cycles while also offering opportunities to experience the cultures of many Indigenous peoples throughout the year. It is a culturally safe space to facilitate understanding and cooperation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples.

The Kumik offers services and activities on a regular basis throughout the year including:

History

The Kumik was created in 1990 due to difficult working conditions experienced by Indigenous employees in the aftermath of the Oka crisis. Indigenous Elders were contacted and contracted to provide essential guidance and counselling services to both Indigenous and non-Indigenous employees of the department in the National Capital Region.

Mandate

The mandate of the Kumik is to help Crown-Indigenous and Northern Relations Canada and Indigenous Services Canada better serve Indigenous peoples by promoting enhanced cultural competencies through the shared experiences of Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.

The Kumik aims to:

Principles

Who are the Elders?

Elders can be of any age or gender and are defined differently depending on their community. For example, in the Algonquin Nation an Elder is someone who possesses spiritual leadership given by their cultural and traditional knowledge. However, all Elders are recognized because they have earned the respect of their community through ceremony, wisdom and living in harmony and balance.

Elders live their lives according to deeply ingrained principles, values and teachings. The Elders who come to the Kumik share their traditional teachings and lived experiences. They help us to nurture the relationships that we have to all of creation while reminding us of the responsibilities we have to ourselves and each other.and help people with work-related and personal issues. Each Elder has a specific role, such as healer, medicine person, seer and storyteller, or traditionalist.

The Elder:

Elder selection

The Elders who come to the Kumik are selected based on their experience as mediators, their spiritual and traditional knowledge and their capacity to pass on these experiences to others. Elders are brought in from across the country and efforts are made to reach out to as many nations, settlements and communities as possible.

Elder referrals can be made by email at aadnc.hq.kumik.aandc@canada.ca.

Contact us

Crown-Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Kiche Anishnabe Kumik
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H4
Phone: 819-997-9703
Email: aaadnc.hq.kumik.aandc@canada.ca

Garrison Garrow
Kumik Program Manager
Phone: 819-956-3703
Email: garrison.garrow@canada.ca

Patrick Beaudoin
Kumik Assistant
Phone: 819-953-2913
Email: patrick.beaudoin@canada.ca

Date modified:

Pavillon Kumik des Aînés

Fermeture de Kumik en raison de la COVID-19

En raison de l'épidémie de coronavirus, le Kumik est actuellement fermé aux visiteurs.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez envoyer un courriel à hq.kumik@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca.

Sur cette page

Qu'est-ce que le Kumik?

Le Kiche Anishnabe Kumik (Kumik) est un pavillon où les employés fédéraux de la région de la capitale nationale peuvent apprendre directement des Aînés autochtones par des enseignements, des conseils et des orientations. Il est également possible de participer à des ateliers de sensibilisation à la culture autochtone animés par des facilitateurs afin d'enrichir la compréhension des cultures des peuples autochtones et promouvoir la réconciliation.

Le Kumik peut être le point de départ ou la continuation de la participation aux traditions et aux cycles cérémoniels algonquins, tout en offrant la possibilité de découvrir les cultures de nombreux peuples autochtones tout au long de l'année. Il s'agit d'un espace culturellement sûr qui facilite la compréhension et la coopération entre les peuples autochtones et non autochtones.

Le Kumik offre des services et organise des activités périodiquement tout au long de l'année, dont :

Histoire

Le Le Kumik a été créé en 1990 en raison des conditions de travail difficiles vécues par les employés autochtones après la crise d'Oka. Des Aînés autochtones ont été embauchés pour fournir des services d'orientation et de consultation essentiels tant aux employés autochtones que non autochtones du ministère dans la région de la capitale nationale.

Mandat

Le mandat du Kumik est d'aider Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada et Services aux Autochtones Canada à mieux servir les peuples autochtones en faisant la promotion des compétences culturelles acquises par l'entremise des histoires partagées par les Aînés et les Gardiens du Savoir autochtone.

Le Kumik vise :

Principes

Qui sont les Aînés?

Les Aînés peuvent être de n'importe quel âge ou sexe et sont définis différemment selon leur communauté. Par exemple, dans la Nation algonquine, un Aîné est une personne qui agit comme un chef spirituel en communiquant son savoir culturel et traditionnel. Cependant, tous les Aînés sont reconnus parce qu'ils ont gagné le respect de leur communauté grâce à des cérémonies, à la sagesse et à la vie harmonieuse et équilibrée qu'ils vivent.

Les Aînés vivent leur vie selon des principes, des valeurs et des enseignements profondément enracinés. Les Aînés qui viennent au Kumik partagent leurs enseignements traditionnels et leurs expériences de vie. Ils nous aident à entretenir les relations que nous avons avec toute la création tout en nous rappelant les responsabilités que nous avons envers nous-mêmes et les autres. Chaque Aîné a un rôle précis, comme celui de guérisseur, de médecin, de voyant et de conteur ou de traditionnaliste.

L'Aîné :

Choix des Aînés

Les Aînés qui viennent au Kumik sont choisis en fonction de leur expérience de médiateur, de leur savoir spirituel et traditionnel et de leur capacité à transmettre ces expériences à d'autres. Les Aînés sont amenés et viennent de partout au pays et des efforts sont déployés pour atteindre le plus grand nombre possible de nations, de collectivités et de communautés.

Le comité accepte les références d'Aînés par courriel à l'adresse hq.kumik@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca.

Contactez-nous

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada
Kiche Anishnabe Kumik
10 rue Wellington
Gatineau QC  K1A 0H4
Courriel : hq.kumik@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca

Date de modification :