MMIWG National Action Plan Core Working Group Members

This web content has been developed by the Core Working Group. The Core Working Group is working with the Government of Canada to develop a national action plan in response to the Calls to Justice from the National Enquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. This web content does not necessarily reflect the policies or views of the Government of Canada. If you are not able to access this information, please contact  for an alternate version.

The members will focus on development of the framework of the National Action Plan (vision, high level principles, high level priorities and themes, desired outcomes, etc.) and will determine accountability for results going forward.

Federal Co-Chair: Gina Wilson, Deputy Minister, Diversity and Inclusion and Youth and Senior Associate Deputy Minister, Canadian Heritage, Government of Canada

Provincial/Territorial Co-Chair: Valerie Royle, Deputy Minister, Tourism and Culture and Deputy Minister, Women's Directorate, Government of Yukon

Chair of the National Family and Survivors Circle:  Hilda Anderson-Pyrz, Manager, MMIWG Liaison Unit, Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (MKO)

Chair of the First Nations Sub-Working Group:  Chief Connie Big Eagle, Chair, Assembly of First Nations' Women's Council

Co-Chair of the Inuit Sub-Working Group: Tracy Sarazin, Manager, Health and Social Development, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)

Chair of the Métis Sub-Working Group:  Melanie Omeniho, President, Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak

Chair of the 2SLGBTQQIA Sub-Working Group: Sylvia Maracle, Executive Director, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres

Chair of the Urban Sub-Working Group: Diane Redsky, Executive Director Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata

Chair of the Data Sub-Working Group: Karine Duhamel, Anishinaabe/Métis Researcher, Former Director of Research for the National Inquiry into MMIWG

Co-Chair of the Federal Sub-Working Group: Claudette Dumont-Smith

Co-Chair of the Federal Sub-Working Group: Mary-Luisa Kapelus, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples: Chief Lisa Cooper, Director, Native Council of Prince Edward Island

Native Women's Association of Canada: Lorraine Whitman, President

Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada: Rose Mary Cooper, A/Executive Director, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada

Provincial/Territorial Representative: TBD

Elder/Knowledge Keeper rotates on a weekly basis

Date modified: