COVID-19: Mobility and access to essential infrastructure

As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, some provinces, territories, cities and Indigenous communities have begun to institute measures limiting movement of people across their borders. This might create additional stress and confusion for employees working in a different area than the one they live in.

The Treasury Board Secretariat is engaged with partners in other jurisdictions to ensure critical federal workers are able to continue to travel across and within the provinces and territories. Employees who are carrying out critical functions and cannot telework may be provided with a departmental letter to assist them in reporting for work and returning home. The letter will clearly identify the employee, their organization and the reason for their travel, and could be presented with government identification upon request. If you have experienced or expect difficulties commuting, please discuss with your manager.

In addition to New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, the Government of Quebec announced on April 1, 2020 increased measures aimed at limiting non-essential travel in and around the province in certain regions, including the Outaouais. Quebec authorities have informed the Government of Canada that they will permit public servants with both valid government identification and another piece of valid photo identification to continue to move freely, allowing them to perform critical federal services.

As the situation evolves, it is crucial that employees stay informed of the latest news in their area and follow the recommendations of their local health authorities. If recommendations change, please make sure you connect with your manager to discuss your options.

For the latest updates related to your workplace, please continue to access the Internet sites for Government of Canada employees, ISC employees and CIRNAC employees.

Thank you.

Daniel Watson
Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Jean-François Tremblay
Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Diane Lafleur
Associate Deputy Minister, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Sony Perron
Associate Deputy Minister, Indigenous Services Canada

Date modified: